The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2413 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ignore everything you know about The Legend of Zelda games. Step into a world of discovery, exploration and adventure in The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild. Travel across fields, through forests and to mountain peaks as you discover what has become of the ruined kingdom of Hyrule inIgnore everything you know about The Legend of Zelda games. Step into a world of discovery, exploration and adventure in The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild. Travel across fields, through forests and to mountain peaks as you discover what has become of the ruined kingdom of Hyrule in this stunning open-air adventure. Explore the wilds of Hyrule any way you like - Climb up towers and mountain peaks in search of new destinations, then set your own path to get there and plunge into the wilderness. Along the way, you'll battle towering enemies, hunt wild beasts and gather ingredients for the food and elixirs you'll need to sustain you on your journey. More than 100 Shrines of Trials to discover and explore - Shrines dot the landscape, waiting to be discovered in any order you want. Search for them in various ways, and solve a variety of puzzles inside. Work your way through the traps and devices inside to earn special items and other rewards that will help you on your adventure. Be prepared and properly equipped - With an entire world waiting to be explored, you'll need a variety of outfits and gear to reach every corner. You may need to bundle up with warmer clothes or change into something better suited to the desert heat. Some clothing even has special effects that, for example, can make you faster and stealthier. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Monster Hunter Generations Ultimate x The Legend of Zelda - Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Mar 20, 2017
    100
    Does it have the best combat system in the world? No. Is it the best looking game out there? No. Does it have the best RPG soundtrack ever? No. Can the game make you feel like you are eight years old again? Hell yes. It certainly had that effect with me. It has been a long time since exploring, fighting, and adventuring has so consistently brought a smile to my face. Breath of the Wild is such a wonderful experience that once you play it, you will likely never look at open world games the same again.
  2. Mar 16, 2017
    100
    How could the Zelda series evolve and reinvent itself to reclaim its spot among the greatest games in the world? According to the Breath of the Wild book, by rewiring its main conventions and tapping them into the freedom template provided by the saga's very first chapter, adding to them the visual marvels that contemporary technology can achieve, the vastest space for exploration that has ever been created for a Zelda game and a perfect learning cycle that provides Link with an explosive potential for development.
  3. Mar 18, 2017
    100
    If it really is the last major title that the Wii U ever sees, then it's a fantastic way to bow out - The Legend of Zelda has never been so perfect.
  4. Mar 10, 2017
    97
    The Wii U version of Zelda: Breath of the Wild is the same amazing, unforgettable experience you can enjoy on the new Nintendo Switch: the game runs pretty smoothly even on the old console, and despite being less powerful, the graphics are almost the same. If you're not buying Switch and already own a Wii U, this really is a no-brainer.
  5. Mar 10, 2017
    97
    Breath of the Wild on Wii U runs at 720p, and has the same, small framerate issues of the Switch version. The loading times are surprinsingly good, considering the size of the game. Anyway, the only important thing to say is that Breath of the Wild on Wii U is as excellent as his Switch brother.
  6. Mar 10, 2017
    95
    Even on Wii U The Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild is a must-buy. This is a piece of art that does not lose any of its charm compared to the Switch version. Everyone should play this game.
  7. Mar 10, 2017
    90
    Breath of The Wild is not perfect. It suffers technical limitations compared to other open-world games on other consoles, even moreso on Wii U... of course. But this new adventure is absolutely fantastic though, and it's actually one of the best in the series.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 537
  1. Mar 3, 2017
    10
    Breath of the Wild broke a lot of records in the history of gaming. By that, I mean it is most likely impossible to find one thing wrong withBreath of the Wild broke a lot of records in the history of gaming. By that, I mean it is most likely impossible to find one thing wrong with this game. It's like Nintendo took the base of Ocarina of Time and modernize it to make it look like this game over here. This is why Nintendo will forever remain in my heart no matter where it all goes. I'm telling you this, Breath of the Wild has everything... yes, every... single... thing that made Ocarina of Time look like a masterpiece. This is the lost brother of Ocarina of Time and the true brother Ocarina of Time will ever need. Just go buy this game, it wants your money so bad, it wants you to play it so bad, it wants to be your local friend literally bad. I'll be waiting until you get this game. Expand
  2. Mar 12, 2017
    10
    Before I start with my Review I just wanna say that I'd probably give this game a 9.6 maybe 9.7 and no straight 10. I've been playing it everBefore I start with my Review I just wanna say that I'd probably give this game a 9.6 maybe 9.7 and no straight 10. I've been playing it ever since it came out and it's already on my top 3 of Zelda games (and I'm not too fond of the 3D Zeldas so that's gotta mean something).

    When my game arrived via mail I was skeptical. So skeptical even that a small part of me didn't wanna play the game so there is no disappointment to be had. But after watching two episodes of Mad Men I decided to finally start up the game. Even while playing at first I was skeptical. I was scared that everything you see in the first area of the game was everything the game had to offer but oh was I wrong.

    The world is filled with crazy stuff. Just yesterday I decided to go to a place I've been at about a hundred times already but because I never looked into that one specific area of the place I completely missed a big (and really cool) bossfight. You just stumble upon interesting puzzles, items, shrines, challenges, side quests, etc. That way the world never feels empty. And might I just say that overworld puzzles are probably one of the best ideas this game has to offer? I am one of those girls who get bored easily by open-worlds. Most of the time they feel empty and when you wanna explore them you don't get rewarded and your motivation to explore in the first place is gone quicker than an ice cube on Death Mountain. But when in Zelda you come upon a weird rock formation, a lone pinwheel or even just a funny-looking lake you can be almost certain that something special awaits you. And because storyparts and cutscenes are way rarer than they are in Twilight Princess or Skyward Sword going around this huge world and doing stuff feels like an adventure again. No Navi or Phi holding your hand and the cutscenes that are there feel more like a treat than a chore. Because they aren't handed out to you, you have to work for them.

    The Sandbox Elements of the game are really impressive. If I had to compare the Sandboxyness of Breath of the Wild I would compare it to Metal Gear Solid 3. After I got stuck in one dungeon I looked up a walkthrough (which didn't help me in the end) and there was one part that many people did in a completely different way. Because of Stasis, Magnesis, Remotecontrolled Bombs and all of the other skills and items Link gains throughout the game you can pursue most situations in thousands of different ways. The integration of a stealth system was a positive surprise for me, too. It's not on the same level a Metal Gear is but it's pretty good for an open world rpg. If you are hiding in grasses, bushes, shadows, etc. you won't be seen as easily but you also have to look out for the sounds you make. The sounds you make change with every piece of clothing and weaponry you have equipped and those sounds actually have an impact. And while it rains or it's really windy the sounds you make of course go under. I really like that whole system but it gets obsolete at some point. In the early game where Link is still weak doing stealth sometimes becomes mandatory but the more you play the easier the game gets.easier and at some point barely anyone or anything is a threat anymore. The only thing that is a threat to this game is the bad motion controls. Whenever I encounter a Shrine that uses motion controls in their puzzles I release a loud sigh and then proceed to try and beat this thing, which doesn't really use any skill but more luck that your motion controls don't suddenly stop working properly. I heard it's better on the Switch but I can't say much about it. The other "bad" thing that becomes noteable very early in the game are the games framerate issues. Apparently the performance got patched a little with the Day 0 patch but the framerate issues still exist. Normally a bad framerate is enough for me to give up a game but with a game like this you can easily overlook its flaws. There are some flaws and glitches I noticed but as said before they don't really take anything away and I doubt Nintendo will leave the game unpatched.

    Let's talk about the music and the sounddesign. As I am a sounddesigner and musician myself this is one of the most important points for me. And Breath of the Wild's music and sounds haven't disappointed at all. Most of the music gives you a peaceful, lonely and melancholic vibe which is a new thing for Zelda. Its simplistic melodies played mostly by only one instrument alone underlines the feeling of the vastness of this world. It feels empty (of life not of gameplay like damn there's so much stuff to do) but not in a sad way. But there's still those songs with a classic Zelda-vibe, which are great, too! And the sounds are just perfect. I recommend playing the game with headphones because the sound environment just draws you into this world even more. It all fits each other and not one sound effect seems out of place.

    All in all this game is just one single big masterpiece.
    Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2018
    10
    I loved this game, it's funny, long as hell, and just stunning in every aspect. Perfect for people who like to explore, solve puzzles andI loved this game, it's funny, long as hell, and just stunning in every aspect. Perfect for people who like to explore, solve puzzles and adventure games in general. I really missed the classic dungeons like the ones from previous entries an I also noticed a lot of issues in terms of frame rate but I don't think that affected my experience with the game. Masterpiece. Expand
  4. Mar 4, 2017
    10
    Easily the best Zelda game ever made, and maybe even the best game of all time, full stop. Nothing on other next gen consoles comes close,Easily the best Zelda game ever made, and maybe even the best game of all time, full stop. Nothing on other next gen consoles comes close, this just blows it all away. Best story, best gameplay, best graphics. Only issue is a tiny bit of slowdown but doesn't affect the game too much. Brilliant. Expand
  5. Jul 19, 2017
    9
    Great game, a lot of fun to play. The Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild is an awesome game. There is a lot of new features and the universeGreat game, a lot of fun to play. The Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild is an awesome game. There is a lot of new features and the universe and the map are extremely large. This version give us all the power of WiiU. An Epic Game. Negative point: no voice acting for the main character Link. Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2017
    9
    People trying to tell you that the Wii U release is a somehow gimped and/or inferior version are flat-out wrong. It is possible to avoid somePeople trying to tell you that the Wii U release is a somehow gimped and/or inferior version are flat-out wrong. It is possible to avoid some of the framerate drops in the Switch version by playing it in handheld mode, but they're otherwise identical.

    Some framerate issues, repeated unskippable cutscenes, overactive weapon degradation, and extremely segmented puzzle elements are the biggest marring points on what is otherwise probably my favourite Zelda game to date. The worst thing that can probably be said about it is that it "isn't Zelda"; which isn't completely inaccurate in terms of the structure and progression of the game. Conventional dungeons have been replaced with a series of 120 shrines, best described as puzzle rooms, which are how you upgrade your health and stamina now. Other than that, the world is yours to explore and discover at your leisure, including running dick-first into the endgame at any point that you might feel particularly masochistic. Some people evidently are not a fan of this, but personally I think it is a LONG overdue revitalization of the series, and overall a flawed masterpiece.
    Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Zerda: Breath of dthe wild es una secula pero poco pulida, un reeskin de los clasicos Expand

See all 537 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Most Anticipated Video Games of 2017: Sequels, Remakes and Adaptations

    Most Anticipated Video Games of 2017: Sequels, Remakes and Adaptations Image
    Published: January 18, 2017
    In part 1 of our 2017 preview, we look at the 20 most-anticipated videogame sequels and remakes of the year ahead.
  2. Most Anticipated Video Games of 2016, Part 1: Sequels, Remakes and Adaptations

    Most Anticipated Video Games of 2016, Part 1: Sequels, Remakes and Adaptations Image
    Published: January 19, 2016
    Preview 25 notable videogame franchises returning with new titles in 2016, including Uncharted, Mass Effect, Dark Souls, Legend of Zelda, and more.