Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 5, 2023
    90
    Terrifying and enigmatic, Incryption is an unparalleled experience that proves that you don't need miles of exploration or complicated dynamics to fascinate, horrify, and simultaneously teach you how much fun card games can be, especially when you add a few dungeons to them.
  2. Dec 21, 2022
    90
    While I hope Inscryption gets touchscreen support in a future update, it has arrived as an excellent conversion on Nintendo’s hybrid system. If you skipped prior releases with the hope of enjoying Inscryption on the go, your wait has been worth it. I’m looking forward to grabbing the eventual physical release. If you enjoy unique takes on narratives, Inscryption is a game you do not want to miss. It also shines on the OLED display on Switch.
  3. Dec 19, 2022
    90
    Inscryption is one of the best games of the past year, and thanks to the new Switch version, it ranks among the most interesting games that came out this year. It offers an immersive meta-story and fun card battles that complement each other beautifully.
  4. 90
    If you’re a fan of scary movies or games that don’t spell out their story, I’m certain that you will enjoy what Inscryption has to offer very much. But it was the deckbuilding system, sigils and strategy that kept me coming back again and again and again. Inscryption feels like the perfect fit on Switch and is great on the go. While I thought I would play it in short sessions, the game kept pulling me in again and again to play for hours on end. You’ll definitely get everything you’ve asked for and more while playing Inscryption and it makes for one must of a card game on the Nintendo Switch.
  5. Dec 20, 2022
    86
    Inscryption is a journey that will not leave you indifferent. Although his constant desire to surprise the player leads him to take many risks, it achieves what it sets out to do in most cases.
  6. Jan 3, 2023
    80
    Turn off the lights and go into your play of Inscryption knowing you will experience a narrative like no other. The gameplay is well done, but the story that lies under it is perfect. If you are a horror fan, do not skip this one.
  7. Dec 5, 2022
    80
    It’s hard to talk about the specifics of Inscryption without diluting some of its magic. However, its ingenuity is mind-boggling, its mood is devilishly haunting and its presentation is first-rate. As a deck builder, it’s stretched about as far as it can go, and by jumping around between concepts it sometimes asks for a lot of from the player. The pay-off, however, is one of the most impressive feats of video game storytelling there is. If you’re new to Daniel Mullins Games then you’re in for even more of a treat, but existing fans, too, shouldn’t think they have the measure of what awaits on Inscryption’s dusty old floppy disk.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Jan 25, 2023
    9
    One of the best games I've ever played. The first phase (the cabin) seemed amazing to me and had me hooked for days. The second one not soOne of the best games I've ever played. The first phase (the cabin) seemed amazing to me and had me hooked for days. The second one not so much, but still quite good. I'm lovin 'it! Full Review »
  2. Jan 8, 2023
    9
    This game is utterly fantastic. It feels like a labour of love. So weird and so wonderful. I haven’t played anything quite like it before, andThis game is utterly fantastic. It feels like a labour of love. So weird and so wonderful. I haven’t played anything quite like it before, and likely never will again. Full Review »
  3. Jan 7, 2023
    10
    "I would highly recommend this game to any fan of card-based deck builder games, and those who appreciate a good plot twist. The final"I would highly recommend this game to any fan of card-based deck builder games, and those who appreciate a good plot twist. The final climactic scene still bleeds in my mind like the ink on a freshly made card"

    https://theeliteinstitute.net/2023/01/07/inscryption/
    Full Review »