Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jan 17, 2020
    85
    Lydia is an important game, not just because it broaches an important subject matter, but for how it uses its art direction, music, and storytelling to highlight the issues it's bringing to our attention.
  2. Feb 21, 2020
    80
    Lydia is a point-and-click novel that allows players to glimpse the horrors of a childhood plagued by substance abuse. An uncomfortable yet important experience. But for those triggered by substance abuse issues, caution is most definitely advised.
  3. Jan 27, 2020
    80
    Lydia is a small game, but it sends a bigger message that sometimes we need to step in and help the ones who can’t speak for themselves. I highly recommend checking out this enthralling, interactive story about a little girl overcoming her giant “monster”.
  4. Jan 22, 2020
    80
    With only 4 short chapters to play through, Lydia will only take you about 1 or 2 hours to complete, so those after more of a meaty experience might want to look elsewhere. We would, however, encourage you to experience it at least once, if only for its eye-opening message. It successfully tells a haunting story about abuse and heartbreak without necessarily shoving it down your throat, and that’s really hard to do. It’s one of the most emotionally impactful games to grace the Switch since its launch nearly three years ago.
  5. Apr 21, 2020
    70
    Lydia is a tough game to recommend to everyone because, as a video game, it is too short and has only a minimal amount of gameplay. However, if you're looking for a thought-provoking experience that will stay with you even after you have finished the game, I can confidently say that Lydia is a very strong candidate for you.
  6. Mar 17, 2020
    70
    There are a lot of caveats when it comes to recommending Lydia, as it's a game that will speak to people in different ways. Lydia offers a beautiful and chilling experience, but its dark tone and even darker story and subject matter won't be for everyone.
  7. Feb 26, 2020
    70
    Lydia is a game with two faces. One face tells you a compelling story about the heavy subject of alcoholism from the perspective of a child. The other face is a game that is short and doesn't keep the pace of how it should. As a package, it offers an interesting hour to spend, especially for the very low price at which it comes.
  8. 65
    In general, Lydia is an interesting game with a well put together setting and an art style you probably won’t soon forget, but overall it’s just sort of a slightly underwhelming experience. Over the course of its 45 to 60-minute runtime, you will experience what is obviously a deeply personal story for the creators, leading to a choice that I honestly found very well done in the end. It’s a story of abuse and neglect and how somebody so small is forced to deal with it, and while the gameplay is nothing to write home about, it’s definitely a narrative that will probably stick with me even if just for a little while.
  9. Feb 24, 2020
    60
    Short, sweet, and to the point, Lydia makes for a memorable and engaging hour of gameplay. Its story of abuse will prove uncomfortable, but a restrained hand ensures audiences never have to confront anything too visceral through gameplay. There isn't much in the way of replayability, but a well told story, plus an excellent visual style make Lydia a worthwhile play-through for anyone looking for something emotionally dense.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 6 out of 19
  1. May 30, 2020
    4
    In my opinion it's truly a bad game. It has a quite nice graphics, but gameplay, and by gameplay I mean movements between reading sections, isIn my opinion it's truly a bad game. It has a quite nice graphics, but gameplay, and by gameplay I mean movements between reading sections, is bad. Story is somewhat deep, but the presentation was a mess... I don't know why would someone spent his/her money on this game. I'm glad I got it for free. I would love to call this game short and sweet, but it was a good experience only while I was at the chapter one. Other chapters had a messy storytelling, all of it, except graphics were sloppy... Full Review »
  2. May 29, 2020
    3
    The “interactive picture book” style of gameplay is fine, but adds nothing to the ham-fisted symbolism that ultimately boils down toThe “interactive picture book” style of gameplay is fine, but adds nothing to the ham-fisted symbolism that ultimately boils down to “alcoholism was the real monster all along.”
    There are a few moments where the story is more subtle and poetic (chapter 1), but the game quickly abandons all pretense to become a generic story on the affects of substance abuse. I can tell there was some passion put into this, but ultimately it’s not worth the buy.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 27, 2020
    3
    This game is absolutely not subtle. It's pretty ham fisted and lacking in any skill full storytelling, which is a shame for an interactiveThis game is absolutely not subtle. It's pretty ham fisted and lacking in any skill full storytelling, which is a shame for an interactive story that could have so much to say. Full Review »