Pokemon Quest Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 99 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome to Tumblecube Island, where Pokémon have turned into cubes?

    Set off for adventure in the Pokémon Quest game. Venture out with your Pokémon buddies on expeditions across Tumblecube Island in search of loot in this free-to-start action-adventure. Modify your Pokémon buddies with
    Welcome to Tumblecube Island, where Pokémon have turned into cubes?

    Set off for adventure in the Pokémon Quest game. Venture out with your Pokémon buddies on expeditions across Tumblecube Island in search of loot in this free-to-start action-adventure. Modify your Pokémon buddies with discovered Power Stones to make your ultimate expedition team.

    With a cube-shaped art style, Pokémon Quest is unlike any Pokémon game you've seen before. The simple gameplay makes it easy to hop into expeditions and start exploring Tumblecube Island with the help of your Pokémon buddies. Afterwards, head back to your base camp where you can use the loot you found during your adventure to befriend more Pokémon. Attract various Kanto Region Pokémon to your base camp by cooking up dishes made with collected ingredients! You can even decorate your base camp with fun items that provide helpful bonuses that make your expeditions more beneficial.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Pokemon Quest - Official Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Jul 16, 2018
    75
    The first two hours of this game was fun, but in the end, the duplication of gameplay still makes me feel boring. Finishing this game needs too much luck instead of techniques, what's more, the silly AI always stops you from passing levels.
  2. Sep 10, 2018
    72
    Pokémon Quest is free and has, even with its limitations, quite addictive elements and even quite deep. The game is made for a more expanded audience and may not please the most purists and conservatives.
  3. May 30, 2018
    70
    It's almost instantly forgettable, but Pokemon Quest is a charming and enjoyable way to fill the time before the bigger games land.
  4. Jun 8, 2018
    70
    Pokémon Quest is a wonderful experience that is easily played in short bursts and feels properly at home on Nintendo Switch in particular as it makes great use of the tablet-like aspect of the system. Those interested in this cute cube-styled world should give Pokémon Quest a try as it’s truly a delightful treat for every type of Pokémon fan.
  5. Jun 19, 2018
    68
    Pokémon Quest is a decent spin-off. The core mechanics showed depth, but you can fell disappointed with the unreliability of the movements and the randomness of the move change system.
  6. Jul 13, 2018
    65
    Pokémon Quest is really repetitive but guess what, it’s still catchy as hell. And you can play it without spending no money. It’s far from perfect though, mostly because of its poor readability.
  7. Jun 22, 2018
    40
    Pokémon Quest is, from top to bottom, a mobile game. I’m not sure why it released on Switch first, but it doesn’t feel at home on the platform at all. With an odd art style, intrusive mobile game trappings, and boring gameplay, it’s hard to recommend this watered down spin-off even to the most dedicated Pokémon fans.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 37
  2. Negative: 11 out of 37
  1. May 30, 2018
    10
    love the game it is perfect free and addicting to play. i recommend to every one
  2. Jun 21, 2018
    10
    Absolutely shocked by how involved this game is. When I first saw it revealed I thought it wouldn't be for me. I thought not having physicalAbsolutely shocked by how involved this game is. When I first saw it revealed I thought it wouldn't be for me. I thought not having physical control of the Pokemon on screen was stupid, pointless and extremely disappointing, but boy was i wrong!

    This game focuses more on team building and has a very in depth battle mechanic that is pretty impressive once you dig in to it. Now that I've been playing it for some time I'm glad you don't control the Pokemon, this allows you to focus on move sets and buffs that compliment each other.. The stones also play a huge roll and add a much deeper element to the game. All in all its an amazing free to play game but the $30 DLC makes it even better and is worth every penny! I hope they release an expansion that includes new areas and gen 2 Pokemon in the near future.
    Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2018
    10
    This game its actually a good mobile game, a free to start that its very funny to manage. I like the Mode Auto, because be sincerely, theseThis game its actually a good mobile game, a free to start that its very funny to manage. I like the Mode Auto, because be sincerely, these mobile games dont requiere a lot of atentions. I use it for grind, and non-auto for unlocking new levels. I dont play a lot, so i dont care at all of the limited lives. I give it a 10 just because im enjoying this game :). Expand
  4. Sep 8, 2018
    6
    Why? Why did I play this bad game for as many hours as I did? It’s a free-to-play Pokemon game which interesting Pokemon Sprites. All of theWhy? Why did I play this bad game for as many hours as I did? It’s a free-to-play Pokemon game which interesting Pokemon Sprites. All of the Pokemon are cubed shape which I am a fan of. Unfortunately, that’s the only thing that I am a fan of in regards to this game.

    The game is barely a game. You can have up to 3 Pokemon in your party and each Pokemon has 2 stats. Attack power and Hit Points. The higher the stats, the better the Pokemon. You collect Pokemon by cooking food which attracts them. It’s all so random, I played this game for probably almost 10 hours and I am ashamed of it. I am proud of myself for not spending any money but still. Why did I waste my time on this game?
    Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2018
    6
    I enjoyed this free game and spent 5 dollars on some things. I would have given it a higher score but the sound is way too loud. It's a veryI enjoyed this free game and spent 5 dollars on some things. I would have given it a higher score but the sound is way too loud. It's a very relaxing casual game but the vibe is ruined by the volume. It's so loud in comparison to BOTW that it wakes up everyone in earshot when I switch over. I really hate how loud it is. Also while the game is a great value I feel like to fully enjoy it I would need to spend 20 dollars instead of 5. Expand
  6. May 30, 2018
    3
    It's like Pokemon Rumble if Pokemon Rumble just straight up played itself for you.

    No wonder it's free.
  7. May 30, 2018
    0
    Can this really be considered a game? Seriously, even the main series games have more gameplay than Gachamon. (If you want a good gacha game,Can this really be considered a game? Seriously, even the main series games have more gameplay than Gachamon. (If you want a good gacha game, just get Xenoblade 2 instead). Then again, it's a free game by a company that doesn't listen to their consumers, what should I expect?

    Cons:
    - Everything: Meh graphics for even a Switch game, gameplay basically doesn't exist, frame rate goes down to 5 FPS in loading screens.

    Overall, Pokemon Quest is an abomination known to mankind that doesn't even deserve a 1/10 from me, nor does it deserve my usual "warrants a" motto. Also, lag in loading screens is like saying ET for the Atari 2000 is a masterpiece unironically.
    Expand

See all 37 User Reviews