User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 51
  2. Negative: 9 out of 51
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 8, 2020
    9
    Loved it! Love the art, animations and LOVE the music. Took off one point cause some of the puzzles are annoying
  2. Mar 17, 2020
    8
    Probablemente uno de los Layton más flojitos de la saga a nivel argumental. Sin embargo, no debemos olvidar que se trata de un Spin Off y hay que juzgarlo como tal.
    Su banda sonora es tan buena como nos tiene acostumbrados Level-5 con esta franquicia y sus puzzles aunque algunos son más sencillos que sus predecesores, siguen siendo muy divertidos.
    Recomendado.
  3. Dec 3, 2019
    9
    This was my first game on switch and my third Layton game. It isn't the best that I have played, but I still had a fabulous time. Realistically I'd give it an 8.5, but I suppose a 9 will do
  4. Jan 12, 2020
    9
    The beginning of the game is kind of boring with the mysteries being quite dull and predictable BUT the last one threw me off so bad. The plot twist with the combined story line really redeemed the overall game. Thought the story they silently stacked all the pieces of the mystery together without the player even knowing and the final reveal was just perfect
  5. Feb 22, 2020
    8
    I was not expecting a whole lot from this game and I never played the prior Layton games but I really liked playing this game. At first glance it does not seem like a lot as the storyline is pretty basic/generic but the last level/storyline was fun and you do get a sense of enjoyment. Graphics are pretty good and the dialogue all throughout is underrated. Lone gripe may be it is tooI was not expecting a whole lot from this game and I never played the prior Layton games but I really liked playing this game. At first glance it does not seem like a lot as the storyline is pretty basic/generic but the last level/storyline was fun and you do get a sense of enjoyment. Graphics are pretty good and the dialogue all throughout is underrated. Lone gripe may be it is too easy with the puzzles at times. Definitely worth a game checking out. Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2021
    8
    Overall, this game is great, and pretty underrated! The developers did a great job of transferring the game to switch. The graphics look cute, and the puzzles still work great on the switch's one screen. The DLC outfits they've included for free with this game are also a nice touch, especially if you're a fan of the previous games, because many of the outfits are nods to past games. ThisOverall, this game is great, and pretty underrated! The developers did a great job of transferring the game to switch. The graphics look cute, and the puzzles still work great on the switch's one screen. The DLC outfits they've included for free with this game are also a nice touch, especially if you're a fan of the previous games, because many of the outfits are nods to past games. This isn't the best entry in the Layton series, but it does its job well. It's a more lighthearted game than the previous ones in the series, for sure, but there's something charming in its own right about the episodic format of the game, solving individual cases rather than having an overarching mystery. Katrielle, Ernest, and Sherl have a very fun dynamic, and it makes solving the mysteries that much more engaging. The puzzles are still very fun, albeit a bit easier than the ones in previous entires. The music in this game also helps create and maintain the atmosphere of the game really well. I do wish they'd have dived into the missing Hershel Layton storyline a bit more, but overall I had a great time with the game. I hope there's a sequel because this cast has a lot of potential. Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Nintendo Force Magazine
    May 1, 2020
    85
    I would have liked to see a better payoff to the story's setup at the end of the game. [Issue #45 – March/April 2020, p. 69]
  2. Apr 28, 2020
    80
    My only real gripes with the game come from the occasionally too long dialogue sequences (it seems that every character has to quip or comment about Katrielle's current course of action) and the frustrating lack of resolution at the end of the game. Although the game obviously sets up a sequel, neither of the two core mysteries introduced at the outset of the game are solved at all. If you're looking for some charming brain teasers and puzzles to distract you from the current goings-on, give Layton's Mystery Journey: Katrielle and the Millionaires’ Conspiracy a try.
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 28, 2020
    60
    Great for newcomers, perhaps a little easy for experienced puzzle solvers but still a pleasant puzzle game with its typical humour and an episodic approach to storytelling. [Issue#300]