Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. Nov 17, 2021
    76
    GTA Trilogy on Nintendo Switch has problems like the rest of the versions, from an unstable frame rate to a notable popping or blurrier graphics playing on the dock, but they are still three great adventures like a pine tree, with slight improvements, which are highly enjoyable in portable mode.
  2. Nov 16, 2021
    60
    If you’re coming into Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy expecting each game to look and play like GTA V, prepare for disappointment at a passionless upscaling effort. On the flipside, if you fancy reliving these open world wonders with some of their rougher gameplay edges sanded down, prepare to lose yourself for sixty hours or more.
  3. Nov 22, 2021
    58
    I’m sure that with plenty of patches, Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition could reach a point where it becomes worth revisiting these games, but at this point in time, that seems a long, long way off.
  4. Nov 17, 2021
    55
    Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy - The Definitive Edition is a compilation that unfortunately is quite improvable in most aspects and that does not look like a remaster. The feeling that remains is that they have failed to offer these titles with the affection, care and respect they deserved.
  5. Dec 2, 2021
    50
    Despite being inherently flawed on a technical level, Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition excels in opening a window to three amazing crime-driven open world classics on Nintendo Switch. Just don’t go in expecting complete greatness.
  6. Despite its entertaining nature, GTA Trilogy Definitive Edition is disappointing. While there are much better graphics mods, it gives the impression of an unnecessary package with its bugs.
  7. Nov 23, 2021
    40
    Good, fun games are good, fun games, and even with glitches and the numerous issues this trilogy brings, that's what these still are. However, seeing the state of Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy - The Definitive Edition, there just isn't any way to let Rockstar off lightly here. This is one of the most successful video game companies in the world, with goodness knows how much raked in from GTA Online, so there can be no excuses to have loaned out these iconic games to a small team with a poor track record and showing absolutely no respect for its own creations. Fifty pounds is a big ask for such old games that have been what one might say "demastered", and even with numerous future patches, these may never be the upgrades they should have been, but Switch owners new to this trilogy can find plenty of entertainment - and not just because of the glitches. This is still a hard sell, though, with the advice being to hold off for a major sale.
  8. Nov 12, 2021
    40
    Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy - The Definitive Edition on Switch delivers three of gaming's true greats in a shockingly rough package that manages to suck pretty much all of the fun out of Rockstar's stellar crime epics. This is a poor port, a shoddy, stuttery, low resolution mess full of bugs, glitches, audio problems and more besides. If can grab this one on any other platform, we'd advise you do so or, at the very least, hold off until it's been patched and hopefully improved in the future. As things stand, this is a very, very long way from 'definitive' — this isn't the way we want to remember these games.
  9. Nov 12, 2021
    40
    Few games have had such a lasting impact on how games were made, or have been quite so successful. People who weren’t into games played those three games. Sadly, if they were to pick them up on Switch now, they'd probably wonder if they were ever good in the first place.
  10. Nov 15, 2021
    30
    A shocking mishandling of three beloved classics, Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy - The Definitive Edition on Switch is a poorly ported mess of frame rate drops, popping, ugly characters, and bad decisions. Time to dust off the PS2.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 14, 2021
    But that's nothing compared to how dismally the collection runs on the Nintendo Switch. A sub-720 resolution in portable mode—and something close to 800p in docked mode—is arguably forgivable for PS2-era graphics. If anything, that fuzziness sometimes softens up the weirdness of the original trilogy's animations and body constructions. But there's no getting around it: the Switch version of the GTA Definitive Trilogy needs to go back into the oven before anyone considers spending even $30 or $40 on the package, let alone the full $60 MSRP. Whether played in portable or docked modes, each of the trilogy's games performs terribly, with frequent drops into the 20 fps range and noticeable stuttering into the low 10s. This all happens in spite of a massive reduction in visual elements like texture quality and shadow resolution. All too often, cars, pedestrians, and buildings magically appear quite close to the camera while you're peeling away during an epic car chase...Worse, unlike the Xbox version I tested, I ran into at least one full Switch hardware crash in each of the collection's games. I didn't even rack up massive counts of police stars in these scenarios. (Though, let's be clear: when I did court mayhem, it brought the console to its knees.)
User Score
0.7

Overwhelming dislike- based on 737 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 737
  1. Nov 12, 2021
    0
    This is it! This is the end of Rockstar, this is just too much. This is unacceptable in so many levels, i cant even find the right words. ThisThis is it! This is the end of Rockstar, this is just too much. This is unacceptable in so many levels, i cant even find the right words. This so called definitive edition is one of the most pathetic remasters of all time, especially considering how amazing Rockstar used to be. They were the top. They were the best there ever was. They showed to other developers what can be done. I just cant believe that the end of Rockstar would be like this. This remaster is extremely ugly, buggy and has so many issues with character models, etc. They didnt improve almost anything. AI is worse than ever, no swimming for 3 and Vice City, no climbing ladders for San Andreas, no cover system, nothing new. Where are there quality of life improvements and *much more* that they promised in NewsWire article? And now they ask 60 dollar for this. Whoever worked on this have only slight experience in photoshop, thats it. They have no idea how to program new things. This is most amateurish product, billion dollar company has ever released. I absolutely dont care that Rockstar North didnt work on this. They hired the studio, they green lit it, they were okay to release it in state like this. Its all on them. Everything. Now Rockstar Launcher has been down over a day, i cant even play Red Dead Redemption 2, because it asks me to connect to internet and i cant do that, because launcher is down. This is ridiculous. They have milked GTA Online over 8 years and thats all they are capable of for now. Yes Red Dead 2 was great, but that was 4-5 years ago. Thats a long time. I have zero hope for GTA 6, absolutely none. I bet it fill be with short story and extreme focus on online, i mean who know, maybe whole game will be just online, but im pretty sure they will design GTA 6 map, so it would mostly fit for online. This is the end of Rockstar. This is the end of one of my favorite video game companies of all time. Full Review »
  2. Nov 12, 2021
    0
    Incredibly bad, amateurish and worthless "remaster". They couldn't even improve past issues/bugs and also created millions of new bugs. JustIncredibly bad, amateurish and worthless "remaster". They couldn't even improve past issues/bugs and also created millions of new bugs. Just cause you copy+paste same Palm trees all over the map and copy+paste new grass textures doesn't mean you can ask 60 dollars/euros for it. This is biggest joke i have seen in gaming, on same level as Cyberbug2077. You promised quality of life improvements and much more. Where is this MUCH MORE??? Jesus Christ this company makes me sick. Full Review »
  3. Nov 12, 2021
    2
    Frame rate drops, low resolution, graphical and lightning bugs here and there. At times awkward controls. The switch can run The Witcher 3 andFrame rate drops, low resolution, graphical and lightning bugs here and there. At times awkward controls. The switch can run The Witcher 3 and the Crysis trilogy. There is no excuse the Switch, or any other console cannot run these games perfectly. However, if you use a microscope, there is fun to be found. Full Review »