Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 113 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 113
  2. Negative: 0 out of 113
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. CD-Action
    Jan 10, 2018
    100
    The best entry to the best platforming series is so ridiculously huge it’s like a theme park made of theme parks. It’s a wonderful tribute to Super Mario 64, but it’s not a lazy homage. Super Mario Odyssey draws inspiration from the superb classic to top it and everything that came after it. [13/2017, p.38]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 2, 2018
    100
    Probably the best Mario game and one of the best games of this year. Pure, uncompromised entertainment with lots of fresh ideas and worlds that are a pleasure to discover. [Issue#280]
  3. Jan 2, 2018
    100
    An incredibly playful platform game full of amazing ideas, which almost don´t repeat. If you are a fan of platformers, you should try Mario – you will not find such original gameplay and the transformations of one genre anywhere else.
  4. Dec 14, 2017
    100
    Mario easily jumps high above all expectations. Even if you think that Super Mario Odyssey is not for you, you'll be shouting out "YAHOO!" like a kid once Cappy is done with you.
  5. Dec 11, 2017
    100
    Mario’s first Switch outing is not only one of the best releases in an unusually brilliant year, but arguably one of Nintendo’s greatest gaming achievements ever. With refreshingly varied kingdom designs that offer a playful mix of the old and the new, Super Mario Odyssey is a game where you never really know what to expect next. We could tell you more about the individual moments that make this game such a magical experience, but honestly, to reveal too many of its secrets would simply spoil the fun.
  6. Dec 5, 2017
    100
    Super Mario Odyssey is a phenomenal return for Nintendo’s mustachioed mascot, and (whisper it) the worthy successor to Super Mario 64 that fans have been longing for.
  7. Nov 10, 2017
    100
    Updated for a new generation, yet full of old school charm and nostalgia for long time Mario fans. Super Mario Odyssey is simply one of the most joyous games of all time.
  8. 100
    Super Mario Odyssey is a pure expression of joy and fun that never ceases to amaze or delight.
  9. Nov 8, 2017
    100
    Super Mario Odyssey is an innovative masterpiece that takes an already creative series to the next level, demonstrating that there is no limit to the adventures that can be had in games or the ways they can be played.
  10. Nov 6, 2017
    100
    Super Mario Odyssey is a treat that needs to be experienced by everyone who has a Switch. The attention to detail mixed with a host of expansive content and enjoyable gameplay will have you coming back for more.
  11. games(TM)
    Nov 2, 2017
    100
    We don't give out tens lightly, but we have to ask, what more could we have wanted from this game? What could it have offered that would have made it better? The answer is not much. Playing Super Mario Odyssey is to experience pure joy. We couldn't wish for anything more than that from this series or from Nintendo. [Issue#193, p.64]
  12. Nov 2, 2017
    100
    Super Mario Odyssey is essential gaming. It’s a sanguine throwback, a jewel of gaming fundamentals distilled to its core, constructed with the building materials of fun and surprise. Predictability and reason have no place on this journey—but the kid in all of us will surely take the helm, a smile on his face.
  13. Nov 2, 2017
    100
    Super Mario Odyssey is a bold re-introduction to 3D Mario and one that is flat-out mandatory in 2017. The game is not the challenging, rigorous exercise found in the series’ past so much as a deep dive into abject fun originality. Placing creativity and wonder above all else, Super Mario Odyssey is Nintendo’s equivalent of a Pixar movie: magical, creative, and captivating, no matter what age you are.
  14. Nov 1, 2017
    100
    Super Mario Odyssey embraces its heritage at every turn, and the payoff isn’t merely a warm feeling of nostalgia at the fan service, but a reworking of the old with the new to produce something completely unique. Previous games have brief moments of wonder and charm, but they do not come close to the emotional gratification of Odyssey. Near-flawless controls, amazing worlds, a phenomenal new special ability, and a sense of freedom that’s not been seen in any previous game all add up to something special. This is another Mario game that will be remembered for ages to come.
  15. Nov 1, 2017
    100
    Super Mario Odyssey’s unabashed sense of whimsy and charm is all too welcome in today’s modern video game climate. Whereas other titles feel the need to overbear you with endless things to do, people to kill and towers to climb, Mario’s latest globe-trotting adventure is all too happy to keep things simple — and in the most imaginative way possible. Super Mario Odyssey is the type of game that I’d probably have taken for granted as a kid, but as an adult, I’ll cherish it for decades.
  16. Nov 1, 2017
    100
    It’s adorable, heartwarming, comforting, and just an absolute joy to play. Super Mario Odyssey sees the series return to the collect-a-thon/3D platformer genre that it, itself pioneered, and once again, Mario is setting the flag up high for others to follow.
  17. 100
    Mario Odyssey is an inventive, playful and incredibly polished experience that pays constant homage to the storied series' past while never feeling redundant or old. From the creative way classic characters and styles of play are inserted into the worlds to the brand new capture mechanic that gives a new perspective on what an open-world Mario game can be, this is a timeless journey I'll keep coming back to for a long time.
  18. Oct 31, 2017
    100
    Not only does Super Mario Odyssey celebrate the history of Mario over his 30 years with nostalgic treats, but it embodies the delight of discovery that comes with the openness of a sandbox Mario title, pushing it forward with Nintendo’s creativity to think up thrilling platforming scenarios. Nintendo has delivered a superb game that wants to take players on a trip through its bizarre and wonderful landscapes without restrictions, something that has been absent for too long in modern platform games.
  19. Oct 30, 2017
    100
    This latest entry to Mario certainly helps prove that single player experiences still have a place in an industry where games as a service seems to be the norm. I managed complete the game in about 20-30 hours, a robust post-game will keep the me coming back for more. Coupled with Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild, it looks like Nintendo will need to clear some shelf space when end of the year awards are named by the gaming press. If you don’t have a Switch, I’d encourage you to get one immediately before the holiday rush begins. This is an experience you should not sit on.
  20. Oct 30, 2017
    100
    Simply put, Super Mario Odyssey is the best game of 2017, and one of the greatest games of all time. Nintendo is on a roll. Long live the King.
  21. Oct 29, 2017
    100
    In my eyes, Nintendo has created the Magnum Opus of 3D Sandbox Open-World Platforming with this game. From start to finish, this game oozes with fun, great gameplay, amazing worlds and vistas and absolutely phenomenal music. The fact you have to use motion controls in order to get the full use of Cappy is weird but that's the only bad thing I can say about this game. Nintendo is spoiling us this year.
  22. Oct 29, 2017
    100
    Mario has over thirty years of history behind him and yet Odyssey manages to mix those feelings of old titles with new ideas for a fresh take on a genre everyone is familiar with. Whether in it for a simple fun time or looking to play Odyssey to completion, there’s tons to be enjoyed by every player that will keep pulling them back for more. Mario’s trip across the world is one of pure, simple joy that simply shouldn’t be missed. Super Mario Odyssey is nothing short of a love story to the series as a whole and a title no Switch owner should be without.
  23. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    Super Mario Odyssey is the culmination of years of experience from Nitendo's developers. It seems like everything great from past games has found its place in this adventure. All the exploration and its marvels are back, combined with great platforming and surprises. Also, Super Mario Odyssey is a game that really pushes the Switch's capabilities... and you can play on the go and get some Power Moons anywhere, anytime.
  24. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    Mario jumps 30 years in time, and it's one of the biggest jumps ever made, not only in the Super Mario franchise, but in the history of Nintendo. Odyssey is evolution, talent and a non-stop enjoyment. A game that marks a new hit in the platforms game genre and that justifies going to the shop to buy a Nintendo Switch.
  25. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    Wild, Weird, and packed full of imagination, Super Mario Odyssey is the first platform exclusive that every Switch owner needs to own.
  26. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    Nintendo proves once again why it is the very best at what it does, with the Super Mario game players have waited 15 years for. Rooted in an wonderfully absurd design idea, Odyssey is a glorious and jubilant adventure for all that, like its plump hero, revels in the freedom to explore, experiment and play.
  27. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    Super Mario Odyssey is one of the best experiences this year with its great gameplay and huge amount of content with a lot of different ideas. Definitely will be one of the games nominated for game of the year
  28. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    Super Mario Odyssey is without a doubt one of the best games of recent years and probably of the franchise. Great gameplay mechanics, an outstanding number of worlds and amazing graphics are the ingredients of this masterpiece.
  29. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    Each kingdom is absolutely packed with charm, clever objectives, gorgeous visuals, a stellar soundtrack, and a huge variety of ways to have fun. One moon would have me leaping across tiny platforms with pinpoint precision, and the next would have me cheering up a businessman by dressing like a clown. At no point did I feel like I was checking boxes just to up my completion percentage. Even now that I've collected every moon and purple coin in the game, I still want to play more of it. It’s one of the most joyous and entertaining gaming experiences I’ve had in a long time, and it stands tall among the all-time great Mario games.
  30. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    It's extraordinary, really, that after all this time a new Mario game can feel as fresh as any that preceded it. Cappy is a revelation, exploring Kingdoms is bliss, and Super Mario Odyssey is a masterpiece.
  31. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    While I may be far removed from the days spent playing Super Mario World as a kid, completing it for the umpteenth time and still finding new secrets with each playthrough, experiencing Super Mario Odyssey transported me back to that same sense of wonder I felt when I first discovered the Star World, or when I used my cape to accidentally stumble upon a secret key that opened up a brand new level. Nintendo has delivered everything I could want in a Mario game, before adding things that I didn't even know I wanted. The end result of their efforts is a true modern masterpiece.
  32. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    Super Mario Odyssey honors much of what makes other 3D Mario games great, plus it adds plenty of its own flavor to the Mario stew thanks to its capture mechanic. Mario Odyssey can keep you busy for hours and hours if you want it to, and you probably will. Outside of a few instances where the camera took on a mind of its own, I can't think of a moment when I wasn't enjoying myself while journeying with Mario and Cappy.
  33. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    Super Mario Odyssey successfully brings the series up to date and opens it up to a new audience, while still retaining every ounce of its nostalgia and retro charm.
  34. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    In almost every way, the game acts as a love letter to fans of the 3D iterations of the Super Mario franchise. From the spectacular Kingdoms and all of their hidden secrets to the minute nods to past ventures and friends, the entirety of this adventure is a joyride from beginning to end – with countless hours that can be invested into the title long after the narrative has been completed. The formulaic changes have helped modernized a genre that has long been dormant, which is an immense feat in and of itself.
  35. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    New sidekick Cappy could have been just another annoying sidekick, but its inclusion only adds to the playfulness of Nintendo Switch’s first Mario adventure.
  36. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    Mario’s games have been around for almost as long as game consoles have been a thing, but thankfully, he’s always evolving. We rarely get the same Mario twice. Super Mario Odyssey delivers on that ongoing promise of originality and innovation: It distills the venerable series’ joyful, irreverent world and characters and best-in-class platforming action, and introduces a steady stream of new and unexpected mechanics. It’s all spun together into a generational masterpiece.
  37. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    Super Mario Odyssey takes everything that made its predecessors masterpieces of gaming and blends them together into an unforgettable, new and unique experience that packs an absurd amount of content and which will keep players clinging on to it for many, many wonderful hours to come. An absolute monument of a game that gets everything right and which comes down to not only one of the greatest games of this generation but one of the greatest games of all time.
  38. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    The wait is over; the pinnacle of 3D adventures has arrived in the form of Super Mario Odyssey. It beggars belief just how much Nintendo has packed into this latest outing, without compromising the core Mario goodness of the past. Just as with The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, the Mario series has now reached a special new level of greatness that will be hard to surpass in the future. The Nintendo Switch is fast becoming the hottest platform, crammed full of sublime quality gaming experiences like this fantastic new escapade.
  39. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    By jumping aboard the Odyssey, Mario takes us on a trip where await nothing but discoveries and wonders all along. By gathering elements from every game of the franchise, Nintendo expand the classic gameplay with Cappy's possession. Diverse, intelligent, colorful and incredibly long and surprising, the free exploration will satisfy both curious and hardcore gamers. Super Mario Odyssey sanctifies a 30-year-old series that still amazes us episode after episode.
  40. 100
    As someone who enjoys level-based Super Mario games more, I have to say that Odyssey blew me away. With the next Power Moon constantly within reach, the push forward is constant. Using Mario's expanded moveset, unique challenges are abound while trying to collect your next Power Moon. Even the lack of traditional power-ups doesn’t hurt the experience at all, as the team of Mario and Cappy offers all sorts of wonderful new abilities. The journey of this odyssey took me to all sorts of amazing worlds that I already find myself missing. Now that I've seen every bit of it, I look back on my adventure with a great smile. It is an incredible experience that I felt extremely compelled to complete, simply because I didn't want it all to end. Only the best games pull that feeling out of me, and this one did just that. Super Mario Odyssey is my favorite game on Switch by a long shot.
  41. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    It carried ginormous expectations, but somehow Nintendo has managed to leapfrog over the bar by a huge distance. Offering the most satisfying gameplay experience of any Mario game to date, Super Mario Odyssey is near-perfect.
  42. 100
    Super Mario Odyssey is the best game available on Nintendo Switch, and just might be my favorite game of the year. It isn’t just a masterclass of level and sound design, it’s a celebration of the Super Mario franchise, and one of helluva celebration to take part in.
  43. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    Super Mario Odyssey represents a shift in direction for Mario. For about a decade we had exceptional but tightly structured 3D series entries, but this new arrival's building blocks go back to Super Mario 64. It's a very modern take on 'sandbox Mario', however - Cappy and his abilities are key additions that freshen up the formula, and we have a sizeable and diverse set of lands to explore. Odyssey will, inevitably, now enter the discussions about the 'best' Mario games. This writer won't be crowning it as number one just yet, but it is nevertheless worthy of the discussion. Particularly in the second half and post-credits it takes on a life of its own, showcasing incredible design and development flair. It's also a wonderful showcase for the Switch, and could introduce a whole new audience to the wonders of Mario in three dimensions. For the veterans among us, it's yet another special release to remind us of why Mario is still gaming's number one.
  44. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    Not since Super Mario 64 has a Mario adventure had me this captivated, immersed or impressed. Super Mario Odyssey is Nintendo's finest Super Mario title yet, and easily the most impressive Nintendo Switch title available. With so much to see and do - long after you've dispatched Bowser - you'll be returning to the Odyssey for a long time. Essential for all Switch owners and worth buying a Switch for. It's that good. [Issue 9, Page 16]
  45. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    The pleasure of Super Mario Odyssey comes in the constant promise of something new. It is, in many ways, the greatest digital holiday you will ever take. An idea that Nintendo is very much aware of with the ever expanding wardrobe of travelling outfits, detailed maps for each Kingdom laid out like travel brochures and souvenirs that you can buy up with stage-specific coins. The variety, invention and sheer generosity on each trip is bewildering, an affirmation that Nintendo in this kind of exuberant form are absolutely peerless. A trip to savour. And not a second wasted.
  46. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    Super Mario Odyssey is bursting at the seams with creativity, as Nintendo plays with new ideas while also paying homage to their long history. Cappy's abilities are a perfect compliment to Mario's own, and there's a wonderful silliness and humour to their adventure as they visit a string of contrasting kingdoms that just beg you to find the secrets hidden around every corner. Simply put, Super Mario Odyssey is a masterpiece.
  47. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    Nintendo has managed, not once, but twice now in 2017 to take one of their beloved franchises, give it a breath of fresh air while still retaining the core of what made the series great in the first time. Super Mario Odyssey is a wonder and shows everyone why Mario is still king.
  48. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    A joyful celebration - and evolution - of the Super Mario series, that encapsulates all the fun and creativity of video gaming at its very best.
  49. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    Super Mario Odyssey is a masterpiece. It surprised me regularly, delighted me constantly, and smashed my expectations in ways I’d never have predicted. The deftly woven combination of nostalgic themes, intuitive gameplay, and incredibly inventive design make this not only the best Mario game to date, but one of the most joyful and compelling games ever made.
  50. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    It’s impossible to pinpoint a fault in Super Mario Odyssey, which both elegantly and eloquently surprises and calls back to its storied history. It’s a game full of surprises; one that plays with your expectations and supersedes them in almost every way. If you have a Switch (or are yet to get one), it’s simply essential.
  51. 100
    I’d usually count myself a completionist who’s only goal is to earn every single achievement possible, but Super Mario Odyssey showed me that there’s so much more to it than collecting things. Maybe I’ll revisit the wonder of the Cascade Kingdom and ride a Tyrannosaurus Rex. I could even play fetch with a shiba inu amongst the sand dunes, or bust out Mario’s infamous swimsuit and test my skills against an ornery octopus thirsty for revenge. The best part of getting to the game’s ending is the fact that it’s a journey of your own creation, and if you reflect on the game as a whole, it’s really a linear quest that somehow feels more freeing than the largest open-world game.
  52. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    A mix of the nostalgic, the fantastical, and the wonderfully bizarre, Mario's latest adventure provides more than a dozen tantalizing playgrounds to explore. With hundreds of collectibles, Kingdoms full of delightful details, and secrets waiting around every corner, Super Mario Odyssey is bound to keep players exploring long after the credits roll.
  53. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    This is another Mario all-time classic that we'll be remembering and celebrating for decades to come.
  54. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    Mario's latest outing is big, bold, and bursting with new ideas, and like Breath of the Wild, is another instance of Nintendo going above and beyond to redefine our expectations. It's a shining example of refined creativity, and another crown jewel for Switch that is without equal.
  55. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    Platforming perfection, full stop.
  56. Edge Magazine
    Oct 12, 2017
    100
    Like Breath of the Wild, Odyssey is a new entry in a long-running series that belies its age with sprightly invention, taking big risks with an established formula, and having all of them pay off handsomely. Mario might be getting on a bit, then, but a dinosaur? This astonishing adventure proves he's anything but. [Dec 2017, p.98]
  57. Oct 26, 2017
    99
    Super Mario Odyssey is a jewel that shines with perfect controls, fresh possibilities and gameplay variety. An experience filled with surprises and challenges to explore everywhere. All kinds of players will remember Oddyssey as one of the best entries in the series for generations to come.
  58. Oct 26, 2017
    98
    A true masterpiece, that brings perfect balance in difficulty, learning and exploration. Super Mario Odyssey pays homage to the whole saga, and the fun is never-ending thanks to the beautiful crafting of levels, full of secrets and challenges.
  59. Oct 26, 2017
    98
    Quibbles aside, Super Mario Odyssey is an absolute delight, and another Switch release that will have Nintendo fans debating which 3D Mario game is the best of them all. I still hang my hat on Super Mario Galaxy as the pinnacle of the series, but Odyssey and its wealth of gameplay styles and moons make it a close second.
  60. Oct 26, 2017
    98
    Super Mario Odyssey isn’t just the best platformer to come around in years, it’s also one of the most essential releases of the year. Period. A showcase for Nintendo’s development talent and Mario as an iconic character that can still deliver surprising and transformative experiences even after all these years. It’s a game that not for a second lags or starts to feel like more of the same. It rewards players in ways that we rarely get to see, and even when it’s over it begins anew and invites you to keep exploring, keep discovering, and keep reaching for the moon.
  61. Oct 26, 2017
    97
    Super Mario Odyssey is a true expression of joy: a vibrant explosion of colours, surprises, wonderful design and excellent gameplay. It's a perfect match between the past and the future: it makes you feel immediately at home, yet at the same time it's a constant offering of something new and exciting. If you were looking for an excuse to buy a Nintendo Switch, well, look no further.
  62. Oct 26, 2017
    97
    Super Mario Odyssey is the best 3D Mario game. This is the Mario game I’ve been wanting for for so long, and I’m going straight for 100% completion.
  63. Oct 26, 2017
    97
    Sandbox Mario is back in a game that feels as joyous as limitless. Explore, experiment and dare to try new things with the brilliant capture mechanic and a stunning move set that makes Mario shine again.
  64. Oct 26, 2017
    97
    Super Mario Odyssey is Mario's return to the 3D platform collecthaton gameplay. Exploring the game worlds and collecting countless Power Moons are its main objectives, while the game stays fresh by introducing all kindS of new creative ways to do so.
  65. Oct 26, 2017
    97
    Super Mario Odyssey is the rightful heir of Super Mario 64. It is a platform game full of surprises, secrets and wonderful levels. Original and astonishing, Super Mario Odyssey is a journey which will impress you the way only masterpieces can do.
  66. Oct 26, 2017
    97
    One of those games that you have to play without doubt. Fun, deep, full of secrets and beautiful. Nintendo has done it again, and now we all love Mario in every possible form.
  67. Nov 6, 2017
    96
    Super Mario Odyssey has a few flaws, but the end result is Mario’s grandest and best 3D adventure to date. There is so much to do and enjoy that this game should give players years of fun, even if they aren’t out to complete every single quest and grab every moon.
  68. Oct 31, 2017
    96
    Super Mario Odyssey feels like a new glove that fits like an old glove, the new high point of a decades-long evolutionary process that is so smooth, so finely-tuned, that playing it nearly feels like an extension of yourself. It creeps up on you, the scale and design of it all, in a way that often doesn’t dawn on you just how purely grand it is until you stop playing and reflect on your experience. In a year full to bursting of huge, great games, Super Mario Odyssey stands out by acknowledging what’s cool and works about games today. It trims all the fat and doubles-down on not a gameplay loop, but a gameplay flow that feels effortless the whole way through. Even when you lose, when a challenging bit sends you sailing into the Nintendo-y abyss, you just keep going. Super Mario Odyssey is here to remind us how uniquely compelling jumping and flipping around a colorful video game space is and lets us indulge as long as we can stand it.
  69. Oct 26, 2017
    96
    Mario is back with one of his best adventures yet – a fantastic game that reminds us why Nintendo is still relevant after 30 years. Pure fun, perfect control and one of the most generous and surprising endgames we’ve ever seen in a game like this.
  70. Nintendo Force Magazine
    Jan 7, 2018
    95
    Perhaps no past Mario game has ever elicited so many smiles as this, and even if every other winning aspect of its design were set aside, that reality alone would make it a masterpiece. [Issue #31 – January/February 2018, p. 39E]
  71. Nov 2, 2017
    95
    It's a world that feels huge at first, then small as you get to know it, and then huge again as you realize how fantastically dense it is with secrets and challenges. It gives you a simple set of tools and then asks you to do something different with them every ten minutes. Super Mario Odyssey is a fun game, an unoriginal observation that feels nonetheless vital in the modern gaming landscape. It is a game that tasks you with finding joy, and then lets you point yourself in the right direction. It is a game you should play.
  72. Nov 2, 2017
    95
    With the exception of some very occasional control frustrations, Super Mario Odyssey is a visual, auditory, and structural treat to play from start to finish for anyone at any skill level, and seems to delight in the player’s enjoyment. You will be hard-pressed to stop yourself from visiting the Odyssey over and over again.
  73. Oct 26, 2017
    95
    As I’m sitting here writing this review, all I want to do is play more. Even after the credits, there’s still so much to see and do. From the tight platforming, to its cute and peculiar world, Super Mario Odyssey is a delight from start to finish.
  74. Oct 26, 2017
    95
    Nintendo has once again redefined the platformer genre. Well known solutions have been perfected and the entire game is well designed and has a soul. Super Mario Odyssey is a game aware of its heritage and at the same time it proves that a good idea never gets old. A true masterpiece.
  75. Oct 26, 2017
    95
    Super Mario Odyssey simply breathes fun and excitement. It is not the most innovative Mario game of all time, but the amount of creativity and happiness that is put into this game makes up for that.
  76. Oct 26, 2017
    95
    An immersive gaming experience that will have you travelling through a plethora of kingdoms, with many secrets to discover and many opportunities to experience the unique features of the console. A game that is sure to make Miyamoto-san proud of the newer teams working on the Super Mario Universe.
  77. Oct 26, 2017
    95
    Super Mario Odyssey is an amazing experience for Mario fans, but even gamers that are not familiar with Nintendo's mascot will definitely enjoy this game. There is so much content to discover and all the greatest elements from 30 years of Mario come together in this excellent title.
  78. Oct 26, 2017
    95
    Super Mario Odyssey is a platformer masterpiece full of surprises, jokes and ideas, and a must have for any switch owner. Video game magic...Nintendo has created a modern classic.
  79. Oct 26, 2017
    95
    Super Mario Odyssey is an absolute must-have for everyone who has enjoyed a Mario game in the past. It's a celebration of the franchise, with all its wacky adventures and beautiful moments you have experienced with it, including all of Mario’s odd jobs, his 2D- and 3D adventures and much more.
  80. Oct 26, 2017
    95
    Mario Odyssey is an incredible game: is the infinite possibilities that a simple cap and some fantasy can bring to the evergreen Nintendo World.
  81. Oct 26, 2017
    95
    For a character nearing 40 years old, it’s amazing that Mario has remained not only a beloved character but one whose games are generally expected to be great. From that perspective, it’s no surprise that Super Mario Odyssey is, yes, a great game. But more than that, it’s a fantastic, even fundamental addition to Mario’s legacy. From a plumber to a doctor to a tennis star to, uh, a Goomba, Mario has endured. No, this will not be the last Mario game, but it is almost certain to be lauded as one of his best.
  82. Oct 26, 2017
    95
    With Super Mario Odyssey, Nintendo proves the 3D sandbox platformer is not only alive and well, but that it can continue to be evolved and surprise us, consume us and astonish us in clever and elegant ways.
  83. Oct 26, 2017
    95
    How Nintendo somehow keeps their lil’ platforming plumbing mascot relevant and exciting decades later is a mystery, but there’s no denying the company has delivered another Mario masterpiece for The Switch.
  84. Oct 26, 2017
    95
    Nintendo's streak of quality still remains unbroken with Super Mario Odyssey.
  85. Oct 26, 2017
    95
    There are so many new elements in Super Mario Odyssey, but in the end what actually strikes us is its ability to be fun in the usual elegant, essential and inevitable Mario way. If you want to run, jump, discover, fly… and keep on doing these (and more) things for hours and hours, Super Mario Odyssey is the game for you.
  86. Super Mario Odyssey is the perfect platform game. Also the best Mario game. It is a must for Nintendo Switch and reason enough to buy one.
  87. Games Master UK
    Nov 2, 2017
    94
    Perhaps the most charming Mario ever made, and a game that never forgets the plumber's proud past...With hundreds of Power Moons to unlock and some kickass secrets to discover - including the coolest end-game East egg we've ever seen - only BOTW can match Odyssey as the most must-have package on Switch. Mario's star has rarely shone brighter. [Dec 2017, p.56]
  88. Oct 26, 2017
    94
    Super Mario Odyssey takes something from every past 3D Mario, trying to improve it. When it succeeds, and it doesn't happen every time, Odyssey is, clear and simple, the best platform 3D ever made.
  89. Nov 17, 2017
    93
    It’s neither a revelation nor a reimagining of the good old series, just a really, really fun platformer without the usual drawbacks of this genre.
  90. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Dec 30, 2017
    92
    At a glance, Super Mario Odyssey is nothing but a peculiar game. After spending a few minutes with it, you find it oddly fun, and after an hour or two you simply fall in love with it. But even that is just the beginning: any time you think you’ve seen it all, Super Mario Odyssey will find a way to surprise and challenge you. [Issue#225, p.56]
  91. Oct 29, 2017
    91
    Super Mario Odyssey is an incredible adventure that every Mario fan and Switch owner needs to experience. Although it's not quite perfect, what's here is undeniably the next must-have Nintendo masterpiece.
  92. Dec 7, 2017
    90
    Nintendo has proved countless times that it can balance innovation and nostalgia like no one else, and Super Mario Odyssey is a great example. The hat completely transforms the gameplay, but at its core, it’s still really much a Mario game. It’s a game with many strengths and very few weaknesses.
  93. Nov 10, 2017
    90
    There are endless joys to discuss with Super Mario Odyssey. Being a huge fan of Mario 64, this game is a love letter for me. I enjoyed every minute I was playing it and cannot wait until I get some free time to return and continue collecting moons. Switch owners need this game, players without a Switch need to go buy one to play it. Nintendo knocks another one out of the park, and this may very well be their best year of games since the Super Nintendo.
  94. Nov 9, 2017
    90
    Super Mario Odyssey is a lovely experience from beginning to end. The sheer scope of the game can be a little overwhelming and there are some bumps you’ll encounter in your journey. If you’re searching for a solid experience on the Nintendo Switch beside The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, you should definitely take this odyssey with Mario.
  95. Nov 7, 2017
    90
    Cappy’s powers make for some fresh puzzle solving and a new line up of supporting bad guys have been added. Toss in a storyline that is totally bonkers, really all that matters is that Bowser has once again kidnapped Princess Peach, and you end up with an Odyssey for the ages.
  96. Nov 6, 2017
    90
    It's been a long time since I've lost myself in a game to the point that its jaunty tunes are running through my head throughout the work day. Super Mario Odyssey has done that and will continue to do that for a long time. There's plenty to see on this journey, so book a one-way ticket and enjoy the ride.
  97. Nov 6, 2017
    90
    Super Mario Odyssey may not reinvent the Mario formula, but it is a supremely satisfying adventure with a plethora of content and a penchant for the zany. This is a must own for Switch owners and fans of platforming.
  98. Nov 2, 2017
    90
    More so than any pop game this year, Super Mario Odyssey sees virtual space as a land of elating possibilities.
  99. Oct 31, 2017
    90
    Super Mario Odyssey is a joyous romp through the past, present and future of Mario's extensive history. The game is incredibly fun and charming, with interesting riddles and challenges at almost every turn. A few things could've been done a lot better (looking at you, motion controls and Broodals), but this is still a must-play for gamers of all ages and sizes.
  100. Oct 30, 2017
    90
    Super Mario Odyssey is exactly what we all expected, a great 3D Mario game. It doesn’t shake up the formula, but it nearly perfects it. This is the collect-a-thon platformer that people have been waiting for, a chance to bring the genre into the modern day gaming environment. All it took was a massive expansion of scope.
  101. Oct 30, 2017
    90
    I can’t think of another 2017 title that has given me as much pure delight as Mario Odyssey.
  102. Oct 26, 2017
    90
    Mario’s big debut on the Switch is a joy to experience. Its beautifully realized worlds, excellent platforming, admiration for series’ past and new gameplay mechanics make Super Mario Odyssey worthy of the portly plumber’s legacy.
  103. Oct 26, 2017
    90
    With hundreds of Power Moons to collect, an entire wardrobe of outfits that span Mario’s storied history, and no shortage of Easter eggs to uncover, Super Mario Odyssey is one of the most complete packages Nintendo has ever offered.
  104. Super Mario Odyssey is an absolute delight that will remind you why you started playing games in the first place.
  105. Oct 26, 2017
    90
    An inspired and creative jump & run adventure with funny transformations and remarkably clever hidden secrets. Overall the story mode is a little bit too easy for experienced Mario players, but nonetheless this is a tremendous new start for Nintendo's iconic hero - even though overall I still prefer the spheres of Super Mario Galaxy and its cool planet mechanics.
  106. Oct 26, 2017
    90
    In the first appearance of Super Mario on Switch, Nintendo revives all its 3D games of the past in one unmissable title.
  107. Nov 1, 2017
    87
    I love Super Mario Odyssey, but it isn't flawless. The kingdoms are mostly open and varied, and they encourage fun exploration. However, the main story and beginning of the game are a bit of a letdown. The postgame is where experienced players will find the most enjoyment. This is not the best Mario title, but it pushes Mario in a new and refreshing direction, and it may even develop into a Switch evergreen. There are plenty of things that I'd like to see rectified in the inevitable sequel.
  108. Oct 26, 2017
    85
    We were expecting a tremendous Mario, but in the end, Super Mario Odyssey is not as glorious as it appears. If it has undeniable qualities with well-oiled gameplay mechanics, it also displays technical issues and inequalities in the worlds we visited. Plus, the costumes that we earn are only cosmetic bonuses and the adventure ends a little quickly. But don't panic, Super Mario Odyssey is still a good episode and we've had fun with it.
  109. Nov 9, 2017
    80
    Aside from those issues and a cooperative mode that seems to exist purely to give a spectator something to do, I had a great time with Odyssey. It doesn’t feel like the massive leap forward that some of Mario’s earlier 3D outings have been, but its polish and spirit make it another must-play in the ever-increasingly impressive Switch library. Leave it to Nintendo to deliver us some blissful escapism in a year when a lot of us really need it.
  110. Oct 31, 2017
    80
    Mario’s first turn on the Switch is fun, but lacks the innovation and creativity of Nintendo’s best.
  111. Oct 27, 2017
    80
    For now, as a Mario game that continues the Switch's moves to blur the line between the portable and the home-based console, Super Mario Odyssey is a beautiful, rewarding example of what Nintendo has in store for the system.
  112. Oct 26, 2017
    80
    Super Mario Odyssey introduces several new gameplay mechanics to a beloved series, and delivers a colorful adventure that oozes with fun and nostalgia. It looks, sounds and plays just as great as expected, but the collection of power moons can sometimes feel a bit like a chore.
  113. Oct 26, 2017
    75
    Though a really neat game, Super Mario Odyssey is an utterly underwhelming adventure for every long-term Super Mario fan in existence. Unless Cappy brainwashed you. In that case, you are a satisfied zombie customer now. No, seriously, only a zombie would find a healthy challenge in this pleasant but disappointingly easy Super Mario Walk-in-the-park. Sorry - Odyssey.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 26, 2017
    If you have a Switch, get this game. If you don't have a Switch, get one, then get this game.
  2. Oct 26, 2017
    Super Mario Odyssey is a fantastic game that introduces Mario's ability to "capture" items and creatures around the world. It's filled to the brim with inventive kingdoms, superb gameplay, tons of secrets and so much more.
  3. Oct 26, 2017
    One of the most daring and influential game designs of all time makes a long overdue comeback in Mario's most madcap adventure yet. [Essential]
  4. Oct 26, 2017
    Odyssey is a playground of action game types, an endless buffet at the good kind of Sizzler, the one with the chicken wings and the cheese toast. It doesn’t allow you to get too reliant on any one set of moves, as another one is often available nearby.
  5. Oct 26, 2017
    It’s a pristine combination of all the directions this company has taken its icon in over the last several decades, cherry-picking the best traits from Mario’s many outings—and out into Nintendo’s wider oeuvre—and rolling them into an adventure that refuses to quit changing. This is a testament to the company’s enduring experimental nature and exacting eye for smart, intuitive game design, but after all these years of largely delivering on that reputation, could we really have expected anything less? [In Progress]
  6. Oct 28, 2017
    Super Mario Odyssey isn’t just good, it may well be my favorite mainline Mario game to date...It's brilliant.
  7. Oct 26, 2017
    It’s a testament to the sheer creativity underlying Odyssey that, even after watching the credits roll and playing for more than 24 hours, I still regularly come across things I haven’t seen before. (The game opens up significantly after you complete the story.) There are coins and moons to collect and tucked-away nooks to discover. There are many moments in Odyssey where it doesn’t necessarily look like a Mario game, but more like the squat plumber has been transported into some other virtual realm. But it always feels like Mario — because it never stops surprising you.
  8. Oct 26, 2017
    As one of the best Mario games ever created, Super Mario Odyssey is one of those special circumstances where it's okay to be a child again. There are so many beautiful, hilarious and impressive moments in this game, and they’re delivered to you with such relentless frequency and quality that it doesn’t just raise the bar: it possesses the bar and flings itself up into a tree.
  9. Nov 16, 2017
    A stunning game. Super Mario Odyssey is the best of the 3D Super Mario titles and a Game of the Year contender in a properly stacked year.
  10. Oct 26, 2017
    272 moons later, I've "beaten" Super Mario Odyssey, but it feels like I've only scratched the surface of Mario's latest, a breathlessly creative adventure equal parts surprising and bewildering—in a good way.
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6336 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2017
    10
    I am just lost for words. The spirit of Super Mario 64 and Super Mario Sunshine lives on in this game. It was as if I stepped into a portal toI am just lost for words. The spirit of Super Mario 64 and Super Mario Sunshine lives on in this game. It was as if I stepped into a portal to my childhood. I highly recommend the "single joy-con in each hand" motion control scheme. The motions controls feel so intuitive and really enhance the gameplay. Cappy serves as a great sidekick, with his boomerang and capture abilities providing a refreshing take on the classic 3D Mario Mechanics. Visually, it is a gorgeous game. It maintains 60 fps consistently in both mobile and docked. There seems to be a variety of different environments in this game, unlike Super Mario Galaxy and Sunshine. While those games followed a common theme, Odyssey takes influence from Super Mario 64 and Super Mario World in that there is a (Spoilers) desert world, ghost world. tropical world, metro world, etc. The music is phenomenal. I recommend that everyone use a headset to truly appreciate it. I had chills running down my spine once I heard the theme from the Switch Presentation Trailer for Odyssey. No other franchise has made as big of an impact on the gaming industry as Mario. He is the Micky Mouse of gaming. This game can be enjoyed by anyone. Enthusiast gamers. Father/Mother playing with his or her kids. Teenagers. Anyone. I had lost faith in Nintendo during the Wii U generation. They have absolutely blown me away with putting out masterpieces such as Breath of the Wild and Super Mario Odyssey. These 2 games make the Switchh worth it. I must also add that this year has been incredible for gaming. Besides Mario and Zelda, we had Persona 5, Cuphead, Horizon Zero Dawn, Nier, Nioh, Divinity. Instead of debating Game of the Years. We should declare 2017 as the Year of the Games. I hope everyone enjoys these games as much as I have. Full Review »
  2. Oct 27, 2017
    10
    Here we are, guys. The mostly-anticipated game for the Nintendo Switch and of course, as one of them, this year. Super Mario Odyssey attemptsHere we are, guys. The mostly-anticipated game for the Nintendo Switch and of course, as one of them, this year. Super Mario Odyssey attempts to bring new ideas to the table without going overboard and right away it just straight out worked. Sure the changes to certain Mario gameplay may be a huge hit-in-the-spot, but you can easily ignore all of this game's problems due to the way this game's presentation is being shown right when the game is being played. Just how many games do I need to give this very high score anyways? Full Review »
  3. Oct 27, 2017
    4
    This game was literally built for children, it was so easy to beat, you always have the advantage with cap on, allowing you to control otherThis game was literally built for children, it was so easy to beat, you always have the advantage with cap on, allowing you to control other AI was a great idea with such bad execution, new donk city was far the worst 3D rendition of a metropolitan city I've seen in the past recent years, the human AI character models look like human characters models from back in 2002, and I just can't get off how bad the anti-alliasing is...is just too distracting and it disconnects the player from feeling immersed, gameplay wise this game offers nothing new, its not trying to reinvent the wheel, the Cap mechanic was good on paper but giving you the control of almost all AI gives the player almost no challenge.... plus there's no lives in this game, the player gets no punishment for making mistakes making this game just too easy, if you're 10 yrs old this a great game for you, if you're a teen or adult this game is way too easy for you.... you might as well go play captain toads adventure at least that game has puzzles which gives you a bit more of a challenge. Full Review »