Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Sep 9, 2019
    85
    RAD is a nice throwback to the eighties alongside being a decent roguelite. It won't be a roguelike you put over a hundred hours into, but it will give you enough value for its $19.99 price point. Double Fine hit the mark on making RAD stand out, despite having shortcomings around combat and performance issues when too much is going on.
  2. Sep 25, 2019
    80
    RAD is an excellent roguelike, that oozes the signature Double Fine charm from its terrifyingly mutated pores. Beautiful art direction from Lee Petty’s team and solid replay value from the extensive combination of powers each run make it extremely worthwhile.
  3. Sep 3, 2019
    80
    An enjoyable retro-style rogue-lite; in RAD you should expect brutal gameplay in a gaudy and synthesised world. The random nature of the world sometimes proves to be a problem, but not enough to diminish what is a fantastically loud take on the genre. If only for letting players smack about mutants with their engorged limbs and a baseball bat, RAD lives up to its name. Just try to stop playing it, you’ll struggle.
  4. Sep 3, 2019
    80
    Overall, I was surprised by how much fun I had with RAD. Levels might feel a little formulaic, but I didn’t mind as it meant I was able to quickly figure out what my goals were. Some enemy types make for good fodder, and the randomised combinations of exo mutations make each playthrough unique. The ‘80s pop culture tropes and visuals are becoming cliched at this point, but in this case they mostly work and the music often riffs on popular classics like Michael Jackson’s Thriller, among others. If you’re looking for a single-player, dungeon-crawling roguelike with the added bonus of fighting mutants, while becoming one yourself, look no further than RAD.
  5. Sep 6, 2019
    79
    RAD is one of the few action and adventure games that innovates in its artistic section and in lighting, taking you back to the 80s. Fully recommended for someone looking for something fresh in the Nintendo eShop.
  6. Aug 18, 2019
    76
    RAD is deeper and more challenging than it looks, making it a super fun post-apocalyptic adventure that's always fresh.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Aug 26, 2019
    10
    Don't listen to the bad reviews for Switch! The game is very fun, completely unique, and it is perfect for on the go! I really enjoy playingDon't listen to the bad reviews for Switch! The game is very fun, completely unique, and it is perfect for on the go! I really enjoy playing it and seeing what different mutation my character will get next. It may not look as good graphically as the other consoles, but the portability factor made me buy it on Switch. Turn off the CRT in display option and it looks better. It is definately worth checking out for $20. I'm not a big rogue like person, but I can't stop playing it! Full Review »
  2. Aug 20, 2019
    9
    DISGUSTING... IS... BEAUTIFUL? I would love to say it's an 8.5, but that's not an option and it's NOT AN 8. As far as rougelikes go, this isDISGUSTING... IS... BEAUTIFUL? I would love to say it's an 8.5, but that's not an option and it's NOT AN 8. As far as rougelikes go, this is absolutely different & so GORGEOUS. This game reminds me of what a game of the movie FREAKED (1993) meets Stanger Things would be. I'm sorry guys, I wish I could say this is one to save money on, BUT THIS ISN'T ONE TO SKIP, this is one to play and tell your friends about! That's because somehow this gem has managed to stay under the radar. Get your freak on, Get'cha, get'cha, get'cha freak on! Full Review »
  3. Jul 19, 2020
    7
    Pros:
    + nice atmosphere
    + good hit feedback
    + creative mutations

    Cons:
    - bad frame rate on switch
    - too short
    - boring to replay after beaten