Story of Seasons: Pioneers of Olive Town Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Inspired by tales of their grandfather's pioneering days, the protagonist decides to pack their bags and leave the hustle and bustle of big city life for the frontier in Olive Town.
    When they arrive, they run into Victor, the town's mayor and their grandfather's old friend. He brings
    Inspired by tales of their grandfather's pioneering days, the protagonist decides to pack their bags and leave the hustle and bustle of big city life for the frontier in Olive Town.
    When they arrive, they run into Victor, the town's mayor and their grandfather's old friend. He brings them to the old farm, which has been reclaimed by nature over the years. Determined to breathe life back into their grandfather's dream and follow in his footsteps, the protagonist rolls up their sleeves and gets to work.
    Olive Townwhich is just a stone's throw away from the farmis a port town built on the tip of a peninsula. It might be a quiet little town, but it is home to a whole host of unique characters. And while the townsfolk get by well enough in this picturesque seaside locale, a little more tourism never hurt anyone...
    The long-awaited brand new entry in the original farm/life simulation franchise, known in Japan as Bokujo Monogatari, makes its debut on Nintendo Switch, bringing players more freedom than ever before to shape an untamed wilderness and customize their farm down to the very tile. A new cast of marriage candidates, a town that grows and thrives along with your farm, and a request system highlight the new features, all while retaining the core elements of the STORY OF SEASONS series. Finding Earth Sprites while exploring your farmland may lead you to mysterious, fantastical lands such as gardens where the seasons never change, an island in the sky, or even the inside of a volcano!
    KEY FEATURES

    -Cultivate Your Farm, Cultivate Your Town
    Tame the wilderness of the peninsula and build your farm from the ground up! Gather and process materials to fulfill requests and improve Olive Town's infrastructure, upgrade tools, or commission new outfits and accessories.

    -Simple Mechanics, Deep Gameplay
    Greenhorn farmers can rest easy with the return of Seedling Mode and Normal Mode. Veteran players ready to create a bustling farm of their own will find familiar features and facilities with new twists on classic gameplay elements.
    -A Farm of Endless Possibilities
    Clear the land, repair old facilities, and place new ones wherever you see fit. Level up your farming skills and craft a variety of decorations and facilities, from fences and automatic feeders for livestock to sprinklers for crops!

    -There's Always Something Going on in Olive Town!
    Participate in local festivals as the town comes to life with over 200 unique events! Get to know your neighbors better and you may even find love with a special someone among them.
    Expand
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 60
  2. Negative: 2 out of 60
  1. Mar 23, 2021
    91
    It’s extremely charming, and completely captures the Iyashikei ‘slice-of-life genre, particularly in the personality of the town’s characters and how they interact with one another, yet also beckon you into that same world.
  2. Mar 23, 2021
    85
    Marvelous and XSeed enhance the Story of Seasons saga with additions from other greats of the genre. Very addictive and with an overwhelming sense of progression.
  3. Mar 25, 2021
    80
    Ultimately, Story of Seasons: Pioneers of Olive Town is exactly what you would expect from the beloved staple. The farming sim makes some bold leaps with its crafting system, but there is nothing groundbreaking in its formula. You can expect the same charming and wholesome aesthetic from this game much like all those that came before it. And even so, this routine will keep fans of the franchise coming back for more.
  4. Mar 23, 2021
    70
    Pioneers of Olive Town recognizes it does not need to reinvent the plow to present a full, relaxing, pleasant farming game. Aside from its sprawling size, there is not much novel about collecting materials, upgrading tools, clearing land, raising animals and crops, and befriending the townspeople – and there doesn't need to be. It is enough to simply have a wealth of interesting things to plan out and do, colored by ridiculously cute animals and interesting characters and fleshed out with piles of new things to unlock over 30 hours and beyond. While the struggling framerate and tedious crafting can be annoying, these are small blips in a pleasantly packed day-to-day cycle of tending to your farm, exploring interesting new areas, and flirting with Bridget...or Reina….or Blaire.
  5. Apr 6, 2021
    70
    Story of Seasons: Pioneers of Olive Town is a promising start of a new chapter in the long-running farm/life simulator’s history. All the pieces are in place for an unforgettable experience, with its peaceful and serene location, endlessly customizable landscape, and an unprecedented abundance of crafts and projects to pursue. While at times unwieldy, there’s something for everyone here, especially those who are interested in the organization and production management aspect of running a farm.
  6. Mar 23, 2021
    65
    This is a safe and standard Story of Seasons game.
  7. Mar 23, 2021
    30
    Story of Seasons: Pioneers of Olive Town is a surprisingly dull and lifeless farm-sim that's a shadow of its storied self. We’re left with caricatures and a game that shows only the slightest hint of recognizing what makes a fun gameplay loop.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 46
  2. Negative: 11 out of 46
  1. Apr 2, 2021
    10
    This is the first game in this series that I play, and I have to say that it surprised me in a good way.
    After playing for a week I can say
    This is the first game in this series that I play, and I have to say that it surprised me in a good way.
    After playing for a week I can say that it is a good game. Addictive gameplay, relaxing music, and cute graphics.

    The development team is working hard to fix the only issues the game has. And they have succeeded :3
    Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2021
    10
    No hay nada mejor que acostarse, jugar un rato con la luz apagada y la habitación en silencio. Olvidarte de tus problemas y jugar con ilusión,No hay nada mejor que acostarse, jugar un rato con la luz apagada y la habitación en silencio. Olvidarte de tus problemas y jugar con ilusión, como si volvieras a ser un niño. Me encantan los gráficos, la música y la actualización que la han metido a la fórmula. Expand
  3. Mar 25, 2021
    10
    The negative reviews seem obnoxious; hence my rating being a 10. I could see giving it a 4-8 due to the fact that it needs post-releaseThe negative reviews seem obnoxious; hence my rating being a 10. I could see giving it a 4-8 due to the fact that it needs post-release patching (and how you feel about that), but lower than that does nothing to tell of how much work went into this game. Does it need love? Yes, absolutely. They already said they are going to patch it - they’re even adding dialogue. The game, as it stands, is still adorable, though. The graphics are fantastic, the gameplay is cute, and the characters are like-able enough. I personally love the crafting and collecting additions, and I’m glad they’re experimenting. I do really miss the 2D portraits, and believe the issues connecting with the characters would be fixed if they re-implemented them. It’s a farming game, there has always been grinding. They have two modes so that you can decide how much you want to grind, but it’s still something you should expect. I’ve been finding it easy enough (and actually relaxing) clearing stuff out. Only real complaint is makers, they need to have variable output.

    Overall, I pre-ordered the premium and have already bought the season pass, no regrets. This game is good and, I believe, going to be fantastic by the time they’re done with patches/dlc.
    Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2021
    8
    Farming sims have been exploding these days, especially since stardew valley came out everybody wanted to try at least 1 farming sim. Story ofFarming sims have been exploding these days, especially since stardew valley came out everybody wanted to try at least 1 farming sim. Story of seasons goes way back, and so does harvest moon. I have played most of them, and was very ecxited to hear that story of seasons was getting a brand new game instead of another remake/remaster.

    That said, at first i was a little dissapointed in this new title, small things bothered me like: framerate drops, the townspeople being a little dull, makers only making 1 thing at the time...But as i continued playing i started to see the prospect and potential of the game. They added new simple, yet important things and visualy it is quite pleasing to the eye.

    Time goes a bit slower then it did in friends of mineral town, leaving me to do things a bit more in my own pace. Stamina drops a little less fast too, which is perfect when you go mining.
    I am quite sure they will patch things here and there and bring out the full potential of this charming farming sim, also...if you got the special edition..how cute is that notebook?

    Hope this review helped make up your mind :)
    Expand
  5. May 18, 2022
    7
    a relaxing game where it's actually good to be a farmer. wish the game gets more budget in the future
  6. Nov 5, 2021
    5
    The game isn't that bad - it's just very repetitive and underwhelming past a dozen of hours.
    I like farm sim games and this one is lacking a
    The game isn't that bad - it's just very repetitive and underwhelming past a dozen of hours.
    I like farm sim games and this one is lacking a lot of nice things from the previous BokuMono games. Plus it's kinda grindy and the farm is constantly flooded with grass to cut, rocks and unuseful stuff. I had to put floors everywhere so I could avoid my farm being a mess.
    The fences are purely cosmectic, animals will go where they want. The story and most of the characters aren't very memorable too.
    That being said I had some good times, but there are better farm games imo, and better BokuMono..
    Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2022
    0
    I am really sick of buying kids games where they use stupid, unnecessary slang, or write the sound instead of the word, at an age where kidsI am really sick of buying kids games where they use stupid, unnecessary slang, or write the sound instead of the word, at an age where kids are developing English skills, words like 'em instead of them and developin', instead of developing is just ridiculous. I would not have bought the game if I thought it was going to de-educate them.

    I have noticed this in adult RPG's too and it just sounds retarded. I use slang as much as the next man but writing it sounds dumb.

    Can you imagine a Scouse character: alrixxqqwhhqqxt maxxccqqkkhhte, cxxggome 'edqqqckkgh.
    Expand

See all 46 User Reviews