Octopath Traveler Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1294 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Embark on a vast new role-playing adventure as one of eight travelers, all with their own origins, paths, and goals. The producers of the Bravely series at Square Enix have brought a new world to life through a mix of CG, pixel art, and "HD-2D" visuals. Embark on a vast new role-playingEmbark on a vast new role-playing adventure as one of eight travelers, all with their own origins, paths, and goals. The producers of the Bravely series at Square Enix have brought a new world to life through a mix of CG, pixel art, and "HD-2D" visuals. Embark on a vast new role-playing adventure as one of eight travelers, all with their own origins, paths, and goals. Where to begin? Who to team up with? Where to go next? Only you can decide. Each traveler can use a distinct Path Action, a specialized way of achieving objectives and interacting with people you encounter. The warrior can "challenge" people to a duel, whereas the dancer can "allure" others to follow her, even into battle! Enjoy the freedom to choose your own path while experiencing the story through the role you play. Combat revolves around the Boost system, a fusion of traditional turn-based battling and modern enhancements. Each turn, build up BP that can be spent to dramatically increase your strength or provide aid. Identifying when to Boost may just be the key to victory.

    * A new RPG adventure from the minds at Square Enix who brought you the Bravely series
    * Choose from eight distinct characters, each with their own path, and see where the story takes you
    * Music and visuals inspired by RPGs of yore, brought to life with modern touches
    Deep, strategic turn-based combat with an innovative battle system
    * Enjoy the free demo in Nintendo eShop and help make this an RPG for the ages by sharing your feedback with Square Enix
    Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
8 Minutes Of Octopath Traveler Gameplay
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. 100
    Octopath Traveler is a beautiful game that somehow never gets tired. It has a labyrinthine plot that bravely attempts to give eight characters the same scope and development as eight sole protagonists would get in lesser games. It’s also a game that bravely makes the story all about those characters, with the world, harsh as it can be, almost secondary to the insular unit and their individual arcs. That sheer ambition is all the more impressive because Octopath Traveller uses sprites. Little 2D characters made up of even littler squares. People need to play this game if only to realise that not everything spectacular needs to be photo-real.
  2. Jul 17, 2018
    90
    Octopath Traveler is an extremely satisfying storytelling experience vastly different from other traditional JRPGs out there. The eight stories followed over the course of the game are all compelling in different ways, and each is engrossing in different ways. The combat is simple, yet nuanced, and building party compositions never stops being a fun exercise as the adventure presents each new challenge. The pacing does have some small missteps here and there, especially as the world opens up between each major act, but it's a tiny hurdle in an otherwise magnificent experience.
  3. Aug 30, 2018
    90
    While not the perfect JRPG, Octopath Traveler has too many merits and good qualities that it's impossible for me to not recommend it.
  4. Jul 12, 2018
    85
    Octopath Traveler manages to remain faithful to the glorious past of the JRPG genre without feeling outdated.
  5. Jul 26, 2018
    80
    Octopath Traveler is a grower, and one which takes a good while to reach full swing. The reward for the perseverance is a beautiful world and enough story to shake a stick at, but not a wonderfully satisfying conclusion.
  6. Jul 12, 2018
    80
    Octopath Traveler is not a perfect title, the fragmented narrative and certain predictable mechanisms in the progression system could make many people turn up their noses. Nevertheless it remains a unique RPG, able to combine the nostalgic charm of the classics with a modern and captivating writing.
  7. Jul 19, 2018
    60
    For a game whose title seems to promise a winding journey of deep and dangerous discoveries, Octopath Traveler goes out of its way to put you on the most predictable and comforting of paths.

See all 87 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 342
  1. Jul 19, 2020
    10
    Precioso juego, sin duda es uin increible juego y entretenido RPG, lo unico malo es que sus personajes no transmiten emocion. UNa historia muyPrecioso juego, sin duda es uin increible juego y entretenido RPG, lo unico malo es que sus personajes no transmiten emocion. UNa historia muy interesante Expand
  2. Jul 18, 2018
    10
    it is a game for a 10, I have already 11 hours playing and there is too much to do. Some of the histories are deep other not too much. Theit is a game for a 10, I have already 11 hours playing and there is too much to do. Some of the histories are deep other not too much. The fighting systems is great and you need to play with strategy. The graphics don't bother me, but it could be better in big TVs. The music is one of the best aspects and also the art details in each town, make everything alive. Expand
  3. Jul 13, 2018
    10
    Played a fair amount of the game as of now. The character designs, stories, and graphics are what make Octopath Traveler the unique game thatPlayed a fair amount of the game as of now. The character designs, stories, and graphics are what make Octopath Traveler the unique game that it is. I have yet to complete the entire game but I am excited to dive further into the game and learn more about the different paths you take within the game. A must have for any JRPG fan and I highly recommend giving this game a try (Try the demo) even if you haven't played/like JRPGs. I'm sure it'll change your mind. A great quality game from a great quality company. Hope to see more gems like this in the future. Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2021
    9
    One of the best RPGs of the generation, so many hours of fun, one of the best on the Switch.
  5. Jul 22, 2018
    8
    How much you enjoy Octopath Traveler will depend entirely on how much your enjoyment of “old school RPGs” is tainted by the rose coloredHow much you enjoy Octopath Traveler will depend entirely on how much your enjoyment of “old school RPGs” is tainted by the rose colored glasses of nostalgia. You’ll either be delighted by all the things that have slowly vanished from the genre… or be reminded why games aren’t really made this way anymore. Expand
  6. Aug 9, 2018
    7
    The thing is the game can be sorta boring for some people. Don't get me wrong but its a good game! But fighting peasants ( annoying monsters)The thing is the game can be sorta boring for some people. Don't get me wrong but its a good game! But fighting peasants ( annoying monsters) can get annoying and the story can be dull. Who would travel around the world just to find a stupid book! The only part that made this a 7 is the boss fights. I would recommend getting this game when its on a sale for 40 bucks. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2021
    0
    On paper, this game should be a strong 8 to low 9. Only rating this as 0 b/c no way it deserves an 8.5 user score. One of, if not the best OSTOn paper, this game should be a strong 8 to low 9. Only rating this as 0 b/c no way it deserves an 8.5 user score. One of, if not the best OST I've heard in video games in general. The graphics are trendsetting while still paying homage to the old JRPG ways. Despite this, so much is done wrong. Key things. I don't play a JRPG for a linear and story I'm thrown into. I wouldn't pick up a traveller to see a new story. This game needs a remastered + remaked ASAP. Full voice-acting, more in game artwork (if the game was themed around those fantastic drawings, imagine how much better this game would be), portrait models and a more thought out and interesting stories. Also it's extremely confusing on what to do - I feel like the game has no main quests/story. Why am I picking up other travellers and seeing their prologue too when I can just do that picking them at the start? If I was picking them up, why can't there be any unique relations/dialogue things. Many QOL improvements needed as well - random combat events are annoying af and makes me want to stop playing - I think cut it out entirely or maybe in game monster sprites - boost the exp rate/hp which would make the long waiting in combat more bearable. Expand

See all 342 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2018 Videogame Preview: Nintendo Switch

    2018 Videogame Preview: Nintendo Switch Image
    Published: January 16, 2018
    Get details on 20 of the most-anticipated games headed to the Nintendo Switch console in 2018.