Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. 70
    As you progress, you’ll earn new mutations and abilities, some of which are hilariously weird (like suddenly have a spitting cobra head with a really long neck). The downside is the unforgiving permadeath rogue-like nature of the game. Progress can become frustrating when you suddenly die and lose all your mutations and have to start again. If you can take the difficulty, though, there’s a lot of great personality and fun to be had.
  2. 70
    You’ll want to check out Rad for its unique concept, addicting gameplay and beautiful style, you just may want to consider it on a different console. The Switch version has too many aesthetical issues for me to feel confident that it represents its true potential. Don’t be discouraged if you don’t — it still plays great and personally, I’m going to keep perfecting my runs to, maybe eventually, become rad.
  3. NF Magazine
    Apr 28, 2020
    65
    A hit-and-miss mix painted up in '80s neon. It's not bad – just not as rad as it could've been. [Issue #42 – October 2019, p. 25]
  4. Aug 27, 2019
    60
    RAD doesn’t do anything particularly new for the roguelike genre, but it doesn’t necessarily need to in order to be an enjoyable game in its own right. The over-the-top '80s neon aesthetic is consistently charming, the level-to-level gameplay is both rewarding and nail-bitingly intense, and there’s a good amount of ‘meta’ progress to be made beyond the limits of a single run. On the other hand, the RNG can be brutal in how it distributes power-ups between runs, and overall performance on the Switch (especially in handheld) leaves something to be desired. Even given these shortcomings, though, we’d give RAD a cautious recommendation. If you find yourself drawn to the likes of Dead Cells, Risk of Rain, Ironcast, or any other release in the massively popular roguelike genre, RAD could be right up your alley – assuming you can look past its annoying problems.
  5. Sep 24, 2019
    50
    RAD has style and humor, but as a roguelike it is seriously lacking. The gameplay is not slick enough, the variation too limited and the different runs are same'ish very swiftly.
  6. Sep 23, 2019
    50
    RAD is a cool game on paper. Unfortunately the fact is that the game falls short on a lot of areas. The worlds are a bit too small, lack diversity and cleared within a few hours. Still it's a fun game to try in between the big titles of the fall.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Aug 26, 2019
    10
    Don't listen to the bad reviews for Switch! The game is very fun, completely unique, and it is perfect for on the go! I really enjoy playingDon't listen to the bad reviews for Switch! The game is very fun, completely unique, and it is perfect for on the go! I really enjoy playing it and seeing what different mutation my character will get next. It may not look as good graphically as the other consoles, but the portability factor made me buy it on Switch. Turn off the CRT in display option and it looks better. It is definately worth checking out for $20. I'm not a big rogue like person, but I can't stop playing it! Full Review »
  2. Aug 20, 2019
    9
    DISGUSTING... IS... BEAUTIFUL? I would love to say it's an 8.5, but that's not an option and it's NOT AN 8. As far as rougelikes go, this isDISGUSTING... IS... BEAUTIFUL? I would love to say it's an 8.5, but that's not an option and it's NOT AN 8. As far as rougelikes go, this is absolutely different & so GORGEOUS. This game reminds me of what a game of the movie FREAKED (1993) meets Stanger Things would be. I'm sorry guys, I wish I could say this is one to save money on, BUT THIS ISN'T ONE TO SKIP, this is one to play and tell your friends about! That's because somehow this gem has managed to stay under the radar. Get your freak on, Get'cha, get'cha, get'cha freak on! Full Review »
  3. Jul 19, 2020
    7
    Pros:
    + nice atmosphere
    + good hit feedback
    + creative mutations

    Cons:
    - bad frame rate on switch
    - too short
    - boring to replay after beaten