Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Aug 23, 2015
    90
    Wii U owners hungry for Metroid Prime's atmosphere or Monkey Island's puzzle solving really can't go wrong with this one.
  2. Dec 21, 2014
    80
    Although The Fall ends in a satisfying way and could easily be considered a complete story, I've been told that it's only the first of three chapters. With that in mind, I very much look forward to the next installment, and if it's anywhere near as good as this one, then fans of science fiction (like myself!) will be in for a real treat.
  3. Mar 18, 2015
    76
    The action seems interesting at first but remains superficial most of the time. Unlike the story that asks about the value of humanity with the answers showing different aspects of the topic.
  4. Mar 24, 2015
    75
    The Fall on Wii U simply is a direct port of the PC game, with some minor bug and missing fix. Framerate is not always consistent and Gamepad is just for off-screen play. Honestly, we were expecting more.
  5. Apr 3, 2015
    70
    The control system needs some improvement, though, and the voice acting is far from the best ever done, but the narrative and exploration suit well those who are looking for a sci fi adventure in the Wii U's eShop.
  6. Sep 8, 2014
    70
    The Fall is probably not your best choice, but if you're looking for a more cerebral change of pace you should check this one out.
  7. 70
    The Fall is a relatively short game, just a few hours long depending on how many puzzles stump you. The story is the most engaging thing, providing a unique take on the Three Laws of Robotics (although the laws themselves have been changed).
  8. Sep 4, 2014
    67
    The Fall is still a great, unique title on the eShop, but you need to know what you’re getting into before you play it. In terms of gameplay, The Fall struggles to deliver anything special. But if you’re looking for a game with a genuinely dark sci-fi setting and an intriguing story, then you’ll definitely enjoy exploring as ARID.
  9. Mar 26, 2015
    50
    Great story can’t cover for poor gameplay.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Oct 27, 2016
    6
    I really wanted to love this one. And I love the style, the dark atmosphere and sense of exploration. But the controls on the Wii U are aI really wanted to love this one. And I love the style, the dark atmosphere and sense of exploration. But the controls on the Wii U are a total mess -- constantly breaking your attention to try to figure out the odd multiple button presses to do the simplest tasks. At times I was lost, just randomly scanning everything, hoping to bump into a solution. Gave up in frustration after an hour. Skip this one and head straight for The Swapper if you like this genre. Full Review »
  2. Jul 21, 2015
    8
    Now THIS is how you tell a story. The game doesn't ram it down your throat... instead, you explore and figure out exactly what it is thatNow THIS is how you tell a story. The game doesn't ram it down your throat... instead, you explore and figure out exactly what it is that happened on this desolate world. It's a smart game that expects you to be a smart person and catch on.

    The gameplay is simple enough and while there are a few little things that make it less than perfect, it's hard to put down and I found myself looking forward to getting back to find out exactly what it is that went down on this planet.

    And that ending tho. Woooh! Who saw that coming? Can't wait for the sequel.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 26, 2014
    7
    The Fall has a very good story. The atmosphere is set up very well and the sound design works well with the aesthetic. The combat system isThe Fall has a very good story. The atmosphere is set up very well and the sound design works well with the aesthetic. The combat system is simple, 2D plane shooting with some elements of a cover system. The puzzles are not THAT difficult, but if you aren't constantly searching for little boxes with your flashlight, you can miss a few components that will allow you to progress. I'd recommend this if you like playing a sci-fi game, with a high creep factor, in the dark with your headphones on. Very short game, but the ideas presented and the player character, although it was a robot suit, had personality that made me feel something, at least. Full Review »