Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. May 25, 2020
    90
    What the Golf? is a clever, brilliant, crazy and oh-so funny game. Willing to break any rule there is to get a good pun, Triband's first major game is a must-play, thanks to its constant fun and will of going too far for its own good. One of the funniest, and best game of 2020 on Switch, and a perfect hole in one.
  2. May 25, 2020
    90
    A wonderful surprise for all of us that keep searching original games, different and pure fun. Half physic puzzle, half arcade that uses golf as pretext to take our hand a give us a walk by a joyful collection of crazy minigames and levels where everything it's possible, with a control that always work, simple and fun. More fun than actual golf.
  3. May 21, 2020
    90
    A simple yet brilliant indie, immediate and at the same time profound, which phenomenally mixes genius and unruliness.
  4. May 20, 2020
    90
    What the Golf was already excellent on PC and mobile, but the Switch version is the definitive one, especially if you have another player handy. It's still wildly funny, weird, and lots of fun, and if it was just the campaign again, it would still be the best version of the game thanks to the ability to switch between touch and stick controls--but the addition of Party Mode really elevates the whole package. In my original review I said, "Like all great jokes, you'll want to share it," and now that's easier than ever.
  5. May 20, 2020
    90
    The biggest disservice you can do to What The Golf? is to simply assume it’s some kind of arcade golf game. Not even close. It’s one of the most creative, hilarious and unique games you’ll find. A mix of puzzle solving, arcade fun and downright zany concepts, it’s pure entertainment at its finest. What The Golf? is exactly the kind of joyful experience we all need in our lives right now.
  6. May 19, 2020
    90
    There's a lot of fun to be had in What The Golf. Don't like golf? Neither does the game itself; the golf is just the delivery method for some entertaining puzzles. I don't often go back and go for full completion with games, but What the Golf made me do this for the first time in a while. Great fun from beginning to end.
  7. May 19, 2020
    90
    What the Golf? is a sterling effort for Switch that has clearly had enormous amounts of love poured into it. Its aesthetic is a little bit indie-by-numbers but there's so much to see and do here that'll have you (and a friend) laughing out loud. It may not be the most difficult game in the world, but it's damn good fun, even if you don't like golf. Especially if you don't like golf, in fact.
  8. May 17, 2020
    90
    What the Golf? is an addictive physics-based puzzler, packed full of courses that are completely different and challenging from the last, with tons of surprises to boot.
  9. May 20, 2020
    85
    While it claims to be “The golf game for people who hate golf!”, I think it sells itself short. I don’t hate golf, but I still really like this funny game. WHAT THE GOLF? has a “one more round” thing going for it, coupled with a favorable amount of content, especially for completionists.
  10. 85
    Overall WHAT THE GOLF? is a great package for both single and multiplayer sessions. The game cleverly uses a singular game mechanic, but stretches it out into so many different genres, styles and even other video games that it is truly impressive that the experience never gets stale. The overworld is a bit tedious to fully explore and the button controls aren’t as perfected as the touch controls, but still I think you cannot go wrong with this game. WHAT THE GOLF? is a perfect blend of comedy, fun and video games that had me smiling from ear to ear the entire way through. It’s great FORE the HOLE family!
  11. May 15, 2020
    85
    What the Golf? is a fun and crazy title: on Nintendo Switch it comes in a practically perfect conversion.
  12. May 25, 2020
    83
    Quotation forthcoming.
  13. May 17, 2020
    80
    The world’s least realistic golf game is a tour de force in manic invention that values variety, invention, and surrealist humour above all.
  14. 70
    What The Golf? is by no means a bad game - it's actually highly entertaining - but while the developers have done everything that they can with it, at some point hitting anything but a golf ball around a golf course loses its lustre as a joke. It'll only take you a couple of hours to work through everything in What The Golf?, and you'll have a generally good time as you do, but I can't see this being a game that you ever return to.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. May 21, 2020
    An already near-perfect game has been made slightly better due to the hardware it’s on, making this the definitive version of the game. [Polygon Recommends]
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. May 25, 2020
    10
    This is a very silly/fun golf game. It has simple mechanics and is easy to play.
  2. May 25, 2020
    10
    Hilarious, easy to play and recommend. Great for couch co-op taking turns in the main game or in the new multiplayer mode. WatchHilarious, easy to play and recommend. Great for couch co-op taking turns in the main game or in the new multiplayer mode. Watch VideoGameDunkey's video to get a feel for what the game is and how it plays Full Review »
  3. May 22, 2020
    10
    What The Golf takes your average golf game and twists it on its head and into another galaxy. From platformer, FPS, and Rhythm-based levels,What The Golf takes your average golf game and twists it on its head and into another galaxy. From platformer, FPS, and Rhythm-based levels, this game is for everyone. Full Review »