Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Dec 18, 2018
    74
    RollerCoaster Tycoon Adventures may not be an in-depth amusement park management sim but what's here is a ton of fun. Plus, the amount of content is superb so if you're looking for a less demanding theme park simulation experience then this is a game for you.
  2. Jan 2, 2019
    70
    You’ll rue the lack of some crucial features, and its performance will grate on you, but there’s still plenty of fun to be had in shaping your own park. Whether you’re aiming for the prettiest themed landscape, or care more about building massive and crazy roller coasters, there’s plenty for you to sink your teeth into. Just don’t expect to be able to micro-manage every element of your park, and you shouldn’t be too disappointed.
  3. Dec 21, 2018
    60
    Roller Coaster Tycoon Adventures lacks the replay value and challenge to have much worth outside those two scenarios, especially when compared to modern competition like Planet Coaster and Parkitect.
  4. 60
    RCTA isn’t a bad game, but the lack of any real challenge and overly-simplified design aspects may very well turn away season virtual park builders. As a result, I’m extremely hesitant to call this a simulator, as it feels far more like a casual game.
  5. Dec 10, 2018
    60
    RollerCoaster Tycoon Adventures is both incredibly enjoyable and considerably infuriating. There’s just enough of that classic magic in there to make the design and management of a theme park a consistently rewarding experience, and using permits and research to space out your access to the good stuff makes this a genuinely fun time sink. However, the level of automation that’s migrated over from the mobile iteration really does negatively impact this Switch port, and issues with overall performance place a big caveat around its neck. While it's not a total disaster, RollerCoaster Tycoon Adventures does leave you wanting a little more – especially if you're a seasoned fan of the long-running series.
  6. Dec 25, 2018
    55
    The latest entry in RollerCoaster Tycoon franchise is less a Fun-House and more a nauseating ride on the Tilt-o-Whirl.
  7. Jan 14, 2019
    50
    They game controls fine and it's fun to build a park but the game is too easy. What's worse is the performance and the many bugs. They make the game pretty disappointing.
  8. 50
    RollerCoaster Tycoon: Adventures is pleasant on the eyes, but is in every other way a disappointment. It's a shallow grind, which challenges none of the player's management skills, and comes across more as an opportunity to simply decorate a theme park.
  9. Jan 2, 2019
    50
    RollerCoaster Tycoon Adventures has a long history and it's a shame this Switch version doesn't really hold a candle to the original - it's let down by long loading times, a clunky coaster creation system and a painfully slow progression. Fans of the series will get a little enjoyment but you'll be much better off sticking to the 90's originals.
  10. Dec 13, 2018
    45
    This is a very limited version, where you barely find any management options, and that doesn’t live up to what you would expect from this franchise.
  11. 45
    Rollercoaster Tycoon Adventures is somewhat of an underwhelming game. While a younger player could find potentially some fun in building attractions and coasters, it will feel absolutely flat for most.
  12. Dec 6, 2018
    35
    For this Switch version, Rollercoaster Tycoon has forgot everything that was important in the franchise: customization and management are as weak as the framerate on big parks and the interface isn’t user-friendly at all.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. Dec 13, 2018
    8
    I read that it was a version for kids so I offered it to my 8y/o daughter and I played for a few hours myself. She loves it and I feel likeI read that it was a version for kids so I offered it to my 8y/o daughter and I played for a few hours myself. She loves it and I feel like it's a very good introduction to management games for anyone who never played one, or who doesn't have time to play more complex ones. Stay away from it if you expect a port of Planet Coaster on Switch though. Full Review »
  2. Dec 13, 2018
    10
    This game is great I like it a lot hopefully we get DLC and hopefully we get more RollerCoaster Tycoon games for Nintendo Switch
  3. Dec 24, 2018
    7
    Ok, this is no where near a perfect Rollercoaster Tycoon game. Thrillville or Planet Coaster are far more better, but guess what, thoseOk, this is no where near a perfect Rollercoaster Tycoon game. Thrillville or Planet Coaster are far more better, but guess what, those aren't on current consoles. This game is better than Rollercoaster Tycoon World that is for sure! I love sim building games and I couldn't wait for this to come out. I knew it probably wasn't going to be like RollerCoaster Tycoon 3, but it tries, I will give it that. One bad thing about this game is the lag. Once the park gets really big, the game lags and it is kind of annoying. I really hope they fix this, but they probably won't because this game almost didn't even happen for the Switch. The other bad thing is that you can't ride the rides like you could in other Rollercoaster Tycoon games. This really is a stripped down version of Rollercoaster Tycoon 3. I still enjoy the game, don't get me wrong. I am happy that it is on the Switch and I have put a lot of time into it. I do recommend the game if you absolutely love sim building games. This and City Skylines is perfect for you! Full Review »