• Publisher: Nicalis
  • Release Date: Oct 10, 2017
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
Buy On
  1. Nov 2, 2017
    90
    Tiny Barbarian DX may look like just another indie platformer on the surface, but it is so much more than that.
  2. Oct 19, 2017
    90
    Whether you’re an older gamer like me chasing the experience we had in our youth, or a newcomer to the retro genre, it’s worth your time. You’re in for hours of entertainment from one playthrough alone, and even more, if you’re a completionist that craves finding all the secrets a game has to offer. So do yourself a favor: load up the eShop (or Steam if you don’t have a Switch), search for Tiny Barbarian DX, click the ‘buy’ button and settle in for a great time.
  3. NF Magazine
    Jan 7, 2018
    85
    It can be easy to lose track of smaller releases like Tiny Barbarian DX, but do yourself a favor and make sure that doesn't happen here. [Issue #31 – January/February 2018, p. 37E]
  4. Nov 6, 2017
    80
    Tiny Barbarian DX is an extremely enjoyable action-platformer that has lasting challenge to it. The refined mechanics and the way the story unfolds is most of why this is so much fun to play. It may not win any beauty contests and the lasting appeal comes up a bit... short because of lacking incentives. Thankfully, the local two-player co-op rounds out the value making this a pretty fun game at parties. Tiny Barbarian DX may not be as memorable or as appealing as the likes of Shovel Knight or Hyper Light Drifter, but it is every bit as good and is clearly a product of a lot of passion put into it. The barbarian-fantasy sub-genre just does not click with people like it did once upon a time in the 1980s and it seems most gamers refuse to play a 2D action title that is not a Metroidvania derivative. Tiny Barbarian DX will most certainly satisfy anyone looking for a thrilling and focused 2D sword 'em up
  5. Oct 20, 2017
    80
    Much bigger than I ever expected, and a joy to play from beginning to end. It’s a fantastic throwback to the days of 2D platformers in which character was just as important as a sky high difficulty curve. You’ll die, die and then die again, but you’ll only ever lose a minute or so of progress, keeping you going back for more.
  6. 80
    Although the artwork is very pretty and the gameplay feels good, there really isn't anything too ground-breaking here. Playing through the game really made it feel much more of a throwback title rather than a new boundary-pushing adventure. This in no way means that the game is boring or that there aren't any surprises, just more of a tried and true experience. If you are longing for some retro action, this game's got it all. The beautiful art, killer soundtrack and punishing difficulty really help the game deliver on what the developer set out to make, a solid action-platformer.
  7. Nov 2, 2017
    76
    Tiny Barbarian DX is a lot of fun, uncomplicated, challenging and yet hard to put down. It’s perfectly suited to the Switch in both handheld and TV mode. Whilst it’s not one of the cheapest games available on the Switch it is good value for money in terms of its overall quality and length. I would highly recommending snagging the physical release if you can as you also get some neat extra goodies.
  8. Oct 12, 2017
    70
    At its budget retail price we found Tiny Barbarian DX to be a bit light on the content side, as the game can be completed in six hours or less, depending on skill levels. If you're going to pick this one up we recommend skipping the eShop download and going for the physical edition as it at least contains some cool stuff - as Nicalis is becoming known for - to add value to your purchase.
  9. Oct 11, 2017
    70
    Tiny Barbarian DX is a great little retro-inspired platformer that riffs on the likes of Donkey Kong Country, but it suffers from repetition and a lack of inspiration at times.
  10. Oct 11, 2017
    68
    Tiny Barbarian DX is a decent take on retro 2D action games. Plus, you can play it with a friend. However, the frustration factor is high and its linear campaign will make you wish there was more than just traversing from point A to point B.
  11. Nov 10, 2017
    60
    Tiny Barbarian DX is clearly a tribute to the 8 and 16-bit era of action platformers and it's a competent game at that, thanks to very sharp controls and a good lifespan. Where it fails is on its charisma, or lack thereof, as its levels turn out to be too generic and its difficulty level can be way too high for many players, not to mention its relative lack of content beyond the main campaign mode.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 26, 2017
    It’s more expensive than the vast majority of indie games: even Shovel Knight, which offers significantly more content. What it does is entertaining, then, but at the moment it’s far too expensive for what it offers.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Oct 31, 2017
    8
    In an indie gaming market saturated with retro-styled 2D platformers, Tiny Barbarian DX stands out with its stellar pixel art, lengthy andIn an indie gaming market saturated with retro-styled 2D platformers, Tiny Barbarian DX stands out with its stellar pixel art, lengthy and thematically varied episodic pulp adventures, blood pumping soundtrack, and couch co-op. The bosses are extraordinary, the platforming is challenging, and the game is very speed-runner and score-chaser friendly, ensuring high replay value. If you've ever wanted to play a Mega Man 2-like game as Conan the Barbarian, this is what you've been waiting for. Full Review »
  2. Feb 1, 2018
    7
    First thing first. This is a very challenging game which I am not necessarily used to. I almost quit a good 5-6 times (3 times during theFirst thing first. This is a very challenging game which I am not necessarily used to. I almost quit a good 5-6 times (3 times during the ''Final Battle'' boss/3 bosses in one after all). I got about 40% of the crystals (did not really explore the worlds). It is a simple (no new abilities, simple story, etc.), but well crafted game. It took me about 12 hours to complete it, but I probably died 400 times lol The soundtrack is actually pretty good and the bosses were average. I would recommend Tiny Barbarian DX to any gamer who likes platformer and who is looking for a challenge. My score would be 7.5 out of 10, but I could only chose between 7 and 8. Full Review »