Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
Buy On
  1. Jul 30, 2018
    91
    Where Zelda is all about combat and the story, Yonder is a much more relaxing experience. It wants you to simply settle into the rhythms of living on the island of Gemea — and it’s a testament to how good it is that, given half a chance, it’ll have no problem sucking you in.
  2. 90
    This is a game which taught me to love the feeling of being lost, and I’m sure it’s one I will return to for a long time.
  3. Jul 5, 2018
    80
    From the very beginning, Yonder: The Cloud Catcher Chronicles impresses with its amazing visuals and soundtrack. It takes form as a relaxing open-world adventure, that features many elements of crafting and farming. While the later doesn’t perfectly fits with its openness nature, it is still an enjoyable experience nevertheless.
  4. May 21, 2018
    80
    They say that time flies, but Yonder: The Cloud Catcher steals you the one you’ve got left. The lands of Gemea will absorb with its addictive system based on professions, a solid structure and an amazing landscape. Despite its somewhat poor design and technical quality below expectations, this game will make you fly.
  5. May 20, 2018
    80
    Yonder: The Cloud Catcher Chronicles does its best to present you with a steady stream of breathtaking vistas, serene escapes and idyllic moments that snap to a picture frame with flawless ease. The core game has all of its slight flaws that came with the other versions, but I found that taking time to frame and save some of what I saw gave me a deeper appreciation of Yonder’s many high points.
  6. May 17, 2018
    80
    The vast, beautiful world delivered through complex geometry and loads of lighting effects is truly compelling and the relaxed pace of the exploration is nicely complemented by the quirkiness of the dialogue. Character models are a bit on the weak side but this just adds to the quirkiness of the in-game universe.
  7. 80
    While an open world adventure game with no combat is not something I’d generally jive with, I found myself enthralled with Yonder: The Cloud Catcher Chronicles. It does a fantastic job of making a captivating atmosphere that’s both fun to explore and filled with things to do. There are frame rate issues and the lack of diversity among quests is a bit disappointing, but the jaw dropping visuals and superb audio design left me pining for more.
  8. May 18, 2018
    72
    ​Yonder: The Cloud Catcher Chronicles has a charming world to show in its different biomes. It's a wonderful way to practice some escapism but ultimately feels like something is missing to be a compelling videogame.
  9. NF Magazine
    Sep 5, 2018
    70
    It falters when it focuses more on completion and less on just seeing the countryside. It's fun for stretches, but maybe not for completionists. [Issue #35 – September/October 2018, p. 72]
  10. May 16, 2018
    70
    Yonder doesn’t have quite the same lasting power that other crafting-focused games may have, but makes its experience notable with great presentation. It’s a game that welcomes players into its laid-back and relaxing atmosphere. For those just wanting to spend some time chilling out and exploring in a great-looking world, Yonder: The Cloud Catcher Chronicles is certainly one to recommend.
  11. May 17, 2018
    65
    I enjoyed Yonder more than I otherwise might have because I played it at just the right moment — it served as a palate cleanser after one of the year’s bloodier games. That said, I still found Yonder to be a peaceful delight despite its shortcomings.
  12. May 16, 2018
    65
    There are enough small grievances I have with the game that hold it back from being truly great, but the tone and setting are so charming that it’s hard to be too mad at it. If you want to do some peaceful meandering during your commute, the Switch version is easy to recommend.
  13. Jun 29, 2018
    60
    All in all, Yonder: The Cloud Catcher Chronicles is an exploration-based, open-world collect-a-thon with crafting and quests that are both beautiful and fun when played in small bursts. Ultimately, it doesn't provide any substantial challenges and doesn't run too well on the Switch's hardware. Unless you're a die-hard fan of relaxing games that you can play for the sake of playing, Yonder may not be your cup of tea.
  14. Jun 5, 2018
    60
    We’d recommend this to anyone looking for a relatively shallow game that doesn’t take a whole much of a time investment; for what it is, Yonder is a decent game, though it’s hardly a must-play.
  15. May 16, 2018
    60
    While it has shallow gameplay systems and minimal story, Yonder is a pleasant place to unwind and pass the time.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 8 out of 40
  1. May 17, 2018
    10
    I honestly have no idea how I'll ever be able to stop playing this gem of a game, especially since I just found out about it a week beforeI honestly have no idea how I'll ever be able to stop playing this gem of a game, especially since I just found out about it a week before it's release date in the Nintendo eShop for the Switch. Naturally, I watched a few beginning gameplays an was instantly sold. Beautiful graphics, soothing audio, and no rush or combat. If you like for your games to relax you, this is the perfect game! Full Review »
  2. Aug 11, 2018
    8
    I had an idea what I was getting into playing this game. It is what I expected. It is a mixture of Animal Crossing and Harvest Moon. PeopleI had an idea what I was getting into playing this game. It is what I expected. It is a mixture of Animal Crossing and Harvest Moon. People complain that it lacks content or combat. That is not the point of the game. It's all about exploration and farming. I enjoy this game. Overall, this is a great game with gorgeous visuals! Full Review »
  3. Apr 9, 2019
    9
    There’s something incredibly calming and serene about Yonder; it’d be fantastic to see more along the same lines from developers PridefulThere’s something incredibly calming and serene about Yonder; it’d be fantastic to see more along the same lines from developers Prideful Sloth – DLC or a sequel that continue along the same, no-conflict, no-death lines would be very welcome indeed. There’s nothing else quite like it right now; it’s a beautifully serene and chilled out experience that lends itself to long, relaxing sessions of charming exploration. Full Review »