Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Jun 21, 2021
    70
    Turnip Boy Commits Tax Evasion is a cute little game that’s over way too quickly. While this means that a lot of its questions aren’t answered and its mechanics are underutilized, what’s here is still a very enjoyable ride with an adorable protagonist (that may need a calculator or two).
  2. 70
    Turnip Boy Commits Tax Evasion has some issues with controls and optimization on Switch, but it's a solid enough Zelda-like with adorable designs and hilarious writing.
  3. Jun 8, 2021
    68
    Funny Zelda clone with outlandish characters and crafty items. But it lacks depth as well as challenge – and is over quite quickly.
  4. Nintendo Force Magazine
    Oct 6, 2021
    65
    The biggest issue with the game is its brevity: I knocked it out in an afternoon, and was surprised because it seemed like an RPG of sorts. There were also several instances where I thought areas would open up after a boss battle, but the game blocks off areas for humor, almost teasing the player into thinking the adventure is bigger. [Issue #53 – July/August 2021, p. 23]
  5. 65
    The premise of Turnip Boy Commits Tax Evasion is a solid one, and it should be quirky and unique enough to stand out, but it’s hard not to feel let down by what’s on offer. The lack of depth and content are noticeable, and any kind of post-game or replay value—especially without a map—don’t contribute enough to make this a clear recommendation. I want to like this game more than I did, and while I enjoyed Turnip Boy Commits Tax Evasion well enough, the experience is over far too soon. It would seem that Turnip Boy got off light this time. Must have been for time served or good behavior.
  6. Aug 16, 2021
    60
    A fun little game, but far too short and without any challenge at all. Do you want to relax and gaze upon lovely illustrations? Don’t hesitate. But if you want to actually play a game, look elsewhere.
  7. Apr 27, 2021
    60
    Turnip Boy is an attractive, accessible Link to the Past-like with some nice touches and an original premise, but its execution provides nothing new and it’s over very quickly. It’s Great for a short burst of handheld action, though.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Apr 26, 2021
    6
    Underwhelming variety, dialogue, and length when compared to the price tag. The gameplay seemed like it would be reminiscent of the originalUnderwhelming variety, dialogue, and length when compared to the price tag. The gameplay seemed like it would be reminiscent of the original Legend of Zelda games. This game is extremely simplistic. The combat is super basic, never adopting any kind of range attacks, unless the bombs are explicitly laid out for you. The water can feature can feel a bit unnecessary, sometimes to the point of it seeming like an artificial game lengthener. The most compelling part of the gameplay is the portal gun, but the game being in a top down 2D perspective, its impact on the gameplay is minimal. The result of this is extremely surface level puzzling. Certainly not bad enough to keep me from 100% completing this game, but enough that I mostly felt on autopilot. The main praise I hear for this game is its comedic writing. While this game *can* be genuinely funny at points (for some reason it never gets old when someone hands Turnip boy an important piece of paper and he immediately rips it in half), a lot of the "attempts" at humor are lazy and overly dependent on references. There's a very out of place JoJo reference that amounts to nothing gameplay wise. There's a random character that will just go into the navy seal copypasta completely unprovoked. So much of what I'm supposed to find funny about this game is "you know that thing? well we know it too." I'm not a huge believer in length = price tag, as I feel it incentivizes developers to drag out a game, but $15 for a 4 hour game better be Firewatch caliber, and nothing of this game is to that standard.

    The main success of this game is getting me excited to see what is in store for Snoozy Kazoo. The high price tag is a lot easier to swallow for small, growing, indie studios than it would be for a bigger company. I can tell a lot of passion into this, and a lot of attention to detail is evident in how seamless it is to progress the plot. They built a small little world that is compelling and draws intrigue. A lot of games do backtracking poorly, but Turnip Boy does it in a way that is time efficient, and serves to make the different parts of the map more deeply ingrained into my memory, rather than feeling like a chore.

    Unless money is tight, I still recommend picking this game up. I played it on the Nintendo Switch, because it seemed like it would be right at home in Nintendo's library and that it would be a casual game to play away from my desk. Unfortunately, I would probably recommend you get this on Steam as the performance dips when going between rooms and the button layout for the Switch version is *still* mapped to the Xbox controller instead of the Switch controllers (probably the most unforgiveable aspect of the Switch port. Come on guys, this shouldn't be hard to fix).

    Bottom line: a fun short, derivative, simple romp that feels slightly overpriced, but I'm still excited for the future of Snoozy Kazoo.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 28, 2021
    10
    Cute and hilarious Zelda like game. The only problem I had with it is that it was to short. I wish it was longer, but I still had a great time.
  3. Jul 2, 2021
    9
    I really genuinely enjoyed my time with this game! Don't expect a long adventure. I completed the entire thing in a little over 2 hours, butI really genuinely enjoyed my time with this game! Don't expect a long adventure. I completed the entire thing in a little over 2 hours, but all of those two hours were spent having a lot of fun. The dialogue was often genuinely funny, and really cute throughout. I will say the Switch version feels poorly optimized. There's pretty consistent frame drops, but the game isn't difficult enough that it's ever really an issue. I was always excited to see what came next. Also ending credits song slaps super hard. Full Review »