Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Dec 16, 2020
    90
    From its heartful story that is only made better by a charming set of characters, to the soothing atmosphere of the gorgeous island-town Shelmerston, I am Dead constructs a serendipitous but accurate portrayal of the usually sorrowful emotions around death.
  2. Oct 20, 2020
    90
    Despite the dark undertones, one might assume a game with the title of I Am Dead has, I certainly felt anything but. The narrative pulls you in immediately. The heartwarming stories you’ll discover are just as great. I didn’t want it to end. Even though I didn’t rush through it, I wish I had spent more time taking in the gorgeous scenery and story. Lately, it seems as though the world is on fire, so why not take some time to pick this up and let Morris and Sparky’s delightful adventure take you for a ride?
  3. Oct 7, 2020
    90
    A delightful puzzle adventure full of charm, personality, and satisfying ghostly X-ray vision mechanics.
  4. 90
    I loved my time with I Am Dead so much I wish there was a little bit more of it. Hanging with Morris and Sparky is a chill, relaxing time, even if there’s an undercurrent of the sad afterlife coursing through the world. It might be that juxtaposition between the reality of death mixed with the playfulness of the world that makes I Am Dead so memorable and fun.
  5. Oct 12, 2020
    89
    Although the game can feel a little underwhelming when it comes to rewarding you for collecting all of the Grenkins and got a bit glitchy towards the end, the real reward from playing I Am Dead rewards you with good storytelling and a life lesson about life, death, and knowing where you come from.
  6. 85
    With a deep storyline, vibrant world, and intuitive puzzles, I Am Dead is a fantastic journey about death and how we affect those around us long after we're gone.
  7. Oct 7, 2020
    85
    I Am Dead avoids the pitfalls of modern video game storytelling to deliver a touching narrative experience with simplistic, but approachable puzzle elements.
  8. Nov 8, 2020
    80
    If you are looking for a charming little puzzler and hidden object game then you cannot go wrong with I Am Dead. The story experience can be swept through in a few hours, and they will pass quite quickly, but it's an unforgettable journey.
  9. Nov 3, 2020
    80
    While it would be nice if I Am Dead's characters were as layered as the town of Shelmertston, the game still mostly succeeds as a unique puzzle experience with some excellent environmental storytelling. It is rewarding to explore this space while magnifying and cross-cutting its details, a constant stream of small discoveries coming into view as you deduce the location of the next hidden memento. Every corner of this seaside village brims with picturesque detail, creating a small town that feels genuinely interconnected. And while the game's pleasant tone keeps things from ever getting truly heavy, it undeniably makes for a thoroughly charming time.
  10. Oct 13, 2020
    80
    I Am Dead takes players on a whimsical journey through a colorful and cute narrative that plays on themes of death and discovery. Each chapter gives us a new piece of the puzzle, making it tough to put the game down, even if the game’s systems become repetitive across long play sessions. You’ll get the most out of this adventure by taking your time, and you’ll be glad you did as you splice through each new object to uncover all the secrets hidden within.
  11. Oct 8, 2020
    80
    I Am Dead is a delightful adventure.
  12. Oct 7, 2020
    80
    Most of Shelmerton’s residents have worthy miniature tales to unravel, threads which are less fluffy than some earlier encounters might indicate. It makes for a game that is mature yet whimsical, exploring known and unknown impressions left on a community by those who have passed on, and the complete tale is a fulfilling one with a creative narrative finale. For such a high concept game mechanic, it’s frustrating that the controls aren’t as intuitive as could be, but it’s nothing that compromises I Am Dead’s colorful portal into North Atlantic island life.
  13. 80
    A charmingly offbeat exploration and object finding game which is at least as much about its characters and their stories as it is the mechanics of your search.
  14. Oct 7, 2020
    80
    At a time where a 'Britain divided', in the near-future and distant past respectively, is the setting of at least two new AAA games - namely Watch Dogs: Legion and Assassin's Creed Valhalla - it's refreshing and comforting to play through a game where this place I call home isn't, well, a load of sh*t. The bucolic, pastoral Britishness of I Am Dead is weaved throughout its gentle humour and its heart-squeezing moments of emotional lurch, likewise its old-time seaside quaintness and whimsical soundtrack. It's a nice game to spend time with, in the same way that Detectorists (for example) was a nice TV show to spend time with; and for a title that's ostensibly about preventing a cataclysmic eruption, it's incredibly relaxed. It's definitely not for everyone, but to return to that Annapurna catalogue of paragraph one: if those games do it for you, I Am Dead will scratch the same itches with all the agreeable satisfaction of a Morris Lupton bellyrub. Woof.
  15. Oct 15, 2020
    72
    I Am Dead offers an interesting game proposal, but even if original, its structure feels a bit outdated.
  16. Nov 16, 2020
    70
    Overall, the keywords for I Am Dead would probably be ‘charming’ and ‘quirky’. It isn’t a horror adventure nor a sad one, even though there are little doses of melancholy here and there. Instead, it’s a light puzzler that features some interesting game mechanics, and others that feel more appropriate to a casual mobile title — an easy recommend to casual players who are short on time and don’t mind a bit of repetition.
  17. Oct 16, 2020
    70
    A very interesting game indeed, I Am Dead isn't top-tier indie magic but it's a hide-and-seek sandbox that will reward you the deeper you go. It's refreshingly content-rich, what with the Grenkins to find and riddles to solve for committed players. An appealing sense of place and strong visuals are only spoiled by some misplaced attempts at quirkiness and some minor control issues. Overall, though, I Am Dead makes us long for the sweet embrace of the reaper. Wait, no. It's just a rather enjoyable game. That's it. Not that other thing. Good god.
  18. Oct 14, 2020
    70
    Ricky Haggett's I Am Dead offers a nice walk on a fictional island through the eyes of the recently deceased Morris Lupton, hoping to find a new Keeper to prevent a volcan's eruption. With it's dog Sparky and a clever mechanic of zooming into almost every item, house or people you can see, I Am Dead is a short but relaxing puzzle-adventure. We simply hoped the extra challenge was more rewarding.
  19. Oct 8, 2020
    70
    Dipping in and out of this humble puzzler is the way to go since it can otherwise be easy to lose sight of the charms of a fairly ordinary environment.
  20. Feb 8, 2021
    58
    If you don’t mind the narration and you’re able to get into the narrative, then you’ll probably delight in uncovering all the neat objects and stories this island and its inhabitants are hiding. For me, though? It never quite hits the mark. I Am Dead has some interesting ideas, and it executes on a lot of them, but taken as a whole, it’s just not as good as it could be.
  21. Dec 11, 2020
    58
    Clearly a lot of thought was put into this game and it is enjoyable to discover that. Unfortunately, I Am Dead’s repetitive gameplay, awkward controls, and short story that left me feeling discontent made me overall a bit disappointed.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 8, 2020
    I Am Dead, with its ghosts, its world of objects, large and small, curiosities charged in some ways by the people who owned them, speaks to this very clearly, for me at least. It speaks of the ways that conversations with the dead go on. The way rituals and responsibilities take on new and perhaps confusing dimensions. More than anything it is a reminder of that bright contradiction - that death has absolutely everything to do with life. [Eurogamer Recommended]
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Oct 11, 2020
    8
    Despite having one of the most morbid titles I have ever heard, I Am Dead is the latest example of game publisher Annapurna InteractiveDespite having one of the most morbid titles I have ever heard, I Am Dead is the latest example of game publisher Annapurna Interactive emphasis on heartfelt storytelling. Our story focuses on Morris Lupton, curator of the Shelmerston Museum, a small island off the North Atlantic and like the name suggests, he is no longer with us. But that doesn’t stop him from talking and more importantly, slicing through everything, and that’s the main feature of the game, being able to pick pretty much anything and explore into its very core.

    Morris is reunited with his deceased dog Sparky, who has gained the ability to speak to him as well apparently all animals can talk we just can’t understand them. But Sparky comes with a warning, Shelmerston’s volcano which has remained dormant for centuries has suddenly stopped being dormant and will wipe out the town, its citizens and even worse, all the tourists and their selfie sticks.

    The volcano is threatening to erupt because the custodian of the volcano is slowly fading away and it is up to Morris and Sparky to find a new spirit and ask them to take over. They have several people in mind, citizens of the island who have also passed away over the last few years and to converse with their spirits they need to find mementos from when they were alive. The mementos are introduced from the memories of the people who knew them well.

    In the several areas we explore with Morris and Sparky, we find people with thought bubbles popping out of their heads. This gives us a little trippy slideshow of this person’s memories with the recently deceased and the memento that we need to find, thankfully you won’t have to look under every nook and cranny in the area to find it as they are in the same vicinity. After finding five of them, we play as a flying Sparky who rounds parts of their spirit like an ecto-sheep dog, rinse and repeat until the credits.

    There isn’t much challenge or strategy with I Am Dead and honestly, there really doesn’t need to be. It’s more about the sights and the people we meet along the way, it goes to show that even after we’ve passed on we are never truly gone, our stories, our legacies will be remembered by the people around us, sometimes even for centuries. The design of the world is incredibly basic, with a simplistic vector style that doesn’t even have any shadows, but honestly, I don’t hold that against the game. Because the main spect of the game is to slice into all kinds of objects you are going to be seeing the inside of anything from watermelon to a walkie talkie, so pretty much all the objects in the world were created with a full inside as opposed to just an object layer with a texture on top. There is an added layer to at all with hidden secrets known as Grenkins, little hand-drawn creatures that pop up when you slice a certain object in a particular way

    I Am Dead will only last you a few hours, but every moment is a heartfelt affair with some very interesting personalities living on the island like a Yoga Assistant Robot, a Glove Loving Fox or a Fishperson with a fondness for toast. For a game focused primarily on death and the afterlife, I Am Dead is simply brimming with life and much like the memories in the game, I won’t soon forget it.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 26, 2020
    0
    Literally unplayable. I've spent the last 20 minutes trying to get past the opening stage. There is no option to advance. **** this game.
  3. Feb 13, 2021
    1
    I'm surprised by the generally positive tenor of the critical discussion around this game. As someone who's a dedicated Annapurna InteractiveI'm surprised by the generally positive tenor of the critical discussion around this game. As someone who's a dedicated Annapurna Interactive fan, I'd been really looking forward to it from the trailer... existential subject matter in a colourful, charming seaside world? Count me in.

    But what I didn't know is that the narrative offering is hamstrung by several uniformly tedious mechanics: namely, slowly scrubbing through the characters' anecdotal "memories" to reveal each objects you need to find, and then searching the large, teeming, busy play area from top to bottom looking for each object. It's video game 'Where's Wally?'. In a bad way.

    Everything that the player must do to move the story forward is, unfortunately, boring. When you're stuck, you circle each area endlessly (couldn't there be a hint mode where your dog barks when you're getting warmer, or something?). Some of the item locations are infuriating. And so, progressing the story is drained of enjoyment.

    This is an awful video game.
    Full Review »