Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Dec 16, 2019
    90
    With better aesthetics, all DLC included, and new puzzles, this 3DS port has a lot going for it. LAYTON’S MYSTERY JOURNEY: Katrielle and the Millionaires’ Conspiracy – Deluxe Edition is a great series debut on the Nintendo Switch, and it should excite fans of LEVEL-5’s long-running series. It’d even be a good starting point for first-time Layton players.
  2. Nintendo Force Magazine
    May 1, 2020
    85
    I would have liked to see a better payoff to the story's setup at the end of the game. [Issue #45 – March/April 2020, p. 69]
  3. Nov 12, 2019
    85
    The Deluxe Edition on Switch is not only a great way for old fans to return to the franchise, but an excellent jumping-on point for new players to dive into the Layton series.
  4. Apr 28, 2020
    80
    My only real gripes with the game come from the occasionally too long dialogue sequences (it seems that every character has to quip or comment about Katrielle's current course of action) and the frustrating lack of resolution at the end of the game. Although the game obviously sets up a sequel, neither of the two core mysteries introduced at the outset of the game are solved at all. If you're looking for some charming brain teasers and puzzles to distract you from the current goings-on, give Layton's Mystery Journey: Katrielle and the Millionaires’ Conspiracy a try.
  5. Jan 29, 2020
    80
    Even though a bit harder to play compared to the original, the wonderfully designed puzzles, characters and music make this game a wonderful experience. Players that enjoy brain teasers without being forced into a time constraint will enjoy Katrielle and the Millionaire's Conspiracy - Deluxe Edition, as a relaxing and sometimes infuriating title - but remember that every puzzle has an answer!
  6. 80
    It may not quite reach the series' previous highs, but Layton's Mystery Journey: Katrielle and the Millionaires' Conspiracy is a more than serviceable addition, and a welcome debut on the Nintendo Switch.
  7. Nov 15, 2019
    80
    Even the things that were off-putting felt more like small stumbles than full-on faceplants. With so much to explore and unravel in this game, plus accessible daily puzzles, Katrielle and the Millionaires’ Conspiracy feels like a game we could get lost in for a good, long time.
  8. Nov 7, 2019
    80
    Level-5 offers us this adventure on Nintendo Switch with news such as its new protagonist, independent cases in its story and a lot of downloadable content. Despite not being the most outstanding Layton game, it is undoubtedly the most complete title to date and an essential game for every fan of the franchise.
  9. Nov 7, 2019
    80
    Level-5 brings the classic 3DS game back, with upgraded visuals and a great control adaptation for both TV and portable Switch modes. It offers plenty of puzzles and minigames, though some of them are confusing.
  10. Nov 7, 2019
    80
    Katrielle's adventure makes your brain work for progress on the Switch. With 40 new puzzles the game is the largest Layton game yet. The game is ported fantastically for the Switch and has never looked as great as this before. A definite must buy.
  11. Nov 8, 2019
    78
    Layton’s classic adventure holds up quite well. This version offers extra content and, even if they are not big additions, it’s a good reason to rediscover this classic.
  12. Nov 7, 2019
    78
    Quotation forthcoming.
  13. Nov 7, 2019
    78
    This is more picturesque sightseeing than mysterious storytelling, but the puzzles are mostly challenging and work well on Switch.
  14. Dec 30, 2019
    75
    Even though dear professor is missing on this one, his daughter still manages to keep the flames of the series' spirit bright and burning. It is a loving and relaxing adventure that may not be as epic and mind bending as before, but still pretty much close to the original charm. Whether you go for the better and older, or newer yet still a great title, there is no wrong choice here. Leave the thinking for in game…
  15. 75
    Overall, while her debut adventure is not nearly as grand as anything her father did, Katrielle’s story is still full of the same wit and charm one can expect from a game in the Professor Layton series. If you like past games in the series, you will probably still enjoy this more laid back entry, but first timers would be better off starting from the beginning. Various side features like dressing Kat in different outfits or decorating the agency’s office give the player ample opportunity to sit back and take a break from all the puzzles, and London’s streets are still fun to explore, especially when coupled with another fantastic soundtrack from series composer Tomohito Nishiura. If you find yourself craving some puzzles and English accents, Mystery Journey is a game you should look into picking up.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 51
  2. Negative: 9 out of 51
  1. Jul 7, 2021
    6
    This game is completely made for kid
    I realized this as soon as I saw the female protagonist so if you have kids, this game is the best (with
    This game is completely made for kid
    I realized this as soon as I saw the female protagonist so if you have kids, this game is the best (with easy puzzle, friendly graphic, and cute character,...)
    With who are fans of Hershel Layton, you will be disappointed with this
    Full Review »
  2. May 11, 2021
    4
    As a fan of the Layton franchise, I’ve played every gane in it, and Katrielle is a really, really bad game. Since launch I bought it and afterAs a fan of the Layton franchise, I’ve played every gane in it, and Katrielle is a really, really bad game. Since launch I bought it and after years, today I haven’t been able to finish it due to its terribly dull and ridiculous story and the worst puzzles of all. I really hope I can play a new Layton’s game as it has to be with the mystery story and good puzzles. Full Review »
  3. Apr 11, 2021
    5
    I really enjoyed the first Professor Layton game, but I forgot how tired the series had become. There's still the charminge art style andI really enjoyed the first Professor Layton game, but I forgot how tired the series had become. There's still the charminge art style and animation. I like the Katrielle character quite a bit. The issue is they had already stretched the puzzle choices pretty thin in the previous sequels and the puzzles here just aren't very good. There's a few clever ones, but nothing to compare to the first game. The gameplay is basically push through too much dialogue to reveal a location so you can then bring the map back up to go to that location so you can slog through more dialogue and occasionally get to do an underwhelming puzzle. The mysteries that comprise the story aren't particularly compelling or mysterious. I enjoyed the voice work, but the charm wears thin as90% of the game is flipping through text. There's also tons of extras that I had no interest in .
    It took me well over a year to complete the game after a bunch of stopping and starting. I will say that last few cases are most interesting storywise and I enjoyed the last case quite a bit. It's a shame that the rest of the game wasn't as compelling. If they could house the puzzles in an interesting mystery it would dramatically increase the games value. As it is though, I think I'm done with the series unless they really shake things up.
    Full Review »