Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
Buy On
  1. Jul 1, 2020
    100
    Obviously, New Super Lucky’s Tale isn’t about to displace Mario when it comes to being the best 3D platformer the Switch has to offer — but with no word of exaggeration, I wouldn’t put this one too far behind it, either.
  2. 95
    Lucky’s move to Switch is a lovingly-crafted adventure that exudes creativity and fun, and if it’s any indication of what to expect from future outings from this delightful little fox, count me in for the long haul.
  3. NF Magazine
    Apr 30, 2020
    90
    The Switch has ended up with what could easily be called the definitive version of this super tale. [Issue #44 – January/February 2020, p. 66]
  4. 85
    From beginning to end, New Super Lucky’s Tale is a much more streamlined experience than the original. Any qualms I had with the original game have been rectified in this reimagined edition for Nintendo Switch. The game is oozing with charm and keeps you coming back. It’s a fun-filled experience that shouldn’t go unplayed by 3D platformer fans.
  5. Nov 11, 2019
    81
    Cute and charming are perfect words to describe this game. The sign of a good platforming game is one where players want to explore and collect all the items that are found around each level. I found myself wanting to do this and more. New Super Lucky’s Tale delivers a platformer for the whole family to enjoy by being easy to play, visually appealing and introducing a new and clever mascot to the Nintendo faithful. I sure hope we get to see more of Lucky in the future.
  6. Mar 19, 2020
    80
    New Super Lucky's Tale is a charming and well done platformer. The number of moves you have may seem limited, since you learn nothing else in your journey, but the game does a good job of making sure you use all of the moves all of the time. The colorful look is aided by the general charm of the characters to create an experience where you're constantly grinning. It may be easy for genre veterans, and the load times can be annoying, but the short runtime ensures that the game doesn't overstay its welcome.
  7. Dec 30, 2019
    80
    Easy enough for newcomers to just pick up and play, and providing just enough fun and familiar challenge for veterans of the genre.
  8. Dec 15, 2019
    80
    New Super Lucky's Tale is a great platformer that hearkens back to why platformers are beloved in the first place. There is a genuineness to the level design and overall presentation. It's a great mix of mild 3D exploring and traditional side-scrolling action.
  9. Nov 19, 2019
    80
    Although I can’t confirm the differences between the original Xbox One X version and the new Switch edition, I can say that I had a lot of fun with this gem. It was dull and unfocused at times, but it never felt like a slog. Perhaps the game can be remembered fondly one day as a rare 3D platformer throwback of this decade, alongside Super Mario Odyssey, Yooka-Laylee, and A Hat in Time. Or at the very least, some may consider this the long-lost spiritual imagining of Rare’s Twelve Tales: Conker 64.
  10. Nov 15, 2019
    80
    New Super Lucky's Tale is a delight to play, and I strongly encourage young and old alike to give it a try. Just make sure you are patient with loading screens...
  11. 80
    New Super Lucky’s Tale is the definitive way to experience this often overlooked platformer. For every small compromise, there are easily twice as many improvements to be had. It prioritizes exploration with consistently well hidden rewards and never devalues them by throwing too many at the player. It takes the fun original release and turns it into something pretty special. The Switch could be a fantastic new start for Lucky. Who knows, maybe he could have a crossover with another Nintendo fox someday. While the Switch has no shortage of great 3D platformers, New Super Lucky’s Tale shouldn’t be too far from the top of your list.
  12. Nov 8, 2019
    80
    New Super Lucky’s Tale is a solid port of an underrated platformer with a greatly improved camera. It's a little on the short side and may not provide much of a challenge to more hardened gamers – and if you already own it on Xbox One there really isn't enough new here to warrant a second purchase – but what makes it worth a look is its uncanny ability to make you smile, and this is something that can't be overlooked, especially in modern times.
  13. Nov 8, 2019
    80
    New Super Lucky’s Tale isn’t so much a port as the true definitive edition of the game. A number of improvements to the controls, frame rate, level design, and overall structure of the game has resulted in a title that completely surpasses its origins. It isn’t challenging, or very long; but what is there is joyous, frivolous fun until the credits roll.
  14. Nov 7, 2019
    78
    3D platformers don't get much cuter than New Super Lucky's Tale. Although it can be fun for less skilled gamers, genre veterans will likely find it a bit too unengaging due to its low degree of challenge and typical core gameplay.
  15. Dec 19, 2019
    75
    New Super Lucky’s Tale is an extremely polished director’s cut of a solid 3D platformer. I loved seeing its final incarnation finally see the light of day. I am glad more people can experience it now, but I do wish Playful would update the other versions, and perhaps even bring it to PS4 to complete the circle. Still, Switch owners looking for a solid, albeit simple platformer have yet another title worth checking out.
  16. Nov 12, 2019
    75
    Charming and sensibly improved platformer that lacks challenge and diversity in the long run.
  17. Nov 8, 2019
    75
    New Super Lucky's Tale is the definitive version of the game. It's still a stripped back platformer, but new content and a revamped camera make it well worth a look.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 104
  2. Negative: 16 out of 104
  1. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    This game is a charming, beautiful, super fun 3d platformer and I am enjoying every second of it. Easily one of my favorite switch games.
  2. Nov 17, 2019
    9
    This game really surprised me. It pulls influence from many different classic platformers, as some stages resemble Mario 64 while others theThis game really surprised me. It pulls influence from many different classic platformers, as some stages resemble Mario 64 while others the Donkey Kong Country games, with some more modern styled "runner" stages thrown in, so it feels like a love letter to the entire genre. The level design is competent throughout. Nearly every stage is enjoyable, there is little filler in the game except for those numerous puzzle rooms in the hub worlds, those are an absolute pain to go through and very repetitive. The puzzle rooms detract from what would otherwise be my favorite "Indie" (even though it's not really) 3D plaftormer, I like it better than A Hat in Time as it's more focused on platforming and less filler. Full Review »
  3. Nov 13, 2019
    10
    Summary: one of the nicest surprises of the year Playful Studios has really succeeded with a fantastic concept. Platform action game at itsSummary: one of the nicest surprises of the year Playful Studios has really succeeded with a fantastic concept. Platform action game at its best. Highly recommended for families with children. If you like Super Mario Odyssey or Splatoon 2, you will love this game! The whole gaming experience is magical. You don't want it to end and the only big minus is that the game is too short and a bit easy. The fact that the camera controlling is not always following proper and that the loading times can be long is a minor minus. Full Review »