Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Sep 15, 2020
    100
    Perhaps the best thing of all is how Spiritfarer builds, grows, and ends. Not only are the souls you helping growing and accepting and your boat building, but Stella herself is developing. The story creeps up around you while life is happening, which is incredibly apt. There are highs and lows, as these moments will constantly hit you and make you chuckle or perhaps cry.
  2. Aug 23, 2020
    100
    Spiritfarer is a finely crafted piece of artistic commentary on what it means to let go, and it's far and away one of the best games to come out of 2020.
  3. 95
    Overall, I really enjoyed this game and all the time I spent devouring it. I came into Spiritfarer very excited, and it did not disappoint. It even surprised me with how much I loved it. Spiritfarer has everything relevant to my interests: the afterlife, crafting, crystals, making friends, getting up in other people’s business, fixing (?) problems, and a cat best friend. If you are looking for a beautiful game with some more serious, and sometimes mystical, subject matter, I highly suggest giving Spiritfarer a try.
  4. Aug 29, 2020
    95
    Spiritfarer is a unique and special game. A management sim that manages to blend its various systems with a poignant and bittersweet look at life and death.
  5. Sep 10, 2020
    90
    After everything I've mentioned so far, it's not a surprise that I thoroughly enjoyed Spiritfarer. What initially looked like an eerie combination revealed itself to be a thoughtful, relaxing, and enjoyable journey that deals with loss and caring in heartwarming ways. It's not a flawless masterpiece or a crowd-pleaser, but it knows what it's good at and executes it to an incredibly satisfying degree. If you vaguely enjoy titles like Animal Crossing, Harvest Moon or Stardew Valley, be sure to pick up Spiritfarer.
  6. Sep 8, 2020
    90
    Balancing several different gameplay elements deftly while providing a lighthearted yet emotional take on death, Spiritfarer is a long and satisfying adventure that kept me more engrossed than any other game this year. It’s truly a special title that deserves all the attention it gets.
  7. Sep 4, 2020
    88
    If you want a unique videogame experience and aren't afraid of showing your emotions, Spiritfarer is a title that you should try at least once in your lifetime.
  8. 85
    Regardless of these minor quibbles, Spiritfarer is a journey I wholeheartedly recommend taking, even if management sims are not your thing. The main lessons of accepting loss and the importance of leaving something behind are important to learn. The heavy topics your colleagues discuss with you are also necessary to navigate and leave a lasting gut punch. The title is also wonderfully animated and the music is superb, with its main theme receiving a number of variations throughout the experience that well up deep feelings inside of you. Give it a go if you are ready to ugly cry and smile at the same time!
  9. Sep 2, 2020
    80
    Spiritfarer is a game that brightens death, a dark and touchy subject. When playing, you will learn to say goodbye to the ones you love, and to enjoy every moment with those around you.
  10. Aug 29, 2020
    80
    If you like resource management or want to live a great story about friendship and death, Spiritfarer is a recommended game for you. Its great background, despite being diluted a bit due to farming, is more than worthy and deserves to be played.
  11. Aug 27, 2020
    80
    A truly pleasant game, Spiritfarer balances undemanding platforming, gentle exploration and forgiving resource management with a beautifully-realised world with a cast full of charming, likeable, memorable characters. It's a pleasure to move around in with an evocative, endearing atmosphere and a succession of gameplay styles that gel superbly and never feel like padding. It's a long game, and you may find it becomes a little rote and repetitive before the end, but if it gets its hooks into you it's a game you'll want to go the distance with. Would it be distasteful to say it's dead good?
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Aug 25, 2020
    9
    When Nintendo shadow dropped 6 (count em SIX) titles this week during the Indie World, it was going to be hard to decide which of them toWhen Nintendo shadow dropped 6 (count em SIX) titles this week during the Indie World, it was going to be hard to decide which of them to tackle first. But this one definitely spoke to me unlike any of the others. Spiritfarer is probably one of the most heartfelt, most pure games I have ever played that was a metaphor about death.

    You play as Stella who has been appointed as the new “Spiritfarer”, a modern retelling of Greek Mythology and the River Styx. According to legend, Charon would ferry souls across the river who had fare with them at their passing. Payment was provided by a coin placed in the person’s mouth at their burial. This game opens up though with Charon declaring to you his retirement and your cat Daffodil rummaging through his robes.

    Spiritfarer, the cozy management game about dying, sets sail today ...
    You acquire a large boat of your own and picking up lost souls to join you on your journey through the afterlife, all of who are represented by giant animals, from there you can navigate across the sea and expand your boat. The game promotes itself as “a cozy management game about dying”. As you are constantly attending to your passenger’s wants and needs, these could be something like hunger or having their own place or something as simple as a hug.

    The world is full of little islands to explore, some are full-on towns, while others are simple places full of materials to gather, you will need to gather all the wood, minerals and food you can carry as you will constantly be making upgrades and building new sections to your ship. Like a kitchen to prepare everyone’s meals, to which all your passengers will have various likes and dislikes, expect the frog who will just eat anything. Setting up Gardens to grown vegetables and seeds and places that will take care of all the wood, metal and fabric you come across

    I will say that Spiritfarer’s art style and 2D sprite animations is probably the best I have ever seen in a video game, where every motion you make, every hug, every strike with your pick ake is amazingly fluid, but sometimes it can be a bit frustrating, as the game plays a lot in real-time so having to go through the whole saw animation to cut down a tree can be annoying. The game also has you travel to each destination in real-time, this gives you more time to attend to everyone’s needs, rearrange the buildings and do fishing, like…..a lot of fishing.

    The comparisons with a certain other title that came out this year are obvious from the start, while it can prove daunting at first very soon you find yourself getting into a real groove attending to everybody’s needs and planning out where you are going next. The game really does play like a condensed version of New Horizion with a truly relaxing ambient soundtrack making you just want to sit back and watch the waves go by. While your passengers will get hungry and whinge at you to build them their own place, this is no way to fail in this game with the creators wanting you to take it all at your own pace.

    You get to discover the stories of those who join you on your boat, a journey that sadly has to eventually end. It can be truly devastating after spending all that time getting to know them, feeding and hugging them that they will eventually move on, leaving behind a single flower and an empty room.

    But as Dr Seuss once said “Don’t Cry Because It’s Over, Smile Because It Happened.”, there is something truly magical about Spiritfarer, it is very easy to just while away the hours. Although there were times I felt completely lost on how to progress next, like needing a certain type of wood or mineral with no way to find it and being unable to afford a necessary upgrade to the boat to progress further. But it is during these moments that you take a breath and you are able to find the solution.

    You will find yourself coming back to the game over and over again, just to spend time with everybody and explore the islands. The lack of any kind of rush or failure allows for a serious relaxed approach that I can definitely appreciate at the moment. There are also some truly entertaining moments like catching lightning in a bottle during a storm, musical mini-games to help your plants grow or saving a giant serpent by driving a pickaxe into their skull.

    I wish my time with Spiritfarer could have been longer, but like in the game, everything must come to an end…..and that’s ok.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 17, 2020
    10
    My personal game of the year honestly, such a massive surprise that I didn't expect to love as much as I did.
  3. Sep 17, 2020
    10
    Spiritfarer has been one of the best games I’ve played in a long while.
    Not only is the games art style very pretty, but the character
    Spiritfarer has been one of the best games I’ve played in a long while.
    Not only is the games art style very pretty, but the character designs, the places, the music and the heavy use of leitmotifs- it all comes together to create such a comfortable atmosphere.

    The game really has a way of making you feel strongly for all the spirits on your boat, even if you start off not being particularly fond of them. There are just enough spirits for you to get to know intimately while not feeling that there aren’t enough or that there are too many.

    Other then making friends with spirits the game has a resource management aspect. It makes travelling from place to place on the boat a lot more fun and less tedious. There are many quests to fulfil with these activities too!

    The one thing I should say is that spiritfarer is not yet at this point a fully ironed out and smooth game. There are bugs, for sure but that’s to be expected so early on and I haven’t had it effect any of the heartfelt moments so in my eyes they really aren’t an issue.

    If you want to chill and make friends while experiencing a very emotional story that manages to gradually shift the tone of the game with your progress, then I highly recommend spiritfarer.
    Full Review »