Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. 100
    But, like I've said, those nifty puzzles are just the jumping-off point for what makes this such a remarkable, memorable experience. A clever game of unloading boxes would have been enough to make Unpacking worth playing, but it's the way it weaves its beautiful story through those puzzles that makes it truly sublime.
  2. Nov 1, 2021
    100
    To make a process that is usually so mundane into something so magical makes Unpacking a must play.
  3. Nov 10, 2021
    95
    I started Unpacking mostly expecting an interesting puzzle game about item placement and ended up with a story and protagonist I cared about. The art is beautiful, the world detailed, and the ambient sound of simple things, like a refrigerator running, put you in the world. Beyond minor woes, Unpacking does everything you’d want in a puzzle game and then some.
  4. Nov 10, 2021
    90
    Unpacking manages to do several things very well, all at the same time. It’s a touching story told through interaction, it provides the creative play space of a great dollhouse game, and it deftly applies established game design ideas from completely different genres. Its only real shortcoming is the repetition that is a necessary byproduct of landing its message. Effort has gone into making the controls satisfying on Switch, and the visual and sound design are delightful throughout, making Unpacking, like any sane person’s cutlery, absolutely top-drawer.
  5. Nov 3, 2021
    90
    When Animal Crossing: New Horizons released around the time people were going into lockdowns across the globe, a lot of people praised the way it helped people. Unpacking is exactly that for me right now with so many long games and deadlines. It has been a perfect game to dip into as a break from longer and more stressful games. While the gameplay might be too simple for some, Unpacking has managed to make something as mundane as arranging furniture and items be a lot of fun. It also helps that Unpacking on Nintendo Switch makes great use of the system’s features.
  6. Nov 1, 2021
    90
    That's what makes Unpacking such a treat. I peered into the life of someone else and saw myself. It compelled me to look back on my own experiences, the good and the bad, through the simple act of unpacking the contents of their life. Unpacking may be a zen puzzle game that's just relaxing for some, but for me it was a more profound experience that I'll never forget. Sometimes we put our past into proverbial boxes; ripping off the tape and rediscovering what we hid away can be cathartic and illuminating.
  7. Nov 1, 2021
    80
    If this review has sounded a little contemplative, it’s a testament to some clever design that invites you into that headspace. Arranging the protagonist’s collection of belongings is a subtle but thoughtful way of telling a person’s life story without saying a word, and the act of doing so, as well as how you choose to do it, might just end up saying a bit about yourself. Unpacking is a calming, enjoyable journey through time that is as satisfying as it is self-reflective. Much like every object you unpack, this game itself is simple and unassuming at face value. The sentimentality you choose to attach to it, however, is up to you.
  8. 65
    Unpacking on Switch doesn’t quite stick the landing of the zen experience it aspires to be, but if you can tolerate some frustrating interfaces and controls, this is still a game worth exploring. Just maybe consider playing it on PC since that experience should be much stronger without the control caveats.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 1, 2021
    Offering a beautiful canvas to work with, Unpacking is a calm and tactile little sim about something most of us would usually dislike. [Eurogamer Recommended]
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Nov 25, 2021
    10
    Unpacking is a beautiful, relaxing zen puzzle game with some fascinating environmental storytelling. It's my favourite thing I've played in aUnpacking is a beautiful, relaxing zen puzzle game with some fascinating environmental storytelling. It's my favourite thing I've played in a long time. I beat it in a few sittings but I've come to really appreciate a compressed, curated experience. Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2021
    2
    Not worth the money. The aesthetic is nice but it's repetitive and I finished the game the same day. Puzzles aren't exactly what I'd call aNot worth the money. The aesthetic is nice but it's repetitive and I finished the game the same day. Puzzles aren't exactly what I'd call a puzzle. I'm actually quite annoyed to have spent £18 on a game that I finished within a few hours. I anticipated atleast a good amount of levels. Full Review »