User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 6 out of 25
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 27, 2019
    10
    The game Kill La Kill IF is lots of fun and the story is great.
    I love the anime and now this game.
  2. Jul 27, 2019
    10
    The combat is simple yet very intricate if and when you practice with them. The characters are balanced when you've found their style. The story is short, but very exciting if you're a big Kill La Kill fan. You will not regret getting this game. There is a fighter for everyone, if it be a tank or a quick fighter. It's an awesome anime game!
  3. Aug 18, 2019
    9
    An amazing fighter for Kill La Kill fans featuring Fan favourite characters. The graphics are amazing... in a way that does the trigger artstyle justice. The story mode though short with 2 different versions (the Ryuko being the better Story as it has Mako in it unlike Satsuki's story). It has its funny moments, and its action packed moments. All cutscenes are done like an Anime whileAn amazing fighter for Kill La Kill fans featuring Fan favourite characters. The graphics are amazing... in a way that does the trigger artstyle justice. The story mode though short with 2 different versions (the Ryuko being the better Story as it has Mako in it unlike Satsuki's story). It has its funny moments, and its action packed moments. All cutscenes are done like an Anime while recreating the actual Anime cutscenes in the engine, and they have done a pretty god job here.

    Gameplay wise it is good enough for a Kill La Kill game, it's everything i wanted it to be, and the AI don't let up either, so you can play the game without online if you want and you miss out on anything.

    For additional Modes other than Story, there is Versus, Training, Tutorial, Survival, Wave Mode, Ranked Online and Player Online modes. each has something to do so it can keep you from getting bored if you are like me and just sit in training Mode for 2 hours straight with the same 2 Characters fighting each other with infinite health... yes i do it, don't judge.

    it is 100% fully voiced in Japanese and English... and with the Cutscenes, unlike Arc Systems previous titles, there is no Text boxes, so you can relax and enjoy the visuals... sadly with the way mouths are made, the English voices although are great, they are out of sync for 60% of the time unlike the original Anime. Nothing beats Stephanie Sheh (Nui) and Christine Marie Cabanos (Mako) though (i am biased and love their other character performances)

    The music is what you expect from Kill La Kill, its all the same and just great all around. staying on track with audio (pun not intended), the Sounds from the attacks, screams, and everything is amazing and makes it even better, the way Nonon fires her beams, or the popping of Nui's doppelgangers.

    overall this is a sight to be hold and will come back to it from time to time. Congrats on ArcSys for making my dream come true.
    Expand
  4. Aug 6, 2019
    7
    It pains me to give the score that I did, the lower points is due to a few mechanics that need improvement. The new story is great. It is written by the original writer. It is an amazing alternate tale to the original story. They even got both the original Japanese and English voice actors. The problems I have are certain characters are to powerful. One for example has a long range beamIt pains me to give the score that I did, the lower points is due to a few mechanics that need improvement. The new story is great. It is written by the original writer. It is an amazing alternate tale to the original story. They even got both the original Japanese and English voice actors. The problems I have are certain characters are to powerful. One for example has a long range beam that spans the arena that is a spamable move. The biggest problem is when fighting multiple opponents, there. Isn't a way to switch targets. This is especially problematic when an enemy is behind you, you stay focussed on the character in front unable to stop the one behind. This seems like an easy fix and I really hope they fix it. If they do fix these problem this would be a 9/10 for sure Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2019
    7
    Kill La Kill If est une très bonne adaptation de l’anime. Ciblant en priorité la base de ses fans, le titre pourrait également plaire aux joueurs recherchant un jeu de combat simple d’accès et qui en met plein la vue. Moins profond mais plus rapide à prendre en main que Dragon Ball Fighter Z ou Blazblue, Kill La Kill If se démarque surtout par son excellent mode Story qui nous propose unKill La Kill If est une très bonne adaptation de l’anime. Ciblant en priorité la base de ses fans, le titre pourrait également plaire aux joueurs recherchant un jeu de combat simple d’accès et qui en met plein la vue. Moins profond mais plus rapide à prendre en main que Dragon Ball Fighter Z ou Blazblue, Kill La Kill If se démarque surtout par son excellent mode Story qui nous propose un arc inédit et qui ajoute l’équivalent de 2 épisodes de l’anime. Un bonheur pour la communauté et une avalanche de fan service. Techniquement au point, la version Switch est fluide et graphiquement plutôt jolie, merci le Cel Shading.

    Note: 7/10
    Expand
  6. Jul 28, 2019
    8
    The game runs pretty well. It looks exactly the same as if I were playing on my ps4.
  7. Aug 28, 2019
    0
    this game sucks so much and there's only 10 characters because this game as a **** roster this is the story **** and the characters are broken **** this game **** you creators
  8. Sep 3, 2019
    9
    El sistema de combate es muy bueno, te lleva a varios punto de la trama muy memorable. Es un gran juego si has viste el anime con anterioridad, pero de todas maneras el trabajo que ha hecho Arc System Works es increíble. La única queja que tengo es la banda sonora, en algunos puntos crea una disonancia con la pelea, pero solo en algunos casos.
  9. Sep 2, 2019
    9
    A short game, with little content, but very cute, entertaining, Graphics 9, story 7, Music 8. Enjoyable
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Oct 8, 2019
    60
    For the fans of the Kill la Kill anime, this would be a great and fun game to have and play with friends. Its button mashy system and crazy action are well presented. But lack of playable characters and high price tag drag it down for now.
  2. Aug 23, 2019
    60
    Kill la Kill The Game: IF is a unique title for sure. It lacks depth and breadth but makes up for it in wackiness and style. Fans of the anime will likely enjoy it, but fighting game fans in general will most likely pass this one by. There just isn’t enough here to make it stand out among the crowd. One thing I can say about it though is that nothing is ever likely to be as bonkers as far as fighting games go…oh who am I kidding?
  3. Aug 1, 2019
    60
    KILL la KILL IF has all the visual prowess of an Arc System Works competitive fighter minus the substance that they are usually known for. It doesn’t necessarily handle badly control-wise, it’s just far too simplistic for even the most casual player to get any real longevity or satisfaction from it. Mix that with a horde survival mode tacked on as an afterthought, and you have an unrewarding button-masher masked behind the scribbled down blueprints of a fighting game.