User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 298 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 298
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 4, 2019
    7
    The game itself is great, the community is atrocious. 98% of the levels made are worthless trash that don't seem to grasp basic concepts in making a level. So if you make something good, I applaud you, but sadly your level will be buried underneath mountains of trash.
  2. Jul 13, 2019
    10
    It truly is the last 2D Mario game you'll ever need and they heap it on. Story mode, make your own levels. Endless levels and endless modes categorized by difficulty. You can play it a minute or hours and there's something new, fresh, creative, ugly, or fun around the corner.
  3. Jul 6, 2019
    8
    Quality game that has a lot more to add compared to the first Mario Maker. The only concern is that the multiplayer connection and how it lags the majority of the time. Great game other than that!
  4. Jul 14, 2019
    9
    Big improvement over the first game in many ways, good fun for everyone. Only problem is the online.
  5. Jul 16, 2019
    10
    Such a great game where you can make your own Mario levels, and play other people’s levels as well. One of the must haves in my book for the Nintendo Switch!
  6. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    I really love this game. It's way too perfect than Mario Maker 1. And finally It's about time Nintendo put the Slopes for the editor mode. Definitely a must play game for the Switch console.
  7. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    Simple yet effective and very addicting! Game of the Year? Not in story but definitely in enjoyment!
  8. Jun 28, 2019
    9
    Me encanta super Mario maker y ahora esta nueva entrega me esta gustando al máximo
  9. Jun 28, 2019
    9
    Super Mario Maker 2 is one of the best games on the switch. The amount of stuff it adds makes for unique ideas that the most creative people will sure enjoy. The story mode has superb level design. However, making levels with the joy-cons or the pro controller is hard, I reccomend a stylus for the switch. Even tho online co-op is really fun, the online needs improvements and searchingSuper Mario Maker 2 is one of the best games on the switch. The amount of stuff it adds makes for unique ideas that the most creative people will sure enjoy. The story mode has superb level design. However, making levels with the joy-cons or the pro controller is hard, I reccomend a stylus for the switch. Even tho online co-op is really fun, the online needs improvements and searching levels by IDS is still really dumb. Awesome job Nintendo! Expand
  10. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    There is so much game in this game. The story mode alone has 100 levels-- but a word of caution: I recommend getting the online bundle version of this game. If you do not have Nintendo Online, you will not be able to access some of the content. Other than that, this is probably the only 2D Mario you will ever need. It has every tool, every option, every setting, every brick, every level inThere is so much game in this game. The story mode alone has 100 levels-- but a word of caution: I recommend getting the online bundle version of this game. If you do not have Nintendo Online, you will not be able to access some of the content. Other than that, this is probably the only 2D Mario you will ever need. It has every tool, every option, every setting, every brick, every level in 2D Marrio's history (including 3D world). Multiplayer, co-op, free for all-- the game has something for everyone, players and level creators alike. Highly recommended. Expand
  11. Jun 30, 2019
    10
    Super Mario Maker 2 is an amazing sequel to a underrated game on the Wii U. Mario Maker 2 improves the first game in every way and adds content that is awesome. There is so much content in this game and it’s made by a great community. Nintendo has succeeded again in making a fantastic Switch game. This is an absolute must buy for the Nintendo Switch.
  12. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    Un gran juego, con infinidad de niveles por jugar, cada de talle está muy bien cuidado.
  13. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    Una obra maestra tanto para niños como para los más nostálgicos del género.
  14. Jun 29, 2019
    10
    This game is amazing i highly recommend yo buy this asap . Game of the year so far in my right opinion !!!!
  15. Jul 2, 2019
    5
    Update to a wonderfully fun game from the Wii U. The core concept is hard to bring down, but Nintendo tries. There are a number of poor decisions made. First, no one will ever see your level unless you get someone to play it or someone chances upon it in the new courses list. This is a list of several dozen of the newest courses. Refresh after a few seconds and you get an entirely newUpdate to a wonderfully fun game from the Wii U. The core concept is hard to bring down, but Nintendo tries. There are a number of poor decisions made. First, no one will ever see your level unless you get someone to play it or someone chances upon it in the new courses list. This is a list of several dozen of the newest courses. Refresh after a few seconds and you get an entirely new list, because people are uploading courses at break neck speed. And this list is the only place anyone can discover your level. It does not enter the regular level pool until someone finds it here, plays it, and upvotes it. Unbelievable - other people playing your levels is the whole point!

    The netcode makes the multiplayer unplayable. I have no idea why they did it the way they did, but (and keep in mind you are paying for this service) it's peer to peer and for some reason they decided not to go with rollback netcode or anything that would provide a smooth experience for any given player. Instead you get obscene slowdown, I've seen as bad as one frame a second. This feature may as well not be in the game.

    They have a hard upload limit of 32 levels. In the first game this started at 10 and increased to 100 if you uploaded courses that people enjoyed. This encourages good levels, because if you're stuck at the 10 cap and no one is liking your levels, you're encouraged to replace them, and people who make good levels get to upload more. They simultaneously gave trolls and bad designers 3 times the space while cutting the limit for good makers to a fraction of what it was. Why? Who knows.

    The story mode is fun, and mostly a showcase of neat stuff you can do with the level maker, except for the mechanics they included that cannot be used there. Why? Who knows. These include a stone item that makes Mario heavy. Coupled with a clear condition requiring it be brought to the end, it made for some neat levels in the story - but you won't be able to experiment with it. There's also an escort mechanic with toads that you cannot use in the maker. Isn't that the whole point?!

    You can no longer open other people's courses in the level editor. Want to see if a troll has hidden a door? Too bad. Want to practice a tough section on a kaizo level? You're out of luck. Why did they change this? Who knows.

    The new stuff they added is fun and people have been making so much creative stuff. But there could be plenty of creative levels out there that zero people will ever play because of the way this game handles discoverability. The decisions they've made with this game are basically incomprehensible. Nintendo needs to hire someone to tell them when they're making bad decisions, because clearly no one there has the job already. They are heavily dragging down what should be a fantastic experience.
    Expand
  16. Jun 29, 2019
    8
    It's really interesting to see that so many people can write full reviews for a game they've played for literally less than a day..

    some are giving it 0's and 1's, and others are giving it perfect 10's.. Metacritic should really consider finding some other way to actually validate people's actual playtime of a game before they can write a review of it.
  17. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    It may not have EVERYTHING that the Wii U game does, but Super Mario Maker 2 delivers another accessible, yet deep level creator, with many new features. If you're having trouble coming up with level ideas, the story mode (where you play through pre-made levels) can provide a lot of inspiration. Just be aware that a subscription to Nintendo Switch Online is required to download and shareIt may not have EVERYTHING that the Wii U game does, but Super Mario Maker 2 delivers another accessible, yet deep level creator, with many new features. If you're having trouble coming up with level ideas, the story mode (where you play through pre-made levels) can provide a lot of inspiration. Just be aware that a subscription to Nintendo Switch Online is required to download and share courses online. Expand
  18. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    This is a great evolution of a great game, new techniques, levels, items, and lots of fun.
  19. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    When a gameplay formula isn't broken, all you need to fo is add new elements... thats exactly what Mario Maker 2 is. The first game was criminally underplayed on the Wii U, but was a brilliant game. The second game adds so much new content that it unfortunately but necessarily outshines Mario Maker 1. Slope, Snake blocks, Switch blocks, Cars, Meowser! Such simple concepts and ideas fromWhen a gameplay formula isn't broken, all you need to fo is add new elements... thats exactly what Mario Maker 2 is. The first game was criminally underplayed on the Wii U, but was a brilliant game. The second game adds so much new content that it unfortunately but necessarily outshines Mario Maker 1. Slope, Snake blocks, Switch blocks, Cars, Meowser! Such simple concepts and ideas from existing Mario games massively expand your toolkit, leaving almost Infinite possibilities for level designers. If designing games isn't your thing, then playing other players may be more suited for you. What if your new to 2D Mario? The story mode is the perfect 'tutorial' to teach both new and existing players how different mechanics work and inspire creators to try out new things. Online with friends is unfortunately absent but thankfully is coming, online in general has been massively improved since MM1. Co-op play is exactly what I wanted, although the camera can lead to some issues, but this is a rare issue that only depends on the level design itself. Most importantly the 3D World style isn't just some cheap gimmick, it's a entirely unique and brilliant experience to try out even more mechanics, fight different enemies and use different power ups. Please get this game as soom as possible, it's the best game on Switch so far in 2019 in my opinion. 10/10 Expand
  20. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    Well, this is an awesome game: the story mode is something totally unexpected, plus I can design thousands of levels and play other people's. Great game!!!!
  21. Jun 29, 2019
    9
    Super Mario Maker 2 is a incredible game, that you need it.
    And the story mode is so cool, and he add's so much things .
    if you have a switch buy it.
  22. Jun 28, 2019
    9
    Mario Maker 2 is the last major game we were all waiting for to make a return on the Switch and it did not disappoint. The story mode while not extremely story based or memorable is fun and helps you learn the mechanics. Building is fantastic... On the tablet. Yes, you can get used to it with the controller but you'll find that it's slow and more difficult to properly use. The tablet isMario Maker 2 is the last major game we were all waiting for to make a return on the Switch and it did not disappoint. The story mode while not extremely story based or memorable is fun and helps you learn the mechanics. Building is fantastic... On the tablet. Yes, you can get used to it with the controller but you'll find that it's slow and more difficult to properly use. The tablet is the much better way to go. The overall building is more organized and easy to navigate. Nighttime brings new mechanics to all play styles which is just so fun. 3D World sadly is missing a lot of features including the sun/moon, tracks, and... YOSHI. It makes the game feel a little disjointed but that's more of a gripe than a real complaint. Added elements like slopes are super fun to work with and make the levels feel so real. Looking up levels that you want to play has never been easier. You can either use a code or even search with tags. The new infinite challenge is a little dissatisfying though and the only thing this game does worse than its predecessor. Online mode is very laggy most of the time and just isn't satisfying for most levels. Not being able to play with friends yet is a bummer but the feature really is just an add on that didn't get enough love to really be something I return to. Overall the game does mostly everything right with only some gripes. It surpasses the first game by a mile in almost every aspect. Expand
  23. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    Uno de los grandes títulos de la Switch, tiene absolutamente todo. Si el Mario Maker de la WiiU era perfecto, este es el Olimpo hech0 juego. Diversión por donde se le mire.
  24. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    Es un juego mega completo que merece la pena disfrutar y que no te puede faltar si te gustan los juegos de plataformas
  25. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    Another AWESOME game from Nintendo. I’m going to keep loving Super Mario Maker 2.
  26. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    justo lo que esperaba... diversión infinita. Echas de menos algunos items, pero ya se sabían. Muy bueno.
  27. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Un excelente juego de plataformas, gran variedad de nivele
    s, jugabilidad perfecta, música acordé a los niveles, añadidos muy bueno que le hacían falta a su predecesor, llevo poco más de 10 hrs de juego en su día 1 no digo más.
    Un juego que no te puedes perder si tienes una Switch
    Expand
  28. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    me encanta, modos de juego muy adictivos, tal vez la unica pega es que para subir niveles cooperativos lo tiene que pasar solo uno, de ahi en mas todo perfecto en el modo historia encontre algunos retos que me encantaron, excelente juego, todo aquel con una nintendo switch deberia darle una oportunidad
  29. Jun 29, 2019
    10
    The possibilities are almost limitless and Super Mario Maker 2 is a huge improvement to the first title.
  30. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    It is a more complete Mario Maker and full of features and possibilities, Nintendo will add multiplayer with friends and more news coming.
  31. Jun 29, 2019
    10
    gran juego esperado, incluye las novedades del modo historia y nuevas formas de jugar. Crear tus niveles compartirlos y descargar los niveles de otros jugadores lo que te da horas de juego. Muy recomendado.
  32. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    This is an absolute must-buy for the Switch. It takes Mario Maker 1 and adds a huge amount of things to it. New styles, new themes, night versions of all of them, vertical levels, custom scroll, multiplayer co-op and versus both local and online, a full story mode, ...

    I could go on and on, but the tl;dr is that you owe it to yourself to get this if you even remotely enjoy platformers
    This is an absolute must-buy for the Switch. It takes Mario Maker 1 and adds a huge amount of things to it. New styles, new themes, night versions of all of them, vertical levels, custom scroll, multiplayer co-op and versus both local and online, a full story mode, ...

    I could go on and on, but the tl;dr is that you owe it to yourself to get this if you even remotely enjoy platformers in general.
    Expand
  33. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    Increible juego para todo fanatico del mundo Mario, te permite usar tu imaginación para crear niveles o si no tenes ganas de hacerlo tenes la posibilidad de jugar los niveles del modo historia, o los niveles que dia a dia va creando la comunidad
  34. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    MUY BUENO!! TE DA MILES DE HORAS DE JUEGO!!! MUY ADICTIVO!!!!!!!!!!!!! SE MERECE MÁS DE UN 10!!!!!
  35. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    This is a MUST game for a switch owner, the fun and the challenge in this game is endless.
  36. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Contenido....demasiado contenido.... Exelente.... Expand
  37. Jun 28, 2019
    9
    This game is infinitely better than the original, and though it's not perfect, it's one of the best Nintendo Switch games so far! It's so much easier to make courses now, and there's so much more to do! It is definitely worth $60!
  38. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    This game is perfect. I really like the fact that Nintendo FINALLY put the Slopes for this game, since Mario Maker 1 doesn't has slopes. Not only the slopes has been add, bur a lot of other mechanics has been added to this game. Definitely a good and perfect game.
  39. Jul 3, 2019
    4
    If you want to play Mario levels made by friends and family then you will most likely enjoy this game, however there is a staggering amount of things wrong that can't go unstated. Super Mario Maker 2 is a game so outdated that it feels odd seeing something so under featured in this decade.

    Finding and Playing courses: Super Mario Maker 2 lacks the ability to search for courses and users
    If you want to play Mario levels made by friends and family then you will most likely enjoy this game, however there is a staggering amount of things wrong that can't go unstated. Super Mario Maker 2 is a game so outdated that it feels odd seeing something so under featured in this decade.

    Finding and Playing courses: Super Mario Maker 2 lacks the ability to search for courses and users based on name, and instead uses an archaic course id method. All the recommended courses are either based on mass popularity, or how new they are. Hot courses work okay as an in-between.

    Endless mode: Endless challenge is a survival mode base solely off of difficult and not popularity. This means on the harder difficulty you will be bombarded with troll levels and dev exits galore. Nothing beats the experience of being one level away from your top score with 3 lives left. Then the next 3 levels you play kill you in the first second and you lose. There are no mechanics to prevent invisible thwomps directly above spawn.

    Multiplayer: 1. No multiplayer with friends online. I don't care if it comes late, its not here now. 2. There is a tag you can add to your stage that specifies multiplayer. From what I've seen, that doesn't matter in multiplayer mode. The majority of stages I've gotten in vs mode don't have the multiplayer tag. This means you will probably be playing stages meant for 1 player with 3 other people crowding the screen. It goes without saying but the lag is terrible, as to be expected with nintendo switch online.

    Vs Mode: This one might seem nit picky but it is definitely worth bring up. To win in vs the only thing that matters is finishing first. If you get to the flags poll after 1 second the match ends. Anyone that didn't get first gets counted as losing. I have a potential fix for this. When the first player finishes a 30 second timer starts. Whoever gets 2nd place wins but gains less Elo than first. 3rd stays nuetral and 4th loses. Anyone who doesn't finish in the 30 seconds also loses. This rewards players for playing consistently well instead of the all or nothing system it has now.

    Level design: Playing this game you will most likely encounter droves of cheap troll levels. This isn't Mario Maker's fault. What is Mario Maker's fault is how it handles checkpoints. When submitting a level online you need to beat it without checkpoints. The intention is for people to be so proficient that they can beat their level without them. The reality is that no-one uses checkpoints because "If I have to beat it without checkpoints why should they get them."

    Missing content: First thing is amiibo. Every amigo costume has been cut from this game, removing potential theming and also acting as a middle finger to anyone who bought them for Mario Maker 1. An even bigger let down is a lack of level sets, or world maps. If you look at any Mario rom hacks most of them are a world or continuous levels. The ability to make a full game instead of separated, unrelated levels is something rom hackers have been doing for over a decade.

    Short list of other missing content: Dolphins, urchins, charging chucks, Thunder Chuck winged platforms, Timed platforms, Frog suit, Hammer suit (not the maker one), Penguin suit, Squirrel suit, double cherry, Mountain theme, Koopalings, Mini mushroom, Boomerangs, Blue koopa, disco shells, Fuzzies, Spike, Tethered platforms, and permeable slopes are just a few of the missing features. I don't think its much to ask for nintendo to do with Mario what fans have been doing with rom hacks for years.

    There are other major problems with this game like how it requires Nintendo Switch Online to play ANY online courses, and the clunky controls of making courses in docked mode. This game isn't good. It's carried by its community. If rom hacks were more accessible then this wouldn't exist. the biggest praise I can give this game is that many levels are better than the official Mario games. At the end of the day though, the most impressive thing about Mario Maker 2 is how under featured and out of date it is.
    Expand
  40. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    Mario maker 1 fue increíble y está segunda parte la volaron. Calidad de historia muchos modos online demasiados retos. El juego que todo fan competitivo de Mario debe tener. Increíble merece una nota de 92.

    En cuanto a jirengamer25. Chiquillo volvé a la cucastation 4. Aquí venimos a hablar de juegos buenos no de humos pipero ardido
  41. Jun 28, 2019
    9
    Mario Maker 2 probably deserves a ten. It offers so much content and things to do and play. The addition of a story mode is great and the 3D World skin gives the game more variety. However, the online is still disappointing, and you still have to search levels by IDS. You're also required to subscribe to it to share levels online. It's still a great game, but until Nintendo gets the onlineMario Maker 2 probably deserves a ten. It offers so much content and things to do and play. The addition of a story mode is great and the 3D World skin gives the game more variety. However, the online is still disappointing, and you still have to search levels by IDS. You're also required to subscribe to it to share levels online. It's still a great game, but until Nintendo gets the online right, then I will give it a ten. Expand
  42. Jun 28, 2019
    9
    This game is a blast! You can create your dream level within Mario Maker 2 and get to play thousands of levels created by anyone. its a must buy for any Switch owner!
  43. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    Everything is good the story the courses
    The maker was slow but you can edit with Handheld mod it’s a great game
  44. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    Super Mario Maker 2 takes everything good about its predecessor and builds on it. This is definitely not a definitive edition port of the first Mario Maker title like other games from the Wii U that sometimes plagues the Switch. This title stands on its own very well. The story mode is surprisingly fun and the online building, Vs, and playing different user created maps can keep youSuper Mario Maker 2 takes everything good about its predecessor and builds on it. This is definitely not a definitive edition port of the first Mario Maker title like other games from the Wii U that sometimes plagues the Switch. This title stands on its own very well. The story mode is surprisingly fun and the online building, Vs, and playing different user created maps can keep you entertained for hundreds if not thousands of hours. This is an absolute must own for all Switch owners and Mario fans in general. Odyssey set the bar for 3D Mario. This sets the bar for side-scrolling Mario. Expand
  45. Jul 3, 2019
    10
    Absolutely phenomenal game. It has some great improvements over the previous game. It has some interesting new physics that make game play different and more different. Definitely would recommend if you like puzzles, challenges and nnostalgia
  46. Jul 8, 2019
    9
    Super Mario Maker 2 is an extremely addictive and fun video game to have on your Nintendo Switch. The Course Making is brilliant and so much fun. You may think that it wouldn't interest you but messing around with what you can make is addictive and a heck of a good time. Using a controller is fine in course maker if you can get used to it. It's in your best interest to use a stylus and ifSuper Mario Maker 2 is an extremely addictive and fun video game to have on your Nintendo Switch. The Course Making is brilliant and so much fun. You may think that it wouldn't interest you but messing around with what you can make is addictive and a heck of a good time. Using a controller is fine in course maker if you can get used to it. It's in your best interest to use a stylus and if you don't have access to one you can always use your finger. There is also a ton of fun in Course World. Here you can play the most popular levels, new levels, and up and coming levels. A bunch of these levels are creative and so much fun. You can also play online co-op and versus. I would suggest not playing that at its current state because the lag is terrible and usually unplayable. If you thought it couldn't get any better there is actually a full Mario campaign designed by Nintendo where you can play over 100 creative and fun levels to help rebuild Peach's castle. Overall this addictive, stupidly fun, creative game is a must buy for switch, Expand
  47. Jul 4, 2019
    10
    Nintendo have clearly listened to the players and upgraded everything from the original Mario maker on wii u this is a sequel that really delivers and has almost infinite value, the user created levels are already wonderful only days after release and the much greater creative tool promise a great time for creators and players alike
  48. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    Amazing game. Better than the first one in most things, although it does lose a little bit of the charm the first one had on simple little things... Everything else is definitely better though. Great story mode, 3D World style looks amazing, the other 4 styles are as good as ever with more themes to choose from. Great music, solid controls, editing is better in handheld but you will getAmazing game. Better than the first one in most things, although it does lose a little bit of the charm the first one had on simple little things... Everything else is definitely better though. Great story mode, 3D World style looks amazing, the other 4 styles are as good as ever with more themes to choose from. Great music, solid controls, editing is better in handheld but you will get used to editing with a controller, it's not too bad. I'd give it a 9.5 if I could but the 10 will have to do for Metacritic. Expand
  49. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    Presentation. 92/100
    Graphics TV. 96/100
    Graphics Handheld. 100/100
    Music. 90./100
    Controls. 100/100
    Funfactor. 95/100
    Score. 95/100
  50. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    Lo tengo en la switch y era de lo que mas esperaba, no decepciona en lo absoluto... El 1 era perfecto, este es basicamente el 1 y con muchisimos (si, muchisimos) añadidos...
    Un juego eterno del que si te gustan los marios 2D, ¡nunca te aburriras!.
    PD: debo decir que las fisicas no son exactamente las mismas, para los entendidos en el juego, mecanicas como el mid-air con el caparazon ya
    Lo tengo en la switch y era de lo que mas esperaba, no decepciona en lo absoluto... El 1 era perfecto, este es basicamente el 1 y con muchisimos (si, muchisimos) añadidos...
    Un juego eterno del que si te gustan los marios 2D, ¡nunca te aburriras!.

    PD: debo decir que las fisicas no son exactamente las mismas, para los entendidos en el juego, mecanicas como el mid-air con el caparazon ya no son posibles de momento... A esperar que nuevas mecanicas nacen debido a los nuevos item de este mario maker.
    Expand
  51. Jun 28, 2019
    7
    Just ignore the 10 from nintendo fanboys, and the 0 from the nintendo haters, this game is good but not great, i would say it is almost an 8, why not an 8? or maybe more? here is why,
    - why would nintendo remove de amiibo costumes???
    - where are the dolphins? - charging chuck? - fishing boo? - ICE FLOWER????? - Penguin suit / frog suit - tiny mushroom? - ballong power - dino
    Just ignore the 10 from nintendo fanboys, and the 0 from the nintendo haters, this game is good but not great, i would say it is almost an 8, why not an 8? or maybe more? here is why,
    - why would nintendo remove de amiibo costumes???
    - where are the dolphins?
    - charging chuck?
    - fishing boo?
    - ICE FLOWER?????
    - Penguin suit / frog suit
    - tiny mushroom?
    - ballong power
    - dino rhyno?
    - ninjis??
    THere are a lot of features that shouldve been in the game, i mean read them, are they in any way unknown or obscure features ??? NO, everyone knows all the things i listed and nintendo decided to ignore em, the game would certainly turn into and 8 or more if they add several of the things i listed in new updates, just like they did with mario maker 1
    Expand
  52. Jul 1, 2019
    10
    3 days into this game, and after trying out all modes, this could seriously be the best 2D Mario game of all time. My nostalgia has SMB 3 in my top 10 games ever, but the endless variety found here may even top the level design in that game! Add competitive multiplayer (!!), and a story mode and you have what could potentially be considered a masterpiece. Nintendo at it's finest here!
  53. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    Kkkkkk é legal ver que alguns sonystas já estão arrancando suas calcinhas pela cabeça, e o mais interessante, acabaram por derrubar uma de minhas convicções, eu achava que sonystas retardados nesse nível, só haviam aqui no Brasil, eu tinha a crença de que o fato deles serem tão mongois assim, se devia à nossa cultura fraca, educação ruim, adoração ao funk, eleitores do PT, mas não, ao queKkkkkk é legal ver que alguns sonystas já estão arrancando suas calcinhas pela cabeça, e o mais interessante, acabaram por derrubar uma de minhas convicções, eu achava que sonystas retardados nesse nível, só haviam aqui no Brasil, eu tinha a crença de que o fato deles serem tão mongois assim, se devia à nossa cultura fraca, educação ruim, adoração ao funk, eleitores do PT, mas não, ao que tudo indica, o simples fato de você ser um sonysta, já danifica seriamente seu cérebro, e isso vale para o mundo todo, lendo algumas avaliações aqui, já achei sonystas retardados falando em espanhol e inglês, é questão de tempo, até aparecer algum suburbano br, sem um pingo de estudo, que provavelmente comprou seu ps4 com dinheiro de venda de drogas, dizendo coisas do tipo "nimtemdo é coiza de criansa, jão". No mais, a respeito do jogo, se já tem neandertal da sony falando mal de Mario Maker 2, é pq está incrível, esses besouros rola bos%# não reconheceriam um bom jogo nem que ele fosse enfiado em seus buraquinhos (que é o orgão mais sensível de uma sonete), e preferem filmecos com gameplay fraco, sem inspiração, rasos e focados exclusivamente numa historinha clichê, do que os jogos com melhores mecânicas, jogabilidade e gameplay, que são os games da nintendo, e no caso, Super Mario Maker 2 é um ótimo exemplo, dar esse tipo de liberdade ao jogador, e por em suas mãos a possibilidade de criar níveis da forma mais variada possível (o que remonta a Mario Paint, lá de 1992), é algo muito bem vindo. Expand
  54. Jul 2, 2019
    10
    Endless fun, full of different mechanics there isn't much to be said other than if you like platformers or level design (I'm not much of a creator just play levels) and haven't got this game yet...WHAT ARE DOING!!!
  55. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    This could just be the best creative game yet. With a easy to use tool and fun for hours even years Super Mario maker 2 is perfect except for no stylis, but you can fix that easily.
  56. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    Es un juego absolutamente garantizado para quienes jugamos super Mario desde los inicios y a través de su evolución con los años, la creatividad de las personas es increíble. Lastima que esos que ponen un 0 por puro odio y solo basta leer para ver que ese es el motivante. Ojalá esta página respete mi rating.
  57. Jun 28, 2019
    6
    As with everything on metacritic, ignore 10's and 0's. This game is more of a 6. Between the annoying level creation due to the switch and overly large UI, the troll levels, the lack of any functioning online play, the lack of playing with friends, and so much more... it is hard to rate this game any higher than 6. If you find the sweet spot and have patience designing levels correctly, orAs with everything on metacritic, ignore 10's and 0's. This game is more of a 6. Between the annoying level creation due to the switch and overly large UI, the troll levels, the lack of any functioning online play, the lack of playing with friends, and so much more... it is hard to rate this game any higher than 6. If you find the sweet spot and have patience designing levels correctly, or for the one or two you may get out of 100 user created levels that isn't designed by trolls, you will be rewarded with a smile. Sad fact is, Nintendo hasn't produced a complete game in a very long time, and this is no exception. I guess it is true when people say Nintendo's second rendition of any new style game is, well.. never done again and so far in left field people can't stand it. Leaving the truth in the form of super Mario maker 1 was way WAY better than 2 in just about every way possible. Expand
  58. Jul 2, 2019
    2
    I was hyped for this game in the months leading up to release and excited when it finally got released. I finished the story mode pretty quickly and then decided to dive in to the editor and check out what people have been putting online.

    I also submitted a few levels online, one of them in particular, took considerable effort to make. And now, days later, no one has played anything
    I was hyped for this game in the months leading up to release and excited when it finally got released. I finished the story mode pretty quickly and then decided to dive in to the editor and check out what people have been putting online.

    I also submitted a few levels online, one of them in particular, took considerable effort to make. And now, days later, no one has played anything I've put online. Did some research on the internet and it turns out that if you want the game to allow anyone to actually find and play your levels on their own, you have to go elsewhere and beg people to play it and especially give a it a heart (like) on forums, reddit, youtube, etc.. Isn't begging for likes something they discouraged in MM1? Anyways, the fact that you have to leave the platform and put in work to promote your levels before the game allows anyone to find them on their own or put them in endless mode is ridiculous.

    And now I've immediately lost interest in the game that hasn't even been out a week. There was a level I have been working on that has required great effort to make so far and some other ideas I was kicking around in my head... but if the game won't give anyone the chance to play them, then what's the point? And if the game isn't going to allow anyone to play my levels, I don't really care enough to play anyone else's either.

    This is especially discouraging when the stuff the game does allow into endless mode, from what I've seen, is maybe a little better than MM1 but still mostly low effort garbage or troll levels (if you put it on expert/super expert). Many of the levels the game actively promotes aren't all that special either.

    At least in MM1 your levels always got played by at least a few people. If they sucked, they would get buried and eventually deleted. In this game, they don't even get a chance. I don't claim to be this master creator who will never make anything that isn't amazing but if my levels have no chance to get played at all, why even bother? And no, spending time going all over the internet posting level codes begging people to play them so the game deems them worthy for people to play is not a good user experience.

    I pre-ordered this game and now have buyer's remorse. I WANT to like this game, and the potential is there, but feeling like you're being excluded from participating in the community for no reason is just not fun.
    Expand
  59. Jul 3, 2019
    0
    Don't buy this game guys. You need to pay extra money to subscribe for online features, which you already paid a sum to buy the copy.
  60. Jul 6, 2019
    4
    This game is absolutely fine for what it is. It exists, it is Mario Maker, and it is technically playable. In fact, the addition of story mode is wonderful, and many of the new things are great! However, the online is f****** worthless, unplayable garbage with little moderation and slow connection. Not to mention you have to pay for online, despite the fact that it is garbage. I boughtThis game is absolutely fine for what it is. It exists, it is Mario Maker, and it is technically playable. In fact, the addition of story mode is wonderful, and many of the new things are great! However, the online is f****** worthless, unplayable garbage with little moderation and slow connection. Not to mention you have to pay for online, despite the fact that it is garbage. I bought this game mainly for the online experience, and finding that it is unplayable is sooo disappointing. 4/10 probably wouldn't buy again Expand
  61. Jun 29, 2019
    10
    Simply one of the best games ever made. So many possibilities with the incredible fun and intuitive course builder. Go play it!
  62. Jul 2, 2019
    10
    This is every 2D Mario, and more. Way more! It's a dream game come true. An endless stream of auto-polished Mario challenges, and a playground for creative minds.
  63. Jul 9, 2019
    5
    Probably my biggest disappointment on Switch to date. Somehow worse than New Super Mario 2 on DS. It just feels old and dull.
  64. Jun 28, 2019
    9
    Super Mario Maker 2 is just an impressive game that has improved dramatically from its predecessor on the Wii U. It provides so much content and the Single Player adds a great personal experience if you don't want to subscribe to the Nintendo Online subscription to access Courses created by users. I'm so happy that I pre-ordered this game because it included a stylus which is essentialSuper Mario Maker 2 is just an impressive game that has improved dramatically from its predecessor on the Wii U. It provides so much content and the Single Player adds a great personal experience if you don't want to subscribe to the Nintendo Online subscription to access Courses created by users. I'm so happy that I pre-ordered this game because it included a stylus which is essential whenever you want to edit the course and add new obstructions and power-ups. There is nothing to miss in this game and the courses created by users adds greater experience even though it requires that god-awful Nintendo Online Service. The online co-op is totally recommendable to play with your friends or mates and I haven't suffered any issues. This is a game that you must play in 2019 if you own a Nintendo Switch. Well done Nintendo Expand
  65. Jun 29, 2019
    10
    All I do is play battle royals, my switch was getting dusty until super Mario makes 2 came out, I’ve been stuck on this game for about 10 hours today, my son loves it my wife loves it and I think it’s great, just another great addition to the super Mario’s series. I love making my own challenging levels. I can’t wait for this game to get a bit older and see what other players can come upAll I do is play battle royals, my switch was getting dusty until super Mario makes 2 came out, I’ve been stuck on this game for about 10 hours today, my son loves it my wife loves it and I think it’s great, just another great addition to the super Mario’s series. I love making my own challenging levels. I can’t wait for this game to get a bit older and see what other players can come up with considering all the possibilities. Sometimes games aren’t all about the graphics but the concept. Super Mario maker might be the best game on the switch as of yet besides breathe of the wild this is the only game I’m binging out to.i really did like odyssey to much, I just beat it quickly and let it get dusty. But I love making challenging super Mario levels for my son. This is just a great game. Sorry for the short review I do not review much but this game deserves a 10 since 9.5 isn’t on the chart. See ya fellas!!! Expand
  66. Jun 30, 2019
    9
    i just made an account to make a review. Playing super mario maker for the first time and i gotta say wow im pleasantly surprised. its awesome that they have a story mode and not only that but you basically play older style mario games as well. I grew up on super mario world so seeing that style again and have "new game play of that kind of genre is breathtaking. so if you enjoy creatingi just made an account to make a review. Playing super mario maker for the first time and i gotta say wow im pleasantly surprised. its awesome that they have a story mode and not only that but you basically play older style mario games as well. I grew up on super mario world so seeing that style again and have "new game play of that kind of genre is breathtaking. so if you enjoy creating and playing all super mario styles then this game is def for u. you will see theres so much to do you will not get bored if you dont like story mode theres creating if you dont like that you can play other peoples courses. Expand
  67. Jul 1, 2019
    10
    The greatest 2D Mario experience you can ask for. Wanna try that hard level that your favorite Let's Player's tried? Go for it. Want the controlled chaos of Auto-Mario? Play them, my friend.

    This is one of the few MUST OWN games on the Switch. The community has already thrown a ton of creative and fun levels into the mix, and if this is a precursor for what is to come, we will have a
    The greatest 2D Mario experience you can ask for. Wanna try that hard level that your favorite Let's Player's tried? Go for it. Want the controlled chaos of Auto-Mario? Play them, my friend.

    This is one of the few MUST OWN games on the Switch. The community has already thrown a ton of creative and fun levels into the mix, and if this is a precursor for what is to come, we will have a ton of fun in store.
    Expand
  68. Jul 3, 2019
    9
    Super Mario Maker 2 delivers everything you want. Creating your own levels is easy and simple and with so many options to customize your levels every single one feels unique. Even though it´s super fun, it has a big issue like the online mode being only playable if you're subscribed to the Nintendo Switch Online and in my opinion if you don't have it this game is a waste of money. If youSuper Mario Maker 2 delivers everything you want. Creating your own levels is easy and simple and with so many options to customize your levels every single one feels unique. Even though it´s super fun, it has a big issue like the online mode being only playable if you're subscribed to the Nintendo Switch Online and in my opinion if you don't have it this game is a waste of money. If you are subscribed this is a must buy to the Nintendo switch. This game offers the possibility to create the Mario level of your dreams with various themes : Super Mario Bros., Super Mario Bros. 3, Super Mario World, New Super Mario Bros. and the all new Super Mario 3D World, not t mention every single one has unique enemies and various stages like grond, underground, underwater, ghost house, airship and many more. This variety of gameplay is what makes the online mode fun. In the online mode you can play levels that were created by other players online and the possibilities are endless. Last but not least, Mario Maker 2 offers many new things in comparison to the prequel such as the new Super Mario 3D World Style, new enemies, new themes, new music, slopes and the single-player mode which may be quite fast to conclude but it's fun and gives many ideas to create your levels. In conclusion, if you have the online subscription, this game is a must buy for your Ninendo Switch. Expand
  69. Jun 29, 2019
    10
    A must buy , it is worth it just for playing all the great levels out there! Building levels is also very easy and intuitive but yes you need an hour at least to build something worth ranking.
  70. Jun 29, 2019
    10
    Es un juego que tiene horas infinitas. Excelente modo historia y contiene muchas mejorar a nivel de jugabilidad.
  71. Jul 2, 2019
    9
    Deben mejorar el online, el resto es una maravilla, que si no fuera por el online se lleva mi 10, lo recomiendo, las mecánicas se mantienen solo que el timing cambian muy levemente, es un juego infinito.
  72. Jul 3, 2019
    10
    Hello, good morning y'all this is definitely an awesome game, it's almost perfect, and almost part is juts because depends on you, your imagination, your creativity, this is infinity, seriously, the music, the perfect control of Mario and each character, really really awesome, even i want to cry, just for beauty.
  73. Jun 29, 2019
    10
    Game fantástico, super criativo, muito bem feito e que vai te prender por muitas horas em frente da tela. Basicamente é a mesma ideia do MM1 onde o protagonista pela criação das fases é o próprio jogador. Além disso, as fases podem ser compartilhadas e jogadas por todos os jogadores do mundo. Simplesmente fantástico.
  74. Jun 28, 2019
    9
    While not perfect this game is very addicting adding new features and online play a must have for Nintendo switch owners so fun !!
  75. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    Super Mario maker 2 has double the content that Super Mario maker 1, or even more, is simply a game that will give anyone hours and hours of fun and is a perfect sequel and not a port as many people say.

    with nothing more to add, just 10/10.
  76. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    This Is One Of The Best Switch Game A Must For Any Switch Owner Out There That Is Looking For Fun
  77. Jun 29, 2019
    9
    One of most surprising new additions is Super Mario Maker 2’s story mode, which has as much depth as you'd expect from a Super Mario story: Undo Dog accidentally presses the reset button on Peach's castle, destroying it. It's up to Mario to make it right. To do so means beating increasingly difficult levels, which earns you coins needed to repair the castle. That's all story mode is andOne of most surprising new additions is Super Mario Maker 2’s story mode, which has as much depth as you'd expect from a Super Mario story: Undo Dog accidentally presses the reset button on Peach's castle, destroying it. It's up to Mario to make it right. To do so means beating increasingly difficult levels, which earns you coins needed to repair the castle. That's all story mode is and that's all it needs to be. Expand
  78. Jul 1, 2019
    10
    Fantastic game! The level of polish and usability of editor and jumping between gameplay and editing works perfectly. I just hope that co-op gets fixed asap.
  79. Jul 1, 2019
    10
    GREAT GAME, very fun 10/10
  80. Jul 2, 2019
    10
    Yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes YES!!!!!
  81. Jul 2, 2019
    10
    El juego es muy bueno, les aconsejo que lo prueben o vean videos de personas jugandolo para que formen su propio juicio y no hagan caso de los haters desinformadores que solo tratan de desprestigiar el juego debido a su envidia y fanboyismo
  82. Jul 2, 2019
    9
    es un juego buenisimo,sinceramente el creador de niveles es muy bueno con muchas opciones a disposición y muchos estilos,lo unico que si me parte es lo de onine cuando juegas competitivo ya que hay demasiado lag y no se puede jugar,P.D:No le hagan caso a retrasados como jiren gamer de su misma opinion ni ha jugado el juego y desde aqui se nota lo fanboy por parte de la otra compañia y sues un juego buenisimo,sinceramente el creador de niveles es muy bueno con muchas opciones a disposición y muchos estilos,lo unico que si me parte es lo de onine cuando juegas competitivo ya que hay demasiado lag y no se puede jugar,P.D:No le hagan caso a retrasados como jiren gamer de su misma opinion ni ha jugado el juego y desde aqui se nota lo fanboy por parte de la otra compañia y su opinion se la saco del orto porque ni sentido tiene. Expand
  83. Jun 28, 2019
    1
    Bought this game thinking that when you publish a level online people would play it and everyone would have fun playing each others levels. After all, that's how it was advertised. Maybe the algorithm would put it in someone queue or something. This is not the case. If you want anyone to play your levels you have to go online and beg people to play it.
    This sucks because
    a) There's a
    Bought this game thinking that when you publish a level online people would play it and everyone would have fun playing each others levels. After all, that's how it was advertised. Maybe the algorithm would put it in someone queue or something. This is not the case. If you want anyone to play your levels you have to go online and beg people to play it.
    This sucks because
    a) There's a lot of content locked behind accomplishments and may of them are related to how many people play your levels
    b) why even spend the time to make them if nobody is going to play them.

    Just as well many of the top shared levels are low effort auto players where all you have to do is hold the stick right to run and nothing else.
    Expand
  84. Jul 1, 2019
    10
    I agree that the online multiplayer needs to be fixed (why are 4 player multiplayer switch games like this and Smash so laggy?), but it can't be overstated how much of a fan service this is for Mario fans. I grew up on the SNES and Super Mario World is one of the first games I remember playing and loving. I dare say this game is above and beyond the best 2D mario platformer that'sI agree that the online multiplayer needs to be fixed (why are 4 player multiplayer switch games like this and Smash so laggy?), but it can't be overstated how much of a fan service this is for Mario fans. I grew up on the SNES and Super Mario World is one of the first games I remember playing and loving. I dare say this game is above and beyond the best 2D mario platformer that's available so far, and the nostalgia and creativity are beyond enjoyable. A clear 10/10, especially if multiplayer is fixed Expand
  85. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    Este si.... este si es mejor juego de Mario de la historia (para mi). Increíble trabajo por Nintendo, este juego se mereceUn 100/100. Para cualquier persona que disponga de una nintendo switch, es un imprescindible.
  86. Jun 28, 2019
    10
    One of the most expertly crafted games in the platforming genre.

    Thank you, Nintendo, for giving us such a WONDERFUL game.
  87. Jun 30, 2019
    2
    The online multiplayer is completely broken. It's extremely laggy, and it's very unlikely that Nintendo is going to fix it. This game is literally the same thing as the first Mario Maker, but with broken multiplayer. Do not buy this game if you've already played the first game.
  88. Jul 3, 2019
    0
    Es una copia de wiiu a 60 euros . Esta bien pero poco innovador , a 40 e seria un buen juego xd
  89. Jul 2, 2019
    0
    игра про марио надоела уже с 90х годов но нитендо продолжают выжимать из тайтла все соки и доят геймеров как коров
  90. Jul 3, 2019
    0
    This game is a simply copy, a total decepción as the last Nintendo's ganes, I hope they could improve.
  91. Jun 28, 2019
    0
    Pues que puedo decir sobre este juego, es un repoio descarado que no deberia valer 60$ mas su plan estafa para pagar el peor online de la actualidad, un juego poco ambicioso y carente de detalles tecnicos y ludo-narrativos. Este juego no tiene doblaje, no tiene modos de dificultad, tiene mucho lag, mario aburre desde 1985, siguen usando cartuchos en pleno 2019 y asi podria seguir peroPues que puedo decir sobre este juego, es un repoio descarado que no deberia valer 60$ mas su plan estafa para pagar el peor online de la actualidad, un juego poco ambicioso y carente de detalles tecnicos y ludo-narrativos. Este juego no tiene doblaje, no tiene modos de dificultad, tiene mucho lag, mario aburre desde 1985, siguen usando cartuchos en pleno 2019 y asi podria seguir pero mejor ahi le dejo. Asi que en mi opinion este juego no vale para nada la pena, mejor esperense al Death Stranding, ese juego si que tendra doblaje, detalles tecnicos, actrices guapas y una buena ludo-narrativa. Expand
  92. Jul 4, 2019
    9
    Multiplayer is broken, course sharing is broken, thus only 9/10. Still much much better than new super Mario Bros u deluxe.
  93. Jul 5, 2019
    0
    I've never actually played this game, and was going to give it a 0. But then I heard this garbage has a Kratos easter egg, so I stole it from my friend and it was truly epic. Thanks to that I would give this a 2/10, but for some reason the disc doesn't work anymore after it getting a couple dents because I was angry, so 1/10 instead.

    edit: I actually got a new disc from my friend who
    I've never actually played this game, and was going to give it a 0. But then I heard this garbage has a Kratos easter egg, so I stole it from my friend and it was truly epic. Thanks to that I would give this a 2/10, but for some reason the disc doesn't work anymore after it getting a couple dents because I was angry, so 1/10 instead.

    edit: I actually got a new disc from my friend who bought a new copy for himself, but it kinda lacks a certain charm. It works tho so 3/10
    Expand
  94. Jul 11, 2019
    2
    You know, nothing in this game "just works".

    For one, Nintendo has completely missed to design this game around a large TV. They completely base it off the extremely small screen on the Switch, so when I, playing on a 55" TV from 2.7 meters away, which is just fine on a PS4/Xbox One, of course this game is just..... not working. You literally need a "japanese size" TV to be able to
    You know, nothing in this game "just works".

    For one, Nintendo has completely missed to design this game around a large TV. They completely base it off the extremely small screen on the Switch, so when I, playing on a 55" TV from 2.7 meters away, which is just fine on a PS4/Xbox One, of course this game is just..... not working.

    You literally need a "japanese size" TV to be able to get good at this game. Normal difficulty is fine, but Expert needs you to have awareness of what's going on on the screen at all times, so it just doesn't work.

    Online sucks. Laggy crap that proves Nintendo just can't do online. This is what I expect from a game released in 1998, not 21 years later in 2019.

    Game has.... soo muuuch traaaash. The "endless" mode which is supposed to be the "main" mode is just a randomizer. It doesn't pick levels that are "good" by any measure, so you encounter these literal trash levels that are just a chore to play. They're "hard", but never for the right reason.

    I'm dissapointed. The only fun I had was looking through the course board for gems. But what kind of game is that?
    Expand
  95. Jul 8, 2019
    0
    Nintendo showing no creativity as usual! Same game different year when it comes to Nintendo exclusives they need to move forward with new franchises as they are just stale.
  96. Jun 29, 2019
    5
    lag lag y mas lag siempre lo mismo con nintendo no se para que pago suscripción si la conexión va a ser tan mala
  97. Jul 17, 2019
    2
    more of the same lazy sequel with bad online features and limited local co op
  98. Jul 11, 2019
    9
    A grand sequel that improves on a already brilliant game. This is a switch game I highly recommend looking into.
  99. Jul 9, 2019
    6
    Take everything you can see in Mario Maker 2, give it a graphical and content based update, and put it on the switch; This is Mario Maker 2. It has many new features, and the level editor is very simple to understand yet hard to master. The single player story mode features incredible level design and many fun and unique challenges. The game is simply better than mario maker 1 in everyTake everything you can see in Mario Maker 2, give it a graphical and content based update, and put it on the switch; This is Mario Maker 2. It has many new features, and the level editor is very simple to understand yet hard to master. The single player story mode features incredible level design and many fun and unique challenges. The game is simply better than mario maker 1 in every way, and its portable!

    Now to the issues I currently have the game... (keeping it from being a 9 or even a rare 10/10 for me.)

    The main problem currently with the game is that there is NO online lobby play, and it requires you to pay for nintendo's online service to play online. It is embarrassing and unnecessary for nintendo to continue to disappoint gamers with its shoddy online. This makes playing with friends online impossible, unless you match randomly with them.

    The online play's main features are it's Versus and Coop mode, both of which are ruined by terrible unending lag. Even if YOU have perfect ethernet connection, if one player does not, it ruins it for all four players. The reason it does not run smooth is due to Nintendo having NO DEDICATED SERVERS, or very minimal at best.

    The game has a 32 level cap (uploads that is, offline levels can be preserved) that cannot be surpassed; for many players this is no matter, but for some very avid level creators this can be a very problematic situation.

    There are certain problems that can never be fixed, of course the levels you randomly come across will more than likely be very annoying to play, or even just total garbage. Sometimes, you'll find a hidden gem among the random heaps of levels, but most of the time you'll find a bad level.

    Another problem that is related to the last part is that you can no longer download people's levels. If you make a level designed to irritate people, such as hidden blocks and easy hidden paths, nobody but you will know unless they randomly come across it, and coupled with the new Win Conditions mechanic, this can lead to levels having a 0% clear rate due to one hidden block.

    The online multiplayer even ignores the tags they themselves designated! for example, you can set your level up for multiplayer versus, and put the specified tag for it, but the actual versus mode chooses levels randomly anyways!

    I would love to give this game a very high rating. I really would! Ive loved nintendo games for many years; but i must be fair in my reviews and not base them from nostalgia or love for a company. ALL nintendo has to do to fix this game is fix a small list of things

    1. Add Online Lobby play, let us play online with our friends nintendo, We are already PAYING FOR IT NOW.
    2. make the servers dedicated, this cuts the lag and only makes the person with the shoddy internet suffer, not everyone else.
    3. change just a few more minor things, like being unable to download levels, the level cap removed or increased for creators, and thats it.

    If the first 2 of these 3 things are added, fixing the online, i will re review the game, and likely give it a much more positive review, but until then i must say it has gotten stale and is very similar to the previous game. Have fun paying 60 dollars for a new game, 20 dollars for the online, only to be wildly disappointed by the near complete lack of online support.

    i do love the new powerups though.
    Expand
  100. Jul 8, 2019
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. The Story Mode has a ton of content and the creation mode has a bunch of new content that makes it even better than the first Mario Maker game. So much replayability here that it's hard to know where to stare. Super Mario Maker 2 is definitely a contender for game of the year.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. Jul 15, 2019
    95
    Super Mario Maker 2 is a joyous experience jam-packed with seemingly never-ending content thanks to its rich suite of editing tools and a thoroughly talented community of level designers. No matter your skill level, you'll find something to love here, from it's wonderfully tight gameplay to the outstanding level-creator.
  2. Jul 14, 2019
    70
    But that toolkit is only half of the equation. The other half is a platform game with no quality control, no impetus for putting legitimate effort into your original designs, and no way to weed out poor content creators other than trusting that players will be able to discern the difference between a bad level and good level and rate them accordingly. Given how many positive messages I've seen attached to genuinely bad stages, I don't have much faith in the Mario Maker community right now and I question whether it'll get better down the line.
  3. 80
    It all adds up to a terrific Mario game that offers boatloads of freedom. Whether you’re a creator, a gamer looking for the next great Mario level speed run, or just somebody who wants a little bit more Mario in their lives, there’s something here for you.