Super Mario Maker Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 85 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 880 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Play a countless number of intensely creative Super Mario levels from players around the globe. It’s easy enough to create your own levels with the Wii U GamePad controller that it may feel like you’re simply sketching out your ideas on paper, but you can now bring enemies and objects into aPlay a countless number of intensely creative Super Mario levels from players around the globe. It’s easy enough to create your own levels with the Wii U GamePad controller that it may feel like you’re simply sketching out your ideas on paper, but you can now bring enemies and objects into a playable course in ways you could only consider before. Violate the conventions of traditional Super Mario gameplay by blending enemies, traps and items into unexpected twists, like Piranha Plant-shooting cannons, power-up-tossing Lakitus, or even Hammer Bros. riding on Bowser while bouncing on trampolines. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
E3 2014: Mario Maker Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Nov 2, 2015
    100
    Super Mario Maker is a construction tool bundled with the kind of online community Nintendo fans have always wanted.
  2. Sep 2, 2015
    100
    Whether you're a serious student of game design, looking to kill a few minutes with your friends' creations, or an avid enthusiast of sadism through game design, you'll find something to love in Super Mario Maker.
  3. Games Master UK
    Oct 15, 2015
    92
    There are more flexible and expansive creative tools, but none as joyous or accessible as this. [Oct 2015, p.51]
  4. Sep 2, 2015
    90
    Brimming with positivity and encouragement, Super Mario Maker's brilliant toy box gives you everything you need to easily create and share some truly fantastic levels.
  5. Sep 2, 2015
    90
    Mario Maker is a must play for Wii U owners, whether they just want to make or play Mario levels. The interface is inviting and straightforward, and the way the game introduces its possibilities is amazing.
  6. Sep 9, 2015
    85
    Super Mario Maker is a crazy fun way of taking your own spin on thirty years of Mario. It is very easy to use, you can switch between building and playing in an instance and the online experience of sharing levels with other people will keep you busy for an endless period of time.
  7. Sep 15, 2015
    50
    Super Mario Maker is primarily an engine for circulating bad ideas and broken gimmicks as if there weren’t already an overabundance of them.

See all 87 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 201
  1. Sep 11, 2015
    10
    Simply the best idea Nintendo has ever had! Super Mario Maker is a masterpiece that can be played and created for years to come! If you stillSimply the best idea Nintendo has ever had! Super Mario Maker is a masterpiece that can be played and created for years to come! If you still don't own a Wii U and consider yourself a gamer, now is the time to switch over to pure gaming bliss! I can't give a higher recommendation - a must own! Well done Nintendo! 10/10 Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2018
    10
    A gem on the wii u library. Instead of making yet more of the new smb game series, we got instead a game were we can make our own smb stages,A gem on the wii u library. Instead of making yet more of the new smb game series, we got instead a game were we can make our own smb stages, picking from a gigantic variety of options. Expand
  3. Oct 5, 2015
    10
    I've always wanted to like games with level editors but could never get into them. Nintendo gives users a surprisingly granular level ofI've always wanted to like games with level editors but could never get into them. Nintendo gives users a surprisingly granular level of options using intuitive controls. It's immediately addictive. The content unlock schedule was frustrating but I think it helped me learn. Even with that constraint, I continued to learn after everything was unlocked. It's a great experience! Course World is awesome, too! There's lots of creation and lots of playing. It's awesome that you have to complete each level before uploading. I can't stress how much fun this game is for Mario geeks! Expand
  4. Apr 1, 2016
    9
    As an 80's kids dream Super Mario Maker is perfection in a nutshell. Good graphics, smooth frame rates, and great user based gameplay makeAs an 80's kids dream Super Mario Maker is perfection in a nutshell. Good graphics, smooth frame rates, and great user based gameplay make this Wii U exclusive zoom pass my expectations. Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2015
    9
    Super Mario Maker is a great celebration of the 30th anniversary of Super Mario Bros.. It is a very accessible level creator that, in my view,Super Mario Maker is a great celebration of the 30th anniversary of Super Mario Bros.. It is a very accessible level creator that, in my view, could appeal to a variety of audiences, whether it be long-time Mario fans or budding game developers. The game also provides many pre-made levels for inspiration, in case you are running low on ideas. I'm not the most creative person out there, yet I have already sunk countless hours into this game making my own 2D Mario levels. Overall, an excellent level-creating game. Some more features would be nice (for example, checkpoints and more level themes), but Super Mario Maker is a game that I highly recommend. Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2021
    8
    This is a good game, but what may upset you is that if you upload a course, after a few weeks it WILL be taken off. Another thing they don'tThis is a good game, but what may upset you is that if you upload a course, after a few weeks it WILL be taken off. Another thing they don't tell you is that you can shake some things and they change to something else. And despite a few flaws, it still is fun to make your own Mario levels. Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2015
    0
    Super Mario Maker cant really be considered a game but more Nintendo trying to squeeze a couple more pounds from the big plumber. ThisSuper Mario Maker cant really be considered a game but more Nintendo trying to squeeze a couple more pounds from the big plumber. This laziness shows in lack of lack of freedom and gets boring fast. the community don't help either as most levels are extremely difficult and consist of hundreds of enemies and a secret hidden block so the creator can publish it. Or you stand still and watch Mario bounce from spring to spring until he reaches the flag. If you think that sounds fun be my guest pick it up but prepare to play most of the game with out touching the game pad Expand

See all 201 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Every Super Mario Bros. Game, Ranked

    Every Super Mario Bros. Game, Ranked Image
    Published: October 10, 2017
    We rank every Super Mario game by score from worst to best.
  2. The 15 Best Wii U Games of 2015

    The 15 Best Wii U Games of 2015 Image
    Published: December 21, 2015
    We reveal the 15 highest-scoring games released for the Wii U console in 2015.
  3. The 25 Most Anticipated Videogames Coming This Fall

    The 25 Most Anticipated Videogames Coming This Fall Image
    Published: September 7, 2015
    Get details on this fall's most anticipated game releases, including Halo 5, Fallout 4, Star Wars Battlefront, Rise of the Tomb Raider, and much more.