User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 313 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 313
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 19, 2018
    7
    This game should be evaluated in two different aspects:
    1 - As a sequel in the Wolfenstein franchise: greater plot, more cut-scenes, and action sequences yet straying from the rambo feeling and falling more into the games with story bucket, dual wielding games don't mix up well with emotional flashbacks.
    2 - As a port of a really nice looking game to a beefed-up tablet: lot's of
    This game should be evaluated in two different aspects:
    1 - As a sequel in the Wolfenstein franchise: greater plot, more cut-scenes, and action sequences yet straying from the rambo feeling and falling more into the games with story bucket, dual wielding games don't mix up well with emotional flashbacks.
    2 - As a port of a really nice looking game to a beefed-up tablet: lot's of compromises were made; textures look like taken from goldeneye 64, fire particles looks 2d-ish, there is more blurring than on instagram celebrity pics and the usual frame drops, but neither of this stops the action and you can still enjoy the game, Motion aim assist is excellent, you aim with the stick then refine with the controller, works better than on doom, haven't found any annoying bug, just one on the first run where it wouldn't detect the joycons, fully restarting the switch fixed it; playing it undocked is just extending the definition of "playable", text is blurry and small and the FPS dips might annoy you.
    If you have other consoles, get wolf there, you'll probably enjoy it more on a stronger device, if you only have the switch then you'll get a well done and faithful port of an OK game just keep in mind that certain sacrifices had to be done.
    Oh and for some reason we still have to kill dogs :( they should have nazi robot dogs!
    Expand
  2. Apr 18, 2020
    10
    Once again Bethesda make a masterpiece switch port.
    I loved the game, so much fun and great history.

    I will play yougblood next
  3. Jul 25, 2019
    10
    No comment... It's Amazing...
    This quality on Nintendo Switch... OMG !
    PLEASE... More Wolfenstein on Nintendo Switch !
  4. Sep 16, 2018
    3
    Wolfenstein 2 The New cutscene is entirely too short and has too many cinematic's. As if the constant cinematic's weren't enough they don't really serve much of a purpose instead of beating us over the head with Nazi bad, KKK, racism is bad. I mean they try to do some character development but everyone in the game is a walking talking stereotype...which is funny considering the game isWolfenstein 2 The New cutscene is entirely too short and has too many cinematic's. As if the constant cinematic's weren't enough they don't really serve much of a purpose instead of beating us over the head with Nazi bad, KKK, racism is bad. I mean they try to do some character development but everyone in the game is a walking talking stereotype...which is funny considering the game is about killing Nazi's and racists. Isn't making everyone a goddamn stereotype racist? Or at least Biggoted?

    Yeah we get it, Nazi's are bad, racists and the KKK are bad....NOW CAN WE GET ON WITH KILLING THEM...How does game, whose main character is ostensibly in his own rambo movie but against Nazi's, Have so litle nazi killing going for. Was the plan to bore the Nazis too death with endless rants.

    The shooting mechanics suck, or at least they changed something from the previous one, I can't quite put my finger on it but it seems like you die way too fast now. Which means no more running and gunning and more hiding behind walls, which lets face it is boring when you have an AI system dumb as bricks.
    Expand
  5. Jul 16, 2018
    0
    This is DEFINITELY not worth $80 (Canada). Horrible graphics; they went with the CHEAPER cartridge which means you need to use 10 GB of your SD card for their Day 1 download; text is hard to read in handheld mode; s-l-o-w-dooooooown. Who tf are writing these positive reviews here? Fake news!
  6. Jul 6, 2018
    10
    No way this game should fall below the 85% mark. It's an excellent port that keeps the experience intact. Panic Button did an amazing job as usual, maximizing the capacity of the Switch for a perfect handheld experience. If you want crisper graphics, play the other versions, but on the switch screen the game is just perfect!
  7. Jul 1, 2018
    8
    Pros: This game is solid. I like Wolfenstein and DOOM titles, classical old-school FPS what a real man cannot ask for more. The storyline is attractive. HD rumble of NS is good too.
    Cons: The font size of subtitle is too small, especially in hand-held mode. Maybe because of the hardware performance, the resolution ratio is a little bit low, making it vague when playing.
    In all, 8/10,
    Pros: This game is solid. I like Wolfenstein and DOOM titles, classical old-school FPS what a real man cannot ask for more. The storyline is attractive. HD rumble of NS is good too.
    Cons: The font size of subtitle is too small, especially in hand-held mode. Maybe because of the hardware performance, the resolution ratio is a little bit low, making it vague when playing.
    In all, 8/10, recommended.
    Expand
  8. Aug 3, 2018
    5
    Basura subversiva e ideología del NOM, la típica mierda hollywodiense para adoctrinar a las masas . Muy inferior a RTC Wolfenstein.
  9. Jul 3, 2018
    0
    Rage, which is a pretty ancient game by now, had much better AI and pathing -- in wolf 2 enemies will often get stuck on junk in the environment and they can't hop over railings or anything like in Rage. Truly a step back in mechanics - playing through this game on Death Incarnate makes many of these issues apparent.

    The story and characters also got more wacky, stupid, and cartoonish
    Rage, which is a pretty ancient game by now, had much better AI and pathing -- in wolf 2 enemies will often get stuck on junk in the environment and they can't hop over railings or anything like in Rage. Truly a step back in mechanics - playing through this game on Death Incarnate makes many of these issues apparent.

    The story and characters also got more wacky, stupid, and cartoonish which I think will turn off those looking for a thoughtful storyline instead of just a violent one.

    Too much preachy cringe and long unskipable cutscenes for me to finish this one...
    Expand
  10. Jul 2, 2018
    9
    Increíble que este juego se mueva en Switch con absoluta fluidez. Gran historia e inmersión, frenetismo, gran banda sonora y control perfecto. Inmprescindible si te gustan los shooters. Me encantaría ver la primera parte en Switch. 9/10
  11. Jul 4, 2018
    10
    Another great job by Panic Button. This is not the best looking version of the game, but that is to be expected and who cares. The Switch version gives you the ability to blast Nazis anywhere! If you enjoyed DOOM, you will enjoy Wolf 2. Another visually demanding game has been squeezed into the tiny Switch, it controls well and provides more play options than any other version available.Another great job by Panic Button. This is not the best looking version of the game, but that is to be expected and who cares. The Switch version gives you the ability to blast Nazis anywhere! If you enjoyed DOOM, you will enjoy Wolf 2. Another visually demanding game has been squeezed into the tiny Switch, it controls well and provides more play options than any other version available. (8/10, but rating 10/10 just to counter the idiots that give the game a zero) Expand
  12. Jul 8, 2018
    9
    Bethesda is like 8/10 on all of it's games. I can't think of a game they have made in the recent past that is less than that. This game brought so much value. The story was excellent, game play tuned, graphics pristine. If you're going to go in on this game, make sure you will commit to the other series. As well, make sure you pick up all the other Wolfenstein games from Bethesda.
  13. wmw
    Jul 10, 2018
    9
    Pros: Very dynamic, excellent game-play and good story and enemy design.
    Cons: Graphics looks bad sometimes but I think they achieved a lot with Switch limited power compared to PS4 and X1.

    Summary: Don't remember last time I had that much fun. If you're Wolfenstein fan - you won't be dissapointed.
  14. Jul 4, 2018
    0
    Oh, look at all these NINTENDO based publications raising its score even though it's a full priced game for the worst graphics possible! AN 8 average is not accurate at all or even close. The Switch doesn't deserve this game and it chugs, and still requires half a download even with the cartridge. Nintendo has proven time and time again they can't get third party support right and theyOh, look at all these NINTENDO based publications raising its score even though it's a full priced game for the worst graphics possible! AN 8 average is not accurate at all or even close. The Switch doesn't deserve this game and it chugs, and still requires half a download even with the cartridge. Nintendo has proven time and time again they can't get third party support right and they continue to with this garbage and Crash. Expand
  15. Jul 3, 2018
    10
    Fabulous and what great games are made of :)
    A great mix of intrigue, politics, questions and action
  16. Jul 2, 2018
    9
    Superbe portage réalisé par le studio Panic Button, à qui l'on doit également les portages de Doom et Rocker League. Ils prouvent que la Switch peut faire tourner les productions AAA si l'on s'en donne les moyens. Pour revenir au jeu, c'est humour trash et violence frénétique ! Visuellement, ça en en jette pas mal que ce soit en mode docké ou portable. Le downgrade est perceptibleSuperbe portage réalisé par le studio Panic Button, à qui l'on doit également les portages de Doom et Rocker League. Ils prouvent que la Switch peut faire tourner les productions AAA si l'on s'en donne les moyens. Pour revenir au jeu, c'est humour trash et violence frénétique ! Visuellement, ça en en jette pas mal que ce soit en mode docké ou portable. Le downgrade est perceptible (resolution plus basse, texture moins fine, un peu de floutage) mais il est habillement dosé pour que le soft ne soit pas dénaturé. Bien que le jeu semble plus clair que les autres versions, il suffira d'aller faire un tour dans les réglages vidéo du jeu et de laisser tout juste apparaître le chiffre 4, ce sera plus sombre certes mais bien plus beau ! Les animations sont de qualité, et le jeu tourne avec un très solide 30fps. La bande son est ouf, et la voix de Bruce Willis ne fera que renforcer cet aspect cinématographique au plus grand bonheur des joueurs !

    Ce que j'ai aimé (+) :
    - L'action ultra prenante... le jeu se dévore comme un bon film
    - Qualité du portage
    - Un 30fps ultra stable
    - Bande son exceptionnelle / La voix de Bruce ;-)
    - Scénario

    Ce que je n'ai pas aimé (-) :
    - Les textures auraient pu être un chouillat plus fines (même réflexion que pour Doom) la Switch aurait pu gérer.
    - Le rendu de l'eau... mais là je chipote.
    - ON VEUT UN MODE MULTI JOUEURS !!!!!!!!!!

    Pour résumer, Wolfenstein devient un incontournable FPS sur Switch qui passe à côté d'un 10/10 pour manque de mode multi joueurs.
    Expand
  17. Aug 1, 2018
    10
    Wolfenstein 2 excels at story, gameplay, and Panic Button have out done themselves with this port. The only thing it's missing is a co-op horde survival mode. Keep exaggerating the resolution to justify your favorite platform not supporting mobile play. It always gives me a good moral boost.
  18. Jul 26, 2018
    10
    So im familiar with all wolfenstein games lastly wolf2 on playstation2 pro got it cheap and when the switch version launched i had to order it wasnt dissapointment. The physical version still require 8gb addiotanal download, you can start playing right away but the quality and gameplay bumbs up a huge marging when setup is fully complete. You will also loose all savedate if you startSo im familiar with all wolfenstein games lastly wolf2 on playstation2 pro got it cheap and when the switch version launched i had to order it wasnt dissapointment. The physical version still require 8gb addiotanal download, you can start playing right away but the quality and gameplay bumbs up a huge marging when setup is fully complete. You will also loose all savedate if you start before the download is complete. And they didnt use full 32gb cartridge nor give us the dlc or combat simulation, but othet than that this is the most impressive gaming experience ive had, and ive owned everys system and some pcs since early 2000's. Not only it looks outstanding handheld mode it is easy to play. i used bring em on difficulty on ps4p version but switch imnrocking do or die and when you learn to play with the switch it is really easy, rewarding on most fun. Handheld mode i dont use gyrocontrols but tvmode it makes fine tuning ur aiming really efective and fun. I have to say i choose the switch version over ps4pro and same goes for skyrim. It is very special to move these games whereever you want or just enjoy home at ur porch or tvmode i can but love the switch. Expand
  19. Jul 11, 2018
    0
    Attention Bethesda: Breaking news flash... people who like Doom-type games dont want to be FORCED TO SIT THROUGH TONS OF BORING CINEMATICS. It was so bad it made me create a metacritic account just to create this review. I watched 10 minutes of extremely boring cgi scenes with the volume off, because I usually use my switch in a public place where any sound would be unwelcome. I wasntAttention Bethesda: Breaking news flash... people who like Doom-type games dont want to be FORCED TO SIT THROUGH TONS OF BORING CINEMATICS. It was so bad it made me create a metacritic account just to create this review. I watched 10 minutes of extremely boring cgi scenes with the volume off, because I usually use my switch in a public place where any sound would be unwelcome. I wasnt actually watching it, but I would glance at it occasionally. There was no way to skip the boring scenes and play the game at all. Even worse, occasionally the game would allow me to wiggle my head and require me to click a button in order to proceed, so I couldnt just ignore it and do something else until it finally let me play the game. Nintendo loves to do this kind of thing too, but never seen anything this long. After about four times where I thought I could start playing the damn game, I finally gave up. I dont care how good it is, making people sit through all those cinematics WITHOUT AN OPTION TO SKIP THE CINEMATICS...... why? Why force someone to sit through it who doesnt want to? Why not give the option? I wont know if the game was good (I doubt it, probably continue to make me watch boring B movie cinematics the whole game), fortunately there are plenty of other available options. PLEASE DONT SUPPORT GAMES WHICH FORCE YOU TO SIT THROUGH CINEMATICS. I didn't know better, so I accidentally bought it. Expand
  20. Oct 25, 2018
    9
    Now with the patch v1.2 the game comes to be a realy impressive port, now that the constant blur is gone. It's a good trade buy this game due to portability. And the gyro controls gives a new way to play. The game itself have a long single player mode, many ways to finish the game, making new all time you play it. Thanks Bethesda, we want more and more games from your team!
  21. Jul 6, 2018
    8
    Cierto, este juego es peor gráficamente comparado con las otras versiones,pero estamos hablando de una "consola portátil". Panic Button hace un gran trabajo haciendo este port.
  22. Sep 14, 2018
    8
    I am not a big fan of Western FPS. Yet I bought this game out of support for 3rd party developers. Don't want the WII U debacle to repeat again this generation. It shows you one thing: Panic Button is one of the best developer for Switch. The fact that they can compress a 40 + GB game into the Switch is astounding. Of course, it is blurry, but it has perfect frame rate, and portability,I am not a big fan of Western FPS. Yet I bought this game out of support for 3rd party developers. Don't want the WII U debacle to repeat again this generation. It shows you one thing: Panic Button is one of the best developer for Switch. The fact that they can compress a 40 + GB game into the Switch is astounding. Of course, it is blurry, but it has perfect frame rate, and portability, Switch's best feature. The game itself is typical high production values, violent and non-sensical storyline (I will probably get a lot of down vote for this). I couldn't get into it, but as a lifelong gamer, I can appreciate its craftmanship. If you want your fill for FPS on the Switch, then this is one of its best releases. Expand
  23. Jul 11, 2019
    8
    The fact that Wolfenstein II is on switch is already an unreal accomplishment. Testing this shooter on the Nintendo Switch was both a weird but plausible experience.

    The weakest aspect is definitely the graphics. With no wifi, I mostly played the game without the graphical updates. The depth of field is pretty bad, the character models can look poor and fake sometimes. But the
    The fact that Wolfenstein II is on switch is already an unreal accomplishment. Testing this shooter on the Nintendo Switch was both a weird but plausible experience.

    The weakest aspect is definitely the graphics. With no wifi, I mostly played the game without the graphical updates. The depth of field is pretty bad, the character models can look poor and fake sometimes. But the explosions,, different environments, and pre rendered cutscenes kind of balances those sacrifices. Winning America from Nazis is a typical but bad ass story for me.

    The auto-aim helps a lot on the Switch. With many weapons and ways to kill, skirmishes especially boss fights felt chaotic and intense. Though some fights felt unfair or hard suddenly, and navigation could get bad sometimes.

    To try a first person shooter on the go was a unique experience that I didn't mind. Even with graphical setbacks, average mapping, and unfairness, I love the gameplay, interesting characters and story, and the fact that this existed.
    Expand
  24. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    While I'm impressed by the port from the technological point of view, I have to say: THIS GAME IS S**T.

    This is a game for adult people, do you really believe that you need to tell adult people that Nazis are bad in the way you would explain it to a 4 years old? "NATSI BAAAAAAD. BOO BOO NATSI. NO NATSI". The storytelling of that game is an insult to my intelligence. In the beginning I
    While I'm impressed by the port from the technological point of view, I have to say: THIS GAME IS S**T.

    This is a game for adult people, do you really believe that you need to tell adult people that Nazis are bad in the way you would explain it to a 4 years old? "NATSI BAAAAAAD. BOO BOO NATSI. NO NATSI".
    The storytelling of that game is an insult to my intelligence. In the beginning I thought this is a joke, but no, the really believe that their audience are a bunch of mentally disabled chaps that won't be able to process some serious storytelling. How could they **** this game up that baldy, after the first one was a true gem?
    Expand
  25. Aug 1, 2018
    8
    I won't even talk about the graphics as we all know what to expect in terms of down grade on the switch. Gameplay wise, it's Doom, Doom Doom and Doom, in a new setting/location. I played through the entire game on hard mode and it was thoroughly entertaining, if you liked Doom you'll probably like this one equally. The story; I'm shocked to read reviews saying it was too long or bad etc,I won't even talk about the graphics as we all know what to expect in terms of down grade on the switch. Gameplay wise, it's Doom, Doom Doom and Doom, in a new setting/location. I played through the entire game on hard mode and it was thoroughly entertaining, if you liked Doom you'll probably like this one equally. The story; I'm shocked to read reviews saying it was too long or bad etc, it was one of the few times i didnt mind long cut scenes in a shooter. The story is compelling and hits home for a lot of people with it's connection to social issues. The only downside I had was the length. Where are the Silent Hills and Syphon Filters of today, with hours of gameplay before even asking what extras are in it. For $60, I shouldnt beat the story as a leisure gamer, in a matter of two or three days. That was a big disappointment for me at such a high price point, but other than that, game is pretty exceptional and a great addition to your Switch lib Expand
  26. Oct 16, 2018
    10
    Wolfenstein 2 on the switch is a fun game. Sadly the fun doesn't last for long because the campaign is surprisingly short. You cant replay the entire campaign after you finished the campaign with all the upgrades you haved unlocked. This is for story reasons but its still disappointing. Also, the hub level on the submarine is fun until you finish the campaign because all the interestingWolfenstein 2 on the switch is a fun game. Sadly the fun doesn't last for long because the campaign is surprisingly short. You cant replay the entire campaign after you finished the campaign with all the upgrades you haved unlocked. This is for story reasons but its still disappointing. Also, the hub level on the submarine is fun until you finish the campaign because all the interesting main characters disappear for story reasons. I wish that they maybe had it that now and them the character would return. The graphics are pretty good but still not good as the graphics compared to the ps4 or xbox1, but that's okay. It still is a great looking game. Overall I had fun with the game but I feel the replay value is small. I wish that every single level could be replayed and that there were a few more boss fights and levels. Expand
  27. Aug 13, 2018
    8
    Gameplay quase que tradicional de um FPS padrão. A narrativa é o forte desse jogo. Nota 8 pela boa jogabilidade e narrativa, mas também por falta de inovação pois muitas vezes vocês pensa "É um FPS comum". Se você gosta muito de jogos de tiro, jogue. Mas se não quer mais do mesmo, talvez fosse interessante considerar outro jogo. Mas não se engane: houveram "cutscenes" em que sentiGameplay quase que tradicional de um FPS padrão. A narrativa é o forte desse jogo. Nota 8 pela boa jogabilidade e narrativa, mas também por falta de inovação pois muitas vezes vocês pensa "É um FPS comum". Se você gosta muito de jogos de tiro, jogue. Mas se não quer mais do mesmo, talvez fosse interessante considerar outro jogo. Mas não se engane: houveram "cutscenes" em que senti calafrios pois a narrativa é imprevisível. Expand
  28. Dec 13, 2019
    8
    First of all, the switch version is fantastic with the gyro controls, the combat is smooth and satisfying.
    The story is great and interesting.

    The only downside is the lack of a multi-player, if it had that it would be close to a 10/10 game.
  29. Nov 27, 2021
    10
    Amazing game, if you are a fan of single player FPSs this is one you shouldn’t miss!
  30. Oct 20, 2018
    9
    Well a very good game. with a very deep storyline. Was amazed with the story and was so amazed also with how they come up with the idea of a 2 weapon hands on. very good all in all
  31. Nov 12, 2018
    9
    Wow! this game looks and plays brilliantly. Love the cinematics and cut-scenes are an entertaining mix of cool, macabre and sometimes bizarre.

    A must own Switch game if it's your only console.
  32. Dec 9, 2018
    9
    Increíble port y excelente juego, aunque es un desperdicio de juegazo que no tenga multijugador.
  33. Jan 9, 2021
    6
    Wolfenstein II is one of Panic Button's "impossible" Switch ports. It's a high-budget game with plenty of action, content, story and cutscenes. The whole, however, is less than the sum of its parts.

    The action and mechanics in Wolfenstein II are OK. They don't bring any new idea to the genre, but they seem eager to use every idea that already exists. All those options feel overwhelming.
    Wolfenstein II is one of Panic Button's "impossible" Switch ports. It's a high-budget game with plenty of action, content, story and cutscenes. The whole, however, is less than the sum of its parts.

    The action and mechanics in Wolfenstein II are OK. They don't bring any new idea to the genre, but they seem eager to use every idea that already exists. All those options feel overwhelming. By the end of the game, I rarely ever tried some of the mechanics and weapons. You can deal with combat in multiple ways, including pure stealth-but stealth doesn't feel very well implemented. I always started with stealth, and always reverted to the classic blazing guns.

    The worst part of Wolfenstein II, to me, is also the one that the critics liked the best: its story. To me, it feels like an haphazard mess. The game never decides what its voice should be. It starts on an outright depressing tone, and it often comes back to a somber, serious mood. It constantly reminds you that the people you're killing have families and feelings, that you're going to die as well, that you're a bit of a monster. Then it seems to shrug ("Ah, screw it!") and reverts to a joyous nazi-killing gore-fest. You're left not knowing what you're supposed to feel. I was hoping for a nice piece of pulp fiction where you kill nazis in mech armors, and found something that's about… what? It's never quite clear.

    With all the effort that went into the story and the cutscenes, the result is puzzling at best and infuriating at worst. On one side, the game is really dark. It hints at concentration camps, it deals with themes such as racism and child abuse. But then, in the same breath, it throws buckets of gore at you as you gleefully dismember and kill hundreds of people. This schizophrenic attitude is also evident in the characters: on one side, the game wants to be "woke" and involve minority characters, no matter how awkward their presence is. On the other side, most of the characters are so absurdly cliche that they're borderline offensive. Black people in this game swear a lot, they play jazz music, they like to have random sex with white chicks. Even as a white person, I felt slightly insulted by these caricatures of blackness, and I found it impossible to care about the characters in general.

    PROS:
    - An "impossible" port: Wolfenstein II runs like a dream on the Switch. Aside from some texture blurriness, you can easily forget you're playing on a portable console.
    - Top production values: From the slick motion capture to the meticulously designed levels and abundant content, the game screams "triple A".
    - Brilliant gyro controls: I thought I'd never ejoy an FPS on a console. Wolfenstein II's gyro aiming is the closest you can get to play with a mouse and keyboard.

    CONS:
    - Mood Swings: Between serious themes, B-movie pulp, and straight-out farce, the game never finds a consistent tone.
    - Irritating characters: I was supposed to care about these people. I didn't. They were just too flat and cliche.
    - Just another FPS: It doesn't do anything particularly wrong, but it doesn't really ever shine either.
    Expand
  34. Feb 28, 2019
    9
    This game is currently one of the best first person shooters available on the Switch. Anybody who expects Xbox One or PS4 quality of graphics and frame rates on this glorified tablet is asking the world and should probably purchase this game on a different platform. Anybody who wants a solid FPS available on the go may want to consider this game. I have played it both docked and inThis game is currently one of the best first person shooters available on the Switch. Anybody who expects Xbox One or PS4 quality of graphics and frame rates on this glorified tablet is asking the world and should probably purchase this game on a different platform. Anybody who wants a solid FPS available on the go may want to consider this game. I have played it both docked and in handheld mode and during gameplay I haven't experienced any noticeable frame rate drops in either mode. However, many cut scenes have some horrible frame rate issues in docked mode. Since this seems to be limited to cut scenes in docked mode I am still able to happily say that it doesn't ruin too much of the experience for me, yet this is why I feel uncomfortable with giving the game a 10/10. Expand
  35. May 16, 2019
    9
    this game is a diamond among diamonds on the switch, there are tons of games on the switch but not nearly enough FPS yet, and this game scratches my itch for FPS on the go. now im not always traveling but especially while laying in bed or spending time with family in the living room away from my switch dock, this is a great way to experience this game even if it is a bit cut down fromthis game is a diamond among diamonds on the switch, there are tons of games on the switch but not nearly enough FPS yet, and this game scratches my itch for FPS on the go. now im not always traveling but especially while laying in bed or spending time with family in the living room away from my switch dock, this is a great way to experience this game even if it is a bit cut down from other versions. the only issue i have is that the sensitivity from handheld to tv is alittle weird and takes a bit of getting used to but from the still very nice cinematic to the smoothness of the game, panic button always hits these switch ports out of the park and has me excited for more games to come and see what else they can do on the switch! Expand
  36. Jun 6, 2019
    9
    Wolfenstein II again with DOOM is another great addition to the AAA list on Switch! Again because of the success of Wolfenstein II on Switch we are getting Wolfenstein: Youngblood day and date with the other version and hopefully will get Wolfenstein III on Switch!
  37. Nov 26, 2019
    7
    Great port if you close your eyes to the graphics. Unfortunately, the blur is too strong to close his eyes to it.
  38. Dec 20, 2019
    8
    Un 1st Person Shooter clásico pero refrescante para lo que tenemos hoy en día. Pese a que trata de ser más profundo que DOOM echando mano de una buena historia, no está a la altura del masacrador de demonios en términos de jugabilidad.

    Lo bueno: - Una historia cruda que evoluciona de la mano con las mecánicas del gameplay. - La violencia macarra propia de la época en que se hizo el
    Un 1st Person Shooter clásico pero refrescante para lo que tenemos hoy en día. Pese a que trata de ser más profundo que DOOM echando mano de una buena historia, no está a la altura del masacrador de demonios en términos de jugabilidad.

    Lo bueno:

    - Una historia cruda que evoluciona de la mano con las mecánicas del gameplay.
    - La violencia macarra propia de la época en que se hizo el primer Wolfenstein resulta refrescanrte.

    Lo malo:

    - Tener que presionar un botón para agarrar curaciones, armaduras e items distrae mucho si estamos en medio de una escaramuza.
    - Que el botón de lanzar granada y el de cambiar de arma sea el mismo es una enorme estupidez.
    Expand
  39. Dec 11, 2019
    10
    Let's.... KILL... SOME.... MOTHERFOKING...... NAZI. SO DAMN GOOD. Play. It's a nice spin on ww2 games. In other games like cod ww2, you always know there will not be a sequel to the game, because the allies will always win, because those games are about the war. But in this game the nazi's already won, so you will not know if it's the end of the serie. just play it, better than world at war
  40. Feb 22, 2020
    10
    Awesome characters
    Awesome story Awesome difficulty Awesome enemie

    what say more? Killing nazis is my new hobby

    I recommend it.
  41. Oct 14, 2021
    7
    Wolfenstein 2: The New Colossus es un juego que está bastante bien. Siguiendo la línea de los que le precedieron, combina de modo bastante acertado tanto un apartado más narrativo centrado en la distopía de la victoria Nazi en Estados Unidos, como un aspecto de combate y uno de sigilo. La variedad de armas y enemigos quizás es un poco escasa para un juego de estas características, así comoWolfenstein 2: The New Colossus es un juego que está bastante bien. Siguiendo la línea de los que le precedieron, combina de modo bastante acertado tanto un apartado más narrativo centrado en la distopía de la victoria Nazi en Estados Unidos, como un aspecto de combate y uno de sigilo. La variedad de armas y enemigos quizás es un poco escasa para un juego de estas características, así como la cantidad de niveles, pero en general funciona todo bastante bien como conjunto, haciendo que sea un juego muy entretenido. Eso si, el final me ha parecido un tanto abrupto.

    A nivel gráfico el juego está muy bien, incluso con el tiempo que ha pasado desde que salió cumple más que adecuadamente. El sonido igualmente está muy bien. Pero tiene ciertos bugs como una tendencia a atascarse en algunos sitios con distintas alturas (subir escaleras, por ejemplo), algunos logros buggeados y a mi se me ha colgado un par de veces. Nada que haga imposible jugar, pero si resulta algo molesto.

    Por todo ello, Wolfenstein 2 no es un juego revolucionario (irónicamente) pero sin duda cumple bien lo que se lanza a hacer. Un 7.
    Expand
  42. Jun 18, 2020
    8
    Un juego superdivertido. Plagado de topicazos, americanadas y tipos duros pero muy jugable
  43. Jun 20, 2020
    8
    Really impressive. The game runs perfectly fine. The game can be blurry at times (especially in fog) but it's perfectly playable. It's a shame they did not port the previous game to the switch. If you haven't played The New Order, you will have to catch up on the story.
  44. Dec 18, 2020
    8
    FPS sequel that maintains the high level of quality of Wolfenstein: The New Order. The gameplay is your typical stealth kill until you trigger an alarm and have to mow everyone down using a wide arsenal of weapons. It works, and the combat is fun. The story and characters are pretty good. You can't take any of it seriously as it's wildly over the top. I was especially impressed by theFPS sequel that maintains the high level of quality of Wolfenstein: The New Order. The gameplay is your typical stealth kill until you trigger an alarm and have to mow everyone down using a wide arsenal of weapons. It works, and the combat is fun. The story and characters are pretty good. You can't take any of it seriously as it's wildly over the top. I was especially impressed by the main antagonist, Irene Engel. She's very entertaining, on par with a Far Cry villain. There's a good amount of RPG elements for an FPS game, as you can upgrade your weapons and gain special perks. There's also a sizable chunk of postgame, as you can revisit previous areas to kill named commanders and complete a couple of side quests. Expand
  45. Apr 4, 2021
    3
    Its a blurry port for the switchlite. Doom was even better graphically especially handheld. But this is way too blurry.
  46. Jun 1, 2021
    9
    This is the first FPS game I’ve played since the original Duke Nukem. It was very cinematic and really enjoyable. One of the best storylines and most detailed game I’ve ever played. Games have come a long way since ol’ Duke. The gameplay was top notch and although I’m not a veteran of the genre, I found it to be smooth in docked mode and on the TV. Shooting with a gun in each hand andThis is the first FPS game I’ve played since the original Duke Nukem. It was very cinematic and really enjoyable. One of the best storylines and most detailed game I’ve ever played. Games have come a long way since ol’ Duke. The gameplay was top notch and although I’m not a veteran of the genre, I found it to be smooth in docked mode and on the TV. Shooting with a gun in each hand and two different triggers was unique. I’m normally not the type to like a lot of dialogue, but fully enjoyed it here. I read others saying you can’t skip the cutscenes, but you can. If you hit a button an option to skip pops up on the screen. I haven’t actually gone through and did that, but I’m sure it works. It must’ve been added in after the complaints. This is a rambling review, I realize. What I want to say is, great game: 9/10. Expand
  47. May 22, 2021
    10
    Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus is a sequel to the previous installment "The New Order" and it does everything right, with minimal flaws.

    Pros: - Long (10-12 hours) - Graphics look great - Alternative History - Gunplay is awesome - Multiple difficulties - Awesome soundtrack - Great variety of weapons and they can be upgraded - Well optimized - Well written characters -
    Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus is a sequel to the previous installment "The New Order" and it does everything right, with minimal flaws.

    Pros:
    - Long (10-12 hours)
    - Graphics look great
    - Alternative History
    - Gunplay is awesome
    - Multiple difficulties
    - Awesome soundtrack
    - Great variety of weapons and they can be upgraded
    - Well optimized
    - Well written characters
    - Cutscenes are absolutely awesome

    Cons:
    - Some animations are stiff (Like Bj's animations, which you can see in his shadow)
    - The graphics can look washed out at some places
    - Those expeditions kinda stuff are kinda meh
    - Bad DLCs

    10/10 The game is absolutely worthy of this rating since I can find everything in this game that I loved in New Order. Get the base game, avoid the DLCs.
    Expand
  48. Mar 12, 2021
    9
    a good game for any time

    pros
    great graphics
    truly amazing plot
    decent player guys
    legendary other critic reviews
    amazing mechanic system
    legendary game in all

    cons
    none but not a ten
  49. Nov 26, 2021
    10
    Wao!!! What a game!! This is a true masterpiece in every level. Had a blast with Blazko and Co. Absolutely recommended , a must buy and must play. Racial supremacy sucks and this game addresses the issue in a way! A fun and violently awesome way!! Simply amazing!!
  50. May 18, 2021
    10
    This game is great, even on high difficulty it is fun. The storyline is fun and does not get boring, so I recommend buying it!
  51. Oct 6, 2021
    10
    I love evrything about this game. I love the 1st one, but this takes it a few steps forward. The game looks great and i cant believe the Switch Pulled this off they way they did. Yea some blur can be noticed in some spots but its far in between. Loading times are decent too. So much action and it comes with a great story and ppl you learn to really like. Great work guys!!
  52. Sep 18, 2021
    7
    Awesome port. What's irritating is the game's political commentary on the current climate, short campaign and (mildly) confusing level design.
  53. Apr 13, 2022
    9
    A fantastic FPS that has fantastic graphics and plays fast and smooth, it really shows what the Nintendo Switch can do! In fact my Xbox One is now gathering dust as being able to play such a game on a handheld console while the wife watches the TV is totally awesome!!! This is quite a long game so good value for money and I totally recommend it to any adult Nintendo Switch owner thatA fantastic FPS that has fantastic graphics and plays fast and smooth, it really shows what the Nintendo Switch can do! In fact my Xbox One is now gathering dust as being able to play such a game on a handheld console while the wife watches the TV is totally awesome!!! This is quite a long game so good value for money and I totally recommend it to any adult Nintendo Switch owner that enjoys First Person Shooter type games, the Switch needs a lot more of these too! Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 51
  2. Negative: 2 out of 51
  1. Nintendo Force Magazine
    Sep 5, 2018
    85
    Stepping into the shoes of B.J. Blazkowicz makes for one wild ride! [Issue #35 – September/October 2018, p. 66]
  2. Aug 17, 2018
    75
    At its core, Wolfenstein 2 for Switch feels exactly like the adventure we played last year. With solid mechanics and a thrilling story, the game truly shines. Despite some heavy technical downscaling, the shooter still plays very well on the Switch.
  3. Aug 9, 2018
    67
    Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus is an absolute must play for anyone who enjoys that genre at all. As for the Switch version, it is a bit of a mixed bag. If you only own Nintendo consoles and never use anything else, get it. If you are looking to play the game on the go and the Switch is your preferred gaming console, get it. If you have other consoles and you only use your Switch now and then, and want the best experience possible with Wolfenstein II, go a different route and experience it for the first time the way the developers intended.