Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 6 out of 7
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Jul 26, 2018
    55
    A "family friendly" survival horror that's far from giving us goosebumps. It lacks polish (glitches, bugs... that make the game uglier) and offers a broken control that's its worst enemy, more than the neighbor. It looks like a twisted Pixar movie, but far more plain. It relies on a good idea, but it's executed in the worst possible way.
  2. Aug 14, 2018
    40
    Hello Neighbor could be fun, within the right parameters. The neighbour would hold a lot more terror if his actions carried any weight. The puzzling aspect of switches, hidden doors and traps would be more enjoyable were they staged within an inspiring world or using interesting concepts. But the game fails on all of these points, not holding attention, not really projecting any fear beyond the first few encounters, and the world feels as flat as the polygons used to build it.
  3. 40
    You might be able to derive some enjoyment from this game, but it requires overlooking absolutely essential elements gone awry, making Hello Neighbor very difficult to recommend. If you don’t mind solving abstract puzzles and throwing everything (including the kitchen sink) at your objectives all while constantly avoiding a particularly annoying antagonist, then you might give this game a try.
  4. Aug 6, 2018
    40
    A confused, messy stealth-puzzler with flaky physics and dodgy controls. Hello Neighbor's attempt to do something fresh with a classic cinematic concept is to be applauded, but the execution falls flat. A massive missed opportunity.
  5. Aug 1, 2018
    40
    The Switch port has almost everything going wrong with poor visuals, a higher price point than the other platforms, and poor use of Switch specific features. In its current state, you’re better off either buying it on another platform if you must have it, or skip it altogether. I hope the developers can either improve the visuals through patches or work on.
  6. Jul 31, 2018
    40
    Hello Neighbor shows a pattern of ideas which comes from thrillers, something that is common in the present but making it differently. The story in general can last as long as you want, but there is a guideline through it. It is, despite that, a failure, because the developers couldn't accomplish its goal in making a proper survival horror game.
  7. Aug 2, 2018
    16
    Hello Neighbor is the kind of awful that doesn’t need much time to make itself obvious. It stinks pretty much from the get-go, and that stench only gets more putrid with every second you spend with the game.
User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 42
  2. Negative: 25 out of 42
  1. Jan 25, 2021
    0
    I may not be the best at video games but I have had to restart the first stage 3 TIMES!!! the first time I got stuck in a wall, the secondI may not be the best at video games but I have had to restart the first stage 3 TIMES!!! the first time I got stuck in a wall, the second time I had made it all the way through to the end of the stage but I again would get stuck in the wall and be unable to progress and this last time it was because the key to the trunk of the neighbors car wouldn’t unlock it. Overall this game is a bugged out mess, the box physics are the WORST and overall this game was just a **** experience. 0/10 would not recommend Full Review »
  2. May 31, 2020
    4
    it is a pretty decent game, but its still glitchy and i don´t feel like is finished, is really short and easy and is 39.99 where i live whileit is a pretty decent game, but its still glitchy and i don´t feel like is finished, is really short and easy and is 39.99 where i live while pc, xbox and ps4 version is 29.99 i recomend to play this game in another pattaform, not switch Full Review »
  3. May 16, 2020
    0
    I knew someone who loved the game and liked the artstyle, so when I saw it on sale for a few bucks I grabbed it. It was a huge letdown. TheI knew someone who loved the game and liked the artstyle, so when I saw it on sale for a few bucks I grabbed it. It was a huge letdown. The controls are so awful that it's unplayable. I found a bug within a few minutes and I don't have much confidence in the rest. The "puzzles" are nonsensical.

    Does this guy not have a stairwell to his upstairs? I had to look up a guide to find out that I had to break into the second floor by stacking two boxes on a ladder and throwing a tv through the window. Fine, whatever, that's a simple task. But because of how tricky the controls are IT'S NOT. It's difficult to pick objects up, by the time you pick it up you've lost a lot of time. And then the neighbor spots you so you have to run back and start over again. And it's even harder to put objects down in the right spot.

    I gave up when the boxes I worked so hard to stack fell off when I tried to climb up. I might just watch a Let's Play so I can see the story, but I've given up on playing for good.
    Full Review »