Persona 5 Strikers Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sequel to the international smash-hit Persona 5 (3.2 million copies world-wide) is now available as the series' first action RPG! Featuring an all-new story set up half a year after the events of P5!
    Travel Japan!
    Following the events of P5, the Phantom Thieves of Hearts gather
    The sequel to the international smash-hit Persona 5 (3.2 million copies world-wide) is now available as the series' first action RPG! Featuring an all-new story set up half a year after the events of P5!
    Travel Japan!
    Following the events of P5, the Phantom Thieves of Hearts gather once more during their summer break to solve the mystery behind new change of heart cases that are occurring all over Japan!
    Persona 5 is now an action RPG!
    The new action battle system makes hitting enemy weak points to activate a 1 More or All-Out Attack, which fans have come to love, even easier!

    You can even use Baton Pass to play as other characters!
    In the newly introduced Jails, you can switch controls between characters at any time! Clear the game with style by using different characters in unique situations!
    New character!
    Who is this new mysterious girl you meet in the Shibuya of the other world? Find out as she fights alongside you as the newest member of the Phantom Thieves of Hearts!
    Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Persona 5 Strikers – Official Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Feb 9, 2021
    95
    Persona 5 Strikers is a fantastic sequel to one of the best JRPGs of all time. It’s less of a Warriors game and more of an action RPG with fun, fluid combat, great characters, and an excellent story and soundtrack.
  2. Feb 9, 2021
    90
    Persona 5 Strikers is my favorite spin-off game in the series. It takes the concepts of one of my favorite games, puts them in a new genre, and has a story that goes above and beyond what was expected from it. Best of all, for those who thought Persona 5 was too long, Persona 5 Strikers is presented in a much more concise package. I hope ATLUS revisits this style of game again because this is a great framework as is and it could only improve further with another attempt to iron out some of the flaws. Koei Tecmo’s adaptation of Persona 5’s aesthetic is quite impressive, they really outdid themselves.
  3. Nintendo Force Magazine
    May 17, 2021
    90
    Persona 5 Strikers proves to be a beautiful and worthy sequel to the original game, with the cast, story and combat all shining in old and new ways. [Issue #52 – May/June 2021, p. 67]
  4. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    Persona 5 Strikers is a slick and stylish spin-off that manages to successfully combine a surprisingly strong story with some satisfying Musou-inspired hack-and-slash action. There are a few issues here and there, with some necessary grinding at points, slight difficulty imbalances and a camera that can be a bit of a pain during busy battles but, overall, this is a thoroughly entertaining action RPG that comes highly recommended.
  5. Persona 5 Strikers is probably the most innovative Musou game in years, thanks to its closeness to the core “Persona” formula.
  6. 75
    Persona 5 Strikers is a good action role-playing game, but an imperfectly polished combat system and the absence of some of the series' core elements make it a must-buy only for fans of the Phantom Thieves.
  7. Feb 9, 2021
    50
    Persona 5 Strikers is as flashy as Persona 5, featuring the same gorgeous artwork and animations, great dialogue, and brilliant music. It unfortunately lacks the meat on the bone that made the original such an addicting experience to its loyal fanbase. It also provides little incentive for newcomers to play it despite its egregious length being drastically cut down.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Apr 1, 2021
    10
    worthy sequel for p5, amazing game, i totally recommend it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  2. Oct 24, 2021
    10
    Good port to switch. In my personal opinions, one of the bests. Talking about the game, is pretty good! You don't need to play Persona 5 toGood port to switch. In my personal opinions, one of the bests. Talking about the game, is pretty good! You don't need to play Persona 5 to understand, but if you already play it, then this experience will be even better. Really good game Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2021
    10
    I adore the persona franchise, and i have been playing since persona 3. Now, i was not a big fan of the arena type spin offs, so i was on theI adore the persona franchise, and i have been playing since persona 3. Now, i was not a big fan of the arena type spin offs, so i was on the fence for this one...But by god i am so glad i did decide to try it out. I'm so in love with these characters, coming from persona 5 royal ofcourse so i do know what the story us is about. The gameplay is fluid, action packed and sometimes you do really have to think very fast in all the action going on. Alot of what was great in the first persona 5, is still embedded in this one, albeit some features are missing..but that is not a deal breaker for me.

    Yes, it is very reccomended you play persona 5 first, if you dont want to then just catch up on youtube. Great fun, honestly :)
    Expand
  4. Jul 9, 2021
    9
    This was the version I started with. So I will write one for this version and the PC version.

    Starting off was the Bonus Content. Whereas
    This was the version I started with. So I will write one for this version and the PC version.

    Starting off was the Bonus Content. Whereas most games need to be payed more for to get stuff like that, it was a freebie here! Enjoyable OST, very cool to look at the Artbook too and the behind the scenes stuff is also fun to check out. Oh and if you have SSBU on your Switch, you get P5 and P5R music sets as a nice little bonus as well as a Sophia Spirit in SSBU that was exclusive at the time. (Missed chance for Amiibo support though.)

    Now to the actual game.Now, I have played Warriors games before, but this one instantly felt many times better than those. Better flow of story, not confined to menus like 99% of the time and whatnot. So that felt like a breath of fresh air after all the menu selections before battle in games such as Hyrule Warriors (Legends and Age of Calamity, in my case) and Fire Emblem Warriors.

    Also, this game is a good one to learn the art of Fusion a bit better and how it works as it simplifies the process. With no days passing unless you continue the story the game also feels less pressured as you can't 'waste' days by accident.

    But the game is not without its flaws.

    Loading Times: If you only play the Switch version you might know about it but not look at it that much, but the Loading Times are horrible. Where my Gaming Laptop takes 5 seconds to load, that same area takes +20 to load on Switch. Of course the two devices are barely comparable in power, but in games like this that means that you will probably be powering your way through to checkpoints just to evade more loading screens. While you'll be taking it more easy if loading isn't an issue.

    Framerate: I have no issue with the framerate, at all. 30FPS is fine with me, especially with how much the game already needs to compromise at some parts. I haven't really noticed many frame drops from what I can remember, perhaps the Final Boss but overall it seems more stable than Age of Calamity (Which pretty much froze on me once.)

    Graphically: The only things that really stand out to me in the Switch version after playing the PC version afterward, is that some textures are widely different, and some subtle details are not even around in the Switch version. But this is, as I said, subtle so it's not a issue gameplay wise, and only really noticable if you play another version side-by-side. I'm even surprised that aside from that, the versions look pretty even.

    The Story: It goes down the idea that people can change when they are 'Trapped by their traumas', which this game takes to a literal level. How good you find the story to be tends to be based on how well you can relate to it really. I found it perfect, an eye-opener in fact for example. Oh, and I do recommend to check out some story details for the original Persona 5, there aren't many references, but there may be a few that are good to know.

    Side rant: No achievements destroys any reason to really go for 100% on Switch other than person bragging rights. Although this is more on Nintendo's part than an issue of the game itself. Oh and Screenshots have, just like Age of Calamity, a watermark added that always overlaps with the UI. Why precisely? Screenshots through steam don't have this, so why does Switch?

    All in all, giving it a 9. The story is perfect to me and pretty much worth a 10 on its own but the lack of replay value and a rather lackluster post-game just misses that 10 mark for me. Despite the game having been a life changer, I can see that this won't be the case for everyone.
    Expand
  5. May 2, 2021
    8
    What an amazing follow-up to Persona 5! This game is a must for those who have played Persona 5 but also enjoy warrior-style combat with theWhat an amazing follow-up to Persona 5! This game is a must for those who have played Persona 5 but also enjoy warrior-style combat with the use of personas. The addition of new characters, Zenkichi and Sophia are great additions to the story of Persona, exemplifying new ways to build around the theme that Persona 5 has which is fighting for justice. The Switch specifically does have some issues as frame rates drop with specific boss fights involving many enemies, but overall enjoyed playing it on the go or in my bed before sleep! Highly recommend playing this game. Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2021
    7
    Overall pretty good game but this is not a stand-alone, you'll have a hard time enjoying the story if you missed out on Persona 5.
    Also no
    Overall pretty good game but this is not a stand-alone, you'll have a hard time enjoying the story if you missed out on Persona 5.
    Also no auto-save in 2021 where bugs and console crashes are still occuring : very fun
    Expand
  7. Oct 7, 2021
    0
    Who is this talking cat? Who are these characters? Why can they be transported to another dimension? What are they talking about? I'm notWho is this talking cat? Who are these characters? Why can they be transported to another dimension? What are they talking about? I'm not saying the game is bad, but I don't even know who these characters are and if it's a good sequel if we don't have the prequel for the game in the Switch. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews