Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
Buy On
  1. 95
    Lucky’s move to Switch is a lovingly-crafted adventure that exudes creativity and fun, and if it’s any indication of what to expect from future outings from this delightful little fox, count me in for the long haul.
  2. 85
    From beginning to end, New Super Lucky’s Tale is a much more streamlined experience than the original. Any qualms I had with the original game have been rectified in this reimagined edition for Nintendo Switch. The game is oozing with charm and keeps you coming back. It’s a fun-filled experience that shouldn’t go unplayed by 3D platformer fans.
  3. Nov 11, 2019
    81
    Cute and charming are perfect words to describe this game. The sign of a good platforming game is one where players want to explore and collect all the items that are found around each level. I found myself wanting to do this and more. New Super Lucky’s Tale delivers a platformer for the whole family to enjoy by being easy to play, visually appealing and introducing a new and clever mascot to the Nintendo faithful. I sure hope we get to see more of Lucky in the future.
  4. Nov 19, 2019
    80
    Although I can’t confirm the differences between the original Xbox One X version and the new Switch edition, I can say that I had a lot of fun with this gem. It was dull and unfocused at times, but it never felt like a slog. Perhaps the game can be remembered fondly one day as a rare 3D platformer throwback of this decade, alongside Super Mario Odyssey, Yooka-Laylee, and A Hat in Time. Or at the very least, some may consider this the long-lost spiritual imagining of Rare’s Twelve Tales: Conker 64.
  5. Nov 15, 2019
    80
    New Super Lucky's Tale is a delight to play, and I strongly encourage young and old alike to give it a try. Just make sure you are patient with loading screens...
  6. 80
    New Super Lucky’s Tale is the definitive way to experience this often overlooked platformer. For every small compromise, there are easily twice as many improvements to be had. It prioritizes exploration with consistently well hidden rewards and never devalues them by throwing too many at the player. It takes the fun original release and turns it into something pretty special. The Switch could be a fantastic new start for Lucky. Who knows, maybe he could have a crossover with another Nintendo fox someday. While the Switch has no shortage of great 3D platformers, New Super Lucky’s Tale shouldn’t be too far from the top of your list.
  7. Nov 8, 2019
    80
    New Super Lucky’s Tale is a solid port of an underrated platformer with a greatly improved camera. It's a little on the short side and may not provide much of a challenge to more hardened gamers – and if you already own it on Xbox One there really isn't enough new here to warrant a second purchase – but what makes it worth a look is its uncanny ability to make you smile, and this is something that can't be overlooked, especially in modern times.
  8. Nov 8, 2019
    80
    New Super Lucky’s Tale isn’t so much a port as the true definitive edition of the game. A number of improvements to the controls, frame rate, level design, and overall structure of the game has resulted in a title that completely surpasses its origins. It isn’t challenging, or very long; but what is there is joyous, frivolous fun until the credits roll.
  9. Nov 7, 2019
    78
    3D platformers don't get much cuter than New Super Lucky's Tale. Although it can be fun for less skilled gamers, genre veterans will likely find it a bit too unengaging due to its low degree of challenge and typical core gameplay.
  10. Nov 12, 2019
    75
    Charming and sensibly improved platformer that lacks challenge and diversity in the long run.
  11. Nov 8, 2019
    75
    New Super Lucky's Tale is the definitive version of the game. It's still a stripped back platformer, but new content and a revamped camera make it well worth a look.
  12. Nov 13, 2019
    73
    New Super Lucky’s Tale improves many things from the original, but it also does some things worse. It’s a nice platformer, quite enjoyable on Nintendo’s hybrid console, so give it a try if you like the genre.
  13. Nov 18, 2019
    72
    New Super Lucky’s Tale is a great platform video game inspired by the most classic titles of the genre, with an artistic section full of color, a fun gameplay and a story interesting enough to encourage us to continue enjoying this adventure.
  14. Nov 12, 2019
    70
    An enjoyable throwback to a bygone age of 3D platformers.
  15. Nov 8, 2019
    70
    New Super Lucky’s Tale is better than its predecessor in many ways, but in some areas it falls short, mainly because of the hardware it’s running on. By streamlining Super Lucky’s Tale, Playful Studios has made its colourful 3D platformer even better, removing unnecessary fluff that brought the experience down.
  16. Nov 8, 2019
    70
    With tight controls and a good amount of entertaining content for completionists, New Super Lucky’s Tale justifies its $39.99 launch price for genre enthusiasts. But uneven level design holds this adventure back from true greatness. Check out the demo to get a feel for it.
  17. Nov 8, 2019
    70
    This action-packed adventure is well suited to a younger audience and promises a 3D platforming adventure.
  18. 60
    New Super Lucky’s Tale is a competent game but not one which will excite players. It’s got a clear target demographic in mind and delivers on what it promises. At the very least, it’s a marked improvement on the original Super Lucky’s Tale, and is arguably the most immediately playable iteration. Fans of 3D platformers will find that this game can contend just as well as the games of old, but without the benefit of brand recognition and nostalgia, Lucky has a real uphill climb in order to achieve greatness. If you’ve already played the other 3D platformers on the Switch, this one is worth a look.
  19. Nov 8, 2019
    60
    New Super Lucky’s Tale does boast a couple of significant improvements over the original version but it’s still a fairly forgettable 3D platformer on a console loaded with great ones.
  20. Nov 8, 2019
    60
    Though it packs plenty of charm and heart, New Super Lucky’s Tale isn't quite ready to be in the leagues of the platforming greats just yet.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 48
  2. Negative: 6 out of 48
  1. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    This game is a charming, beautiful, super fun 3d platformer and I am enjoying every second of it. Easily one of my favorite switch games.
  2. Nov 13, 2019
    10
    Summary: one of the nicest surprises of the year Playful Studios has really succeeded with a fantastic concept. Platform action game at itsSummary: one of the nicest surprises of the year Playful Studios has really succeeded with a fantastic concept. Platform action game at its best. Highly recommended for families with children. If you like Super Mario Odyssey or Splatoon 2, you will love this game! The whole gaming experience is magical. You don't want it to end and the only big minus is that the game is too short and a bit easy. The fact that the camera controlling is not always following proper and that the loading times can be long is a minor minus. Full Review »
  3. Nov 11, 2019
    9
    This game is so fun! I don't have an xbox and had never heard of the original game, but after seeing some positive reviews from a coupleThis game is so fun! I don't have an xbox and had never heard of the original game, but after seeing some positive reviews from a couple switch youtubers that I follow, I downloaded and played the free demo from the nintendo e-shop and then immediately purchased the game when the demo was over with. I'm not even a big 3-D platformer type of gamer but man this game is fun and it's great to see a cute, cheerful, tongue-in-cheek game in my library. It has a ton of replayability and I honestly can't put it down. From what I understand, it's very much its own game in terms of improvements and new features & less of a port of the xbox game. It looks absolutely gorgeous and has so much personality. Welcome to the Switch, Lucky, I hope we see some more of ya. Full Review »