Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. May 11, 2020
    70
    Some players might be put off by Spirit of the North due to how heavily it relies on its players to figure things out, but that’s also its biggest charm. You are in the shoes of a creature that can’t speak – and yet, as the game’s world and the story reveal itself to you, it speaks louder than any dialogue could. It’s not perfect by any means – the controls can be awkward, and getting stuck and needing to restart is frustrating – but look past that and you’ve got a wonderful, engaging adventure on your hands. If you’re looking for a relaxing game about exploration and discovery, Spirit of the North is a great one to pick, regardless of your age or skill level.
  2. May 7, 2020
    70
    Spirit of the North is an atmospheric, evocative adventure game with puzzle/platforming elements that—despite being clumsily implemented in parts—are ultimately rewarding if you stick with it.
  3. May 12, 2020
    68
    Is Spirit of the North worth playing? Despite the previous few paragraphs of ranting, I think it is. There’s genuine beauty in the design of the environments and the way the world is brought to life, which is really quite extraordinary. Also, that soundtrack is just superb and pairs well with the quiet isolation of the fox’s cross-country journey. Just be prepared for some awkward 3D platforming and make sure you’ve got a walkthrough nearby for when you inevitably get stuck at a dead end.
  4. May 25, 2020
    65
    Overall, the experience remains a valid alternative for players looking for a relaxing, short-lived title with ethereal atmospheres, despite the technical defects that prevent it from making its full potential shine.
  5. May 21, 2020
    60
    Spirit of the North wishes to take you on a physical and spiritual journey, and requires a slow pace and some patient thought. It is a rewarding tale in scenic surroundings, although this furry friend can occasionally frustrate.
  6. 60
    Spirit of the North positions itself as a title similar to Journey, Abzu, or Rime, but it stumbles at the most basic levels of its gameplay. This is a genre known for minimal gameplay, and maximum experience. Spirit of the North’s inability to nail down even its extremely limited gameplay means that it's a pretty constant frustration. Now and then something will hit just right and you’ll see the potential that's there. It's visually quite stunning and features a solid but overplayed soundtrack. There are moments of brilliance sprinkled in with an otherwise thoroughly mediocre experience. I wouldn’t say I hated my time with Spirit of the North, but I’d certainly have rather spent it elsewhere.
  7. 60
    Spirit of the North almost nails it. From the art to the characterisation, and even the wordless narrative structure, the developers have clearly put a lot of thought and creative energy into this, and it shows. You might want to play on another platform to get the full scope of the vision, because on Switch it is a little limited by the hardware, but even then, Spirit of the North has moments where it soars. It's just unfortunate that it keeps crashing into walls along the way, as the developers tried to justify the existence of the game by what can only be termed "gameplay bits", and every time that happens the motor takes a while to get going again. If you can handle the clumsy pacing and arbitrary puzzles and collectibles, though, Spirit of the North really is beautifully earnest in what it is looking to achieve.
  8. May 9, 2020
    55
    Spirit of the North is a visually appealing indie game with beautiful scenery. However, when playing it, we see that it is one more game on Nintendo Switch that does not innovate in gameplay or narrative. For this reason, it may not end up finding its place among the casual audience or the hardcore gamer.
  9. 50
    I really wanted to enjoy Spirit of the North as someone who is passionate for Nordic folklore, meditative video game experiences, and foxes. Unfortunately, amid the game’s performance issues and lackluster gameplay, the title comes across as unfocused at best and unplayable at worst. There’s a meditative, thoughtful, and even great game that’s underneath all of the uncomplimentary design decisions, and the poor technical performance of the Switch port is the nail in the coffin of an already flawed experience.
  10. May 7, 2020
    50
    Visually striking, yet mechanically dull, Spirit of the North is all style and no substance. Tied with a minimalist story and no spoken words, the journey tries to be meaningful, but its self-imposed limitations make it hard to understand. It is loaded with vast, beautiful environments, which end up functioning as a double-edged sword as many areas felt labyrinthine in design. Often, the game felt pretentious to the detriment of the gameplay. Ultimately, Spirit of the North has its appeal, but I would only recommend it to players drawn in by either the visuals or the concept.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. May 8, 2020
    8
    Spirit of the North
    A Beautiful Adventure
    Spirit of the North is a 5 hour long puzzle platforming game where you play as a fox accompanied
    Spirit of the North
    A Beautiful Adventure
    Spirit of the North is a 5 hour long puzzle platforming game where you play as a fox accompanied by a spirit, at first things are pretty straight forward, and this is when spirit of the north Is at its best, it’s at first a beautiful linear journey, with snow, and ice, and finding symbols to bring to life to move forward, all while beautiful chill inducing music plays in the background, spirit of the north starts as a game that feels like hot chocolate on a cold day and then the second half of the game happens.. spirit of the north becomes more puzzle platform and less puzzle adventure, here you’ll be activating symbols still, but not so much in a linear fashion, they now act as switches, so you’ll be in the same area running round figuring out which switch to throw to move onto the next switch until your able to leave the area, sometimes being introduced to a new ability to help you solve new puzzles, such as the ability to leave your body and activate switches out of reach to your solid form… an ability that has potential, but these puzzles proved to be a nuisance thanks to them being tied to a timer, and the switch so far out of reach that you don’t have a moment to spare on your way to activating it… overall I wish the spirit didn’t leave your body when youd activate a symbol, or destroy an object.. it would’ve bee na much more enjoyable experience just playing with the mechanics and not having to constantly find a flower to pill your energy from in between every switch press… its all just feels overwhelming in the final stretch, really making me miss those beginning moments when things were simple, and it was about enjoying the experience.. I would’ve loved moments like this thrown in between the puzzle solving rather than new puzzle area after new puzzle area.. let me breathe… thankfully towards the end, things start to go back to the way they should be.. back to enjoying the environment and music.. back to enjoying the beauty that is spirit of the north…
    Spirit of the north does have its pacing issues for the 2nd half of this 5 hour long game, but the overall package makes spirit of the north a must play for adventure and platforming fans…
    I give Spirit of the North
    a 7.5/10
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 22, 2020
    10
    Way better on Switch than I expected. The graphics aren't as good as PC and PS4 but I almost couldn't even tell. Had to play them side byWay better on Switch than I expected. The graphics aren't as good as PC and PS4 but I almost couldn't even tell. Had to play them side by side to see a difference(I own PC, Switch. I've played a little on PS4). Controls felt smooth. Lots of games with animal protagonists are really rough but this was honestly one of the best. Graphics and controls asside... The subtle symbolism is the best part of this game. It's really moving and powerful. Took me a second playthrough to see it. Honestly, there is a lot of hidden lore in this game, but don't expect the game to feed it to you. Crazy to think only 2 guys made this. Full Review »
  3. Jul 27, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Me encantó el ambiente nordico que quisieron trasmitir los desarrolladores y encanta que el protagonista sea un zorro Full Review »