Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Oct 29, 2019
    85
    Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz HD is a very good remaster, in addition to being an excellent game. It's beautiful, fluid, has very interesting gameplay, almost flawless controls, and a rather dense content. In other words, it's an almost perfect experience. We highly recommend all veterans to replay this gem on recent platforms and all neophytes to go discover Super Monkey Ball with this opus. In the end, after seeing everything the title offers, we would still like to have a longer and more extensive "Main Game".
  2. Oct 29, 2019
    80
    The Super Monkey Ball franchise returns in HD along with 100 challenging levels, 10 mini-games that we can play with friends and new modes. If you have patience, you want a challenge and you can ignore its issues, this arcade title will be perfect for short gaming sessions.
  3. Oct 29, 2019
    80
    Super Monkey Ball Banana Blitz HD promises the old and trusted gameplay we know and love, but with an all new graphic layout that promises hours of fun.
  4. Oct 29, 2019
    80
    Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz HD is a good refresher to a franchise that was slowly falling into obscurity. While not being the heaviest hitter back in ‘06, the HD remake trims a lot of the fat and refines areas that were not as strong.
  5. Oct 30, 2019
    75
    Banana Blitz HD has a game proposal that caters to a 5 to 11 year old audience and is good for family play. Even with simple gameplay, the game fails due to the lack of camera control in classic mode and the absence of a local multiplayer in decatlhon mode.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 29, 2019
    The motion controls of the Wii original are stripped out for this remaster, leaving an entertaining if not quite excellent outing.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 27
  2. Negative: 12 out of 27
  1. Nov 1, 2019
    0
    Super disappointing. Game cube version, how I miss thee. No monkey punch, monkey target is a joke (you can't gain altitude by gaining speedSuper disappointing. Game cube version, how I miss thee. No monkey punch, monkey target is a joke (you can't gain altitude by gaining speed and pulling back. Pulling back only slows you down. You're consistently dropping out of the sky regardless of your speed) and the rest of the game just feels so lazy. Soooooo wish they would just reissue the original game cube version on switch. Super disappointed. Wish I hadn't gotten my hopes up or wasted 40 bucks. Booooo. Full Review »
  2. Oct 29, 2019
    9
    Super monkey ball has been a franchise that has some great and ok games, and after hearing that a new super monkey ball game was coming out, ISuper monkey ball has been a franchise that has some great and ok games, and after hearing that a new super monkey ball game was coming out, I was excited. I was able to get the demo on the switch, and it worked well, the controls were alright, and the stages would make you nervous since there are places without protection like rails or walls, but the game had some problems to it, but it's an alright game. Full Review »
  3. Nov 8, 2019
    2
    It's perhaps ironic how hard SEGA dropped the "ball" on this one.

    The return of the Monkey Ball franchise in a big way has been long
    It's perhaps ironic how hard SEGA dropped the "ball" on this one.

    The return of the Monkey Ball franchise in a big way has been long overdue, the games are still popular and the idea, while perhaps beginning to show its cracks, is still fresh and unique. Unfortunately, this particular entry in the series is very poor indeed.

    The choice to remake Banana Blitz was already a strange choice, being one of the weaker entries in the franchise it was a strange decision. But this "remake" is significantly worse than the original, already weak game. The visuals are pleasing and pop making the game a joy to look at, unfortunately actually looking at the game will likely cause nausea.

    The camera, or lack thereof, really makes this game bad. The redesigned levels are almost universally for the worse. The music is worse as well. Minigame selection is worse. Really everything is worse.

    Unless you desperately want to play as Sonic in a Monkey Ball game, do yourself a favour and play the original on the Wii. Or the better games on Gamecube.

    2/10
    Full Review »