Animal Crossing: amiibo Festival Image
Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 246 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Animal Crossing: amiibo Festival game is a new way to play with your favorite Animal Crossing characters. Your amiibo figures are front-and-center in this party game, and you’ll get to utilize them with fun content. Bring to life an expansive and dynamic board game where the board isThe Animal Crossing: amiibo Festival game is a new way to play with your favorite Animal Crossing characters. Your amiibo figures are front-and-center in this party game, and you’ll get to utilize them with fun content. Bring to life an expansive and dynamic board game where the board is based on the months of the year like the core Animal Crossing series. The goal? Make your villager the happiest in town and party hard with your friends. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Animal Crossing: amiibo Festival - E3 2015 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20
  1. Jan 27, 2016
    80
    It's a nice way to put your amiibos to use. It's a party game, so don't expect deep or too complex gameplay mechanics, but cards and action figures are implemented in an original and interesting way.
  2. Dec 27, 2015
    62
    Animal Crossing Amiibo Festival is Mario Party but lacking true content!
  3. Jan 1, 2016
    58
    It's digital board gaming at its most basic, with a surprisingly sincere effort from a developer that seems burnt out on the genre.
  4. Nov 27, 2015
    50
    For the money you ultimately get two figurines, three cards and a game package with snippets of fun and charm - it's ultimately up to you whether that's worthy of your cash.
  5. Nov 23, 2015
    45
    Animal Crossing: amiibo Festival retains the charm that the series is known for, but is uneventful and boring. Move out of this town.
  6. Nov 24, 2015
    40
    Hardcore amiibo addicts and Animal Crossing die-hards may even pass up on this, but if you've got a wide range of gamers who want a family-style night, then you may get some enjoyment out of it.
  7. Nov 25, 2015
    20
    A new low for Nintendo and for Animal Crossing, in what is the least amount of fun you can have with an amiibo without needing urgent medical attention afterwards.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 76
  2. Negative: 44 out of 76
  1. Nov 16, 2015
    10
    Fantastic deeper than I thought game that captures the charm and magic of Animal Crossing while presenting hours and hours of fun. TakingFantastic deeper than I thought game that captures the charm and magic of Animal Crossing while presenting hours and hours of fun. Taking away around $30 for the amiibo, the game drops to $30, which is well it!
    Also, please mark the ZERO review of uncoveringlight for "intention to annoy" As giving any game a zero review proves they never played it and intentionally trying to drop the score.
    Expand
  2. Jan 2, 2016
    9
    I love this game. It is at its heart a wonderful and pure extension of all my Animal Crossing experiences. My wife and I and our kidsI love this game. It is at its heart a wonderful and pure extension of all my Animal Crossing experiences. My wife and I and our kids thoroughly enjoy it. It isn't Mario Party and I'm glad for that. If that is what you were hoping for, you were doomed from the start. This is an Animal Crossing game. Think about the kinds of games you play on the Island and about hide and seek.... etc. Anything Mario Party about them? Not really. OF COURSE this isn't like Mario Party!!

    Festival is simple, laid back. Like everything about Animal Crossing, it is about taking time to enjoy things. You know, like the way AC has always punished people for running around (like Mario and Luigi no doubt would?) Customizing our gameboard village with Amiibo card villagers was really satisfying for my family as we each took turns choosing which villager to invite.

    Each pack of Amiibo cards is an event for my family as we see familiar faces from our current or previous villages. My son cheered when he saw Bella in our most recent pack. One of his faves from our City Folk village. She was his card choice to invite to live in the gameboard village naturally.

    The gameplay in the boardgame is pretty basic, but can be a hoot with 4 players who love AC and have some history together. My family has enjoyed every game so far and had some great laughs along the way. As far as the mini-games go, my son and I greatly enjoy the Island escape mini-game and the Balloon game in particular.

    I feel that it is a worthy product in the AC universe and worth every penny I've spent on it. and will spend on it in the future.
    Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2016
    8
    I guess that I'm in the minority here, but I actually really enjoy this game. Don't get me wrong, most of the claims I hear around the gameI guess that I'm in the minority here, but I actually really enjoy this game. Don't get me wrong, most of the claims I hear around the game are valid. The gameplay is too simple; it's too slow-paced, even for Animal Crossing; it takes no skill... and honestly? I agree. But I really can't bring myself to be as mad at this game as most people are. I have fun when I play it, it's a relaxing experience. The graphics are adorable. Do I wish that there was more from a game like this, especially one that requires you to have amiibos just to play it? Absolutely. But I'm sticking with my own opinions, and I think that if you already collect amiibos, this game is a lot of fun. Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2016
    4
    Resulta entretenido un rato pero que te vendan los persoanges como amiibo es algo muy feo llevaron a otro nivel la venta de DLC, con algo deResulta entretenido un rato pero que te vendan los persoanges como amiibo es algo muy feo llevaron a otro nivel la venta de DLC, con algo de suerte el juego te da 1 o 2 horas de diversión o si tienes otros 3 amigos que tengan un amiibo de animal crossing probablemente un rato mas. Expand
  5. Dec 9, 2015
    2
    Nintendo HAD to have known this was going to flop. I love Animal Crossing and cannot wait for the next actual Animal Crossing game. This is aNintendo HAD to have known this was going to flop. I love Animal Crossing and cannot wait for the next actual Animal Crossing game. This is a waste of money and should only be purchased by collectors, the way they should own a copy of E.T. for NES.

    As soon as I had played for about an hour, I got this eerie feeling that Nintendo published this game as a way to pay for any extra toilet paper they may need in their offices. It's the only thing I can think of. I tried really hard to like it.
    Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2017
    1
    I thought this was going to be a fun animal crossing party game. Sadly, you get anything but that in amiibo festival. If you want to bore yourI thought this was going to be a fun animal crossing party game. Sadly, you get anything but that in amiibo festival. If you want to bore your self play this.T he only thing close to fun is desert island escape. Expand
  7. Oct 30, 2018
    0
    The game is beautiful and captures the essence of Animal Crossing but that's it. It isn't fun to play at all. It is an expensive boring boardThe game is beautiful and captures the essence of Animal Crossing but that's it. It isn't fun to play at all. It is an expensive boring board game to sell amiibos. Expand

See all 76 User Reviews