Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Nintendo Force Magazine
    Jun 28, 2022
    100
    If you were a video game developer and you happened to have a time machine, and for some reason you decided to use that time machine to travel specifically back to visit me on a Saturday morning around 30 years ago, and then you asked my childhood self what the perfect video game to make would be, I'm pretty sure I would have invented Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder's Revenge on the spot. This game is the stuff of a young Turtles fan's dreams. [Issue #60 – July/August 2022, p. 68]
  2. Jun 28, 2022
    100
    Fun, intense, accessible, gorgeous to look at and with an addictive soundtrack, Shredder's Revenge not only boasts arcade and story modes, it also features a 6-player co-op, ensuring that everyone will have their fun punching, kicking and jumping around with some of pop culture's most memorable heroes. With the added touch of being able to play it anywhere, this is truly an indispensable game on everyone's Nintendo Switch.
  3. Jun 21, 2022
    100
    I couldn’t stop playing Shredder’s Revenge until I finished it, and the minute I did, I played through it again. And then I played through it one more time. And then I pulled my family in and we played through it once more. I keep firing it up to play my favorite stages when I’ve got a bit of free time. It’s an outstanding TMNT game, a jaw-dropping take on the Konami-style beat-em-up, and more pure goofy fun than I could ever have anticipated it to be.
  4. Jun 19, 2022
    100
    TMNT: Shredder’s Revenge not only recreates the joy of encountering a Ninja Turtles classic arcade game from back in the day but perfectly mixes in modern-day conveniences like advanced combo controls, a multitude of moves, and characters that genuinely feel like they play differently for a more varied experience. Combined with all the deep cuts to the original 1987 cartoon and a powerful soundtrack featuring many songs from surprising sources, you have a powerful love letter to a long-running franchise you’ll want to return to again and again.
  5. Jun 16, 2022
    100
    Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder's Revenge isn't just a great Turtles game for nostalgic fans. It's a perfect retro-style beat 'em up that's eager to innovate.
  6. Shredder’s Revenge achieves everything it set out to do, and will go down as an instant classic for its genre. No matter what era, whether it’s 1987, 1989 or 2022, it would be one of the finest, most exciting video game experiences of the year, honing an arcade formula as ageless as Turtles in time.
  7. Jun 20, 2022
    90
    Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder’s Revenge successfully does exactly what it sets out to achieve. By bringing the joyful taste of a familiar flavour while bringing people together for some simple and stylish wack-a-ninja fun. With so many little nods and callbacks to the history of the franchise, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder’s Revenge is a testament to the sheer amount of care and attention that’s resulted in a new arcade classic in the making. With Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Cowabunga Collection just around the corner, this is the missing volume of a fond series we all never knew we needed.
  8. Jun 15, 2022
    90
    Whether enjoyed with same-sofa pals or solo, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder’s Revenge is a supremely satisfying side-scroller that both rolls back the years and stays mindful of the needs and wants of today’s players. Each blow lands with substance, and every one of its 16 stages bristles with imagination and a palpable admiration of and respect for the source material.
  9. 90
    Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder's Revenge is so very far from being just a cheap nostalgia play; it’s a lovingly crafted, action-packed experience with fun and playful callbacks to classic Turtles games, a pantheon it will surely be joining. With three difficulty modes, 28 in-game achievements, and individual challenges for each stage, there’s no shortage of reasons to pick up a bo staff, hockey stick, or microphone and dive back in again and again. Only having a single save file for story mode is a bit of a drag, but the Arcade mode with online leaderboards offers another tantalizing avenue for further playtime. In short, if you’re a TMNT fan or love beat-’em-ups, you’ll surely dig the colorful and upbeat Shredder’s Revenge, especially if you can find a few other ninjas to kick back with.
  10. Jun 15, 2022
    90
    Two years in the making, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder’s Revenge is the best Turtles beat 'em up ever made, and a faster, better-looking, and more entertaining affair than even Streets of Rage 4. It looks delicious, sounds superb, and rekindles childhood memories beyond all expectation, time-warping you back to 1987. Its combat system is so much fun to mine that you feel compelled to keep coming back to try new strategies, and with its awesome multiplayer the experience evolves again and again. Like any beat 'em up, it does get repetitive as you enter the last third, but that’s more a fault of the concept than the game. Our only regret is that we didn’t use anywhere near enough puns in this review, so let’s close by saying Shredder’s Revenge is an unprecedented shell-ebration.
  11. Jun 15, 2022
    90
    At its core, Shredder's Revenge feels incredibly similar to titles like Turtles in Time and The Hyperstone Heist. This isn't a revolutionary reimagining, but that's probably not what any TMNT fan wanted to see, myself included – it's been more than 30 years since those games released, and it was long past time to play the hits. Shredder's Revenge is over too quickly, but TMNT fans will be grinning from ear to ear right until the credits roll.
  12. Jun 15, 2022
    87
    Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder's Revenge is another classic brawler with updated mechanics. Each character is unique and playing them in co-op mode is much better. It is a game that does not disappoint, it is a love letter to classic Beat 'em up games.
  13. Jun 21, 2022
    85
    Shredder's Revenge is more than an homage to Turtles in Time. Is probably the best TMNT game and a fresh and modern beat'em up. Arcade machines are still alive in games like this.
  14. Jun 20, 2022
    85
    Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder’s Revenge hits that nostalgic sweet spot while offering something new and challenging. There may be a few glitches and interface issues, but the gameplay is super fun, particularly in multiplayer mode. Fans should be playing this game right now.
  15. Jun 24, 2022
    80
    Even as a shorter game and with limited character leveling, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder’s Revenge is arguably the best beat-em-up and TMNT experience ages. If you have a buddy or several to tackle the forces of foot clan evil with, jump on this one.
  16. 80
    If you’ve ever played a TMNT beat-em-up, you’ll get a lot out of Shredder’s Revenge, especially with additional players on hand. If you’ve never played a TMNT beat-em-up, Shredder’s Revenge would be an excellent place to start.
  17. Jun 15, 2022
    80
    Shredder's Revenge was expected at the turn and it never disappoints. A love letter to the beat'em up (understand action game against several opponents) of the 16-bit generation (Super Nintendo, Mega Drive...), it pays homage to Turtles in Time by relying on a gameplay of exception and a simply masterful achievement. Beautiful, colorful, well animated and accompanied by catchy music, the title of Tribute Games multiplies the nods to the franchise and will delight all those who despaired of rediscovering the sensations of yesteryear. Yes, some aspects of the game are classic, but the adventure is so exhilarating and dynamic that we want more! Unquestionably the best Ninja Turtles game since Turtles in Time. Fans will be thrilled.
  18. Jun 15, 2022
    80
    Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder's Revenge confirms, as far as Beat 'em Ups are concerned, the good form of DotEmu. A classic exercise that knows how to bring the right novelties without betraying the most conservative canons of the genre, which is excellent in terms of gameplay, and which is crowned as one of the best videogames ever made about the Ninja Turtles. Moreover, it is just as much fun to play alone as it is with others. A sure value for fans of the genre and fans of the franchise alike.
  19. Jun 15, 2022
    80
    Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder’s Revenge looks to bring back the glory days of Konami’s side-scrolling arcade beat ’em ups and home hits based on everyone’s favorite young green ninjas. In its visuals and gameplay, Dotemu and Tribute Games have not only matched those retro classics that they’re paying homage to here, but perhaps even surpassed them. Sadly, this trip through time is somewhat marred by inconsistent audio and an Arcade mode that feels more like a slog than a thrill.
  20. Jun 30, 2022
    75
    TMNT: Shredder's Revenge is one of the best beat 'em ups today, but it lacks repetition and extra elements that could have been added right at launch - in addition to crossplay.
  21. Jun 15, 2022
    75
    Shredder's Revenge could be many things: it could be a beat 'em up capable of modernizing the genre, a tribute to the past of the series or a caciarone party game. Since he tried to be a bit of everything, he was unable to convince us in every respect, although he was still very pleasant to play. The cooperative mode, for its part, is an absolute spectacle and more generally we are talking about an experience able to entertain (and a lot ...) without, however, with that degree of brilliance that we would have desired.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jun 16, 2022
    A brilliant beat'em up with a funny co-op action and amazing pixel art. [Recommended]
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 62
  2. Negative: 6 out of 62
  1. Jun 17, 2022
    10
    Отличная игра! Ощущается как логическое продолжение Turtles in Time на Super Nintendo. Множество деталей в окружении, хорошая боевая система иОтличная игра! Ощущается как логическое продолжение Turtles in Time на Super Nintendo. Множество деталей в окружении, хорошая боевая система и отличная музыка. Full Review »
  2. Jun 25, 2022
    10
    This is a perfect Beat Em Up! The peek of it's genre! The Ultima nostalgia drug! The soundtrack is incredible! The graphics are as perfect asThis is a perfect Beat Em Up! The peek of it's genre! The Ultima nostalgia drug! The soundtrack is incredible! The graphics are as perfect as anything else! I see you guys all online to kick some shell!!! Full Review »
  3. Jun 24, 2022
    10
    Словно вернулся в детство. У меня Нет слов! Один восторг! Жду продолжения! Большое спасибо!Словно вернулся в детство. У меня Нет слов! Один восторг! Жду продолжения! Большое спасибо!