Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Feb 20, 2020
    90
    Kunai does so much with so little. From the minimalist art style to the polished grappling mechanic, it’s hard not to recommend this entry to fans of the metroidvania genre, or anyone looking for a fresh offering on the Nintendo Switch.
  2. Feb 6, 2020
    90
    The silky animation, refined control scheme, and creative options for decimating your foes presents a highly polished metroidvania with wide appeal.
  3. 90
    Kunai is the next great Metroidvania on Switch. It could easily stand toe-to-toe with the likes of Ori and the Blind Forest and The Messenger, especially in how effortless moving around and traversing the world is. This is as close to a must-play as I can recommend. You're a tablet who plays like Spider-Man, and everything looks beautiful. Kunai is excellent.
  4. Feb 6, 2020
    81
    If you’re looking for a fast-paced, action-packed adventure where you can pull off some sweet parkour moves all the while wielding Ninja weapons, I highly recommend checking out Kunai. The controls are incredibly easy to learn but not easy to master, making this a superb game for beginners in the genre to our hardcore speedrunning fans. Not to mention paired with a unique if, albeit simple story, interesting story design and wonderful art design, you really can’t go wrong with this title.
  5. Feb 18, 2020
    80
    Kunai comes together as one of the premium Metroidvania offerings on the Nintendo Switch. Some flawed design here and there and light story aspects aren’t enough to detract from the excellent gameplay offerings, top-notch pixel graphics, and clean aesthetic.
  6. Feb 18, 2020
    80
    If you are a fan of robot ninja action or you’re just looking for the next Neo-classic Metroivania title with a hint of Bionic Commando thrown in for good measure, KUNAI delivers a very satisfying experience.
  7. Feb 11, 2020
    80
    Kunai isn't revolutionary and initially reminded me of a high-end flash game with its focus on Spiderman-esque swinging and rapid-fire sword action. But playing it further revealed a game that got deeper and more fun as it went along. The premise is tired, but the game's dialogue and general demeanor made it clear that the story wasn't a priority when it came to making this game. After all, who can criticize a game that has a main character named Tabby McTabletface?
  8. Feb 9, 2020
    80
    Kunai is a great action-platformer that reminds us of Metroid, thanks to its great level design and solid gameplay. It’s not very original, but we had a great time with it.
  9. Feb 8, 2020
    78
    If you're looking for a classic "metroidvania" with ninja abilities, that's just what Kunai offers: explore levels, kill enemies, push switches, get new abilities, kill bosses, get to new areas... and start all over again. All with a great Game Boy visual style, but in the end, it feels like a pretty conventional game.
  10. Feb 11, 2020
    75
    While Kunai might not stand toe-to-toe with the likes of Ori or Hollow Knight, there’s much to love, including fantastic controls, rewarding secrets, and zesty facial expressions. This little tablet has a lot of heart, and a lot of hats.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 10, 2020
    Kunai throws a grappling hook and a fair amount of style into the Metroidvania genre for a solid if not stellar example of the form.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 5 out of 37
  1. Feb 11, 2020
    8
    As someone who loves platformers and metroidvanias, this was right up my alley. I loved this from the beginning to the end. A fun swingingAs someone who loves platformers and metroidvanias, this was right up my alley. I loved this from the beginning to the end. A fun swinging mechanic, strong visuals, a lot of collectables and many upgrades, just what I need. However, despite the countless things I love about this game, there are some things that make this, unfortunately, not worth a 9 or 10 rating. Some small cons are: Not the longest game, not really that hard (besides the final boss), one small but sometimes noticeable bug and under-utilized aspects (for example one of the key weapons in the game I literally only got less than a hour before the final boss, although that may be my fault since I unintentionally found a secret-ish game mechanic which let me bypass some areas without the intended weapon ;3). All and all I loved it, definitely worth it if you like platformers (and probably one of my all-time favourite indie games), but short if you're more experienced with 20-60 hour titles.

    EDIT: I completely forgot about one thing! In short: Great music and great tracks.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 10, 2020
    9
    If you love Metroidvania like games, this is the game for you. The game designers managed to make you feel like a spider-man with a katana,If you love Metroidvania like games, this is the game for you. The game designers managed to make you feel like a spider-man with a katana, which is awesome! Full Review »
  3. Feb 12, 2020
    10
    This game is top tier goodness, interesting visuals,really fluid movement and combat with those dual kunais,and also the exploration isThis game is top tier goodness, interesting visuals,really fluid movement and combat with those dual kunais,and also the exploration is handled really well here, overall a good metroidvania,the only con I would say is that it's short,length is on par with another metroidvania timespinner and it's as good as that.superb work turtleblaze Full Review »