Knockout City Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rule the city through lightning-fast multiplayer matches featuring mind-blowing dodgeball mechanics. Increase your attack by passing to power up dodgeballs, targeting your opponents with a variety of specialized balls, or “balling up” at any time to get thrown by teammates. Assemble anRule the city through lightning-fast multiplayer matches featuring mind-blowing dodgeball mechanics. Increase your attack by passing to power up dodgeballs, targeting your opponents with a variety of specialized balls, or “balling up” at any time to get thrown by teammates. Assemble an All-Star dodgeball Crew with your friends for multiplayer matches in a seamless cross-play experience! Together, knock out opponents in 3v3, 4v4, or free-for-all matches. Pass, throw, and strategize to dominate as a team and unlock distinctive, Crew-only rewards. [Electronic Arts] Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Knockout City Reveal Trailer | Nintendo Direct
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 95
    I’m floored by how much I enjoy Knockout City. Despite the first trailer for the game being a bad way to sell the concept of the game, I always thought it looked good. I never would have guessed that Knockout City would be excellent. I haven’t had this much fun with my Switch or any other game console this year. Velan Studios has made an outstanding experience in Knockout City.
  2. May 24, 2021
    90
    Knockout City is an absolute blast, a colourful arcade sports game that's easy to jump into for newbies with plenty of depth and strategy for crews looking to become the ultimate dodgeball champions. With four modes and five stages currently on offer, tons of unlockable cosmetics, daily challenges and cross-play/cross-progression included from the get-go, this one has hit the ground running and there's absolutely no reason not to jump into the free trial and see how you fare.
  3. 85
    Knockout City is a ton of fun, with lots of game modes, amazing visuals and music, tons of customization, and incredible network capabilities. Graphics take a hit on Switch and the controls carry a steep learning curve, but it is a great experience overall.
  4. May 26, 2021
    80
    Knockout City is in a strong place to capture the hearts of both casual and competitive gamers alike. Its cutesy graphics hide deeply rewarding dodgeball-throwing mechanics that never fail to be both entertaining and engaging. Once ranked leagues and other gameplay modes pick up steam it will be interesting to see how many gamers jump on the bandwagon. Player engagement is always difficult to predict, but as a product, Knockout City has a chance to be a truly special game based on its mechanics alone.
  5. Jul 1, 2021
    80
    An addictive action-sports hybrid with plenty of customisation options, rotating gameplay modes and an exciting roadmap ahead, Knockout City earns its spot as a multiplayer mainstay in valuable Switch SD card real estate for the foreseeable future.
  6. Jun 8, 2021
    80
    With style to spare and refined gameplay, Knockout City knows exactly what game it is. That happens to be an excellent, highly addictive, online slugfest.
  7. May 26, 2021
    70
    From its neon graphics to its tactical mechanics, Knockout City’s take on multiplayer dodgeball is over-the-top in all the right ways. It just sits in an awkward limbo between free and paid games.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Jun 6, 2021
    10
    I rate this game a 10/10 because this game has everything that any new party gamer would want it to have. Play up to 8 players, customize yourI rate this game a 10/10 because this game has everything that any new party gamer would want it to have. Play up to 8 players, customize your own character, has its own style, it's only $20, and can be played on all platforms. This game has come a long way for only being out for 2 weeks and hitting 5 million players in such a short time. It deserves a great rating, and I hope it continues to grow exposure throughout the years Expand
  2. May 22, 2021
    10
    Best Royale Battle I've played in my life. I'm playing on switch lite, 720p 60fps, and I'm winning most matches
  3. May 26, 2021
    9
    Knockout City é uma ótima ideia que foi muito bem executada pela EA. Sua escolha de arte foi certeira, a inclusão do crossplay é algo que vaiKnockout City é uma ótima ideia que foi muito bem executada pela EA. Sua escolha de arte foi certeira, a inclusão do crossplay é algo que vai fortalecer a comunidade por um período de tempo grande e retira todas as barreiras das limitações de plataforma para que mais pessoas possam jogar juntas. Sempre devemos elogiar e reconhecer quando vemos trabalhos novos e que buscam ser inovadores de certa forma, mesmo que bebam da fonte de vários outros produtos, aqui em Knockout City podemos ver a alma dos produtores do jogo ao adicionar os seus traços nos personagens e nos cenários, além de nos dar uma enorme opção de personalização dos personagens para que cada um se torne único do seu jeito. Fico feliz em ver jogos assim no Nintendo Switch e com tamanha qualidade gráfica e de desempenho e além, é claro, de que se deve observar que jogos focados em multiplayer online como esse fazem parte cada vez mais da cultura popular dos games na geração atual, algo que em anos passados parecia ser distante, hoje se torna um louvor de diversão e inclusão para todos os jogadores. Knockout City é um jogo obrigatório para todos que amam um bom multiplayer online, muito divertido e que buscam por algo diferente do que se tem no mercado. Expand
  4. May 22, 2021
    8
    Knockout City
    Don’t Doge this one forever
    Knockout city is a competitive 3v3 or 1v1 dodgeball game, and first things first.. I love how much
    Knockout City
    Don’t Doge this one forever
    Knockout city is a competitive 3v3 or 1v1 dodgeball game, and first things first.. I love how much customizable options you have for a competitive hero game.. you can craft your own and unlock new cosmetics as you play.. it isn’t super detailed, but the amount of choices is appreciated..
    Where the game is lacking though is in its actually gameplay content..
    I love knockout city.. I am a sucker for dodgeball games.. at first you hve a typical 3v3 mode, youre put into a random map, and youre given a random special ball each time,,, annnd it’s the first team to score 10 knockouts 2 times wins, you run, automatically grab a ball, and youre off, holding down the trigger to target and smack your opponent to knock them out, but it isn’t all that simple.. there is a bit of skill and strategy to be had here as youre able to tackle eachother and knock the ball out of their hands, or make them defenseless for your teammate to hit them, as you are bale to catch a ball and lob it back.. timing this right can make for really great moments, I was having an absolute blast working my way up to rank 5 and unlock the other 3 modes, a 3 v 3 party mode where every ball is a special ball, a 1 vs 1 mode with a circle closing in on you where there are no special alls, and a kill confirmed type 3v3 where you grab diamonds of fallen opponents to tiher score for your team and stop the other team from scoring…
    Kncokout Citys biggest downfall though is that it has a free to play mentality without being free to play..
    Theyre expected to add more content with as seasons go on, but the 5 maps we get now get boring fairly quickly… I was over this game after about maybe only 3 hours of play time…
    on top of that I feel like we need at least a 5 v 5 in a larger world, with more ball drops… too often I found myself just searching for a ball to go help out my teammates…
    Overall I had a really great time with knockout city, this game can be a blast..
    I would jsu hold off for future seasons when this game gets more padded out…
    I give Knockout City an 8/10
    Expand
  5. May 30, 2021
    6
    A kinda fun game that can be a bit buggy at times... and is already getting monotonous after week of release.
  6. May 30, 2021
    6
    I never really knew what to make of this game before; especially as I declined the beta invite; but now that the game has released in someI never really knew what to make of this game before; especially as I declined the beta invite; but now that the game has released in some form; I can now say that it's not a complete mess like I was worried about it being, but it's also not something I would buy right now given the server issues I experienced in my time with the game. Though the style is admittedly pretty neat aesthetically, it looks and plays like a game that came out in the PS2/Gamecube/OG Xbox era. It's not the worst game ever, but I don't plan on spending more time with it until updates are released to deal with bugs and PVP balance; and I recommend others do the same. It's not the worst battle royale experience on Switch, but there's also far better to be had. Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2021
    0
    The game is a lot of fun. Seems like most people complaining about it being "buggy" is because they're just not good.. yet? The game is easyThe game is a lot of fun. Seems like most people complaining about it being "buggy" is because they're just not good.. yet? The game is easy to play but hard to master and being someone who's played ranked and can assure you this game is not "buggy". It's fair, fun, bug free (imo) and most importantly it's fun. Play with your friends to get the most out of it. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews