Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Jan 14, 2020
    70
    Searching for clues and interviewing witnesses isn’t all it takes to beat this game, you’ll also have to solve hundreds of puzzles – most of them random and not tied into the main plot at all. [Issue#242, p.60]
  2. Dec 2, 2019
    70
    The unique mixture of visual novel and puzzler found in Layton’s Mystery Journey: Katrielle and the Millionaire’s Conspiracy – Deluxe Edition is great to be played on short bursts. Tons of contents and charismatic characters are enough to make you ignore its annoying tidbits.
  3. Nov 29, 2019
    70
    Katrielle and the Millionaires’ Conspiracy is more Layton, but with a host of new characters and a healthy dollop of puzzles. Unfortunately, they're weaker, more contrived tests of your mind than previously. Katrielle and the stellar supporting cast really boost the experience, as do the stunning visuals, but the sum of its parts is less than I expect from a Layton title.
  4. Nov 27, 2019
    70
    For the most part, you'll spend your time solving pleasant puzzles, enjoying a pleasant story, and having a pleasant time. The Layton series can be so much better than this, though, and I hope their next outing, no matter who it stars, aims higher.
  5. Nov 25, 2019
    70
    Layton’s Mystery Journey: Katrielle and the Millionaires Conspiracy Deluxe Edition is as complete as this game will get, with the added benefit of being on a current console. The spirit of the Layton series continues on, but the story doesn’t live up to its predecessors. If you’re here for the puzzles there is more than ever, there are even extra daily puzzles. Just be prepared for a few too many ‘trick’ puzzles or unclear instructions that can have you second-guessing often. At the end of the day, Layton’s Mystery Journey is a decent game that will hopefully lead into a grander adventure with Katrielle at the helm.
  6. Nov 15, 2019
    70
    In Katrielle Layton's London, it's a season of golden leaves, stiff breezes, and sun that provides light but less warmth. It's the perfect atmosphere for a game that provides such quaint joys for hours on end, cackling at its next pun, zippy one-liner, or absurd new scenario while putting creaky parts of the brain to good use. Sometimes the breeze is a bit too cold, or there's rain, or, oh, you know, the solution to a logic problem you've been staring at for 45 minutes might be “air” and you hate everything for a few minutes, but it doesn't last, and the next pleasant moment is never too far away.
  7. Nov 15, 2019
    70
    Katrielle and the Millionaires’ Conspiracy may not have an interesting plot, but the game’s likeable characters, a plethora of puzzles, and beautiful artwork are enough to see it through to the end. While it is a bit too easy for my taste, it’s still a fun enough journey.
  8. Nov 15, 2019
    70
    An attempted effort to improve a game that does not meet the quality standards the first six games of the Layton series have set. While it tries to follow the footsteps of its predecessors, Katrielle and the Millionaires' Conspiracy fails in providing a compelling story, memorable characters and emotional peaks. The new adventure seems to be targeting a new audience, meaning that some of the old fans might opt out while they wait for Kat to really follow her father’s footsteps and find her proper place in the genre.
  9. 70
    Initially I was worried that Layton sans the titular professor would be a problem. In the end that wasn't where the issues lay with Layton's Mystery Journey. I'm certainly on board with Katrielle taking over and having the kind of long career that her father did, but Level-5 does need to get some fresh new puzzle-designers in, because with this game they dropped the ball too frequently for a series of this calibre.
  10. Nov 13, 2019
    70
    Layton’s Mystery Journey is a mixed bag of tricks and treats. There’s never a dull moment with the fantastic voice acting and clever script, but without an overarching narrative and below par puzzles, the game’s missing one of its largest draws. The Deluxe Edition for the Switch, though, has a truly unique experience in that it can be enjoyed by many in one fell swoop; a good addition to the family catalogue. For Katrielle, she’s not quite there yet.
  11. Nov 12, 2019
    70
    The exuberant Katrielle, after having delighted us with her frivolities on portable devices and 3DS, breaks in with all her energy even on the Nintendo hybrid console.
  12. 70
    Professor Layton has always targeted a very niche market and Layton’s Mystery Journey: Katrielle and the Millionaires’ Conspiracy – Deluxe Edition also does just that. The lack of an overarching story and any drastic changes in the gameplay is a disappointment, but there’s just something charming about this series that will hopefully continue to grow from here after finally shedding the handheld only roots of the series moving forward.
  13. Nov 11, 2019
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  14. Nov 10, 2019
    70
    Layton's Mystery Journey: Katrielle and The Millionaires' Conspiracy – Deluxe Edition, a very long name for a game that may not be the most ambitious in the Professor Layton series, or even an entirely new game as this is a remaster of a previous game with some additional content but that's not an obstacle for delivering fun and creative puzzles and a charming overall atmosphere. Its relative lack of enough new content makes this a more difficult purchase for those already familiar with the original game but those just starting in the Layton series will have a good, enjoyable and welcoming introduction.
  15. Nov 7, 2019
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  16. 70
    A welcome return for one of gaming’s greatest puzzle franchises, and while it’s not quite the best in the series it certainly has the most content.
  17. Nov 7, 2019
    70
    Refined in every possible way, particularly through more practical puzzles, this Deluxe Edition proves a good introduction to the somehow lighthearted and acidulous investigations of Kat.
  18. Nov 7, 2019
    70
    Without proposing any incredible new features, this title is a successful port, adapted to the Switch's requirements. It is pleasant to (re)discover it, with improved graphics that help dynamise the investigations. Available at an honest price, Layton's Mystery Journey: Katrielle and the Millionaires' Conspiracy is a good way to get into the license. Those who have not yet solved the mysteries of the 3DS version will certainly enjoy it.
  19. Nov 7, 2019
    70
    A strong puzzle game in its own right, although compared to the highs of its predecessors, it doesn’t nearly hold up as well. Even so, the pleasant visuals, wonderful writing, and (mostly) strong puzzle design make this an easy sell, even if the occasional missteps in some of the puzzle answers and the lack of compelling new features for this re-release prove to be drawbacks. We’d give this a recommendation to anybody looking for a slower-paced game that still demands lots of attention. It’s an excellent ‘winding down before bed’ sort of game, and though it might not fully live up to the series legacy, we’re still excited for whatever Level-5 is planning next for Kat.
  20. Jan 23, 2020
    67
    Even with the game’s many flaws, however, I’m still happy to get a chance to play a Layton game on the Switch. Layton’s Mystery Journey may feel bloated, and have iffy controls, and feature lousy characters, but at the end of the day, it’s still Professor Layton. You’ve got to be willing to put up with a lot of extraneous stuff that isn’t that great, but I’d much rather have this flawed game than none at all.
  21. Nov 14, 2019
    62
    Aslightly lazy conversion of a rather disappointing game at the time of its original release. It's a decent budget game, but it's not as good as the previous games dedicated to professor Hershel.
  22. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 28, 2020
    60
    Great for newcomers, perhaps a little easy for experienced puzzle solvers but still a pleasant puzzle game with its typical humour and an episodic approach to storytelling. [Issue#300]
  23. Nov 27, 2019
    60
    Layton's Mystery Journey isn't the best game in the series by any means, but it can still be an enjoyable collection of low-stress puzzles - especially in the absence of any other Layton titles on modern systems. Between the splendid production values and the large number of clever but recycled puzzles, new players will probably be the ones getting the most out of this Deluxe Edition.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 51
  2. Negative: 9 out of 51
  1. Jul 7, 2021
    6
    This game is completely made for kid
    I realized this as soon as I saw the female protagonist so if you have kids, this game is the best (with
    This game is completely made for kid
    I realized this as soon as I saw the female protagonist so if you have kids, this game is the best (with easy puzzle, friendly graphic, and cute character,...)
    With who are fans of Hershel Layton, you will be disappointed with this
    Full Review »
  2. May 11, 2021
    4
    As a fan of the Layton franchise, I’ve played every gane in it, and Katrielle is a really, really bad game. Since launch I bought it and afterAs a fan of the Layton franchise, I’ve played every gane in it, and Katrielle is a really, really bad game. Since launch I bought it and after years, today I haven’t been able to finish it due to its terribly dull and ridiculous story and the worst puzzles of all. I really hope I can play a new Layton’s game as it has to be with the mystery story and good puzzles. Full Review »
  3. Apr 11, 2021
    5
    I really enjoyed the first Professor Layton game, but I forgot how tired the series had become. There's still the charminge art style andI really enjoyed the first Professor Layton game, but I forgot how tired the series had become. There's still the charminge art style and animation. I like the Katrielle character quite a bit. The issue is they had already stretched the puzzle choices pretty thin in the previous sequels and the puzzles here just aren't very good. There's a few clever ones, but nothing to compare to the first game. The gameplay is basically push through too much dialogue to reveal a location so you can then bring the map back up to go to that location so you can slog through more dialogue and occasionally get to do an underwhelming puzzle. The mysteries that comprise the story aren't particularly compelling or mysterious. I enjoyed the voice work, but the charm wears thin as90% of the game is flipping through text. There's also tons of extras that I had no interest in .
    It took me well over a year to complete the game after a bunch of stopping and starting. I will say that last few cases are most interesting storywise and I enjoyed the last case quite a bit. It's a shame that the rest of the game wasn't as compelling. If they could house the puzzles in an interesting mystery it would dramatically increase the games value. As it is though, I think I'm done with the series unless they really shake things up.
    Full Review »