Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
Buy On
  1. Dec 6, 2018
    100
    A must for classic gaming fans.
  2. Mar 17, 2019
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Jan 29, 2019
    90
    Horizon Chase Turbo is chocked full of cars and tracks, and numerous variations on all of the above. Not only does the Brazilian developer Aquiris bring quantity, but it also brings impeccable quality. This high-level slew of content, finesse and masterful, fast-paced racing, perfectly captures the true essence of any racing title. Anyone looking for a racer on the Nintendo Switch, should automatically consider this without any hesitation.
  4. 90
    If you’re a super-serious racing fan, then Horizon Chase Turbo might come off as being a bit too simplistic. But, I think it strikes a good balance between having a fun arcade feel with some challenging aspects also being present in order to keep you coming back again and again. As stated, I find the Switch version to be the best suited for the task. Thus, I’d arguably consider it to be the definitive version of the game just for the sake of being able to play it at any time.
  5. Jan 7, 2019
    90
    Horizon Chase Turbo is an unexpected surprise. A quality arcade racer that builds upon the groundwork of the classic 80s racers and brings it up to date with dazzling visuals and engaging racing action.
  6. Nov 28, 2018
    90
    It almost feels like Horizon Chase did to Out Run what Octopath Traveler did to 16 bit era JRPGs when it comes to feel and visuals. If you need something to satiate your old school racing desire before Out Run shows up next year, get this. It is a must play title.
  7. 90
    I’m not usually one for racing games, but Horizon Chase Turbo balances arcade gameplay with just enough strategery to keep me involved and at the edge of my seat most of the time. Very often, upon eeking out a first-place victory on a difficult course, I would cheer and hold my fist aloft, confusing our dog. This is not something I usually do with racing games. I kind of wish online multiplayer was in here (it does have persistent global and friend leaderboards), but it’s a small price to pay for this lovely package. Horizon Chase Turbo was a very pleasant surprise--go play it.
  8. Nov 27, 2018
    90
    If you’ve been craving an arcade racer for your Switch, look no further. Horizon Chase Turbo is a hugely enjoyable love letter to a gaming era when the cars were fast, the music was catchy, the action was smooth and the sky was bluer than an Eddie Murphy stand-up routine. Its enormous selection of tracks, addictive World Tour mode and excellent local multiplayer make it an absolute must-have for anyone even remotely interested in the genre.
  9. Dec 17, 2018
    88
    A great tribute to the games of the 80s and 90s. Horizon Chase Turbo stands out in its genre thanks to its visual and sound section.
  10. 85
    Even if it feels like a 90’s racing arcade, with marvelous landscapes and frenetic races, Horizon Chase Turbo doesn’t give up showing a strong personality and a fresh low poly style.
  11. Jan 14, 2019
    80
    Horizon Chase Turbo’s modern take on the arcade Outrun racer is a fast and fun colour-drenched experience barely diminished by a few crashes along the way.
  12. Jan 8, 2019
    80
    Horizon Chase Turbo brings a good and involving racing experience to the Nintendo Switch that succeeds at paying tribute to arcade classics of years gone by. With its simple but effective gameplay, enormous amount of content and top notch soundtrack, Horizon Chase Turbo may not reinvent the wheel or be a racing game revolution, but it's certain to captivate racing game enthusiasts.
  13. Dec 3, 2018
    80
    Horizon Chase Turbo is a game of few fresh ideas that nevertheless remains compelling as an often electric arcade racing bonanza.
  14. Dec 10, 2018
    70
    Where it excels is in ideas and concepts, yet it falters on the basic function of exciting racing. It looks and sounds good but lacks any memorable locations or tracks and it straddles an odd balance between pure arcade racer and pseudo-simulation, with its use of refuelling and permanent upgrades. And yet I finished the World Tour mode, knocked out some tournaments ready to write this review, but still find myself booting it up for the odd fifteen minutes and still thinking about how I’d like to chase a first place in every race. I’m obviously chasing something along with the developers.
  15. Nov 30, 2018
    70
    The spirit of 90s arcade racing is reborn in a homage to everything from OutRun to Lotus Turbo Challenge, and despite a few bumps in the road it’s all just as much fun as you remember.
  16. 50
    Horizon Chase Turbo does a good job of creating a sense of speed, and emulating the look and feel of Out Run. Where it falls down is in replacing the timer mechanics of Out Run, which made for a frustrating but ultimately exciting and tense arcade game, with a more typical racing track structure. It plays fine, but with none of the intensity, nor sense of reward, of the game it pulls almost all of its inspiration from.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. Dec 13, 2018
    10
    Picked this up as it looked interesting but was not expecting it to be quite as good as it actually turned out to be! This is a modern take onPicked this up as it looked interesting but was not expecting it to be quite as good as it actually turned out to be! This is a modern take on the 16 bit racing games of old (Think Outrun, Lotus Turbo Challenge and Jaguar XJ220 etc). It is presented wonderfully and there are various modes that unlock as you play. The game plays brilliantly and feels like the old games that it sets out to emulate while still feeling modern and tight. The graphics are clean and nostalgic while still being sharp. The music is pure genius and is as catchy as the tunes in the 16 bit games of the 90s (So many new games have forgettable music). There is a huge number of locations and tracks and cars unlock as you play. All in all this is a great game for anyone that loves racing games, especially those that love 16 bit racing games. Full Review »
  2. Nov 28, 2018
    10
    People who are looking for a great arcade racer from the 90s, this is a great experience. A huge number of gorgeous and treacherous tracks, aPeople who are looking for a great arcade racer from the 90s, this is a great experience. A huge number of gorgeous and treacherous tracks, a lot of unlockable cars and a eletronic soundtrack beautifully composed, the game has his best version on the Switch. Full Review »
  3. Dec 16, 2018
    9
    Horizon Chase Turbo to typowy arcade racer, w którym pędzimy do przodu na wykręconych trasach i omijamy przeciwników. Tytuł bazuje na takichHorizon Chase Turbo to typowy arcade racer, w którym pędzimy do przodu na wykręconych trasach i omijamy przeciwników. Tytuł bazuje na takich klasykach gatunku z lat 80-tych i 90-tych jak jak Out Run, Lotus Turbo Challenge i Top Gear (SNES). Gdy wjedziemy z dużą prędkością w lampę lub znak na zakręcie to zostajemy wybici w powietrze. Samochód robi szybką przewrotkę i wskakuje na jezdnię tracąc na prędkości... ale zabawa trwa dalej i ciśniemy pedał (przycisk) gazu na maxa.

    Tytuł Aquiris Game Studio oferuje stosunkowo dużo zawartości, która odblokowuje się wraz z postępem w podstawowym trybie World Tour (kariera). Za dobre wyniki dostajemy nowe samochody, dostęp do kolejnych tras, do nowych trybów gry i możliwość rozbudowywania pojazdów przez tuning wybranych części. Tym samym zwiększamy przyspieszenie, prędkość, zużycie paliwa itp...

    W World Tour należy przejechać przez kilkanaście regionów świata, takich jak: Kalifornia, Brazylia, Południowa Afryka, Zjednoczone Emiraty Arabskie, Japonia... i jeszcze kilku - co daje w sumie dwanaście lokalizacji. Podróżując po świecie, każdy z opisanych rejonów podzielony jest na około 8-10 zmagań (ponad 100 wyścigów) w różnych tematycznie sceneriach.

    Za zajęcie dobrego miejsca na mecie zdobywamy puchary, ale jest jeszcze możliwość wygrania super pucharu za zebranie tokenów na trasie. Gra zlicza nam wtedy pozycję w wyścigu i zdobyte niebieskie krążki sumując je na walutę odblokowującą kolejne regiony do przejechania. Dodatkowe bonusowe punkty można zdobyć jeszcze za pozostałe paliwo w baku. Na trasie rozmieszczone są więc kanistry, po zebraniu których zwiększamy zawartość zbiornika. Czasami kanistry dodają tylko punkty, ale na dłuższych trasach ich zbieranie jest już obowiązkowe bo może zabraknąć nam paliwa.
    Wspomnieć należy jeszcze, że każdy wyścig zaczynami z określoną ilością nitro. Turbo doładowanie znajduje się też na trasie jako dodatkowe butle do zebrania, które mogą uratować nas przed przegraną. Warto więc się za nimi rozglądać i zapamiętać ich lokalizację na kolejnych okrążeniach.

    Tytuł oferuje zmienne warunki jazdy, takie jak dzień, noc i anomalie pogodowe (deszcz, burza z błyskawicami, śnieg, mgła, burza piaskowa a nawet i pylący wulkan Eyjafjallajökull). Trasy są proste i kręte, różnią się też ukształtowaniem, np. wzniesienia. Technicznie pierwszy plan pracuje przewijając się na boki i w pionie zakrywając tło w oddali. Ścigamy się na szerokich pięcio-sześcio pasmowych asfaltowych jezdniach jak i na wąskich polanach lub pustynnych, pokrytych piachem szutrach. Fajnie wygląda też wydobywający się spod tylnych kół kanciasty dym na off-road'ach.

    Horizon Chase Turbo to wyścigi w starym stylu, ale jednak w jakości HD w unikatowym design'ie. Tytuł nie stara się naśladować pixel art'u, tylko wprowadza swoją geometryczną wizję świata, szczególnie uwydatnioną na obiektach przy drodze: krzewy, roślinność, kamienie. Ma to swój urok i podoba się.

    Zwykłe wyścigi byłyby niczym, gdyby nie zachowanie przeciwników na drodze, a to jest świetnie wykonane. Walka o pozycje na trasie to jeden z kluczowych mechanizmów gry. Przeciwnicy spychają nas z drogi, czasami wjeżdżają nam przed maskę blokując przejazd lub stukają w tylny zderzak chcąc nas wyprzedzić. Czuć więc rywalizację o pozycję na trasie.

    Poza głównym trybem kariery mamy jeszcze do ogrania tryb Tournament, który zawiera zawody złożone z czterech tras jak Grand Prix w Mario Kart. Na każdej trasie zdobywamy punkty za dobrą pozycję na mecie, a na końcu suma z czterech wyścigów klasyfikuje nas w rankingu. Zawodów do rozegrania w tym trybie gry jest ponad dwadzieścia na różnych poziomach trudności. Jak się pewnie domyślacie – daje to sporo grania, aby zaliczyć je na złoto. W Tournament nie musimy już zbierać tokenów i skupić możemy się jedynie na zajęciu dobrej pozycji w każdym z wyścigów......

    Podsumowanie
    Horizon Chase Turbo to kawał solidnego kodu, który na Nintendo Switch prezentuje się świetnie. Tytuł polecam wszystkim lubiącym dobre wyścigi arcade – bo jest to naprawdę fajna gra z dużą ilością zawartości na kilkadziesiąt godzin. Tytuł zawiera ogrom wyścigów, o różnym i zmiennym ukształtowaniu terenu, w różnych regionach świata ze zmiennymi warunkami dnia/nocy i pogodowymi. Jest to też szybka i dynamiczna gra z fajnymi mechanizmami walki o pozycję na trasie, dzięki którym czuć rywalizację i satysfakcję zarazem. Aquiris Game Studio stworzyło naprawdę świetną grę w unikatowym stylu w oprawie godnej nowoczesnych konsol zachowując jednocześnie ducha gier wyścigowych z lat 80-stych i 90-tych.
    ----------------------------
    Grywalność - 9/10
    Grafika - 9/10
    Dźwięk - 8/10
    ----------------------------
    Ogółem - 8.7/10
    pełna recenzja na goomba.pl
    Full Review »