Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
Buy On
  1. Jun 26, 2017
    70
    Oceanhorn is a competent, budget, bite-sized Zelda-like experience that is not without its flaws, both in terms of glitches and in terms of sheer game design. Those, however, are not inherent to the Nintendo Switch version itself but are found in all releases of the game and, despite those, it still manages to entertain, to provide a jolly good time and to even impress at times with the graphical effects it pulls off, although the graphical side of things has high and low points, notably in its draw distance at times. It is, however, priced fairly for what it offers and, due to its mobile lineage, it plays best on Switch in handheld mode due to the touch screen aiming for spells and touch menu features, making this effectively potentially the best home conversion, simply because it can be enjoyed on the big screen just as much as on the go, where it truly shines. It is just simply sad that despite being re-released multiple times, a lot of its elements are left as-is when they could have been improved, but there's hope at least that the upcoming sequel, Oceanhorn 2: Knights of the Lost Realm will not repeat any of these. Do not be mistaken, though: Oceanhorn: Monster of Uncharted Seas is still a lot of fun to play.
  2. Jun 23, 2017
    66
    Oceanhorn: Monster of Uncharted Seas tries a little too hard to copy the game that clearly inspired it. While good fun to play, if a little easy in parts, I feel that if Cornfox & Bros had been a little more adventurous and set out on their own path, they may have found that this good homage could have been great game by its own doing. If you are a fan of the Zelda series, you will definitely find Oceanhorn enjoyable - just don't expect too much from it.
  3. Jul 19, 2017
    65
    Oceanhorn is a game that works well on Switch, mainly because of its similarities to Zelda, but it's really gameplay limited and lasts only 10 hours.
  4. Jul 1, 2017
    65
    If you've got a hankering for a game with a stamina meter, sword swinging, and pot smashing, there is at least one other better title on the Nintendo Switch that I can think of, but Oceanhorn is an alright little throwback to retro Zelda titles that could help you bide your time between Nintendo's slow trickle of AAA games this year.
  5. Jul 17, 2017
    60
    The Switch is the best fit for Oceanhorn too. While it has issues, I just know the groundwork has been laid for a killer sequel and I can’t wait to see what Oceanhorn’s world will look like when we return in the years to come.
  6. Jul 5, 2017
    60
    Oceanhorn: Monster of the Uncharted Seas is an adventure game that knows what it wants and is not ashamed to go just for it. Clearly influenced by its mentors, Oceanhorn brings forth an accessible, simple and fluid plot which could work even better as a game, were it not for some frustrating gameplay mechanics at the protagonist's level.
  7. Jul 3, 2017
    60
    The Switch version may very well be the best way to enjoy the game, especially when on the go the game can feel somewhat like a handheld Legend of Zelda, but don’t set your hopes too high.
  8. Jun 29, 2017
    60
    What Oceanhorn offers is basically a discount Zelda. The game borrows most of its gameplay from Zelda, but one should be aware that they get what they pay for. It’s not well-defined or polished like a Zelda game. Instead, you can think of it as a cheaper alternative if the Nintendo Switch’s premium price tag has left you a little out-of-pocket for Breath of the Wild. Do I recommend? If you already like the genre, you can probably get a few good hours out of the game. If you’re new to the genre, Oceanhorn won’t do you any favours.
  9. Jun 28, 2017
    60
    Oceanhorn is obviously inspired by Zelda, but this studio does not have the skills of Nintendo. Therefor we miss innovative puzzles or mindblowing level design. Oceanhorn is a very relaxed game to enjoy, but it could have been so much more.
  10. Jun 22, 2017
    60
    Oceanhorn: Monster of Uncharted Seas is an ambitious title that does some things rather well, finding a way to endear itself to players. It has a few problems, some from design choices and others from its mobile legacy that should have been adjusted for console, but what it doesn't lack is heart. The desire of the developers to pay homage to classic adventure series, but in their own way, shines through. It's a flawed title, but if you're willing to overlook those issues you may find it to be an enjoyable experience on the Switch eShop.
  11. Sep 14, 2017
    58
    Oceanhorn is an admirable attempt at taking a stab at the Zelda formula. There are plenty of islands to explore, puzzles to solve, and baddies to bonk. The controls are serviceable outside of a couple small hitches with running and a somewhat clunky interface. While imperfect, the presentation makes the world look like a stunning diorama and the music serves to enhance the experience even further. I genuinely had fun with Oceanhorn, and I hope that the upcoming sequel irons out of some of the original’s kinks. For those wanting a more traditional Zelda experience, I recommend giving this one a shot.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 59
  2. Negative: 9 out of 59
  1. Sep 12, 2017
    7
    Originally released on mobile platforms, Oceanhorn is a title that has been on my radar for a while now. That's because it's impossible to notOriginally released on mobile platforms, Oceanhorn is a title that has been on my radar for a while now. That's because it's impossible to not get the feeling that this is a game majorly inspired by The Legend of Zelda: Wind Waker, which is one of my favorite games on one of my favorite franchises. After spending twenty hours to 100% the game, I came out impressed, even if, as expected, originality isn't really something that's all that present here.

    Truth be told, Oceanhorn is less Wind Waker and more Phantom Hourglass, the direct sequel to the former game that was released on the Nintendo DS. Like the latter, it's played from an angled top-down perspective, and the navigation through the open seas isn't directly controlled, but pre-determined, with a few shooting targets here and there to keep you busy while it happens. Luckily, the controls don't really mirror Phantom Hourglass (or even Oceanhorn's own original mobile version), meaning the game has complete support for physical button inputs.

    The story is simple, but it does have some nice moments. Your character wakes up to find a note from his father, explaining he's gone away to fight Oceanhorn, a mythical monster who terrorizes the seas. From there, it's up to you to go after him, exploring the ocean and a good number of island scattered through it.

    Like expected, the game play as a top-down Zelda, meaning you'll come across quests, different races, and, of course, dungeons. Also like Zelda, each dungeon provides you with a new weapon, allowing you to reach previously unreachable areas. The overall game design is fair and the gameplay itself is very fun, but it has to be said that the puzzles are more simplistic and far less imaginative that the ones in Nintendo's franchise.

    The one exception for this is the Island of Whispers, which is a late-game discovery that was by far my favorite part of Oceanhorn. The island was originally a post-launch downloadable content, and it shows, as the quality of game design goes dramatically up. Not only that, the island offers a parallel, self-contained story about a mysterious kid whose ambition led to the end of the local civilization. Figuring out what exactly happened, piece by piece, was an extremely engrossing experience, and the closest the game got to Zelda levels of excellence.

    As far as production values go, I have to say the game far exceeded my expectations. The stylized graphics are crisp, colorful, and very pretty. Even more impressive is the soundtrack, which is nothing short of phenomenal, and is complemented in the audio department by excellent voice acting.

    TL;DR:
    There's no two ways about it: Oceanhorn is a Zelda clone, lacking originality to stand as its own thing. Luckily, it features a nice campaign and a surprisingly interesting story, even if the overall game design is a bit more basic that I would have hoped. Each of the game's explorable islands are self-contained isometric playgrounds that are a lot of fun to pick apart, and it all looks great (and sounds even better). For someone looking for a Zelda-lite experience, you really can't go wrong here.

    Rating: 7.5/10
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 21, 2017
    9
    I loved to play this Zelda's Clone on my portable Switch. I already play it on my Xbox One, PC and Smartphone, but it is epic on NSwitchI loved to play this Zelda's Clone on my portable Switch. I already play it on my Xbox One, PC and Smartphone, but it is epic on NSwitch because can bring me "playing a classic Zelda game on a legit Nintendo console". Bring me to the past and the game isn't bad. Stop hate it. Full Review »
  3. Oct 28, 2020
    9
    Un buen juego de aventura, acción y puzles, mezcla que recibe de la serie The Legend of Zelda y cuya inspiración sus desarrolladores noUn buen juego de aventura, acción y puzles, mezcla que recibe de la serie The Legend of Zelda y cuya inspiración sus desarrolladores no intentan negar. Comparado con un juego de la serie Zelda es bastante más fácil y su jugabilidad más simple y tosca en general. Buen apartado sonoro, sobre todo en las melodías que también recuerdan a algunas de Zelda, y unos gráficos que entran bien por los ojos, agradables, pero que no sorprenden a nadie.
    Me ha gustado mucho, aunque la historia es un poco floja, pero no es lo que busco en juego, si no que sea divertido, y eso es un rato.
    Lo compré rebajado a 7 euros y por ese precio es una maravilla para las, más o menos, 12 horas de diversión que ofrece. Para mí un gran 8,6.
    Lo recomiendo si te gusta la serie Zelda y buscas un juego más fácil y ligero.
    Full Review »