Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 22, 2019
    70
    My Memory of Us feels like a game that is fighting with itself. On the one hand, the story is wonderful. Even though some players may not like the attempts to dull the harshness of the real stories, it remains a hopeful tale where the horrors can still be understood by those willing to look beyond the surface level. On the other hand, the frustration felt by the sometimes-unresponsive controls can obscure the message, as the controls can make even the simplest of things feel more frustrating. This is still a title worth checking out, but only if you're patient enough to withstand a control scheme that is at odds with the challenges in place.
  2. Mar 21, 2019
    70
    My Memory of Us does not follow the typical story-telling mechanisms and it dares to venture into a background plot that not many games would step into. Its original and unusual story-telling make this a rather unique effort which might not be the most exciting for players looking for a thrilling challenge but it does a very good job at delivering a unique experience.
  3. Mar 11, 2019
    70
    My Memory of Us will perhaps be better remembered for its visuals than its gameplay, owing to some frustrating controls. It’s good enough to warrant a place in your Switch collection, though.
  4. Feb 4, 2019
    70
    An aesthetically charming adventure with an important message, if you can tolerate the occasionally mundane game play.
  5. Jan 24, 2019
    70
    Like Valiant Hearts, this game is tough to put a score to. Games like this tell important stories and attempt to use video games as a medium to help educate as well as share experiences from devastating wars. My Memory of Us does a good job of retelling and reimagining the Nazi occupation of Poland. It falters at points, especially the moments when the game around the story is frustrating. Yet it’s hard to ignore the visual style they’ve chosen, coupled with an affecting soundtrack.
  6. Jan 24, 2019
    70
    Striking black-and-white visuals looks great on the Switch’s handheld screen, and the vibrant sound design often reveals hidden clues and cues. My Memory of Us stands out as an accessible throwback, and it commits fully to its message. This journey won’t take you very long to complete, but it’s one worth seeing through to the end.
  7. Nov 26, 2019
    67
    If you really focus on the narrative, I don’t think you’ll necessarily draw the same conclusions that My Memory of Us wants you to draw. It’s a well-intentioned, well-made game that tries to convey the horrors of genocide — but, in the process of doing that, may just accidentally minimize them.
  8. Jan 31, 2019
    60
    By its nature, a game trivializes its subject matter to some degree, no matter how seriously the subject is presented. One could argue that making any kind of game relating to the Holocaust is bad mojo, but on the other hand, it might engender some awareness of history and My Memory of Us —made by a Polish developer—obviously comes from a sincere place and not crass commercialism. Philosophy and aesthetic arguments aside, where My Memory of Us both occasionally succeeds but equally often stumbles is in its puzzles and gameplay and mechanics.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Nov 20, 2019
    10
    Игра просто отличная! На Nintendo switch крупные субтитры и меню на русском языке. Хорошее управление, отличная музыка и сюжет! По скидкеИгра просто отличная! На Nintendo switch крупные субтитры и меню на русском языке. Хорошее управление, отличная музыка и сюжет! По скидке более обязательно! Full Review »
  2. Sep 2, 2020
    8
    Such a sad yet heartwarming game. Beautiful tale and a great adventure game. But don't get confused - this is not for kids.
  3. Feb 28, 2020
    8
    My memory of us: 8/10
    Czas ukończenia: 5h
    Platforma: Nintendo switch My memory of us to dość łatwa gra z okazjonalnymi zagadkami logicznymi i
    My memory of us: 8/10
    Czas ukończenia: 5h
    Platforma: Nintendo switch My memory of us to dość łatwa gra z okazjonalnymi zagadkami logicznymi i piękna historią opowiadającą o przyjaźni w czasie wojny. Gra zawiera polskie napisy. Polecam
    Full Review »