Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. 100
    That gorgeous big screen makes for an incredible display of the game's endless winter, and if you're in the mood for the big television experience, you need only dock the console once you're back at home. The added benefit is that the game doesn't tax the Switch's battery anywhere near as badly as games like Zelda does, and I've been able to use the game to make train trips absolutely bearable with a good pair of headphones, for both the trip and the return.
  2. Mar 20, 2017
    90
    I am Setsuna lends itself perfectly to on the go gaming, making the Switch the ideal console to experience this unique RPG.
  3. 90
    Though it's narratively, visually and aurally filled with anguish and sorrow, I Am Setsuna's charming personality has the strength and the warmth to melt all but the iciest of hearts, which couldn't make me happier.
  4. Mar 13, 2017
    90
    That last statement actually bears true for the whole of I Am Setsuna. Everything from the length of the game (around 25 hours), the battle system, difficult, art, music, characters — this has proven to be a treat of an experience for me and one I would happily recommend to any Switch owner.
  5. Apr 2, 2017
    85
    The Switch version of I am Setsuna looks good and feels great. It might be only 30FPS but that doesn't affect the overall experience. If you enjoyed the JRPGs from the 90s, you should not let it pass.
  6. Jun 18, 2018
    80
    There are better JRPGs that could be played portably on the GBA, DS, and Vita, but I Am Setsuna is the best JRPG that can currently be played on Nintendo Switch. The game isn't without its faults, though - namely the repetitive nature of environments, enemies, and bland NPCs. However, it has a powerful narrative that is driven by its backdrop and score; elements that should be greatly appreciated by all fans of the genre.
  7. Apr 6, 2017
    80
    One of my favourite things worth mentioning about this game is the soundtrack. It’s entirely piano pieces, with varying tempos for various situations, like exploring the overworld, or fighting in a battle. If you have Spotify, the soundtrack is on there, I highly recommend giving it a listen!
  8. Apr 3, 2017
    80
    I Am Setsuna does a good job of marrying old and new in one package - and it's delightful on Nintendo Switch.
  9. Mar 31, 2017
    80
    I Am Setsuna is a wonderful game which, while bittersweet, is told beautifully. It fits the Nintendo Switch wonderfully and is a great example of what the console is aiming to achieve.
  10. Mar 16, 2017
    80
    It's disappointing to see nothing new in the Switch version of I am Setsuna, but we're still talking about a very good JRPG and the only offering right now for all the Nintendo fans on their new console. A recommended choice if you didn't get to play it elsewhere.
  11. Mar 14, 2017
    80
    To many this would seem like filler to bolster a meagre launch lineup, but I am Setsuna is a game that is worthy of your time and a heritage that deserves your respect.
  12. Mar 12, 2017
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  13. Mar 8, 2017
    76
    I Am Setsuna is a little too shallow at times to truly stand out as a worthy successor to its precursors but, if you have a hankering for a throwback to Square’s golden age of RPGs but with a current generation sheen applied, it’s worth giving the game a look even if it doesn’t quite manage to reinvent the wheel.
  14. NF Magazine
    Apr 24, 2017
    75
    I Am Setsuna is plagued by a lack of ambition when it comes to several aspects of its narrative, but as a whole it's a perfect pick-up-and-play JRPG. [Issue #27 – May/June 2017, p. 22]
  15. Mar 16, 2017
    75
    If you are looking to play I Am Setsuna, the Switch is the best platform to purchase the game on. I Am Setsuna is a perfect fit for the handheld mode of the console. It may not be the best JRPG out there, but it is a guarantee for hours of fun.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 143
  2. Negative: 20 out of 143
  1. Mar 15, 2017
    9
    Great port :) perfect for play on the run with the switch !! Now I can play it everywhere :) !!! Very good JRPG :) old school but with prettyGreat port :) perfect for play on the run with the switch !! Now I can play it everywhere :) !!! Very good JRPG :) old school but with pretty cool graphic :) Full Review »
  2. Mar 5, 2017
    9
    It's only the same game in a new console, BUT this game is amazing and a great contribution to the catalog of the new nintendo switch, that'sIt's only the same game in a new console, BUT this game is amazing and a great contribution to the catalog of the new nintendo switch, that's enough to buy this game. Full Review »
  3. Mar 9, 2017
    8
    I'm happy that Square Enix works with nintendo just like 25 years ago bringing this game of Ps4 for the new Nintendo console turned out to beI'm happy that Square Enix works with nintendo just like 25 years ago bringing this game of Ps4 for the new Nintendo console turned out to be a very good game and personally with what little I've tried I feel it's a great game.

    8/10
    Full Review »