Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 95 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 95
  2. Negative: 0 out of 95
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Oct 16, 2021
    100
    Metroid Dread takes risks for the series, but it succeeds in doing so. The ending was completely grand, and the interpretations of the final scenes will leave me thinking about the game for a long time to come.
  2. Oct 15, 2021
    100
    While the nineteen-year hiatus was a difficult one, Metroid Dread delivers what fans have waited for and more, building a familiar yet unique experience with brand new ideas to help push the genre forward.
  3. Oct 14, 2021
    100
    Metroid Dread is a triumph.
  4. Oct 13, 2021
    100
    Its playability matched with MercurySteam doing right by Samus Aran has turned me into even more of a fan of Metroid. Even beyond the context of my own affinity toward the character and world, Metroid Dread is some of the most fun I’ve had with a game in 2021. It’s a contender for game of the year.
  5. Oct 13, 2021
    100
    Metroid Dread is definitely the game that explores the full potential of the 2D franchise with praise, doing justice to the producers' proposal to bring fear and exploration to players, valuing and ending the saga in an excellent way, besides leaving that desire and hope that Samus Aran reward us with more titles with this level of quality in the future. Essential not just for fans of Metroid, but for everyone that likes quality games released in 2021.
  6. 100
    Over the years I’ve heard many people demand a sequel, in terms of gameplay, to one 2D Metroid or another. No matter what sequel you’ve wished for, Metroid Dread is it. It is simply Metroid, in the best way possible. Metroid Dread is the culmination of 2D Metroid in its entirety. It is a testament not only to what the genre has always been, but the potential of what it could become. It is a triumphant return of Samus Aran as the undisputed queen of the genre. Long may she reign.
  7. Oct 8, 2021
    100
    A decades-in-the-making celebration of 2D Metroid that’s unafraid to take risks by stretching into horror, Metroid Dread lives up to both halves of its name and serves as a satisfying cap to a story started in 1986.
  8. Oct 7, 2021
    100
    This is no Metroid Prime, and that’s a good thing. Rather, this is a reminder of what it means for a game to be of the Metroid half of a Metroidvania, and then some. That this IP exists in both the first-person genre-defining Metroid Prime series, and in its traditional 2D side-scrolling self is a testament to its flexibility and EMMI-like defiance of not being confined to a single shape...And in Metroid Dread, you’re not only getting arguably the best Metroid game to date, but maybe the best game of 2021.
  9. Oct 6, 2021
    100
    Metroid Dread is an instant classic. Its seamless blend of exploration, combat, puzzle-solving, and light touches of story creates one of the most engaging experiences on Nintendo Switch.
  10. Oct 6, 2021
    100
    Metroid Dread perfects the metroidvania formula that its predecessors established, while also elevating the series to new heights with highly rewarding combat, stunning 3D cutscenes and new stealth segments that provide greater variety to the gameplay. It won’t be for everyone due to its high difficulty and a lack of accessibility options, but this is nevertheless one of the best games in the Nintendo Switch library. If you’re a fan of Super Metroid, you’ll love it.
  11. Oct 6, 2021
    100
    With a near-perfect balance of nods to the past and fresh ideas, Metroid Dread brings cinematic flair, fast-paced action and a surprising story to the side-scrolling classic. This is the comeback fans have been waiting for.
  12. Oct 6, 2021
    100
    Metroid Dread is a triumphant return for both Samus Aran and developer MercurySteam. This is a super-slick, hugely entertaining and exquisitely designed entry in the Metroid franchise that plays better than anything we've seen from the series so far. With a bunch of fantastic new abilities, super tense and enjoyable stealth sections, plenty of great big boss fights and a story that fans will definitely enjoy, we can't really see how this one could have been any better. Best Metroid game ever? This could be the one.
  13. Oct 6, 2021
    96
    Probably the game that I have enjoyed the most in this 2021 and one of my favorites from the wide catalog of the Nintendo Switch. MercurySteam did it and Samus is back better than ever.
  14. Oct 15, 2021
    95
    Metroid Dread is a masterpiece. There's hardly another word for it. The artstyle? Phenomenal. Soundtrack and audio design? Phenomenal. Gameplay? You guessed it: phenomenal. What are you waiting for? Go and get it!
  15. Oct 14, 2021
    95
    Metroid Dread is the title fans have been waiting for, for nineteen years. The wait wasn’t easy, but what’s here could rival even Super Metroid in terms of atmosphere and gameplay. Even now, I am thinking about going back to try and perfect my run and see how fast I can get that hundred percent clear. Through its versatility in combat, excellent enemy and level design, and engaging story, this experience sets the bar for the action genre and is brilliantly dreadful.
  16. Oct 13, 2021
    95
    For as fantastic as Dread looks and generally runs, there are infrequent but quite noticeable instances when the framerate drops. It's also mildly annoying how long the transitions are from one area to another. While these are criticisms worth noting, they almost feel petty when compared to the staggering amount of things that the game crushes. Honestly, it's a relief that Metroid is finally getting the kind of care it so justly deserves. Metroid Dread is the very definition of a must-play title.
  17. Oct 10, 2021
    95
    For 15 years I have been waiting for this game, and to see it out and also be as good as I hoped it would be is simply incredible. The gameplay is sublime, the map design is great, the bosses are fun and the E.M.M.I are threatening. All these come together to create what possible is: The Nintendo Switch's 2021 game of the year.
  18. Oct 10, 2021
    95
    Metroid Dread is an amazing return for Samus with fantastic controls, excellent sound design and a wonderful overall aesthetic. Even as someone who’s not normally fond of Metroidvania-style games, the intensity of Metroid Dread held my attention to the point where I felt heartbroken the first time my Switch let me know the batteries were about to die.
  19. Oct 6, 2021
    95
    Metroid Dread is the sequel that everyone has been waiting for. A great game that can be hard and complex, but at its core, it's a true evolution of the classic Metroid formula. A must have for every Nintendo Switch user.
  20. Oct 6, 2021
    95
    This final 13-16 hour instalment is an exquisite showcase of 2D Metroid in its prime. Newcomers and die-hard fans of the series can revel in a Nintendo Switch game that not only provides one of the most deadly and thrilling experiences on Nintendo’s latest handheld to date, but one that’s such a joy to play thanks to control refinements and HD graphics. Metroid Dread is an explosive and emotional end to a beloved story that cannot be missed, and we’re already itching to see where the next mission takes us. Just as long as it doesn’t include the dreaded E.M.M.I.
  21. Oct 12, 2021
    93
    Metroid Dread convincingly shows that Samus Aran is, after so many years, still at the (or very near to) the top of the genre it helped define. MercurySteam's creation is exhilarating, well balanced and beautiful to look at; even the somewhat atypical E.M.M.I. sections are competently integrated with the rest of the game.
  22. Oct 6, 2021
    92
    Metroid Dread is one of the games of the year. The waiting time after Fusion was worth it, and this sequel lives up to it. The title has great pacing, cool design, and plenty of mechanics that modernize Samus. This game serves to highlight two things: Samus Returns, and MercurySteam.
  23. Oct 6, 2021
    91
    An excellent return for Samus Aran and the Metroid series. The novelties don't work perfectly, but they are interesting nonetheless.
  24. Oct 6, 2021
    91
    Metroid Dread is the comeback we have been dreaming about for years. There is some room for improvement, but overall it’s an incredibly solid game and a must-buy for any Metroid (or metroidvania) fan.
  25. Oct 6, 2021
    91
    Metroid Dread is a truly exceptional return to the spotlight for the franchise and Samus Aran.
  26. Oct 16, 2021
    90
    Upon investigating a mysterious transmission on Planet ZDR, Samus faces a mysterious foe that traps her in this dangerous world. The remote planet has been overrun by vicious alien lifeforms and murderous robots called E.M.M.I. Hunt or be hunted as you make your way through a labyrinth of enemies in Samus’ most intense side-scrolling adventure yet.
  27. Oct 16, 2021
    90
    While it may not win over every fan of classic 2D Metroid, MercurySteam’s approach keeps Dread from feeling like a rehash of what we’ve grown accustomed to. The map design and pacing have never been better, and Dread’s stellar combat justifies MercurySteam’s action-heavy overhaul to the series. Ultimately, Dread was worth waiting two decades for. If this is the way forward for Samus — and, with additional accessibility options, I sincerely hope it is — Metroid has a bright future ahead.
  28. Oct 15, 2021
    90
    Metroid Dread takes everything that's good about the franchise and makes it greater. It's a punishing and often nerve-wracking experience that offers huge rewards for persistence and an inquisitive mind. If you only play one game on Nintendo Switch this year, make sure it's Metroid Dread.
  29. Oct 15, 2021
    90
    So far, Metroid Dread is a serious contender for my personal game of the year. It takes all the things that I loved about previous entries and streamlines them into a much more playable game. It’s the most accessible Metroid title to date, and it’s sure to win many new fans for Nintendo.
  30. Oct 15, 2021
    90
    Plot beats provide a frame for the action, not a psychological character study. Rather, what lingers in the mind are the tight controls, the inspired boss fights and the fantastic layout of the environments. Metroid Dread deftly alternates between making the player feel powerful and powerless.
  31. Oct 14, 2021
    90
    MercurySteam, after being "baptized in battle" with Metroid: Samus Returns, delivers a superb game with Metroid Dread, a captivating, fresh take on the Metroid franchise, that is also true to the vision of the old games. Either you are a fan of Samus Aran or not, this is a "metroidvania" you should not miss out.
  32. Oct 14, 2021
    90
    Overall, Metroid Dread brings a narrative close to a decades long story with excellent level design and combat. It also looks great as well. So until Samus Aran is needed once again to save the Galactic Federation, I am happy to just savour the joy of another successfully completed mission.
  33. Oct 13, 2021
    90
    It takes a lot of risks in service of creating its specific feel, but as long as you’re okay with having conventions challenged within a conventional framework, this should be an easy pick-up.
  34. Oct 13, 2021
    90
    I won't be surprised if Metroid Dread gets crowned Game of the Year. If that happens, I'll be happy. Dread is a furiously frustrating, extremely challenging, and superbly satisfying game, and probably the best Metroid ever.
  35. Oct 12, 2021
    90
    Strong gameplay, visuals and audio propel Metroid Dread to be the best 2D game in the series, though dated map design and lack of accessibility bring the experience down a bit.
  36. Oct 12, 2021
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  37. Oct 12, 2021
    90
    Metroid finally returns with a new sequel, and it’s exactly what we expect from the series. It’s a fine return to form for Samus with a huge world to explore but definitely doesn’t reinvent the wheel.
  38. Oct 12, 2021
    90
    Metroid Dread stands as a phenomenal achievement. From project dormancy to becoming a sci-fi spectacle, MercurySteam has delivered a Game of the Year contender that’s quite capable of unleashing a Charge Blast to keep away the competition. A game like this deserves to be celebrated, and I can only hope that it has continued to lay the groundwork for more adventures with the intergalactic bounty hunter to come.
  39. 90
    The first all-new 2D Metroid in 19 years was well worth the wait. Its movement, combat, and environments are all top-notch, and the pacing will keep you hooked all the way through the end. The story is a wild ride that expands on interesting ideas from Fusion and Samus Returns in meaningful ways. There are a few technical hiccups, frustrating level design choices, and repeated mini-bosses, but my enthusiasm was never swayed thanks to a steady stream of exciting and memorable moments that kept my hands glued to the controller until the credits rolled. Dread is a stellar sequel to Fusion and a triumphant return that easily ranks among the best in the 2D series.
  40. Oct 12, 2021
    90
    Metroid Dread is yet another fantastic return to form for Samus. ZDR is an absolute blast to explore with secrets everywhere and satisfying bosses to fight. However, the game is held back by some strange design decisions, areas that blend together, and controls that are far too complicated.
  41. Oct 12, 2021
    90
    We’ve seen Metroidvania games like Hollow Knight nail the formula in recent years, but Metroid Dread proves there’s nothing better than the franchise that started it all.
  42. Oct 11, 2021
    90
    Metroid Dread is a fantastic return to form for the 2D Metroid titles. Building upon the lessons of Samus Returns, it captures the feel of Metroid nearly perfectly. It's incredibly fun to play, balances the story and gameplay in the way a Metroid game should, and in general, it's just excellent. Its few flaws stood out more in retrospect than while I was playing the game. It's easily one of the best 2D Metroid titles, and it's a fantastic way to close out the ongoing storyline.
  43. Oct 11, 2021
    90
    Metroid Prime 4 may still be years away, but make no mistake that MercurySteam and Nintendo’s latest incarnation of Metroid has made the strain of such a wait not just more bearable, but potentially no longer existent. Sure to please longtime fans and general Switch owners/newcomers alike, Metroid Dread more than delivers on a climax two decades in the making.
  44. Oct 11, 2021
    90
    In very much a Metroidvania move, backtracking back to the start of the review with the question, "Is the new adventure worth the wait?" The answer is a resounding yes. Nintendo and MercurySteam have pulled off a sequel that is classic, essential Metroid with a sprinkling of the new; controls, visual direction and a terrifying new threat that sends a space-aged shiver through the spine. Metroid Dread is the evolution to how side-scrolling Metroid should feel and the conclusion to something truly special. A thrilling chapter for players who have been looking up to the stars for decades, and a compelling tale for adventurers new to the series!
  45. Oct 10, 2021
    90
    Anyway, all these negatives really only stand out if you place Dread in the pantheon of previous Metroid classics and then compare very closely. Because what I mainly want to communicate is that those Spaniards have done the impossible: creating a really good, classic Metroid! And that in a world in which the term metroidvania hardly raises any question marks. With production values of 2021, wow! So make a few more, MercurySteam; I promise I will never doubt you again. And… please don't take twenty years, okay?
  46. Oct 10, 2021
    90
    Metroid Dread is a must-own for any Metroidvania fan. Featuring some of the best 2D combat I’ve ever played and a world dying to be explored, I couldn’t put it down until I reached the thrilling conclusion. Its difficulty and atmosphere help it live up to its namesake but never chased me away. There are minor issues, but nothing that stops this from being one of 2021’s best.
  47. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    Samus Aran's triumphant return to a genre that she herself helped to name proves once again that there are no styles worthy of being caged in the past. The risk taken by MercurySteam results in one of the best games ever in the series, a chapter with its own personality that puts the bounty hunter alongside Link and Mario, making it one of the console's must-have titles. From the memorable bosses, to the harrowing encounters with the E.M.M.I. all painted by an artistic direction that takes the most from Nintendo Switch, making Metroid Dread one of the best of 2021.
  48. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    Nintendo teams up again with MercurySteam to bring us the first unreleased adventure of Samus Aran in side scrolling (remakes aside) since the premiere of Metroid Fusion in 2002. The pressure was not little, but Metroid Dread is up to the task. For the control, which lets us handle the bounty hunter in her most agile and precise version; by the design, which branches and extends to offer hours of exploration without taking us by the hand; and for the selection of bosses, who take advantage of the best combat of the saga in its 2D aspect. The robots E.M.M.I. They may test the patience of some players, but they create situations of genuine tension and development doses them enough. So fans of Metroidvania are in luck: Metroid Dread lives up to the saga that popularized this genre in the first place. Now we only have to ask that we don't have to wait another 19 years for the next one.
  49. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    Metroid Dread surpasses all our expectations and has everything we could have ask for: exploration, impressive action sequences, great atmosphere, tension and the best Samus incarnation. If we look at it as a metroidvania it doesn't reach the same level of greatness as some of the finest examples of the genre... But it comes close.
  50. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    Metroid Dread combines the old, trusted Metroid formula with enough fresh ideas to revive the 35-year-old series. Never before has Samus been so fluidly controlled and the action so spectacular. The EMMI is an exciting break from standard exploration, but every part of Metroid is equally well thought out. However, optional upgrades hardly add anything in most cases and it doesn't want to be as free as Super Metroid. They are minor missteps for a game that puts Metroid back on the map.
  51. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    Metroid Dread sharpens everything that makes Metroid enjoyable, while more fully realizing its horror ambitions.
  52. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    It took a bit longer than expected, but Metroid Dread simply is Metroid at its finest: with a smartly crafted level design that explains why this legendary saga became a reference point, this new Samus’ adventure embodies all the features Metroid fans love.
  53. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    Metroid Dread for the Nintendo Switch is a worthy holder of the title "Metroid 5." Its sprawling world begs you to explore every inch of it, and while it keeps Samus Returns' control elements, they feel much better on the Switch. This is a proper Metroid 5, and that's more than enough to make it an Editors’ Choice pick for Switch games.
  54. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    Metroid Dread is pure love for the franchise. It takes the elements of the classic 2D games and unites them with the evolving essence of Metroid Fusion, introducing many others that work perfectly. It doesn't give off such a magical aura and there are things to improve, but it establishes itself as one of the best games on the console.
  55. 90
    One of the best Metroid games ever made and a thrilling restatement of everything that makes the series, and the genre it inspired, great.
  56. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    Metroid Dread is exceptional in every way, placing itself as one of the best episodes in a series that already has no shortage of nuggets! By mixing the phases of action and infiltration, the game developed by Mercury Studios constantly keeps the player in suspense. But beyond its structure and its exploration aspect, it is the fluidity of the gameplay that stuck us to the ceiling, with a Samus more agile and twirling than ever and a difficulty that forces us to juggle these many capacities in many situations. Whether you are a newbie or a fan of the series, Metroid Dread is a must-have for any Nintendo Switch owner.
  57. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    A surprise sequel after nearly 20 years, Metroid Dread brings back the legendary exploration and progression and merges it with excellent modern combat and some of the best boss fights ever.
  58. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    We never felt so powerful in a Metroid game, but at the same time the E.M.M.I. robots keep the tension high. This is a great conclusion and an explosive return, and hopefully not the last time we see Nintendo's most famous bounty hunter in a 2D adventure.
  59. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    After 19 years, Nintendo finally delivers an official sequel to Metroid Fusion that concludes Samus Aran's lifelong battle with a race of deadly alien organisms.
  60. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    I am, on the whole, delighted to report that Metroid Dread is every bit as good as the fans had hoped it would be, delivering a stunning conclusion that lays the groundwork for a very exciting future. It's a masterfully executed, explosive action game that delivers on every level, and looks and feels exactly how a Metroid game should in 2021. There are eye-popping vistas, moments of sheer terror, and some of the most memorable - and challenging - boss battles in the series' 35-year history.
  61. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    Metroid Dread is the return of Samus we waited for almost twenty years. The closing chapter of Samus' adventure is intended to kickstart the era of the Switch OLED and it does it with a bang. The game looks delicious and plays seamlessly smooth. The game has some minor flaws but feels nearly perfect as you search the depths of ZDR and need to flee the E.M.M.I. to save your life. This is simply a must-buy for everyone that owns a Switch.
  62. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    In so many ways it is a return to what makes Metroid such a fantastic series of games. The EMMI chase segments are a welcome addition and add a new twist to its classic gameplay. The boss fights are more epic than ever, and the story is such a sweet payoff for fans that have invested literal decades in the overall series’ lore. There are a number of reasons they named the first half of an entire genre of games after this franchise and so many of them are on display here.
  63. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    Metroid Dread has been decades in the making, and if that’s because it wasn’t possible on less powerful handhelds, it’s been well and truly worth the wait.
  64. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    Metroid Dread suffers from some minor grievances, but overall it is a remarkable achievement in not just resurrecting a dormant and beloved series, proving its authority in the genre it inhabits, or exhibiting the kind of airtight design we’d expect from a title of this calibre. It is a remarkable achievement because it is one of those few rare games that sets itself an atmospheric goal and launches it towards and through the stratosphere. This, here, is one of 2021’s very best games - we’re always in for a treat when Samus returns.
  65. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    Metroid Dread sees the galaxy's best bounty hunter return in fine form. It takes the terror of being hunted from Metroid Fusion, the more modern direction of Samus Returns, and the freedom to add to the series' decades of lore to create something that's nigh on essential for Metroid fans.
  66. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    Metroid Dread is a perfect mixture of 'things'. It is obviously a Metroidvania, but it can be enjoyed both by the connoisseurs of the genre as well as those that are complete newbies to it, it can even be considered a proper place to start exploring the genre. Even I, someone who is not particularly a fan of the Metroidvania concept, have been delighted by what Metroid Dread has to offer, and it has provided me with a ton of joy and has also surprised me more than any other game in a long time.
  67. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    Metroid Dread is a wonderful, modern take on a classic game from childhood. It looks as beautiful as any of today’s games, but has a feel of the games of old. The scary tone of the game and its intense foes give you a challenge worthy of the series.
  68. 90
    A continuation of Samus’ story from Metroid Fusion, Metroid Dread excels as a hybrid of both classic and modern Metroid gameplay. The exploration and combat are top-notch, with satisfying boss fights complete with stunning graphics and mid-action cutscenes. It’s only a few nitpicks that prevent Dread from being a masterpiece, but that still means that it’s a must-have for Metroid fans. The future holds a lot of promise for Samus Aran.
  69. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    Metroid Dread is the final chapter of the journey started by Samus Aran on NES long ago. Developer MecurySteam has managed to create a game loyal to the series but full of new elements added to renew the gameplay. Being chased by E.M.M.I. is one of the most terrifying experiences you could ever feel in a videogame. It’s just a brilliant addiction. Exploring ZDR planet is a marvelous adventure: as you progress through the game, you will collect new powers and story elements. Metroid Dread feels like old and new at the same time: will please both fans of the series and new players. This game plays gorgeously on the new Switch OLED screen and is a must-have for every metroidvania addict.
  70. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    With Metroid Dread, Mercury Steam brings the series back to its roots by delivering a strong, dense and cleverly designed 2D episode. Thanks to its tough but balanced curve, Samus keeps getting stronger and more able to decipher many puzzles and fight interesting bosses, only to appear vulnerable when escaping the new EMMI robots. The adventure sure is classic, but all the elements here are pushed to their limits, for the better. What a ride.
  71. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    Metroid Dread is nearly the perfect return for Samus, and only some difficulty spikes rain on the parade. This is a tight, responsive 2D Metroid experience that constantly impresses and surprises in equal measure and is the perfect way to launch the new Switch model.
  72. Oct 6, 2021
    89
    Metroid Dread is one of the best Metroidvania games out there with its awesome collection of abilities and its action-packed E.M.M.I. areas. It may not provide as much challenge as old-school fans would expect but it's still an undeniably incredible adventure.
  73. Oct 6, 2021
    88
    Metroid Dread proves that the Metroid franchise is still ready to innovate the genre it helped build with exciting new ideas. While it hasn't taken on all the lessons from newcomers that have filled in since its absence, it doesn't feel like an outsider looking in.
  74. Oct 6, 2021
    88
    Metroid games have always had trace elements of sci-fi horror in them, and Metroid Dread is no different. Rather than inject the series with new levels of fear and tension, Dread seeks to highlight the latent spookiness already present. To that end, it works! That familiar sense of powerlessness and fear is given new life in this game. Suddenly your initial state of weakness has greater narrative weight. Furthermore, the lateral expansion of your move set feels like a natural conclusion. Every victory is one you clawed and fought for with all your might. Each new stage is filled with fresh dangers to keep you moving with an abundance of caution and care. Even the complex controls and the punishing boss fights are in service to this vision. Metroid Dread takes small, but significant, steps to expand and innovate upon the established series formula. Metroid and Metroidvania fans alike won't want to miss this entry.
  75. Oct 10, 2021
    85
    Metroid Dread is not only an excellent game and return of a beloved franchise, it’s emblematic of everything that defined the genre in the first place in a way that many modern Metroidvanias simply aren’t. Its exploration, upgrading, and re-exploration are never spoonfed to you and feel constantly like great accomplishments with great difficulty scaling and thrilling new mechanics and atmosphere.
  76. Oct 6, 2021
    85
    With Metroid Dread, Mercury Steam brings a satisfying conclusion to 35 years of history. It's a particularly solid metroidvania, which will make you thrill at every revelation and sweat at every boss fight, while distilling a level-design mastered like never before. However, its main and only innovation, embodied by the E.M.M.I., prevents the title from reaching the pantheon of the genre, which is already full of quality titles: more frustrating than stressful, the mechanics and areas related to the robots of the galactic federation are far from convincing us.
  77. Oct 6, 2021
    85
    25 years after the start of the 2D saga, Samus is in perfect shape and has tied us to the Switch for many hours.
  78. 85
    Metroid Dread feels like a celebration of 2D Metroid. It manages to stay true to the original games, whilst also introducing some new elements that keeps things feeling fresh. The game is held back by some questionable level design, the E.M.M.I feeling repetitive and a definite knowledge barrier for series newcomers.
  79. Oct 6, 2021
    85
    An intoxicating power climb, top-notch level design and a fear-inducing hook make this an incredibly compelling and long overdue side-scrolling Metroid sequel. It struggles with sticking too closely to the roots of its decades-old predecessors and could definitely learn a thing or two from contemporary Metroidvanias, but it's a blast all the same.
  80. Oct 6, 2021
    85
    Metroid Dread doesn't take a lot of big swings, but it rarely bats a foul ball.
  81. Oct 6, 2021
    85
    Metroid Dread is a dignified sequel to a sacred games series. The almost invincible E.M.M.I. can be annoying, but other than that, you get a fully-fleshed metroidvania that combines new mechanics with traditional Metroid gameplay in the best sense.
  82. Oct 16, 2021
    80
    Metroid Dread is an excellent return to the Samus saga with an interesting story and solid mechanics, although it does have a few problems with its new villains.
  83. Oct 15, 2021
    80
    The game perfects the 2D trappings of Metroid’s mechanics and hands players so much freedom when it comes to exploration.
  84. Oct 14, 2021
    80
    Metroid Dread isn't a groundbreaking genre piece, and it's not trying to be one. New game lead by Yoshio Sakamoto is aimed at those players, who can appreciate fine-tuned and deep gameplay.
  85. Oct 12, 2021
    80
    Metroid has officially returned to its pedestal of greatness among Nintendo's finest. Powerfully efficient in its details and ruthless in its effort to make the player writhe in agony. While not the greatest heights the franchise has ever seen, it's more than polished enough to be a respected and beloved addition to the franchise. While it marks the end of the original timeline, the future is vast and endless, and Dread marks the potential for a markedly improved vision of the genre. While the Switch has more than enough must-buys already, this is yet another. Just be warned that it takes no prisoners.
  86. Oct 11, 2021
    80
    It’s terrific stuff, though it may prove a little strenuous for newcomers at times. Metroid has always been one of Nintendo’s more ‘hardcore’ pursuits and Dread looks to make a virtue of this in a challenging and often esoteric adventure. But whether you are new or a Metroid old-hand, there is no doubting the craft here. A welcome return for one of gaming’s most stylish heroes.
  87. Oct 8, 2021
    80
    Metroid Dread is a slick and intense platform-adventure, and the most exciting Switch game Nintendo has produced in quite some time.
  88. Oct 6, 2021
    80
    Metroid Dread doesn't break the mold, but it's a solid Metroidvania that will please fans new and old alike.
  89. Oct 6, 2021
    80
    It's a cliché, but Metroid Dread won't be a game for everyone. If you like a game that doesn't hold your hand at all, is brutally difficult, requires precision from every movement and busts your back, you'll love Samus' latest mission. If not, your experience will vary depending on how much you can put up with the genre’s pitfalls and what might be considered obtuse design decisions. Metroid Dread almost broke me several times, but it might just be what you're after. It took a while, but Samus is back, and hopefully not going away for so long this time.
  90. Oct 6, 2021
    80
    Metroid Dread is likely to give those that have been counting down the days to its release exactly what they want: a thrilling experience in line with what they loved about past games. There are original ideas here - but they’re better considered as evolutions of what came before rather than anything groundbreaking. There’s stumbles here and there with the difficulty and progression signposting, but all of that feels very Metroid. Dread is no Super Metroid, but that game is a stone-cold all-timer. Putting that game aside, Dread is up to the series standard, and is well worth a look.
  91. Oct 6, 2021
    80
    More than anything else, Metroid Dread feels like going back to a place of comfort after a long time away. Though the gameplay is refined and new features have been added to the mix, Dread sticks closely to the formula of its predecessors. In the end, for longtime fans like myself, that's probably for the best. There's nothing to dread here. We're home again.
  92. Oct 6, 2021
    78
    Metroid Dread is an experience that is at times deeply enjoyable and yet imperfect at the same time. MercurySteam certainly did not lack the courage to take risks, proposing new ideas, exceptional dynamism and surprising horror veins: elements that fit coherently within a winning formula, tested over the last thirty-five years. A few too many smudges - probably the result of a production not up to the height of Nintendo's heavyweights - however, end up making the whole thing miss: with some extra ideas, less repetition and a little more character in artistic terms, the result could have been be different and even more rounded. However, it is always fascinating to find Samus on our screens, in a franchise that deserves more than it usually gets (starting with the Big N).
  93. Metroid Dread is a good Metroid-style game, but does little more.
  94. Oct 6, 2021
    70
    Frustrating boss battles and cumbersome controls distract from an otherwise fun and isolating adventure.
  95. 70
    I left Metroid Dread feeling quite conflicted about it. On the one hand, I do think it is fundamentally well designed, and the main gameplay element - the robot stalkers - are woven into the Metroid formula beautifully. On the other hand, that Metroid formula is getting long in the tooth and Dread doesn't do nearly enough to revitalise it. Dread is fine. It's not just nearly memorable enough for a game that fans have been waiting so many years for now.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 6, 2021
    Metroid Dread is a superb demonstration about how to make a 2D action platformer with tons of exploration and backtracking. Definitely, a must for Metroid fans. [Recommended]
  2. Oct 6, 2021
    If "classic 2D adventure on Switch" puts the same tingle in your spine as it does mine, Mercury Steam will not lead you astray with this impressive sequel. Buy.
  3. Oct 10, 2021
    And that’s where Dread absolutely thrives: simple, focused ideas that are brilliantly executed. It’s smooth and satisfying in the hands, lean and exciting throughout the entire adventure and mixes its old school roots with fresh ideas that keep it ahead of the curve its forebears drew in the first place. That mix of new and old is a lot to balance in a game – let alone a portable one – but Dread makes it look easy. It’s both Nintendo’s best first-party game of the year and the perfect companion to a Switch OLED, should you be picking one up for launch day.
  4. Oct 6, 2021
    While Metroid Dread sticks a bit too close to a familiar formula, it's still one of the best action games of 2021.
  5. Oct 6, 2021
    A stylish, visually sumptuous return for 2D Metroid, and an adventure that proudly sits alongside the series' best. [Eurogamer Essential]
  6. Oct 8, 2021
    I’m glad that Dread really goes for it, that it wants to make you feel hunted and disadvantaged and that it’s willing to feel hostile in order to accomplish that. The result is a feeling that survival itself is a reward more meaningful than all the upgrades in the world, a feeling I rarely get from games anymore. But ZDR never captivated me the way previous Metroid settings have, and as a conclusion to the story arc, Dread seems to misunderstand what made the early chapters resonate. Samus is wonderful, a survivor, an icon, and she endures. But when I think back on my time with her over the past several decades, Dread will forever dwell in the shadows of my favorite Metroid memories.
  7. Oct 6, 2021
    Dread reimagines the Metroid format with confidence and care, and it trusts the player to make leaps along the way. While following its interwoven path of epic boss fights, satisfying upgrades, and otherworldly environments, all I could think was that this is the Metroid game I’ve been waiting for. It easily stands astride the best entries in the series, and I eagerly await a follow-up in the year 2040. [Polygon Recommends]
  8. Oct 6, 2021
    It nails the classic feel of a Metroid game while updating it with wonderfully detailed visuals, more satisfying combat, and new areas that briefly turn it into a stealth horror experience. But all of that comes to a grinding halt when you have to fight three bosses in a short span, each of which requires either fast reflexes or pattern memorization to get through — or both. Instead of punctuating the quiet exploration with intense battles, the copious boss encounters instead turn into a slog. Dread features some of the most beautifully dark and solemn moments in the franchise — but you’ll have to be prepared to really fight to see it all.
  9. Oct 16, 2021
    Metroid Dread sharply refines (but doesn't reinvent) Nintendo's 35-year-old ideas in a gorgeous and slick new package.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1522 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Oct 10, 2021
    6
    I was really looking forward to this game. I’m a big fan. But sadly I just don’t love it. The basic game is great, but to me personally theI was really looking forward to this game. I’m a big fan. But sadly I just don’t love it. The basic game is great, but to me personally the emmi chases were so annoying and random, that I lost all enjoyment. Full Review »
  2. Oct 11, 2021
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. as a fan of the Metroid series since I played the first one as a kid on the NES, I wanted to love this game. I genuinely did. There has never been a Metroid game that I have not enjoyed enough to at least beat. Until now.

    I see a lot of the praise for this game, and I see what people are saying and they are loving the exact things I hate, and it is extremely discouraging. Do you know why I played previous Metroid games? I love to explore. I like finding everything, getting all of the items, and then because I have everything, being able to just power through bosses. It felt like there were two potential gameplay loops: Explore and power up and make bosses easy or, rush through and have superior gameplay to beat bosses with more limited gear and less health.

    Metroid: Dread, no matter what you do, is the latter. Always. No matter how many extra energy tanks you have, boss hits will drain multiple. At best you give yourself one extra hit. Exploration and discovery then offers minimal reward, so rushed gameplay is encouraged. Boss fights are hyper-tuned and in most cases require very specific sequences to progress, From the first boss that you MUST use the melee counter to defeat onward, the game emphasizes perfect combat gameplay over any other aspect. God help you if your TV has any input lag, because some of the REQUIRED quick time events are fraction of a second inputs. by the time you even see the flash, the window may have closed.

    All of the above would be forgivable if there was a difficulty setting, If I just want to explore and see the story, why the hell do I have to deal with infuriating mechanics or spend literal hours on bosses, dying over and over to iteratively learn complex patterns? Why can I not just tone it down? let me play on easy, have the bosses do less damage, make the melee/quick time event windows longer, give them less health so I don't have to do the same cycles over and over. I really don't care, just let me pick.
    As for the EMMI sections, where the dread is supposed to come in? At first it's exciting. I need to get away from this murder robot because I am not strong enough to handle them. It's pretty fun and interesting and tense. And then you have to do it again. and again. and again. and again. Eventually you get tools that make it more tolerable, and you feel like you are in the steal section of other games, and it's OK, if a bit annoying, but then later areas are designed to nullify those tools. It more often than not feels like the developers giving you a giant middle finger for trying to play their game. Also, the loop of getting the omega cannon to defeat them and then immediately losing the omega cannon for nonsensical reasons gets trite. You don't even get to use it beyond killing EMMIs as the end of the game which is an absolute missed opportunity.

    In the end I am feeling let down. After Samus Returns I was a little wary because that game had some required melee counters and I did not like them, but they are also few and far between. Mostly just on sporadic boss fights. In most instances if my reflexes were not up to the task I could go the longer route and shoot them to death. Except for Ridley, and I remember hating that fact at the time. They doubled down on it. If this is the direction the series is going to go then I guess I can't be a Metroid fan anymore. This is not what I expected, and it is certainly not what I want. The only points here are for the story, which I deeply enjoyed. Everything else was a disappointing frustrating mess and I regret every minute of it.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 10, 2021
    1
    A SNES game released in 2021 for full price. Movement is spry, but other control features (e.g. only aiming while standing still,A SNES game released in 2021 for full price. Movement is spry, but other control features (e.g. only aiming while standing still, over-reliance on parry/QTEs, clunky weapon swap) make the game feel worse than indie competitors. An "easy mode" might defeat the purpose, but definitely needs a "where the f do I go?" mode. Very niche and doesn't deserve mainstream acclaim. Full Review »