Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 95
    For those willing to invest in playing through or reading into the first two entries, Trails of Cold Steel 3 is an unmissable experience. RPG fans of all kinds are sure to fall for this love letter to the genre. Meaningful side-quests, an engaging combat system, and a story that makes something amazing out of what could easily be a simple routine: these elements represent only a fraction of Cold Steel 3's achievements. The performance isn't flawless, but portability and lengthy RPGs go hand-in-hand, making this a must-own title on Switch.
  2. Jul 7, 2020
    91
    Despite some hiccups, the Switch port of The Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel III is an overall solid version of a wonderful RPG experience. The more people who get the opportunity to try the Cold Steel series out as a result of this Nintendo Switch port, the better!
  3. Jun 29, 2020
    87
    The Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel 3 is an excellent role-playing game of classic style, absolutely unmissable for the veterans of the saga. Everyone else may find themselves overwhelmed by excessive references, compromising the experience.
  4. Jun 26, 2020
    86
    The Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel III is a narratively rich role-playing game, with deep and well-drawn characters and stories ranging from epic to tragic, without dwelling too much on stereotypes, an almost physiological element of this genre. Too bad for the absence of the first two chapters in Nintendo Switch's game library. Though exhaustive and rich in detail, in fact, the various summaries in the start screen can not make up for the lack of "playful experience" that only a direct use can return.
  5. Jul 6, 2020
    83
    There is a reason the Trails series is held in such high regard by a large portion of the JRPG audience – their worldbuilding is second to none, the scope admirable for such a small development team. Trails of Cold Steel III is no different, continuing the legacy of the prior games despite being a little too similar to Cold Steel I in some regards. The battle system stands out as one of the more engaging and flexible I’ve ever experienced in the genre, and I simply cannot wait to get my hands on Cold Steel IV later this year. That said, I do feel for Switch owners keen to dip their toe into the world of Trails, as this is not the most ideal place to start.
  6. Jul 10, 2020
    82
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Jun 30, 2020
    80
    Trails of Cold Steel III is another great port to add to Nintendo Switch's library, but if you haven't played the previous two games (not available on Switch), you can miss important story details. If that's not the case, be ready for a long adventure that will leave you wanting more... and in the middle of an interesting cliffhanger.
  8. Jun 27, 2020
    80
    Trials of Cold Steel III is another excellent addition to a franchise that gains so much of what makes it absorbing from the huge amount of background detail and world-building that's been achieved in earlier entries in the series. Newcomers should be aware that taking the time out to play Trials of Cold Steel I and II is advised to get the absolute maximum amount of enjoyment out of this one but, even if you're jumping in fresh, there's still plenty to love here once you find your feet. With a massive cast of well-written characters and tons of excellent combat and exploration spread across its epic running time, this is a top-notch addition to the Switch's library of JRPGs.
  9. Jun 26, 2020
    80
    All in all, I had a fun time revisiting Trails of Cold Steel III on Switch. I still wonder who this release is even actually for, given how it's hard for me to recommend newcomers play this, and most fans who really wanted this would likely have bought it on PS4 last year. Even with the issues, due to my preferences, I find this to be my favorite way to play the game.
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Jun 30, 2020
    9
    This is a complete experience for JRPGs fans, the combat system, quests, history and characters are all awesome, but the graphics isn't worthThis is a complete experience for JRPGs fans, the combat system, quests, history and characters are all awesome, but the graphics isn't worth of this current generation, and the switch version has many problems. Despite of this is a must have for any fan of the JRPG genre, and one of the best games of nintendo switch. Full Review »
  2. Jul 9, 2020
    10
    This is a good PS4 to Switch port. Framerate is stable with only minor graphical adjustments (aliasing). The game itself lends itself well toThis is a good PS4 to Switch port. Framerate is stable with only minor graphical adjustments (aliasing). The game itself lends itself well to portable play, which is how I prefer to experience these games after playing the first two on PS Vita. Full Review »