Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 110 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 110
  2. Negative: 1 out of 110
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Edge Magazine
    Jul 17, 2021
    40
    It's rare to play a Nintendo game that feels so fundamentally misguided. [Issue#361, p.118]
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jun 24, 2021
    Nintendo and Camelot has created a new Mario Golf for Nintendo Switch. It is fun, it has an adventure mode and it also innovates with the quick golf matches. However, it also lacks contents to justify weeks and months of playing.
  2. Jun 25, 2021
    Running between shots can be chaotic fun, but Mario Golf truly lives in its ever-soothing standard mode. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  3. Jun 24, 2021
    But what I really like—what I love, even—is grabbing a character and a set of clubs and taking on a course on my own terms. Mario Golf: Super Rush might make many players feel the need for speed, but its chill, regular old golf game is pretty super in its own right. [Impressions]
  4. Jun 24, 2021
    I can’t imagine spending much time playing traditional golf in Super Rush. I have plenty of alternatives I could turn to for that. Mario Golf: Super Rush is the only game that lets me body-check Luigi on the way to notching a birdie on the 18th hole.
  5. Jun 29, 2021
    I couldn’t help but wish that more of the game had the same zany, Nintendo-like feel of battle golf. I wanted more oddball courses and modes, more chances to get into weird situations. Instead, the solid mechanics and colorful world are dragged down by a story mode with a bland story, and a sped-up version of golf that’s actually pretty slow. There’s still fun to be had, particularly with two people hitting balls on the same Switch. But while Super Rush gets the golf part right, it’s lacking what makes Super Mario games special.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 236 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 236
  2. Negative: 89 out of 236
  1. Jun 27, 2021
    4
    THIS GAME IS ABSOLUTE TRASH.

    THE BALL TRAJECTORY DOESN'T CHANGE WHEN SWITCHING CLUBS. YOU HAVE NO IDEA IF YOU ARE GOING TO CLEAR OBSTACLES
    THIS GAME IS ABSOLUTE TRASH.

    THE BALL TRAJECTORY DOESN'T CHANGE WHEN SWITCHING CLUBS. YOU HAVE NO IDEA IF YOU ARE GOING TO CLEAR OBSTACLES OR NOT.

    THEY USED TO HAVE THE C-STICK TO ZOOM ACROSS THE TRAJECTORY LINE WHICH IS GONE.

    TAUNTING... WHICH WAS IN THE N64 AND GC GOLF GAMES IS GONE.

    RUSH GOLF IS ABSOLUTELY BROKEN. IF YOU'RE A SLOWER CHARACTER IT'S AN AUTOMATIC LOSS.

    THEY TOOK MARIO GOLF TOADSTOOL TOUR AND GIMPED AND NERFED THE HELL OUT OF IT.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 28, 2021
    4
    What a downgrade... Take everything you know and love about other mario golf titles and remove the creativity and fun. What you're left withWhat a downgrade... Take everything you know and love about other mario golf titles and remove the creativity and fun. What you're left with is the generic, sterile, and boring golf game I've ever played. It feels more like wii sports golf with added mario characters. Full Review »
  3. Jun 26, 2021
    3
    I want to preface this with saying I’m a big Toadstool Tour fan. I love how much personality the characters have with their animations and theI want to preface this with saying I’m a big Toadstool Tour fan. I love how much personality the characters have with their animations and the silly things you can make them say. I love the level of control and accuracy you have that’s easy to understand and figure out. You’re able to control where on the ball you hit and able to put a topspin or backspin or even stronger variants. Super shots felt important and needed to be managed carefully. The aim of your shots are easy to figure out because you can follow the path of the shot and change it depending on the whole arc, giving fantastic control to the player.

    Super Rush falls short of every single one of these. Character animations are practically dead and there’s no way to make snarky comments when others are shooting. The time I spent with the game I tried to parse how to simply put a backspin on my shot, and the game just doesn’t tell you anything. The game pretends to give you control over putting a spin on the ball, but then rng kicks in and it’ll change what your spin is regardless of your input. Different clubs don’t seem to change shot arcs but instead just change distance, something you can already do with any club. Aiming is an absolute mess, your only tools are a birds eye view that doesn’t show depth at all and a “first person” aiming mode that barely controls at all.

    I would comment on the extra modes, but with how the game controls on the basest levels it just isn’t worth even getting into them. There’s a few neat multiplayer ideas but the single player possibilities are so sparse compared to the tournaments and challenges of older games. It’s to such an extent I don’t think the game could get course corrected even with patches, something that shouldn’t even be a requirement to ask for. As much as I want a good new Mario Golf game, this isn’t it. I’d recommend finding a copy of Toadstool Tour instead.
    Full Review »