Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. 90
    Don't be fooled by its simplistic tech. Nintendo Labo VR is one of the most enjoyable and creative virtual reality experiences out there, and an absolute delight to play.
  2. May 17, 2019
    85
    Al tough I found some surprise when I played with Labo VR, it still didn't make VR more interesting, and VR still can't make Labo's mini games more playable. Just like the previous Labos, building those toys is the only time that I felt happy. But for the kids, I think it's enough.
  3. Apr 26, 2019
    80
    Labo VR Kit is a giant, joyous mess of imagination, creativity and potential. From a value-for-money perspective, the Starter Set is an easy recommendation, and even hardened Labo cynics will likely enjoy the Blaster and trying out the Mario and Zelda VR updates (although those updates aren't enough on their own to warrant a purchase). The Starter Kit offers a great taste of the Labo construction experience and access to most of the pick-up-and-play VR Plaza novelties. If the bug really takes you, of course, it’s easy enough to get the expansion sets. Labo really needs to be explored to be enjoyed – Toy-Con Garage is extremely comprehensive, but isn't the sort of thing you’ll pick up in an afternoon. It’s not without faults, but overall this ‘Nintendo-style solution’ to basic VR is well worth the asking price for anybody with even the tiniest bit of curiosity and brilliantly showcases the versatility of Switch.
  4. Apr 16, 2019
    80
    Although most of the games feel very basic, they still have that trademark Nintendo charm, and I still can’t get over how ingeniously these cardboard sets come together. If you’ve been into the past Labo sets, the VR Kit is a no-brainer.
  5. 80
    Simply put, if you’re looking for depth and immersion in your VR experiences, it might be best to look elsewhere. But if you simply want to experience VR on a basic level for a relatively low price point, Labo VR would make a great fit.
  6. Apr 15, 2019
    79
    Labo VR is Nintendo’s most innovative and creative Labo kit to date. It can’t compete with the top-dollar VR available on other platforms and it’s tiring to hold it up to your face for more than an hour at a time, but it still includes plenty of wacky and wonderful Nintendo magic, best exemplified by the Elephant Toy-Con.
  7. Apr 15, 2019
    71
    In the end, Labo VR is a promising new concept for Switch gamers. It could definitely use more and higher quality games at this point in time but there's no denying that it works well and opens the doors to more unique experiences on the Switch.
  8. Apr 12, 2019
    70
    Like the other kits, the Labo VR Kit does so many great things outside of its more standard game experiences, and it's really about what you do with the technology.
  9. May 8, 2019
    60
    Although the innovative concept is very impressive and while we are undeniably entertained when working with Labo, this can hardly be counted as one of Nintendo's great successes. We also have to admit that we did not pick up our first Labo creations any more time after the initial weeks. We suspect that the same thing will happen with the vr packages.
  10. Apr 22, 2019
    60
    Nintendo Labo Toy-Con 04: VR Kit is ingeniously designed. The synthesis of physical cardboard Toy-Con with commensurate digital software creates a tactile and fun virtual reality experience that feels decidedly Nintendo. However, once the initial magic of Labo VR wears off, all that is left is a shallow, oddly assembled lot of minigames that won’t last more than an afternoon.
  11. Apr 29, 2019
    50
    While the Nintendo Labo Toy-Con VR set is an intriguing idea, the included software simply doesn’t deliver enough experiences to make the purchase and the time invested worthwhile for most. Ultimately, the task of building the peripherals becomes the highlight of the experience, leaving Nintendo’s toy-like games feeling more like colorful afterthoughts than the sort of engaging experience fans of the company have come to expect.
  12. Apr 12, 2019
    40
    The biggest problem is the low resolution screen with a 60 Hertz refresh rate, which produces nasty blurs on head movements.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Apr 17, 2019
    So long as you appreciate how much better VR can be, and that Nintendo has been soundly trounced in the good-VR-design department by the likes of Astro Bot, Tetris Effect, TiltBrush, Vacation Simulator, Superhot VR, Moss, SuperHyperCube, Space Pirate Trainer, and on and on and on... then, sure, give Labo VR a whirl. Just don't say I didn't warn ya.
  2. Apr 28, 2019
    While it isn’t quite as engrossing as Wii Sports of way back when, it is a strong showcase for the sheer whimsy that Nintendo can wield when it wants too. It might be something of a novelty rather than an immediate addition to your console library, and you might not come back to Labo VR for hours and hours, but it’s incredible toy-cons and magical games will definitely be something you show off to anyone willing to put their head in the back of a bird.
  3. Apr 11, 2019
    If you enjoyed previous Labo kits with your family you'll probably like spending a weekend with this one, even if it won't be making the rounds and wowing Late Night audiences.
  4. Apr 11, 2019
    The lamentations of those who do not want to accept it are worth less than the wonder of those who have always wanted it.
  5. Apr 11, 2019
    Labo VR is a novelty, to be sure, but it knows its limitations and constructs some fun experiences within those boundaries.
  6. Apr 11, 2019
    The technology works better than expected and shows that besides powerful hardware also other aspects are important for a pleasant VR experience, which Nintendo understands well.
  7. Apr 11, 2019
    Despite what you might imagine when you hear that Nintendo’s VR goggles are made out of cardboard this latest Nintendo Labo kit is able to replicate all those sensations and more, in what sounds like it should be a laughing stock but is actually a thoroughly enjoyable and surprisingly engrossing mix of VR, handicraft, and edutainment.
  8. Apr 12, 2019
    The Nintendo Labo Toy-Con 04: VR Kit is nothing less than a cardboard marvel through which Nintendo has delivered an affordable and content-rich introduction to the world of virtual reality. We’re four Nintendo Labo kits in now, and, after the equally brilliant Nintendo Labo Toy-Con 03: Vehicle Kit, the build-and-play concept – which wonderfully blends physical and digital activities – continues to maintain its rubber band-strung stride. That only leaves me wondering about what cardboard contraptions will come next.
  9. Apr 11, 2019
    At worst, you’ll spend a few hours having fun putting together some charming cardboard toys and seeing what parlor tricks your Nintendo Switch can do with them. At best, you’ll dive into one of the most inexpensive, yet engrossing, VR experiences out there.
  10. Apr 12, 2019
    Labo VR Kit is exactly what we expected Nintendo would do with VR: it's fresh, funny, and joyful.
  11. Apr 11, 2019
    There is every chance that in a week’s time the toy-cons we built may be languishing in a cupboard, with the thrill of creating something already over. Regardless; what a charming, rewarding and singular way to spend our time it has been.
  12. Apr 11, 2019
    It may have taken a while, but Nintendo’s take on modern VR is perhaps the perfect complement to the Switch itself. With its tablet / console hybrid, Nintendo went in a completely different direction than its competitors, and the same could be said of Labo VR. It’s not virtual reality as you’ve come to know it — and that’s what makes it so interesting.
  13. Apr 11, 2019
    Nintendo Labo VR Kit is the most creative use of virtual reality yet .
  14. Apr 15, 2019
    Labo VR isn’t likely to set the world of VR on fire, but as a cheap VR option that’s a family friendly way to explore this growing area of gaming this new Toy-Con kit feels like a clever, worthwhile addition to the Switch’s weird and wonderful cardboard world. It may also very well be the first time Labo has truly made sense to me. It’s classic Nintendo ingenuity, with classic Nintendo results: just pure fun.
  15. May 2, 2019
    The finest – and best value – Labo kit so far is no Rift beater, but an excellent entry-level VR experience, especially for younger players.
  16. Apr 11, 2019
    Nintendo’s Labo VR Kit is yet another genius experiment from the minds of the Big N, but is it essential for Switch owners? Once again, the primary value is in building the ToyCon, not actually playing with them. Having said that, playing with them offers a far better gaming experience than what players found with the other three Labo kits.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 39
  2. Negative: 10 out of 39
  1. Apr 12, 2019
    10
    My first impression is positive. It was easy and fun to build, the minigames were enjoyable and i'm really looking forward to how they willMy first impression is positive. It was easy and fun to build, the minigames were enjoyable and i'm really looking forward to how they will implement VR with other games. Of course, it's not the psvr, but i think it's unfair to compare them given the price difference, and overall i think it was worth every cent Full Review »
  2. Apr 19, 2019
    10
    Got the base set, Labo VR goggle with Blaster for under $40 and wow. I am very impressed. Building the googles and blaster took around 3.5Got the base set, Labo VR goggle with Blaster for under $40 and wow. I am very impressed. Building the googles and blaster took around 3.5 hours, then, I loaded up the Alien Blaster game and I must say, it's friggen FANTASTIC! It's like a theme park ride at Disneyland (Toy Story Mania anyone?) with just the right amount of VR to impress and not cause nausea. The game design is brilliant and deeper than expected. A big arcade game where you will go back again and again to go for high score (and the scoring system is pretty clever! Clue: multiple hits at once increases that score!). Oh, and the gun is great! You truly feel like you are shooting a cannon gun with clever kickback, cocking the gun, etc.

    This game easily worth $40, especially as they are adding VR support for Mario Odyssey and Zelda Breath of the Wild. Can only imagine what other games will get VR treatments. Let's hope for some DLC for these games. Ill easily pay $10 more for Blaster levels. Also, use a swivel chair to play! Just to turn around 360 (not to roll forward or backward!)

    And, you can create cool VR games with tools within! Nintendo, you MUST MUST add on the ability for others to share these levels! If you do this you will sell millions of these!

    Well done, I love this base set and will spend at least $20 more for the Bird and Wind Pedal kits!
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 25, 2019
    8
    I can't sit here at tell you that this is a perfect VR experience, but for the price tag, it is well worth it. There are many many games toI can't sit here at tell you that this is a perfect VR experience, but for the price tag, it is well worth it. There are many many games to play using the various attachments. The resolution is a bit blurry, but hopefully the Switch Pro has a better hand held screen when it comes out. Mario Odyssey and Zelda are getting VR updates, I can only hope that Mario Kart gets one as well eventually. If you want a fun VR experience, get this. Hopefully Nintendo releases a head strap for this. That is the only real negative thing to say, your arms will get tired holding this up to your face. Full Review »