Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Sep 11, 2019
    91
    With online tournaments to partake in, new modes like Tetris Invictus where only the elite can compete, and a thriving community of fans logging in every day to play, Tetris 99 might very well represent the pinnacle of the series. It would be nice to have a better variety of tunes to listen to (although themes help alleviate this problem), and the issues with the UI can occasionally make it slightly hard to see what’s happening on-screen, but overall any Switch owner should consider giving Tetris 99 a whirl. This is brilliant game design that deserves the acclaim that has been lavished on it up to this point.
  2. NF Magazine
    Aug 28, 2019
    90
    The best reason to subscribe to Nintendo Switch Online right now! [Issue #39 – May/June 2019, p. 21]
  3. Jun 9, 2019
    90
    If you’re after a royale-y good time you should look much farther than Tetris 99.
  4. May 23, 2019
    80
    This is what Nintendo need to keep on doing to ensure subscription to Nintendo Switch Online stays worthwhile, however, this is just Tetris with a very addictive online element, and can quickly wane once the initial honeymoon period is over. Those who really enjoy basic Tetris will be right at home with this iteration. It is fast, frantic and somewhat unpredictable gameplay is what makes it so addictive in the first place - for others, the repetition might kick in after some time.
  5. Mar 25, 2019
    80
    Barebones and no-frills it may be, but Tetris 99 is the best playing Tetris game in years and ultimately well worth downloading if you’re a Nintendo Switch Online subscriber.
  6. Mar 5, 2019
    90
    A brutally singular and unexpectedly brilliant subversion of what you know about Tetris and battle royale, if you’re a Switch Online subscriber, you absolutely need to download it.
  7. Feb 27, 2019
    80
    Tetris 99 is a convincing mix of the classic Tetris formula and battle royale mechanics.
  8. Feb 25, 2019
    87
    An eternal classic with a twist that makes it new again. This is the way to renew a franchise, well played Tetris.
  9. Feb 24, 2019
    80
    Tetris 99 is an original way of playing a classic puzzle game. The battle royale'esque concept works out perfectly fine for a game like Tetris.
  10. Feb 24, 2019
    80
    My one solitary victory in Tetris 99 so far had me dancing around the house with glee, as I twisted blocks into ill-matching holes at the very top of the well in a blind panic until my opponent fell milliseconds before me. I took it though, believe me, right before jumping back in for another round.
  11. Feb 22, 2019
    85
    When a developer makes a solid evolution of a legendary game as Tetris and triumphs in any unexplored and new field, you deserve all the praise from the community. Arika has done it again, and Tetris 99 becomes one of the biggest Tetris games in the XXI Century.
  12. Feb 21, 2019
    85
    Tetris 99 is the battle Royale you didn’t know you wanted. It’s much deeper than it looks, but it also is accessible. If you have a Nintendo Switch Online subscription, give it a try.
  13. Feb 21, 2019
    100
    If you’re a Nintendo Switch Owner there’s no real reason for you to not download this title. It’s already a Game of the Year Contender.
  14. Feb 20, 2019
    80
    Tetris 99 may not be a proper battle royale game, but it taps into the same emotional well, where a large number of players vying for supremacy creates an ever-present intensity that's difficult to shake. Add that layer to a game that's plenty capable of instilling tension on its own, and you've got a riveting experience that even at its worst is still a game very much worth playing. There's obvious room for improvement, but that's the last thing on your mind when the pieces start falling and the players start dropping.
  15. 90
    Tetris 99 is a game absolutely worth enjoying, and at the low price of absolutely nothing, there is little reason not to give it a download.
  16. Feb 20, 2019
    85
    Tetris 99 founds its strength on the simple and addictive structure of the original puzzle, but succeeds in bringing something new and exciting with the addition of the battle royale structure.
  17. Feb 19, 2019
    85
    Tetris 99 is a maniacally intense battle royale that forces you to make strategic decisions beyond just where to drop your next piece. This is Tetris on steroids, where a good run can quickly turn into a disaster and a bad run can turn into a surprising comeback. There’s a lot of luck involved, which can lead to some unfair-feeling knockouts, but it’s quick and easy to jump back in. This nerve-wracking and utterly delightful take on one of the greatest games of all time feels perfect on Switch, and on its own it justifies the $20 annual cost of the Nintendo Switch Online subscription.
  18. Feb 19, 2019
    80
    Tetris 99 improves an already near-perfect game and proves that battle royale can transcend genres, but it is held back by Nintendo Switch Online.
  19. Feb 19, 2019
    85
    Perfectrly adapted to the Battle Royale genre, this Tetris 99 shines by the intensity and speed of its fights. Those are violent, tactical and really fast to play : what makes the game a must have.
  20. Feb 18, 2019
    80
    Tetris and battle royale turn out to be a perfect match with probably the best multiplayer version of the game ever made.
  21. Feb 18, 2019
    85
    Tetris 99 is a pleasant surprise, and is my favorite content offered by the Nintendo Switch Online service to date. The idea of playing Tetris against 98 other players at once seems ludicrous but is fun in practice and delivers intense moments just like when you’re among the final few in a battle royale game.
  22. Feb 18, 2019
    74
    For a quick game this “Blockbattle Royale” is good choice, but after that it becomes too tedious too soon.
  23. Feb 18, 2019
    80
    As a competitive and quite frantic game, Tetris 99 is the exact opposite of Tetris Effect. And it's a very good game too. It's not the kind of experience you play to feel more peaceful. When you engage in the only available mode, you want to be the last survivor. And if you're not, you go for another shot. And another. It can last forever because Tetris 99 is just so addictive.
  24. Feb 16, 2019
    80
    Tetris 99 is pretty much what-you-see-is-what-you-get, and I think that’s what makes it work so well. There’s no need for complex battle systems or extra modes; no one asked for this game, but here it is at no extra cost, so it manages expectations well by giving just one, solid game mode. You really have nothing to lose and everything to gain by getting into Tetris 99.
  25. Feb 16, 2019
    80
    Tetris 99 is a little stroke of genius. Nobody felt the need, but now that there is - and it's free - there is the risk of not being able to do without it.
  26. Feb 15, 2019
    90
    The complete oddball of the family, Tetris 99 offers a truly unique way to play the tried-and-tested classic, even if the overall package feels a little lightweight. Playing live against 98 others is chaotic, and the action feels fast, precise, and wonderfully addictive. It’s seriously difficult, too – we’d fancy our chances in Fortnite over this any day – and we’re impressed with the fact that it's forced us to play the game with a completely different approach to our usual slow-and-steady ways. Signing up for Nintendo Switch Online just to play this game might be a bit of a stretch, but if you’re already a member, what are you waiting for? It’s free, and it might just become your next favourite time sink.
  27. Feb 14, 2019
    80
    Tetris 99 is chaotic, ridiculous, and a little barebones, but it's also a damn good game of Tetris.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 15, 2019
    Tetris 99 is more than a classic game with a bunch of strangers piling on. It's a tantalizing (and surprising) taste of new game design potential, where the cloud is the limit.
  2. Feb 21, 2019
    I usually find Tetris to be this calming experience that lets me hyper-focus on something and Tetris 99 makes me feel like I’m always scrambling in a way that, sure, is exciting but not something I want to chill with long term. Thankfully, there are plenty of ways to enjoy Tetris right now.
  3. Feb 15, 2019
    I thought I was good at Tetris, but Tetris 99 showed me my true self: just decent at Tetris.
  4. We’ll likely revisit Tetris 99 sometime later when these features get added, but for now I’d still recommend downloading it and giving it a try. “Free” is a pretty tough price to beat, and given how many hours I’ve already sunk into the world’s weirdest battle royale, I can still say there’s a lot of fun to be had in what little Tetris 99 has to offer.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 167
  1. Feb 14, 2019
    10
    tetris is the most sold video game of all time. if you consider that fortnite is one of the most downloaded, you have a beautiful combination.tetris is the most sold video game of all time. if you consider that fortnite is one of the most downloaded, you have a beautiful combination. tetris battle royale Full Review »
  2. Feb 13, 2019
    10
    Goty!
    Crackdown3 Killer.
    Se esse jogo tirar nota menor que crackdown3 eu gravo video meu dando o rabo e posto no XavierVideos.
  3. Feb 20, 2019
    4
    An interesting (if not funny) concept, but the controls are not customizable to each player's likening and the concept of attacking otherAn interesting (if not funny) concept, but the controls are not customizable to each player's likening and the concept of attacking other players is too confusing for a game so fast-paced. If the controls were more playable and more satisfying, maybe I could get past the player interaction problem. Full Review »