Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
Buy On
  1. Feb 7, 2019
    70
    Wargroove is a faithful update of a classic strategy series and, despite some smart additions, never really achieves more than that. The competence is commendable, and this is a solid game that will keep strategy fans amused for a while. Unfortunately, the final third of the campaign suffers from huge difficulty issues, which are exacerbated by UI and UX problems. Broadly, I like Wargroove, but without the rosy tinge of nostalgia it’s hard to see why you would those desperate for cut-back strategy wouldn’t just opt for Into The Breach, instead.
  2. Edge Magazine
    Feb 28, 2019
    60
    It's a game that follows the steps of another while changing the rhythm - and in doing so, never settles into its own groove. [Issue#330, p.114]
  3. Feb 15, 2019
    60
    Wargroove is a very enjoyable game but one which still feels rough around the edges.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jan 30, 2019
    I like WarGroove but I don't love it. Generous as this game is - and it is absurdly generous - love is reserved for the real thing.
  2. Jan 30, 2019
    Wargroove takes some of the best elements of all those games and creates something of its own. It’s not a hollow imitation, but a spirited homage, characterful and generous. Even when I didn’t love it, I still couldn’t help but like it.
  3. Jan 30, 2019
    Turn-based strategy games don’t require interesting characters to be satisfying experiences, but Chucklefish has gone the extra mile by developing a cast of charming commanders worth paying attention to. [Impressions]
  4. Feb 1, 2019
    The game looks great on a big screen, but I found it much more comfortable playing in portable mode, where it’s easier to parse all of the different units and see the details of the map. Plus, if you squint, it’s almost like you’re playing the latest brilliant Game Boy Advance strategy game.
  5. Jan 30, 2019
    There is a distinctly nostalgic feeling to playing Wargroove. It reminds me of the Game Boy Advance, and my first brushes with Advance Wars, a series that made turn-based strategy both accessible and difficult.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 158
  2. Negative: 25 out of 158
  1. Feb 2, 2019
    8
    Wargroove is a very solid successor to Advance Wars, though I have to admit, I fell into the all-too-common trap of hyping myself up for thisWargroove is a very solid successor to Advance Wars, though I have to admit, I fell into the all-too-common trap of hyping myself up for this game. In theory, this game would have improved on the Advance Wars model, but it seems to have taken some steps back in certain areas.

    Firstly, the game is still fantastic and a great buy for the Switch. I debated between handheld or PC and I think the game is just better on-the-go rather than for the desktop. With the ability to play local co-op, you'll always be prepared to entertain a buddy on those cross-state drives, on long-flights or just waiting around somewhere. The game is aesthetically pleasing and all of the unit models look pretty good.

    Now. . . one of the most disappointing aspects of Wargroove is the lack of faction unit bonuses/penalties. The basic infantry unit has the same stats across the board for all leaders. My favorite CO from Advance Wars was Grit- a marksman that improved the range and power of all ranged units, at the cost of all other units becoming worse. I have to admit, I'm sure the way the developers have chosen is better for balanced-gameplay, but I feel like the cost to fun was too great. I especially feel this way about the undead faction- a classic epitome in Fantasy of low-cost, large quantity minions. Unfortunately, they play like everyone else.

    On a related note, the game currently does not have any unique units for the four factions, another frustration that would have been relatively easy to add. Honestly, just one or two per faction would have sufficed- instead, the units just have different names.

    Overall, if you enjoyed Advance Wars, picking up Wargroove would be a smart play. If not, you may still find some value in your purchase yet- not to mention, who knows what the developers have in store for the future? If they do add some uniqueness and flavor to their factions, this game could easily be 9/10.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 1, 2019
    9
    It's got everything going for it: a nostalgic feel that's not plagiaristic, retro graphics that are done well, and fun gameplay that can beIt's got everything going for it: a nostalgic feel that's not plagiaristic, retro graphics that are done well, and fun gameplay that can be customized in terms of challenge. It's a bit heavy on the "strong female" characters, but we can forgive that because it's so good overall. Full Review »
  3. Feb 2, 2019
    8
    I love the game so far, great maps, great story and characters, the only thing i can't stand and keeps it away from a 10 out of 10 is the factI love the game so far, great maps, great story and characters, the only thing i can't stand and keeps it away from a 10 out of 10 is the fact that you can't place the long range troops where you want and then attack, you must place it where the calculations want and you can't see how much range they have to make the strategy factor more robust. Full Review »