Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
Buy On
  1. Dec 5, 2017
    100
    Overall, there’s a lot of fun packed into Rocket League, and this port to the Nintendo Switch manages to keep all of that intact. If you’ve never played, you absolutely should, and the Switch version of the game makes for a solid addition to Nintendo’s ever growing library.
  2. Dec 5, 2017
    93
    While I did notice some occasional rubberbanding on the Switch while playing on the go – which is likely a symptom of having to use WiFi in handheld mode – the majority of my online matches were smooth and consistent and all platforms.
  3. Nov 29, 2017
    90
    Rocket League on the Nintendo Switch is simply Rocket League. And why should it change? The graphics are a bit worse than it’s bigger console brethren but other than that this version offers so much more: New Cars and Hats, additional options to play with friend and the ability to go fully portable with a game about freedom of movement. This port can be summed up by two words: “No Problem.”
  4. Nov 29, 2017
    90
    It's Rocket League, and it's incredibly entertaining. Static screens do not do this game justice; yes it's a little rough visually but you will hardly notice because you will be having so much fun. It's brilliant. If you love fun, football and/or racing you'll love this.
  5. Nov 29, 2017
    90
    Rocket League for the Nintendo Switch is a successful adaptation of a game that brings a simple yet enveloping gameplay which truly stands out in multiplayer. Thanks to its enormous range of multiplayer possibilities and an exceptional online functionality, Rocket League is set to become one of the finest multiplayer experiences available on Nintendo's newest system.
  6. 90
    Rocket League is one of my favorite releases of the last few years. Having a portable version that lets me easily jump online at any Wi-Fi hotspot is amazing to me. I’ve been playing quick matches while waiting for the NYC subway and during my lunch break at work. The one major negative is the resolution in undocked mode. I personally haven’t felt like it’s hindered a match for me, but it’s still pretty annoying. Nonetheless, there’s endless amounts of fun to be had with Rocket League and even with some graphical shortcomings it’s still a must buy on the Switch.
  7. Nov 23, 2017
    90
    Rocket League for Nintendo Switch packs all the game types and features we find on the other platforms like full car customization, multiplayer support (both online and local - split screen or wireless) and runs smoothly at 60fps. It is really invaluable to play this game featuring 35 millions of players everywhere you want, and there is also the cross-platform support with PC and Xbox One. Rocket League for Nintendo Switch is the most complete version of this game.
  8. 90
    The Nintendo Switch version of Rocket League is a worthy port. It is welcomed, fun, and brings Switch owner’s into the light. Now excuse me while I recline and match wits in my Paladin.
  9. Nov 21, 2017
    90
    Rocket League is an indie success story, and to have it in the Switch's library year-one is terrific. Look at all the jaggies you like and mock the lower resolution the game runs at if you feel the need, but this is Rocket League, portable and it runs beautifully. Everything is here, nothing has been missed and there are bonuses for Switch owners not only with exclusive Mario cars and hats but also the ability to take it anywhere. A feature that cannot be overlooked. Rocket League is a really deep game. Following the clichéd easy to learn, hard to master approach holds Rocket League in good stead. You're going to want to put in the hours to be the best you can - but the only thing that's really going to stop you is sleep. You're not going to put this one down.
  10. Nov 20, 2017
    90
    The formula that has kept Rocket League fresh translates exceedingly well to Nintendo’s hybrid system, whether docked or portable. Less polished visuals are a small price to pay to be able to play Rocket League anytime, anywhere, at a performance level that never quits, though the notable jaggies and (through no fault of its own) a hindered party system mean that the Switch version isn’t the most competitive version of the game.
  11. Nov 16, 2017
    90
    Don't let anyone tell you that Rocket League is simplistic or lacks longevity; the vibrant community that has grown up around Psyonix's masterpiece renders that viewpoint wholly incorrect. This is a game tha t rewards skilful play and perseverance, and new tactics and strategies seem to flow from each and every match you partake in. Only the occasional network niggle throws shade on this otherwise sublime release; the Switch has yet another must-have release to add to its awe-inspiring 2017 pile.
  12. Nov 15, 2017
    90
    Whether you're new to the game or an old hand at it, and even with its graphical downgrade, Rocket League is as much fun as ever on the Switch.
  13. Nov 15, 2017
    90
    An excellent new version of the smash hit multiplayer game, that takes a simple premise and turns it into one of the best competitive arcade games of the generation.
  14. Nov 14, 2017
    90
    For people new to the game, they have a lot to look forward to regardless, as it's one of the most fascinating sports games in memory. Nevermind if you don't like soccer or couldn't care less about the growing esports community. Rocket League is a unique game that redefines the concept of what a sports game can be, and Psyonix continues to support it with new content on a regular basis. It's been around for a while, but now that it's on Switch, there's no better time to give it a shot.
  15. Rocket League is already a multiplayer phenomenon and a must have for your Nintendo Switch library.
  16. Nov 27, 2017
    86
    Panic Button's port of Rocket League is far from perfect, but graphics have always been a secondary matter for Psyonix's phenomenal game, and this holds true for the Switch version. Fun, fast and exhilarating, it's still a must have for anyone who loves to play online.
  17. Nov 21, 2017
    86
    Don't let the graphical downgrade distance you from a great experience. Rocket League on the go is as fun and addictive in Switch as in any other platform. One of the best multiplayer games on the Nintendo Switch.
  18. Nov 16, 2017
    86
    The same excellent game but a little bit uglier yet more portable.
  19. NF Magazine
    Jan 7, 2018
    85
    Even if you're not aiming to lead the League, I still consider this a must-own for Switch owners. [Issue #31 – January/February 2018, p. 24M]
  20. Nov 22, 2017
    85
    Rocket League feels great in portable mode. Cross-network with Xbox Live and PC, Psyonix and Panic Button has managed to maintain a good on-line stability. Poor visuals in tablet mode, but it’s 60fps, essential for a fluid and solid Rocket League experience.
  21. Nov 20, 2017
    85
    One of the best multiplayer games in recent years.
  22. Nov 17, 2017
    85
    Rocket League on Switch is a bit like Sloth from The Goonies, it’s ugly, but it’s lovable and gets the job done.
  23. 80
    Psyonix brings to Nintendo Switch all the flawless pleasure of Rocket League in 60 fps, despite a visual downgrade and the absence of analogic triggers. If you want to play for fun only (with no "pro" velleity), this is the version you should consider buying.
  24. Nov 29, 2017
    80
    Nintendo Switch might be the ultimate platform for Rocket League. It's great to finally be able to play this game in a portable version.
  25. Nov 27, 2017
    80
    Rocket League is showing no signs of slowing down, and why should it? Psyonix's RC car-footie combo is an esports favourite, and now even more players can see what the fuss is all about on Nintendo Switch. A visual downgrade is acceptable given that this plays exactly the same as the other versions, with cross-play to ensure the pool of opponents remains large online. A strong recommendation for any Switch owner - even for those who have it on another platform! After all, what Rocket League fan wouldn't want to train and match up on the go?
  26. Nov 17, 2017
    80
    Rocket League on Nintendo Switch is an amazing experience and we can carry our game wherever we want. Even though its graphics could be better when in portable mode, this game means hours and hours of entertainment.
  27. Nov 17, 2017
    80
    Rocket League is a great, exciting game, and none of that is lost on Switch, even if it is a less pretty version of the game. If you want a Rocket League experience you can take on the go, this is the perfect way.
  28. Nov 17, 2017
    80
    Rocket League on Switch is everything that Rocket League has to offer, with added portability.
  29. Nov 17, 2017
    80
    It is undeniable that Rocket League should look much better on Nintendo Switch, but this version keeps the core gameplay intact, and that’s what really matters.
  30. Nov 16, 2017
    80
    Rocket League is a fast, frenetic and addictive game, and playing it while on the move ensures that you won't feel compelled to put it down until your Switch's battery runs out. While this isn't the best-looking port, its smooth and stable performance makes up for it, and being able to play it on the move is a great twist on a winning formula.
  31. Nov 23, 2017
    78
    Rocket League lands on Nintendo Switch to become the perfect alternative for those who wants to enjoy Psyonix's work without the ties of traditional systems.
  32. Nov 28, 2017
    70
    In the end, this is not my favourite version of Rocket League, but it is one that you can enjoy. The gameplay is identical to the other versions in most ways, but the graphics of the Switch version are ugly. The resolution is so low.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 16, 2017
    Rocket League is still a fantastic game, and one that I’m glad I’ve taken the opportunity to return to with a port that ticks all the boxes. Playing online has been as compelling as ever, even if I’m just as vaguely bad as usual and spend entire matches marvelling at some people’s rocket car skills. Of course, then there’s the ability to pull out your Switch on the train and get a couple rounds in against bots on your daily commute.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 222 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 222
  1. Nov 15, 2017
    10
    10/10 This game is phenomenal and being now able to play it anywhere with the Switch is a dream come true! If you don't have it yet buy it.10/10 This game is phenomenal and being now able to play it anywhere with the Switch is a dream come true! If you don't have it yet buy it. Got it already, buy again for the Switch! Full Review »
  2. Nov 15, 2017
    10
    Coming from PC I had to lower my expectations for the Switch port of this game, but it has blown me away so far. I'm not upset that theComing from PC I had to lower my expectations for the Switch port of this game, but it has blown me away so far. I'm not upset that the resolution isn't super high quality, bc it was announced long before release that it would be 720p. I don't feel any input lag when playing, but I am strictly using a pro controller. Remember to turn your deadzones down to below .1 if you're using a pro controller! The initial deadzone settings are optimized for joycons. Great port from a great developing team! Looking forward to seeing what's next Psyonix! Full Review »
  3. Nov 14, 2017
    9
    This is just the Rocket League we all love, yeah, with 720p and bad antialiasing, but it's still nice looking, and you won't probably evenThis is just the Rocket League we all love, yeah, with 720p and bad antialiasing, but it's still nice looking, and you won't probably even notice in handeld mode. This game can give you hundreds of hours, 60fps, all DLC incluided, totally worth it for $20. Full Review »