New Super Lucky's Tale Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The adventure of a young fox who embarks on a journey through the unknown and becomes a hero.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Jul 1, 2020
    100
    Obviously, New Super Lucky’s Tale isn’t about to displace Mario when it comes to being the best 3D platformer the Switch has to offer — but with no word of exaggeration, I wouldn’t put this one too far behind it, either.
  2. 85
    From beginning to end, New Super Lucky’s Tale is a much more streamlined experience than the original. Any qualms I had with the original game have been rectified in this reimagined edition for Nintendo Switch. The game is oozing with charm and keeps you coming back. It’s a fun-filled experience that shouldn’t go unplayed by 3D platformer fans.
  3. Dec 30, 2019
    80
    Easy enough for newcomers to just pick up and play, and providing just enough fun and familiar challenge for veterans of the genre.
  4. Dec 19, 2019
    75
    New Super Lucky’s Tale is an extremely polished director’s cut of a solid 3D platformer. I loved seeing its final incarnation finally see the light of day. I am glad more people can experience it now, but I do wish Playful would update the other versions, and perhaps even bring it to PS4 to complete the circle. Still, Switch owners looking for a solid, albeit simple platformer have yet another title worth checking out.
  5. Nov 13, 2019
    73
    New Super Lucky’s Tale improves many things from the original, but it also does some things worse. It’s a nice platformer, quite enjoyable on Nintendo’s hybrid console, so give it a try if you like the genre.
  6. Dec 17, 2019
    70
    New Super Lucky's Tale is an excellent 3D platformer for kids who are getting to grips with right stick camera controls. Gamers seeking a challenging 3D adventure will be left wanting. The light visuals and professional-looking bouncy animation are very appealing, and it all manages to scale beautifully from the Xbox One to the Nintendo Switch. The gameplay is deeper, the playability made tighter, and the levels are re-worked to accommodate Lucky's new mobility. The visuals make the expected compromises that come with Switch conversions; lower resolution and a reduction of frame rate from 60 to 30. Yet, it is all worth it for a more finely crafted experience. Lucky himself might be unlucky to be such a boring character, but he is fun to play as, and gets to run around in charming worlds.
  7. Nov 8, 2019
    60
    Though it packs plenty of charm and heart, New Super Lucky’s Tale isn't quite ready to be in the leagues of the platforming greats just yet.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    This game is a charming, beautiful, super fun 3d platformer and I am enjoying every second of it. Easily one of my favorite switch games.
  2. Mar 30, 2020
    10
    O jogo é divertido tanto na versão de Switch como na versão original de Xbox One, não trás muita dificuldade absurda o level designer eO jogo é divertido tanto na versão de Switch como na versão original de Xbox One, não trás muita dificuldade absurda o level designer e excelente e as boss fight também. Pra min Super Lucky's Tale é nota 10 Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is for me new Tails Adventure! This game is rlly good. If i say is rlly good, its rlly good. Expand
  4. Feb 9, 2020
    9
    This game reminds me of a time when I would go to Blockbuster Video randomly on a Friday after school to rent a game. I would find a game IThis game reminds me of a time when I would go to Blockbuster Video randomly on a Friday after school to rent a game. I would find a game I haven’t heard of before and play it good or bad. When it was good, man was it good. Finding a hidden gem like New Super Lucky’s Tale made my winter. Very simple gameplay with a perfect balance of challenge/satisfaction/time investment. Beautiful design. I felt like a kid again playing it on a Friday night after work and I will easily recommend this game to anyone a fan of 3D/2D platform adventures. Expand
  5. Mar 31, 2020
    9
    Este juego es extraordinario, hermoso y adictivo a partes iguales, si tuviera la palabra Mario en el título sería considerado una obra maestraEste juego es extraordinario, hermoso y adictivo a partes iguales, si tuviera la palabra Mario en el título sería considerado una obra maestra por la prensa, de verdad muy muy recomendable! Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2021
    8
    This game is definitely a step up from its original release back in 2017. Not only has the gameplay improved, but the graphics, story, andThis game is definitely a step up from its original release back in 2017. Not only has the gameplay improved, but the graphics, story, and presentation has also improved. The only negative I have to say about this game is that the game is pretty short. It took around 3 hours to beat the main game and an additional hour to 100% complete it. I'm just hoping that a sequel comes out pretty soon. Expand
  7. Dec 20, 2019
    3
    I loved this game for the first 3 hours I played. The characters are charming, the worlds are beautiful, but then it came time I wanted toI loved this game for the first 3 hours I played. The characters are charming, the worlds are beautiful, but then it came time I wanted to play a different game for a little bit. I didn’t see a way to save so I assumed it autosaved, it being a game that’s over 6 hours to play I thought it was a safe assumption. But no when I loaded the game back up I was back at world one with just the clovers I got form beating the tutorial. I didn’t know if this was a glitch or I just closed the game at a game time so I replayed the game and even got the second to last world. Then I spent a bit trying to make sure it would save. I exited though the main menu option and loaded it up again and all seemed well. Then I closed the software to open another game. When I went back to finish the game I was back at the beginning again!!!! I can beat the game in one sitting but at this point, I don’t want too!!!! The last 2 worlds aren’t worth going though the majority of the game for a 3rd time. I wanted to complete this game, but what’s the point if all my data will just be deleted again? It really ruined the game for me. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews