Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 9, 2022
    100
    Even after 11 years Portal 2 remains one of the most original, clever and funny video games we ever had the joy of playing. The Switch port does an outstanding job delivering this masterpiece to a whole new audience, both looking great and running at 60 fps most of the time, with very little trade-offs. Co-op works as great as ever and the first game, which is still a fun experience, is included as well. This is a must buy for every Switch owner.
  2. Jul 10, 2022
    100
    Portal: Companion Collection contains two of the greatest games of all time, which run at 60fps and are still incredible in 2022.
  3. Jul 10, 2022
    100
    Portal Companion Collection is exactly what you want from a Switch version of anything. Two great timeless games that are almost flawlessly in a complete package with online, local multiplayer and even split screen. If you played this back in the day, it's time to play it again. If you've never played these games, then the Switch port is among the best ways to experience them. I'm making a note here; "Huge success".
  4. Aug 2, 2022
    95
    Portal and Portal 2 are like a magic trick you’ll never figure out or a joke that doesn’t get old. The duology is just as fun and fresh now as they were when they were first released, perhaps even better. They run flawlessly on Switch and control impeccably with the addition of gyro aiming, so the Portal Companion Collection is well worth it whether this is your first time or your thirtieth.
  5. Jul 20, 2022
    95
    Portal: Companion Collection is a great collection in which I very much enjoyed and enthusiastically replayed the iconic first person puzzle games from Valve.
  6. 95
    The Portal Companion Collection simply offers two of the best games from the last twenty years at an affordable price on Switch. While they have been offered on multiple platforms, it’s great to finally have both Portal games on a Nintendo console. The ports run flawlessly on Switch and make for an excellent overall experience. If you’ve played them countless times before or are jumping through a portal for the very first time, Portal 1 and 2 make a fantastic addition to the Nintendo Switch line-up.
  7. Jul 15, 2022
    90
    Portal Companion Collection is an indispensable pack for lovers of puzzles and the most biting dialogues. Two games in one that remind us of the potential of the most creative Valve in a practically impeccable adaptation that takes advantage of the possibilities of Nintendo Switch. An experience recommended for everyone.
  8. Jul 10, 2022
    90
    It's hard to overstate our satisfaction with Portal: Companion Collection. Portal and Portal 2 felt incredibly fresh when they first released, and the years since have not diminished their immense impact. To now have two of the most unique and mind-bending puzzle games on a Nintendo console, and on-the-go if you choose, is a pure joy. If it weren't for the frequent load screens punctuating the experience, we'd have absolutely nothing to complain about here. The motion controls work like a dream, the games run at a near-rock-solid 60fps, and the writing remains as funny now as it did all those years ago. If you haven't played the Portal games before, this should be a no-brainer. If you have... well, just play them again.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 58
  2. Negative: 6 out of 58
  1. Jul 11, 2022
    10
    A surprising, but excellent port of two of the most unique and best games ever made. Don't go in expecting a first-person, guns blazingA surprising, but excellent port of two of the most unique and best games ever made. Don't go in expecting a first-person, guns blazing shooter type of game or one that holds your hand through all the story beats because this game is all about world-building, exploration, and puzzle solving. As you progress, the levels get harder, the story starts to take a more sinister turn, and the uniqueness of it all gets even better. Also, the co-op mode for Portal 2 is its own thing that's easily one of the best co-op experiences out there.

    About the only downsides to these games are that, if you're at least somewhat decent at puzzles, you can easily blow through them in 2-4 hours (maybe a little more with regard to Portal 2 because it is a more expansive game than the first) and being built off the Source engine means the controls can feel a bit wonky at times, but tbh these are nitpicks in the grand scheme of things. The fact of the matter is, Valve commissioned a port of two their best games for the Switch, updated things where they needed to be updated (resolution, framerate, etc.), and unlike so many new-gen ports, left the rest alone and messed nothing up in the transition. Here's hoping this is but the start for them and that we see future ports of the Half-Life and Left 4 Dead series because there's a reason why so many have such great memories of Valve games.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 10, 2022
    9
    While I don't think Portal 1 and 2 are all-time best games, they are very good and brilliantly designed. And the Switch port is superb.

    I
    While I don't think Portal 1 and 2 are all-time best games, they are very good and brilliantly designed. And the Switch port is superb.

    I highly recommend picking this title up as it's a classic. My only problem is the lack of a physical option for these games as they are digital-only. I would REALLY love these games on a cartridge.

    Also, I really hope Valve can also port over the Half-life games after this.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 10, 2022
    10
    Short answer: Incredible port, Valve is the best. Hope Half-Life 2 and episodes will release for Switch someday as well.