Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Mar 23, 2017
    74
    This nostalgic RPG suffers from an uninspired storyline, and poor technical aspects, such as frame rate drops. It´s too easy (even when battling final bosses) and the only Switch exclusive feature is online pvp mode.
  2. Apr 19, 2017
    70
    The Switch version of this nice old school JRPG runs at 30fps. Despise that, this is the best version of the game. You can play it at home or wherever you like, along with an interesting FREE DLC.
  3. Apr 5, 2017
    70
    All in all, a simplified and then stereotypical, but yet a JRPG made with love the best way from the 90s. Fans of Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy will feel like at home, for others it’s a good opportunity to venture into the secrets of Japanese RPGs.
  4. Mar 19, 2017
    70
    From a presentational and mechanical standpoint, I Am Setsuna manages to lay the foundations for an incredibly solid role-playing game. Unfortunately, this experience is often marred by a wholly predictable story, forgettable characters, and dungeons that feel completely uninspired.
  5. Mar 13, 2017
    70
    I Am Setsuna is still the same ultra-classic JRPG released on PC and PS4. On Switch it results enriched by the portable function but its flaws like its strengths, are still the same.
  6. Mar 12, 2017
    70
    The cool combat mechanics, its common ground with the likes of Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy VI, and the intriguing story of I am Setsuna will please fans of old school JRPGs, but it’s far from perfect: it’s quite linear and monotonous.
  7. Mar 10, 2017
    70
    I Am Setsuna is pure nostalgia and sadly... little more. It's a good JRPG, but its story is unoriginal and its combat system, quite simple.
  8. Mar 5, 2017
    70
    Those not looking to take a trip down memory lane may be left wanting more, though in pure gameplay hours this offers a reasonable return on investment. The no-thrills plotline and gameplay outside of combat could have been fleshed out, leaving this one short of its full potential. I Am Setsuna could be the perfect complement to your Nintendo Switch, but if you're not foaming at the mouth with nostalgia it's certainly an optional purchase.
  9. Apr 6, 2017
    68
    I am Setsuna is an enjoyable and more than competent JRPG, which while weak in story more than makes up for this with a strong combat system and fantastic presentation.
  10. Apr 11, 2017
    67
    I'm not disappointed I spent those 20 hours with I Am Setsuna, but isn't a great game. It's one I recommend for sure, especially on the Switch, but the dated combat, meaningless and convoluted skill systems, and iffy story drop it down into an average RPG. There is room in this world for average RPGs, just as every book you read isn't a winner. I would love to see more games like Setsuna with a little more care taken with the combat and skill systems.
  11. 65
    A strong base game is at the core of I Am Setsuna, but it’s surrounded by some very depressing environments that make getting the best of the battle system difficult. Bundle up and get ready for a short story with a lot of snow.
  12. Apr 15, 2017
    60
    I Am Setsuna will more than certainly strike a chord with longtime JRPG fans, who will find plenty of elements to bond with this game. It doesn't quite fulfill other major ambitions and its disappointing plot, rather uninspired characters and overall repetitiveness of some aspects, especially as far as its visual component is concerned, stand on its way from breaking any grounds compared to other recent games of the same style.
  13. Mar 6, 2017
    59
    The presentation is almost as boring as the battles, which are too easy most of the time – with the exception of bosses, of course. If it wouldn’t be for the interesting story, this could have been a disaster.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 143
  2. Negative: 20 out of 143
  1. Mar 15, 2017
    9
    Great port :) perfect for play on the run with the switch !! Now I can play it everywhere :) !!! Very good JRPG :) old school but with prettyGreat port :) perfect for play on the run with the switch !! Now I can play it everywhere :) !!! Very good JRPG :) old school but with pretty cool graphic :) Full Review »
  2. Mar 5, 2017
    9
    It's only the same game in a new console, BUT this game is amazing and a great contribution to the catalog of the new nintendo switch, that'sIt's only the same game in a new console, BUT this game is amazing and a great contribution to the catalog of the new nintendo switch, that's enough to buy this game. Full Review »
  3. Mar 9, 2017
    8
    I'm happy that Square Enix works with nintendo just like 25 years ago bringing this game of Ps4 for the new Nintendo console turned out to beI'm happy that Square Enix works with nintendo just like 25 years ago bringing this game of Ps4 for the new Nintendo console turned out to be a very good game and personally with what little I've tried I feel it's a great game.

    8/10
    Full Review »